June 05, 2024, 11:44:36 PM

Author Topic: KMC lands U.S. music deal  (Read 14630 times)

Re: KMC lands U.S. music deal
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2011, 07:39:29 PM »
look ah reggae violinist ,that go never sell .

man, enjoy my sweet violin and then give me a grammy or a record deal. :devil:  :violin:

what point are you trying to make?

Ithink it went above his head,let me show him
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgKkKV6lT1s

not to long ago he stated steelpan music is useless, so don't expect any logical response from him

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2011, 07:51:04 PM »
look ah reggae violinist ,that go never sell .

man, enjoy my sweet violin and then give me a grammy or a record deal. :devil:  :violin:

what point are you trying to make?

Ithink it went above his head,let me show him
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgKkKV6lT1s

not to long ago he stated steelpan music is useless, so don't expect any logical response from him

man shut rass, i looking a record deal, :devil:. stealpan wont cut it, and i am a violinist. :angel:
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #32 on: February 13, 2011, 01:04:49 AM »
congrats to kmc, finally a soca artist abandoning the jump up business for something worthwhile. :beermug:

Nothing is wrong with the jump up business, its part & parcel of Carnival and brings in a lot of money into our country!
This year the jump up business is going to earn one of our lucky artist $2millionTT, now you try and tell them that isn't worthwhile?!  ::)

The trick for our soca artists is to be versatile, consistent and being able to market themselves and their music to a worldwide market in addition to doing the jump up songs!

KMC always did a variety of soca styles in addition to the jump up carnival stuff!

Remember this?
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3kgWA76TdCI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3kgWA76TdCI</a>

But don't bank on KMC doing much soca from now on! Its likely he'll be doing more of this:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/HYFba0xOseM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/HYFba0xOseM</a>

His music will most likely be more in the RnB, pop or reggae dancehall vein and will have little or no identity with T&T music.

Hopefully KMC proves my suspicions wrong and I wish him all the best of success regardless of which direction he decides to take his music from now on in his endeavour to appeal to a wider world market!

thats the problem, soca artists are always thinking short term, winning 2 million when the judges most of the time already have a winner in mind from the get go.

selling records and taking your music to the biggest market in the world, the US is always on the back burner, the artists are always caught in a vicious cycle where they tour and tour and tour but never release a commercial record that would allow them to focus on creating great and lasting music.

you guys still stuck in the 70s and 80s, music has changed and the game has changed as well, 2 million at the monarch is small change to what can be made

Try telling that to Machel as well as all the young upcoming artist who hoping to get more international exposure and bookings as spin-offs from taking part in this year's International Soca Monarch competition!

Your problem is that you make too many statements that you can't back up!!
You made a statement that would give anyone who read it the impression that KMC only did jump & wave carnival music up until now and in response I posted clear evidence that KMC has always done a variety of music & not just the jump up stuff!

I think you need to ease off people’s case with your continuous moaning and groaning about our artists and music!!

In my opinion our artists are doing a wide variety of music and soca styles but not all of them are getting enough support and airplay from our radio stations. But you are trying to stereo-type all of them and put them all in the same boat which is very unfair to our young artists who are not all doing just stuff geared towards carnival!!

You also made this statement "you guys still stuck in the 70s and 80s, music has changed and the game has changed as well" but if anything you are the one who seems to be stuck in 70's & 80's when you keep moaning about the new style of music that our young upcoming artists are producing.

There is plenty positives as well as negatives happening in our music so let’s not unfairly paint everyone’s music with the same negative brush. If anyone is to blame for the negatives it’s the radio stations and radio DJs who have chosen not to play the wide variety of quality non-carnival stuff that our artists have to offer especially after Carnival is over!

Regards

what marketing worldwide? the US makes up over 40-45% of the music market, second is japan with almost 20%, then the UK.

guess what, kmc hit billboard once but hasn't charted since in the top 100.

winning 2 million for a young soca artist is fine but its a short term incentive, long term is taking your music above jump up, however you content with that because you are small minded.

which soca artist from trini took our music on american airwaves and to platinum status? ZERO

rupee and lyttle are not trinis and machel had donkey years to do it and still hasn't, getting music supervised on hawaii five o is a good start but its still nowhere near where our music should be.

dont try to feed that garbage excuse you always coming up with, like if our music is doing so well, you need a wake up call.

newsflash, 90% or more is jump up from kmc or carnival related, its great to see him go outside the box with predominantly non carnival related music.

none of them artists find any formula, because if they did, you are not hearing it and the marketing and promotion not there.

i done arguing with a stone

Are you on drugs or just trying to live up to your name?

I was never arguing against any of those things you just argued about just there!

My original argument is that KMC does more than Jump-up Carnival stuff and you should not try to paint all our artists with the same negative brush!!

Do you understand English or you just love pointless argument and feel you know it all?!  ::)

And btw I am someone who is active every week on the radio in London trying to promote our artists and music!
What are you doing besides bad-mouthing them on these forums?
I'm really dissappointed with you as a past artist yourself!
I think its you who need to wake up!!

Take care

kmc has always been known for his jump up songs, once in a while he will come with a groovy tune that catches, 95% or more is jump up, i understand you are trying to look at the positive.

but you fail to realize that i congratulated him and was happy he is focusing on non carnival related songs, its my personal opinion, if you want to say im on drugs because of my personal opinion, something is wrong with you.

i am quite aware of what you do pro, but sometimes you never have any constructive criticism when before in the past you did. I am surprised you are towing the company line now with all this garbage circulating in our local music.

I am not sure that you are fully aware of what I do otherwise you won't be talking so much inaccurate nonsense to me and trying to convince/ impress me that you know it all!

And talking of me towing the company line that’s your opinion! It’s my opinion that you regularly miss the point and tend to generalise way too much regards our artists looking at the evidence of your various posts.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 01:10:50 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #33 on: February 13, 2011, 06:39:39 AM »

one of my favorite local artistes...ah wish him all the best on crossing over...ah really hope u doh hadda suck a dick to move up...my girlfriend knew several artistes who wen out there and had to 'do stuff'...some refused and were promptly sent back..

« Reply #34 on: February 13, 2011, 08:17:05 AM »

one of my favorite local artistes...ah wish him all the best on crossing over...ah really hope u doh hadda suck a dick to move up...my girlfriend knew several artistes who wen out there and had to 'do stuff'...some refused and were promptly sent back..

That's why you can't be too judgemental about our local artists who don't get any of the new cross over music they work on for these labels released after signing a major record deal and wrongly assuming that they could not find the right formula, etc.

Maybe the right formula and getting your new crossover music released has less to do with the music itself and its marketability and more to do with how low you are willing to stoop to get your music released!

In my opinion the most secure way of our artists making a big international hit and still keeping their dignity and morals is via the underground route rather than via doing specific music that these record executives insist that you do and maybe also having to do certain favours before your music can be released.
If you have a song that is already a major hit on the underground market then you don't need to do any favours to prove that the song has international hit potential! All you need at that point is the marketing that a big international label can provide to expose the song to an even bigger international market.

Good luck to KMC but if things don't work out for him with this big international label and he has to return to the international carnival market and touring to eat regular food then lets not be too disappointed and condem him as blowing his chance. Who knows exactly what he might be expected to do for his chance even though he may be producing plently quality music thats perfect for the international market?!  :-\
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 08:32:53 AM by Socapro »

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #35 on: February 13, 2011, 09:06:44 AM »
i still think VP records is the best record label for any Caribbean artist, they also create a link for you to other record labels where you can do collaboration with there artist.

Titled The King In Control, the album is a one-off agreement Beenie Man has with the Universal Music Group through his MD Entertainment and VP Records. It will feature rapper Busta Rhymes and a possible collaboration with Trinidad-born rapper Nicki Minaj. 

"Virgin was all about making mi a pop artiste, which I'm not," he said. Recording a song (Feel it Boy) with Janet Jackson was Virgin's most ambitious strategy to push Beenie Man into the pop market, but it failed and the deejay called time on the association nine years ago.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20110213/ent/ent8.html

a lot of Jamaican artist have got big label and either turn it down, or quit in a couple years. record label is about making money and so they try to turn you in artist you are not comfortable being. elephant quit big labels too but i think he still signed with bad boyz. haven't heard too much from him since. have anyone notice Rhianna? she move from Caribbean music to pop and rock, the only reason she have some callabo with some Jamaican artist is because of the links that VP records have with does labels. still think VP http://www.vprecords.com/ is better for Caribbean artist. any way, good luck the KMC. 
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 09:14:51 AM by jahkingdom »
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #36 on: February 13, 2011, 09:11:34 AM »
i still think VP records is the best record label for any Caribbean artist, they also create a link for you to other record labels where you can do collaboration with there artist.

Titled The King In Control, the album is a one-off agreement Beenie Man has with the Universal Music Group through his MD Entertainment and VP Records. It will feature rapper Busta Rhymes and a possible collaboration with Trinidad-born rapper Nicki Minaj. 

"Virgin was all about making mi a pop artiste, which I'm not," he said. Recording a song (Feel it Boy) with Janet Jackson was Virgin's most ambitious strategy to push Beenie Man into the pop market, but it failed and the deejay called time on the association nine years ago.

a lot of Jamaican artist have got big label and either turn it down, or quit in a couple years. record label is about making money and so they try to turn you in artist you are not comfortable being. elephant quit big labels too but i think he still signed with bad boyz. haven't heard too much from him since. have anyone notice Rhianna? she move from Caribbean music to pop and rock, the only reason she have some callabo with some Jamaican artist is because of the links that VP records have with does labels. still think VP http://www.vprecords.com/ is better for Caribbean artist. any good luck the KMC. 

I would tend to agree with you on this one.  8)

« Reply #37 on: February 13, 2011, 01:06:23 PM »

a lot of Jamaican artist have got big label and either turn it down, or quit in a couple years. record label is about making money and so they try to turn you in artist you are not comfortable being. elephant quit big labels too but i think he still signed with bad boyz. haven't heard too much from him since. have anyone notice Rhianna? she move from Caribbean music to pop and rock, the only reason she have some callabo with some Jamaican artist is because of the links that VP records have with does labels. still think VP http://www.vprecords.com/ is better for Caribbean artist. any way, good luck the KMC. 

vp has most of the time done a good job, but so has island as well, sean paul did extremely well when he started out with vp and then got onto atlantic and he took off. but it all has to do with the marketing and promotion behind the artist in the end, money spent behind them.

« Reply #38 on: February 13, 2011, 09:27:32 PM »
Two typical songs from KMC that has little to do with Carnival apart from the time of the year they were released.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/erAELAU-vFI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/erAELAU-vFI</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/PstN6PDYkhE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/PstN6PDYkhE</a>

A particular person on this forum has yapped some more inaccurate stuff to me about 95% of KMC's music in the past has been jump up carnival stuff but I beg to differ about that figure! Man need to understand who they talking to before expecting a person to swallow their non-sense!

As a man who has been following and buying most of KMC music and albums over the years since he came onto the local music scene as part of the Kisskidee Karavan in the 90's, I would argue that the figure for KMC’s jump & wave carnival stuff is nearer to 50% of his catalogue and that could still be stretching it!

Maybe what this know it all forum member meant to say was that 95% of KMC’s music that HE has heard via our radio stations has been the jump up carnival stuff. That I can possibly agree with as our radio station typically do not play all the quality non-carnival stuff that many of our artists release every year.
The two songs I posted above are typical of what KMC's has offered us over the years in addition to his well known jump-up carnival stuff.

Take a listen and notice that nowhere in both songs is anything mentioned about carnival and the pace of both songs are what many of us would term as groovy-soca pace.
These are typical KMC style/pace songs and he has produced 100’s of other songs like these two songs over the years that deal with non-carnival issues!

Anyway who am I to disagree with our resident soca music expert!?  ::)
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 09:35:01 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #39 on: February 13, 2011, 10:00:04 PM »
More typical stuff from KMC, please don't get me started!!
Right now I'm considering killing ah certain forum sound boi with song in reply to his inaccurate assertions about 95% of KMC's music!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/JTnz97HeBAI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/JTnz97HeBAI</a>

And don't forget that 95% of KMC's stuff is not even on YouTube!

Here's another typical KMC non-carnival/jump up song! Happy Valentine's to all the ladies!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Fd6skWmyHRI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Fd6skWmyHRI</a>

This one was released by KMC back in 2007!
« Last Edit: February 14, 2011, 01:28:47 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #40 on: February 14, 2011, 01:09:50 PM »
Right now I'm considering killing ah certain forum sound boi with song in reply to his inaccurate assertions about 95% of KMC's music!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/JTnz97HeBAI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/JTnz97HeBAI</a>

Here's another typical KMC non-carnival/jump up song! Happy Valentine's to all the ladies!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Fd6skWmyHRI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Fd6skWmyHRI</a>

you posted 4 tracks, 3 of which are heavily ja influenced, talking about sound boy, find yourself and your culture, those songs aren't saying anything, none of them are as good as soul on fire, which is soca. They are very few compared to the 95% of tracks that he has released which is carnival related. You think posting 4 tracks that are not carnival related will prove kmc does even a quarter of his releases not related to carnival?

come again socapro you are proving yourself out of dept at the US billboard level. stick to promoting the pseudo dancehall artists from trinidad and see where soca reach with it.

« Reply #41 on: February 14, 2011, 10:18:18 PM »
Now I doh really get into this kinda bachannal and Controversial you is ah cool fellow and always mean well, especially when it comes to Locals, but you wrong on this one.. KMC is one of my all time favourite soca artiste and I could put my head on a block that most of his tunes are not of the JUMP and WAVE type...KMC started of like a most of the other young artiste in his time following the JA style (Bunji was another one) and came out with a lot of ragga soca type tunes and then found his niche in the Soca scene...Bashment to carnival, was his breakaway from the JA influence and since then he has not look back. For ever 1 jump up song KMC has, ah sure he has about 2-3 groovy/crossover type songs to go with it. Check him out on Pandora is yuh doh believe me.

Doh know how you could argue with someone name "SocaPro" anyways  ;D

« Reply #42 on: February 16, 2011, 02:44:23 PM »

you posted 4 tracks, 3 of which are heavily ja influenced, talking about sound boy, find yourself and your culture, those songs aren't saying anything, none of them are as good as soul on fire, which is soca. They are very few compared to the 95% of tracks that he has released which is carnival related. You think posting 4 tracks that are not carnival related will prove kmc does even a quarter of his releases not related to carnival?

come again socapro you are proving yourself out of dept at the US billboard level. stick to promoting the pseudo dancehall artists from trinidad and see where soca reach with it.

Had some trouble with my broadband over the last 48 hours and just got it back.

All I have to say to you Mr Controversial is this and anyone who regularly read your post knows that its true:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YkwlB8jeEmA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YkwlB8jeEmA</a>

You need to join the People's Partnership promptly as you will be in good company with Jack, Anil and them!!  ;)
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 02:48:20 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #43 on: February 16, 2011, 03:59:13 PM »
wake me up when socapro finishes his boring speech  :yawning: :yapping:

« Reply #44 on: February 16, 2011, 05:59:38 PM »

What speech? Just play the song sah! No wonder you are a failed artist, you can't appreciate a good tune!!  ::)

« Reply #45 on: February 16, 2011, 08:11:15 PM »

What speech? Just play the song sah! No wonder you are a failed artist, you can't appreciate a good tune!!  ::)

the only failure i am seeing is from our local artists to take our music to billboard, so much so that other artists from other islands have achieved above and beyond what our local artists have done.

and the failure of djs abroad that promote this non-commercial music that is going nowhere.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 08:13:17 PM by Controversial »

Offline Arazi

« Reply #46 on: February 16, 2011, 08:28:50 PM »

the only failure i am seeing is from our local artists to take our music to billboard, so much so that other artists from other islands have achieved above and beyond what our local artists have done.

and the failure of djs abroad that promote this non-commercial music that is going nowhere.

yuh changing your tone now, before yuh pigeon hole KMC as a jump and wave singer, when men show you he is not, yuh come and say he music hasn't reach the billboard...

Which is also incorrect, Soul On Fire the song, which saw KMC get signed to American label Sequence Records in 2005, got spins in North America. The album sold over 200,000 copies worldwide and peaked at #84 on the BILLBOARD top 200.

secondly if he wasn't recognised internationally how did this remix come about?

I eh know How to embed videos but look the song Touches was talking bout earlier with Puerto Rican/American artist Lumidee

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YE47VeI0gnA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YE47VeI0gnA</a>

If they didn't see something IN Ken, I doubt they woulda gamble on him twice, who is by far one of the more creative soca artistes there is, and I urge you to not just listen to what they play on the radio because they stop playing half his stuff...So thread lightly nah, you starting to come across little bitter...
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 03:03:04 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #47 on: February 16, 2011, 10:59:47 PM »

yuh changing your tone now, before yuh pigeon hole KMC as a jump and wave singer, when men show you he is not, yuh come and say he music hasn't reach the billboard...

Which is also incorrect, Soul On Fire the song, which saw KMC get signed to American label Sequence Records in 2005, got spins in North America. The album sold over 200,000 copies worldwide and peaked at #84 on the BILLBOARD top 200.

I eh know How to embed videos but look the song Touches was talking bout earlier with Puerto Rican/American artist Lumidee

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YE47VeI0gnA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YE47VeI0gnA</a>

If they didn't see something IN Ken, I doubt they woulda gamble on him twice, who is by far one of the more creative soca artistes there is, and I urge you to not just listen to what they play on the radio because they stop playing half his stuff...So thread lightly nah, you starting to come across little bitter...

did you read my first post?  ??? i congratulated the man and wished him the best, was happy he is doing commercial music.

soul on fire was a one off, he needs a full album like that and red one will bring it.

those other tunes i dont rate them, im happy kmc can focus on entirely commercial music.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 03:04:31 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #48 on: February 16, 2011, 11:30:58 PM »
did you read my first post?  ??? i congratulated the man and wished him the best, was happy he is doing commercial music.

soul on fire was a one off, he needs a full album like that and red one will bring it.

those other tunes i dont rate them, im happy kmc can focus on entirely commercial music.

Whole time I watching this debate and only shaking my head... it clear yuh di'n know what yuh was talking about and even now that man point it out to you you refuse to acknowledge the glaring fact that yuh wrong.  First thing yuh do is dismiss him as a "jump up" artist... implying that this was his first departure from the genre.  Now that man point out how yuh wrong yuh come back talking about how yuh doh rate them other songs.  Is not about what you rate or doh rate is about a body of work the man has quietly and consistently been putting out.

« Reply #49 on: February 17, 2011, 12:32:23 PM »

Whole time I watching this debate and only shaking my head... it clear yuh di'n know what yuh was talking about and even now that man point it out to you you refuse to acknowledge the glaring fact that yuh wrong.  First thing yuh do is dismiss him as a "jump up" artist... implying that this was his first departure from the genre.  Now that man point out how yuh wrong yuh come back talking about how yuh doh rate them other songs.  Is not about what you rate or doh rate is about a body of work the man has quietly and consistently been putting out.

im fully aware of the other songs, but they are not even enough to make a full length commercial album that is on par with soul on fire.

listing 4 or 5 songs is not making a case, if he had an album with just groovy crossover soca on it, i would understand but he doesn't, kmc has always been on the edge of ragga soca, now he is thinking billboard.

i am happy for him and wish him well, red one is all about commercial music, kmc has a chance now to get out of ragga soca and jump up music and do commercial music along the lines of soul on fire, a full album.

I can't consider an artist with 95% jump up, carnival related tunes as being diverse, if he had released a full length album with all groovy crossover then i would say yes hes diverse.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 12:34:54 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #50 on: February 17, 2011, 03:40:26 PM »

im fully aware of the other songs, but they are not even enough to make a full length commercial album that is on par with soul on fire.

listing 4 or 5 songs is not making a case, if he had an album with just groovy crossover soca on it, i would understand but he doesn't, kmc has always been on the edge of ragga soca, now he is thinking billboard.

i am happy for him and wish him well, red one is all about commercial music, kmc has a chance now to get out of ragga soca and jump up music and do commercial music along the lines of soul on fire, a full album.

I can't consider an artist with 95% jump up, carnival related tunes as being diverse, if he had released a full length album with all groovy crossover then i would say yes hes diverse.

The more you post is the more curry yuh talking for and the deeper grave yuh digging for yourself!
I’ve been  a professional DJ for 15 plus years now, so don’t you think I would have bought music and listen to many albums from various artists over that period?

If I take the trouble to list you at least 20 midtempo songs from KMC (enough for 2 albums) which in my professional view are commercial songs with strong crossover appeal (not focused on carnival topics) would you promise to apologise to the forum for your ignorance and to stop coming across as bitter as you do while regularly posting inaccurate or misleading information?

If you make that promise then I'll deal with you tomorrow after talking the time tonight to dig out most of my KMC albums and list for you an impressive body of crossover work of at least 20 quality songs with strong commercial potential! And please don’t be silly to diss any of his songs with a ragga/dancehall element as KMC started off as a ragga/dancehall artist and gradually developed his own style and niche in the soca gene.

Also note that reggae and dancehall music is already loved and appreciated worldwide and is viewed by most sane people as commercial especially when the top artists in the gene put their hands at it.
KMC having a dancehall influence in many of his songs is not a negative unless you have some sort of inferiority complex about Caribbean music versus American music. Finally note that dancehall artists regularly borrow elements from soca music so there is nothing wrong with our artists borrowing elements from dancehall if they feel its appropriate for the songs in question!

It’s laughable how some folks who want to be taken seriously don’t do proper research before talking and are never man enough to admit when they get it totally wrong!!

Trust me Impulse’s 2011 chutney-soca song "Talking For Curry" as applied to some members of this forum hits the nail right on the head and could now be considered as our hottest forum-march contender so far for the T&T Carnival 2011 season! Yuh listen to it yet?!  8)

« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 09:02:08 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #51 on: February 17, 2011, 05:35:47 PM »

The more you post is the more curry yuh talking for and the deeper gave yuh digging for yourself!
I’ve been  a professional DJ for 15 plus years now, so don’t you think I would have bought music and listen to many albums from various artists over that period?

If I take the trouble to list you at least 20 midtempo songs from KMC (enough for 2 albums) which in my professional view are commercial songs with strong crossover appeal (not focused on carnival topics) would you promise to apologise to the forum for your ignorance and to stop coming across as bitter as you do while regularly posting inaccurate or misleading information?

If you make that promise then I'll deal with you tomorrow after talking the time tonight to dig out most of my KMC albums and list for you an impressive body of crossover work of at least 20 quality songs with strong commercial potential! And please don’t be silly to diss any of his songs with a ragga/dancehall element as KMC started off as a ragga/dancehall artist and gradually developed his own style and niche in the soca gene.

Also note that reggae and dancehall music is already loved and appreciated worldwide and is viewed by most sane people as commercial especially when the top artists in the gene put their hands at it.
KMC having a dancehall influence in many of his songs is not a negative unless you have some sort of inferiority complex about Caribbean music versus American music. Finally note that dancehall artists regularly borrow elements from soca music so there is nothing wrong with our artists borrowing elements from dancehall if they feel its appropriate for the songs in question!

It’s laughable how some folks who want to be taken seriously don’t do proper research before talking and are never man enough to admit when they get it totally wrong!!

Trust me Impulse’s 2011 chutney-soca song "Talking For Curry" as applied to some members of this forum hits the nail right on the head and could now be considered as our hottest forum-march contender so far for the T&T Carnival 2011 season! Yuh listen to it yet?!  8)

bring the soca, not ragga please and make sure its commercial and not carnival related.

because soul on fire wasn't ragga, it was soca and a cross over at that. im not into the pseudo artists. kmc is finally getting on the right track.

he realized that singing ja influenced music will not get him where he should be, i am very happy he is taking this step towards uplifting his career with commercial soca music, there will be a fusion of pop and r and b but it will be soca and will be there for the cross over market.

i am not willing to apologize to anyone because i am 100% right about what i am saying and congratulated kmc.

there is no bitterness here breds, never been, just plain facts, right now i am doing bigger things with my life, God has given me that opportunity and I thank him for that. Sometimes the truth offends and trinis don't like hearing the truth and the truth is 95% of his music was carnival and jump up related, that he is widely known for performing.

« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 05:40:03 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #52 on: February 17, 2011, 07:19:17 PM »

The more you post is the more curry yuh talking for and the deeper gave yuh digging for yourself!

bring the soca, not ragga please and make sure its commercial and not carnival related.

because soul on fire wasn't ragga, it was soca and a cross over at that. im not into the pseudo artists. kmc is finally getting on the right track.

he realized that singing ja influenced music will not get him where he should be, i am very happy he is taking this step towards uplifting his career with commercial soca music, there will be a fusion of pop and r and b but it will be soca and will be there for the cross over market.

i am not willing to apologize to anyone because i am 100% right about what i am saying and congratulated kmc.

there is no bitterness here breds, never been, just plain facts, right now i am doing bigger things with my life, God has given me that opportunity and I thank him for that. Sometimes the truth offends and trinis don't like hearing the truth and the truth is 95% of his music was carnival and jump up related, that he is widely known for performing.

Yuh still persisting with the same inaccurate 95% of KMC music is jump up songs argument sah?! Of late everytime I read your posts somewhere in the post after yuh might have started off good suddenly Impulse’s new song comes to mind. In fact I think I'll play it on my radio show this Saturday between 2-4pm GMT on www.genesisradio.co.uk and dedicate it to a mystery poster on the SocaWarriors.net football forum.  :idea: Good idea and then I could throw a competition the following week for listeners who visit SocaWarriors.net about which mystery poster they believe I may have dedicated that Impulse song to. Winner can get tickets to one of my events in London or maybe even a Best of KMC complication mix-cd that I may decide to put together this week!!

Who else here says Impulse's “Talking For Curry” sounds like it could be a strong road march contender after reading some of Controversial’s posts of late?! I’m beginning to suspect that Impulse could have visited this forum a few times and could have read some of Controversial’s posts before coming up with the lyrics for that song!  ;)
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 07:27:10 PM by Socapro »

Offline Arazi

« Reply #53 on: February 17, 2011, 07:57:49 PM »

I went back and read it, and it was the only post where you actually made sense, if i read that post I might have posted the way i did...

however, you posts thereafter and even a portion of your first post you start to throw some lines/criticisms at KMC which were not quite accurate..

Now, read what i write good, i not fighting yuh,

the more i read your posts is the more i get the vibe that you don't like the style of the majority of KMC music particularly his reggae influenced stuff..and because YOU  don't like it you pigeon hole his stuff and say he would be better off doing what you prefer to hear, or what you believe is more likely to succeed.

All men have been trying to show you is that your view of the man's music, or how you've tried to portray it in this forum, is a bit skewed...

like your assertion that 95% of KMC's music is not jump and wave...
which, i know, being a staunch KMC fan since 1998, is false.

when men give yuh the proof you dismiss it and continue to act or are perceived as acting wrong and strong..

yuh overs what i/other men saying now?

« Reply #54 on: February 17, 2011, 09:42:32 PM »

I went back and read it, and it was the only post where you actually made sense, if i read that post I might have posted the way i did...

however, you posts thereafter and even a portion of your first post you start to throw some lines/criticisms at KMC which were not quite accurate..

the more i read your posts is the more i get the vibe that you don't like the style of the majority of KMC music particularly his reggae influenced stuff..and because YOU  don't like it you pigeon hole his stuff and say he would be better off doing what you prefer to hear, or what you believe is more likely to succeed.

All men have been trying to show you is that your view of the man's music, or how you've tried to portray it in this forum, is a bit skewed...

when men give yuh the proof you dismiss it and continue to act or are perceived as acting wrong and strong..

I suspect yuh wasting yuh time! Yuh could take the horse to the water but yuh cyah force it to drink!

Controversial sees himself as the local music expert round these parts so whatever he says goes despite all the evidence on this topic to the contrary!

Lets agree with him that "Soul On Fire" is the only quality commercial song that KMC has ever done over the years and lets brand 95% of all the other stuff that KMC has done as jump up Carnival stuff. Failing that I can see this discussion going on and on and Contoversial still maintaining his wrong and strong position despite all the evidence.

In fact I would encourage him to logon to my radio show this Saturday 2-4pm GMT on www.GenesisRadio.co.uk and I'll play him and the rest of listeners some more commercial KMC stuff in celebration of his new US record deal!

As far as I am concerned KMC has enough commerial material already and all he needs now is the marketing of a big record company behind him and he'll soon go clear!! KMC doesn't need to change the range or style of the music he has been producing over the years too much in order to reach billboard again!!

But that's just me, who don't really know KMC's music according to Controversial despite having most of the stuff/albums KMC has released over the past 15 years!
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 09:50:57 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #55 on: February 17, 2011, 11:41:18 PM »

I suspect yuh wasting yuh time! Yuh could take the horse to the water but yuh cyah force it to drink!

Controversial sees himself as the local music expert round these parts so whatever he says goes despite all the evidence on this topic to the contrary!

Lets agree with him that "Soul On Fire" is the only quality commercial song that KMC has ever done over the years and lets brand 95% of all the other stuff that KMC has done as jump up Carnival stuff. Failing that I can see this discussion going on and on and Contoversial still maintaining his wrong and strong position despite all the evidence.

In fact I would encourage him to logon to my radio show this Saturday 2-4pm GMT on www.GenesisRadio.co.uk and I'll play him and the rest of listeners some more commercial KMC stuff in celebration of his new US record deal!

As far as I am concerned KMC has enough commerial material already and all he needs now is the marketing of a big record company behind him and he'll soon go clear!! KMC doesn't need to change the range or style of the music he has been producing over the years too much in order to reach billboard again!!

But that's just me, who don't really know KMC's music according to Controversial despite having most of the stuff/albums KMC has released over the past 15 years!

will be tuning in to hear  :beermug:

red one will change his style, the producer dictates what the style and where the music will go, kmc can't walk in and tell red one what to do and he not changing or he will get dropped, kmc will most likely be open to many suggestions and altering of his style to fit a commercial format in the US after success in europe and the uk.

« Reply #56 on: February 18, 2011, 01:45:25 PM »

will be tuning in to hear  :beermug:

red one will change his style, the producer dictates what the style and where the music will go, kmc can't walk in and tell red one what to do and he not changing or he will get dropped, kmc will most likely be open to many suggestions and altering of his style to fit a commercial format in the US after success in europe and the uk.

You talk like you are the managing director of Red One.
You really don't appreciate the range of KMC's music do you?!
As I already said KMC doesn't have to change his style, all he has to do is continue doing what he has been doing with proper marketing behind him!

Recording new stuff for Red One will be more about who will fully own the rights to his new stuff rather than about KMC needing to change his style too much, similar to when Machel had his deal with Atlantic.
If KMC tries to change his style too much and loses the roots of his music then it won't be soca or dancehall-soca anymore & he'll be doing something else which will mean he’ll probably lose his original fan base back in the Caribbean.

I suspect Red One already love KMC's style, versatility and image which is why they signed him in the first place.
Once they give KMC the required marketing, he's definitely capable of giving them a few international hits songs for their investment. He does not need to change his style too much just the market he has been focusing on!   8)
« Last Edit: February 18, 2011, 01:55:50 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #57 on: February 18, 2011, 02:35:15 PM »
I doh know why you still dey with IT. The fella is an expert in all matters music, football, and cricket!

He probably vex with Heather Headley for selling out by singing R&B with she american accent.

But is not a loss, we get to tune in tomorrow to your show.

« Reply #58 on: February 18, 2011, 07:14:58 PM »
KMC work hard... TI ah know yuh move to cali... when yuh dropping the album... Socapro I was a DMC East Coast finalist  :beermug: KMC will do well... nutten doh come easy in life...

« Reply #59 on: February 18, 2011, 07:39:01 PM »
KMC work hard... TI ah know yuh move to cali... when yuh dropping the album... Socapro I was a DMC East Coast finalist  :beermug: KMC will do well... nutten doh come easy in life...

True!!  :beermug:

Will be bigging-up KMC for his new international record deal on my radio show this Saturday between 2-4pm GMT on www.GenesisRadio.co.uk. Maybe TI will tune and learn that KMC isn't a 95% jump & wave soca artist!  ;)