REDjet
« on: February 11, 2011, 05:59:35 PM »
Hard work is the key to success

Re: REDjet
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 07:47:08 PM »

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2011, 11:35:12 AM »
A Message from CEO Ian Burns

Dear REDjetter,

The Management team and staff of REDjet are pleased to announce that as of Wednesday 13th April 2011 REDjet’s low fares finally go on sale! Our first flights will launch from the 8th May and will feature frequent trips to our first destinations, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad. We know that so many you have all been eagerly awaiting our launch and the feedback has been massive. We promised not to disappoint and not only are we launching with fares from US$9.99 one-way excluding Government Taxes and Charges, but we are also launching 250,000 seats for US$49.99 or under! This truly will be a REDvolution as we aim to lower fares even further and open more routes across the region. Join us on our mission to end high fares so that Everyone Can Fly!
Get online on Wednesday and get your hands on the lowest fares ever seen in the Caribbean and let’s turn the Skies RED!

We look forward to welcoming you onboard!

Your’s Sincerely
Ian Burns

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2011, 11:48:02 AM »
$10 dollars?!?!...dat plane have seats?

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2011, 11:50:20 AM »
Richard Branson own this airline or what.

« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2011, 11:54:03 AM »

« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2011, 01:53:34 PM »

« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2011, 02:15:18 PM »

all yuh is real arse yes!!!!  :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2011, 02:37:33 PM »

« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2011, 05:53:19 PM »
after taxes etc,  price will be close to market,,

« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2011, 07:22:27 PM »

:rotfl: it needed after a longggggggggg day.

Offline Montjoy

« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2011, 05:30:02 AM »
It might work eh!
Here in Europe we have Easy Jet and Ryan Air since a few years and they doing very well. No big problems, or at lease no major accidents to this date that I know of. Of soure, an eyesore to the other established airlines at the beginning but now even Lufthansa tries to give them competition with special offers sometimes.
Ah wish dem luck because the poor will profit from their service.

« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2011, 10:15:49 AM »
site went live this am.. real good prices so far.

« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2011, 12:23:59 PM »
Prices good in truth...Caribbean airlines get bright and drop they prices too

« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2011, 04:35:37 PM »
Prices good in truth...Caribbean airlines get bright and drop they prices too

After I pay through meh nose 2 go JA.

« Reply #15 on: April 13, 2011, 05:04:58 PM »
Nah something about the 9US not making sense....I going and book a Trinidad to Barbados.
Peek season (July) and prices is still 9US? Nah something not making sense...
40US peek season?

ep Tuesday, 5th July, 2011 16:30
Arr Tuesday, 5th July, 2011 17:30
Flight 302
1 x Adult US$ 9.99
Taxes
1 x Airport Terminal Charge US$ 1.50
1 x Concourse Fee US$ 7.50
1 x Airport CUTE Charges US$ 2.50  ........cute? So if ya ugly is higher?  :rotfl: :rotfl:
1 x Passenger User Charge US$ 15.70
1 x Sales Tax @ 15% OW US$ 1.49
2 x Airfare US$ .02
1 x airfare US$ .01

Bridgetown, Barbados To Port of Spain, Trinidad
Dep Sunday, 17th July, 2011 10:00
Arr Sunday, 17th July, 2011 11:00
Flight 202
1 x Adult US$ 9.99
Taxes
1 x Airport Security Charge US$ 2.50
1 x Passenger Service Charge US$ 27.50
1 x 17.5% Barbados sales tax OW US$ 1.74
2 x Airfare US$ .02
1 x airfare US$ .01

Total Price US$ 80.41..converted is about 522TT (6.50)

NAH!!!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: April 13, 2011, 05:07:43 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #16 on: April 13, 2011, 06:08:13 PM »
i see alot of traveling in my future

« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2011, 05:49:49 AM »

Yeah boy, Jamaica finally looking affordable.....

« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2011, 07:08:47 AM »

Yeah boy, Jamaica finally looking affordable.....
Yep, time allowing I will travel to see us play in Kingston.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2011, 07:41:20 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2011, 03:06:20 PM »
Nah something about the 9US not making sense....I going and book a Trinidad to Barbados.
Peek season (July) and prices is still 9US? Nah something not making sense...
40US peek season?

ep Tuesday, 5th July, 2011 16:30
Arr Tuesday, 5th July, 2011 17:30
Flight 302
1 x Adult US$ 9.99
Taxes
1 x Airport Terminal Charge US$ 1.50
1 x Concourse Fee US$ 7.50
1 x Airport CUTE Charges US$ 2.50  ........cute? So if ya ugly is higher?  :rotfl: :rotfl:
1 x Passenger User Charge US$ 15.70
1 x Sales Tax @ 15% OW US$ 1.49
2 x Airfare US$ .02
1 x airfare US$ .01

Bridgetown, Barbados To Port of Spain, Trinidad
Dep Sunday, 17th July, 2011 10:00
Arr Sunday, 17th July, 2011 11:00
Flight 202
1 x Adult US$ 9.99
Taxes
1 x Airport Security Charge US$ 2.50
1 x Passenger Service Charge US$ 27.50
1 x 17.5% Barbados sales tax OW US$ 1.74
2 x Airfare US$ .02
1 x airfare US$ .01

Total Price US$ 80.41..converted is about 522TT (6.50)

NAH!!!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

When the old Spirit Airlines had an $8 fare sale to the Bahamas was the same thing: total after tax and fee $74, but still worth it.

Was the redjet site down last night? looks like they weren't quite ready. back up today.

« Reply #20 on: April 18, 2011, 04:35:17 AM »
Warner plans probe into REDJet
T&T Guardian Reports.

Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner said he plans to launch an investigation to find out who gave REDJet approval to operate in T&T. Warner said while he commended competition, he wanted to see due process followed.

“It is true that I am not against competition, but I don’t think that competition should be based on a degree of lawlessness,” Warner said at the commencement of roadworks at Soledad Road, Claxton Bay, yesterday. He said the Civil Aviation Authority, Caribbean Airlines and the Airports Authority did not know who gave permission to the carrier to operate out of T&T.

The airline which was launched in T&T on Wednesday boasts of offering air fares at 60 per cent lower than any other airline. Flights are scheduled to begin on May 8 to Trinidad, Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The company is based in Barbados.

The airline will operate with two MD-82 aircraft. “To get in this country you have to get consent from Civil Aviation and they did not get it.  As line Minister I do not know anything about it, the Prime Minister do not know anything about it,” Warner said.

In another interview at Hanuman Jayanti celebrations at the Charlieville Mandir yesterday, he said: “I do not want to insult the Prime Minister by asking her because I am sure she does not know.” Warner said he was told that the 21-year-old aircraft was denied permission to operate out of the United States.

“If this is true I will investigate,” he said. Warner said he was very concerned about the low rates charged by REDJet and that  “something has to be wrong.” He said he did not believe that the last government made any agreements with REDJet since there would have been records.

He said if REDJet received all permission above board, it would be welcomed, since he believed that REDJet would pose no competition to Caribbean Airlines. He added that those who purchase tickets could be refunded. “REDJet is aware that they haven’t got permission and I am saying to you when they apply properly and if they get permission we shall see,” Warner added.

He noted that even if Government had an agreement with the Barbados Government, it did not automatically follow that REDjet could fly without getting the necessary consent. “Nothing is wrong with competition, but it must be competition based on respect for a country laws and regulations,” he said.

—With reporting by Radhica Sookraj and Shastri Boodan

RedJet is ready for take off
Thursday, April 14 2011
T&T Newsday

The Caribbean’s first Low Fares Airline (LFA) REDjet will take to the region’s skies on May 8 with a service from Barbados to St Lucia while the second introductory flight would be to Port-of-Spain from Barbados. Tickets went on sale yesterday.

Talking to Business Day last week, Robbie Burns, the company’s business development director said there was just one regulatory hurdle to cross — the approval by the Barbados Civil Aviation Authorities of its Airline Operating Certificate (AOC).

That has happened and the REDjet planes are ready to fly carrying passengers who would have paid US$9.99 one way, exclusive of compulsory taxes and other government charges.

He also disclosed the airline had concluded some strategic alliances with international service providers ServisAir and Laparkan.

ServisAir will handle REDjet’s ground operations at Piarco International while Laparkan will take charge of the airline’s travel agency services at the airport. Talks are currently being held with the partners for service in other destinations.

About the new alliances REDjet chairman and chief executive officer Ian Burns said: “The fact that these world renowned companies have chosen to partner with us is testament to the enthusiasm and confidence in the long term strategic value of the REDjet brand and displays the confidence that key industry players have in us. I am certain this confidence will be shared by the hundreds of thousands of passengers who will make REDjet their airline of choice.”

Burns (R) said the airline had already completed “somewhere between 70 and 80 hours of test flights” in readiness for its launch.

Asked about the tail strike which grounded one of the airline’s two MD-72 aircraft at the Grantley Adams International recently, Burns said the aircraft had been repaired and is back in service.

He is confident that as soon as operations begin, intra-Caribbean fares would start to drop, because one of the aims of REDjet to provide more affordable travel for Caribbean people. Burns said he expected fares to drop by as much as 60 percent.

“While we do not consider ourselves competition for the other regional carriers because we are essentially a different product, we do anticipate a decrease in all fares on routes we fly, which is great news for the consumers,” the company director added.

“Being consumer champions, this anticipated move will only serve to further our mission of bringing cheaper and more affordable fares to the Caribbean region.”

Burns insisted low fares were not just a headline gimmick, but rather they were at the centre of the LFA business model adopted by REDjet. He said, REDjet would like to be open about its fares and charges.

“It is this honesty, as well as our low fares and charges that make us different and ensure that REDjet would truly be the consumer champion,” he said.

“Your final payment depends entirely on you. If you are prepared to book early, book at our airport ticket desk and fly on off-peak days, you will be able to fly for US$9.99 or TT$65, plus compulsory government taxes and charges and nothing else on every route. This is what we mean by low fares,” he said.

Burns said all other possible charges were optional, such as checked baggage, priority boarding, call centre or web processing fees, in-flight food and drinks and flight change fees.

Between 15 and 40 seats, or ten to 27 percent of all available seats on a flight would be sold at the lowest fare. After that the fares rise in US$10 increments according to demand as the plane fills up. But the average fare across all routes would be US$59, which is 60 percent cheaper than existing fares.

However, if you were to book in the last week or two, or if the flight demand has been strong and the lowest fares have been sold out, then fares could reach as high as US$99 and above.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2011, 04:48:45 AM by Flex »

« Reply #21 on: April 18, 2011, 06:02:46 AM »
Well, is either RedJet real screw up or Jack about to look real incompetent/dotish.........

« Reply #22 on: April 18, 2011, 08:01:02 AM »
“It is true that I am not against competition, but I don’t think that competition should be based on a degree of lawlessness,” Warner said...

No need to investigate nutten Jack. Just think of RedJet as a PH airline.

« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2011, 08:59:24 AM »
“It is true that I am not against competition, but I don’t think that competition should be based on a degree of lawlessness,” Warner said...

No need to investigate nutten Jack. Just think of RedJet as a PH airline.

« Reply #24 on: April 18, 2011, 09:14:46 AM »
This is what Redjet saying....

http://www.facebook.com/flyredjet/posts/143151322420586

"Good morning REDjetters, we have the required regulatory approval from the Air Transport Licencing Authority of Barbados under the Air Services Agreement between Trinidad & Tobago and Barbados to conduct current commercial activities."

« Reply #25 on: April 18, 2011, 09:38:06 AM »
From twitter:
@izatrini  I can see it now. Simpaul's Travel, the exclusive agent of RedJet in Trinidad. Flights from $9,999.99.

« Reply #26 on: April 18, 2011, 10:01:21 AM »
A Message from CEO Ian Burns

Dear REDjetter,

The Management team and staff of REDjet are pleased to announce that as of Wednesday 13th April 2011 REDjet’s low fares finally go on sale! Our first flights will launch from the 8th May and will feature frequent trips to our first destinations, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad. We know that so many you have all been eagerly awaiting our launch and the feedback has been massive. We promised not to disappoint and not only are we launching with fares from US$9.99 one-way excluding Government Taxes and Charges, but we are also launching 250,000 seats for US$49.99 or under! This truly will be a REDvolution as we aim to lower fares even further and open more routes across the region. Join us on our mission to end high fares so that Everyone Can Fly!
Get online on Wednesday and get your hands on the lowest fares ever seen in the Caribbean and let’s turn the Skies RED!

We look forward to welcoming you onboard!

Your’s Sincerely
Ian Burns

Wait 'till they buss the tax on you. It eh go sound so amazing hten. However, you should still save money. I went from Istanbul to London return for 130 US dllrs. Usual price was about 430 dllrs. In additio n see what the baggage limitations are and how much you have to pay for extra bags. You will probably get NO free drinks or meals on such a flight. However, for those on a budget or travelling simply it should be useful.

« Reply #27 on: April 18, 2011, 12:45:04 PM »
From twitter:
@izatrini  I can see it now. Simpaul's Travel, the exclusive agent of RedJet in Trinidad. Flights from $9,999.99.

All yuh need to stop!!!....

« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2011, 02:55:14 PM »
From twitter:

All yuh need to stop!!!....

Y FREE KICKS

« Reply #29 on: April 20, 2011, 05:05:46 AM »
Oh oh..... :-X

REDjet’s May 8 flight in jeopardy
Dixie-Ann Dickson

REDjet’s plans to fly from T&T on May 8 are in trouble. Ramesh Lutchmedial, director general of the Civil Aviation Authority of T&T (CATT), said yesterday he had ordered REDjet to immediately cease all advertising of its fares to the three destinations to which it had been marketing its $63 rate. The low-cost carrier, which a week ago launched its services at the Carlton Savannah, St Ann’s, said it planned to service the Trinidad, Barbados, Jamaica and Guyana routes. Lutchmedial said CATT dispatched a letter, dated yesterday, to the low-cost carrier informing it to desist from advertising fares or the making of any bookings until it had received the required permission from the relevant authorities in T&T. Since the launch of REDjet, there have been concerns surrounding its acquisition of a licence to operate in T&T. During the commencement of road works in St Augustine South yesterday, Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner said: “The permanent secretary has submitted a report stating that nobody has given REDjet permission to fly into Trinidad.” Warner said T&T was not against competition, but that there were laws airlines wanting to operate in T&T had to obey and fulfil, which had not been done in the case of REDjet. Warner said the airline had not yet approached the Airports Authority of T&T for permission to operate here.

Asked if he thought the airline was guilty of “ambush,” Warner said he would not use that word to describe the situation, but that from his perspective, there was poor planning on the part of the airline.
Asked, too, if Government had the ultimate power to prevent an airline from flying in T&T, Warner said yes, but it would not do so because there were reciprocal aviation agreements between countries.
REDjet has said its base fares start at US$63, but that rate did not include government and sales taxes.
 Newspaper advertisements stated that those rates were subject to daily bank rates of conversion.
In a statement issued on Monday, Kevin Dudley, REDjet’s chief operations officer, said the airline received regulatory approvals from the Air Transport Licensing Authority of Barbados, under the service agreements between Barbados and all other states, including the air services agreement between the relevant countries, to commence commercial activities. Yesterday, Lutchmedial said while the airline might have obtain its licence from Barbados, it did not give the airline automatic rights to fly into T&T.

Lutchmedial explained that the Air Transport Licensing Authority of Barbados, under the air service agreements between Barbados and other states, was subject to the local laws of the other countries.
He said that means it was not an automatic right for REDjet to operate in T&T. He said the airline had to apply to T&T and even Jamaica and Guyana, as these licences would be based on the compliance of each country’s local laws. Lutchmedial further outlined the process in which a carrier or flight operator had to engage before acquiring a licence to fly into T&T. He said after the airline acquired its licence from Barbados Civil Aviation Authority, the Barbados government, through a diplomatic note sent to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, must designate that REDjet as a national carrier of Barbados under the terms  and condition of the civil aviation agreement between Barbados and T&T. Asked if he was aware that the Foreign Affairs Ministry was in receipt of such a note, Lutchmedial said he was not certain if that was the case.

“I am not sure...I do not want to say yes or no,” he said. Following this note, Lutchmedial said the T&T Civil Aviation would be informed and would have to ensure that the Barbados Civil Authority is in compliance with the safety and security standards of the international Civil Aviation before it makes any recommendation for the issuance of a licence. Notwithstanding this procedure, Lutchmedial said most importantly, CATT was an agency of the state and was guided by government policy. “So matters like these we have to consult with the line minister,” he said. Attempts yesterday to contact Anne-Marie Edwards-Job, account manager for REDjet at Sandra Welch Farrell and Company (SWF&Co), which is handling REDjet’s public relations, were unsuccessful. The T&T Guardian was told that Edwards-Job was in a meeting and she would be unable to comment on any issue as she had another engagement afterwards.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2011/04/20/redjet-s-may-8-flight-jeopardy
« Last Edit: April 20, 2011, 05:17:15 AM by Brownsugar »