April 16, 2024, 01:05:43 AM

Author Topic: Soca Monarch 2011  (Read 20501 times)

« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 04:30:29 PM by Tallman »
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Re: live soca monarch
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 10:16:30 PM »
lawd... lyrics  are poor quality... dem singers making up  improvising on stage. singing...or... shouting...bawling.... all beat the same; all ah dem. LAWD Bring back the  pure form. dis eh even thoughtful lyrics.
I go wait fuh the Calypso Monarch. Night
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 11:01:51 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2011, 10:32:00 PM »
lawd... lyrics poor quality.... singing...... shouting....... beat the same all ah dem. LAWD Bring back the  pure form.
I go wait fuh the Calypso Monarch. Nig

I agree wid yuh dey! except for one or two but it is what it is, dais the era we in. I hope the style change with better quality anyways, ah cyah wait for the kaiso monarch myself lets go!!
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 11:17:37 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2011, 11:14:32 PM »
People just passing in troo. The finals you will see some more qaulity. This is SOCA Monarch, young people thing.

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2011, 06:52:13 AM »
Groovy soca monarch usually have much better lyrics....
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2011, 09:58:29 AM »

U mean dey have lyrics

« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2011, 10:14:21 AM »

U mean dey have lyrics

Girl the pack ah shit I see dey last night, smh   ::)

allrounder in soca monarch semis
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2011, 09:46:03 AM »
Hey anyone here so the allrounder performance of( hard wine) in the soca monarch semis.... i hear it was epically disturbing...
any vids ?

Re: allrounder in soca monarch semis
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2011, 10:48:18 AM »
Hey anyone here so the allrounder performance of( hard wine) in the soca monarch semis.... i hear it was epically disturbing...
any vids ?

Most of his performance is usually disturbing because it does b he dghters involve.

Offline signal

« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2011, 11:04:50 AM »
any vids ?

Most of his performance is usually disturbing because it does b he dghters involve.

Ent!..if his daughters werent involved i might even find it funny.
If...
chief justice ivor archie say so
ex-chief justice sharma say so
law assoc pres martin daly say so
transpareny institute say so
Ken Gordon say so
jones p say so....then is so!!!

« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2011, 11:11:25 AM »
It would be nice if allyuh comment on this specific performance rather than making insinuations about what it might have been. 

As to the question, I see some pics on Facebook with him shirtless and grabbing he crotch... judging from the comments it seemed to be a critique of today's youths.  Nobody seemed to find it "disturbing"... most people was ketching kicks on de floor.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 01:32:30 PM by Bakes »

Allrounder shows youths how it’s done
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2011, 11:26:59 AM »
Allrounder shows youths how it’s done
By David Cuffy (T&T Guardian)

“Age is strictly a case of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter,” is a quote attributed to the late comedian Jack Benny. He must have had veteran calypsonian Allrounder (Anthony Hendrickson) in mind, I mused, after viewing the performance of the 70-something-year-old bard in the Groovy Soca Monarch segment of the semifinal round of the International Power Soca and Groovy Soca Monarch competitions held at the Arima Velodrome on Sunday.

It is said you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, and in many respects that is true. However, that cliché seems not to fit Allrounder. The performance of his Wine song was just as energetic, raunchy, and at the same mind-numbing decibel level as any showcased by the younger competitors. “Arima people, is a youth man calling yuh,” he intoned at the start, meriting crowd approval that lasted throughout his time on stage, and culminated with wild cheering at the end.

Indeed, the oldest competitor in the semifinal proved to non-believers that maturity, experience, dedication and ingenuity can more than make up for a little senescence. The activity got off to an on-time 6 pm start before a small crowd that would blossom into a mammoth gathering before the night was over. Late arrivals missed the contributions of popular contenders Blaxx, Denise Belfon, Patch and Benjai, but would later on express their unbridled joy with full choral participation to the offerings of Destra, Patrice Roberts, Kerwin DuBois, Kees, and others.

A distinctive feature of the “Groovy” segment, in which there were 29 competitors, was the proliferation of songs highlighting “wining,” complemented with, for the most part, creative, well-choreographed movements by accompanying loose-limbed, talented, energetic dancers. Almost four hours after the start, the segment ended, but not before the by-now-large audience was further entertained by a recorded version of the official “soca monarch song,” and snippets of selections that went on to win past Soca Monarch competitions, inclusive of SuperBlue’s (Austin Lyons) hugely popular Bacchanal Time, and Get Something and Wave, and Ronnie McIntosh’s  participatory E’nt and How It Go Look.

The “Power” segment got off to a 10.10 pm start with Ajala appearing in the opening slot. Based on the same number of qualifiers (29) listed to present their selections before the adjudication panel, it was calculated that the semifinal leg of competition would not end before 2 am yesterday. Guardian Media Ltd is one of the official sponsors of the competition.

Soca Monarch Finalists
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2011, 04:31:05 PM »
POWER
JW & Blaze
Bunji Garlin
Destra Garcia
Fay-Ann Lyons
Iwer George
Machel Montano HD
Michelle Xavier
Nadia Batson / Patrice Roberts
RaviB
Shal Marshall
Tallpree
Skinny Fabulous
Blood
Tian Winter

GROOVY
All Rounder
Benjai
Blaxx
Cassi
Chucky
Destra Garcia
Jahmoun
Kerwin Du Bois
Kes Dieffenthaller
Megan
Patrice Roberts
Saucy Wow
Yankee Boy &  Patch
Shurwayne Winchester

Re: Soca Monarch 2011
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2011, 07:18:04 PM »
For the Power ah going with IWER
« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 08:19:28 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2011, 08:35:33 PM »
For the Power ah going with IWER

fay ann flatten d place for d semis. so did iwer and bunji

machel and destra were not all dat

i backing fay ann all d way

« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2011, 03:52:05 PM »
any vids ?

well I now hear on the radio, is bout 10 gig  nite for All Rounder.

check out the from 2:30 in this video..

VIEWER DISCRESSION ADVISED.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/OG2efu0tcng" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/OG2efu0tcng</a>

« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2011, 05:21:51 PM »
 :-[

« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2011, 06:36:48 PM »
allrounder must be need a case of ben gay before every show oui

« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2011, 07:14:30 AM »
Dis is de "in" song right now, well dey love it over on Red 96.7.......interesting.....

« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2011, 11:38:20 AM »
I expect Machel to win SM with Advantage (Iwer the only one who can cause an upset). Machel was tied for first in the semi final

« Reply #20 on: February 22, 2011, 09:02:36 PM »
<a href="http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_fg930gf1/uiconf_id/1892491" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_fg930gf1/uiconf_id/1892491</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8FfRQouGT3A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8FfRQouGT3A</a>

« Reply #21 on: February 22, 2011, 09:24:02 PM »
For the Power ah going with IWER.

Machel for The Road March.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2011, 09:28:14 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #22 on: February 22, 2011, 09:43:17 PM »
<a href="http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_i5hgt92f/uiconf_id/1892491" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_i5hgt92f/uiconf_id/1892491</a>

<a href="http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_my3aodce/uiconf_id/1892491" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_my3aodce/uiconf_id/1892491</a>

<a href="http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_vpvf7yu4/uiconf_id/1892491" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_vpvf7yu4/uiconf_id/1892491</a>

<a href="http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_rhfsk8cd/uiconf_id/1892491" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_rhfsk8cd/uiconf_id/1892491</a>

<a href="http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_x57ggih8/uiconf_id/1892491" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_x57ggih8/uiconf_id/1892491</a>
« Last Edit: February 22, 2011, 10:06:24 PM by Tallman »

Soca Monarch finalists draw for positions
« Reply #23 on: March 02, 2011, 05:14:17 PM »
ctntworld.com

The Caribbean Prestige Foundation for the Performing Arts hosted the draw for positions for the finals of the Bmobile International Soca Monarch and Play Whe Groovy Soca Monarch Competitions 2011 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel today.

The much-coveted first prize in the Power Soca competition is $2 million. The second place winner will collect $600,000, while the 3rd place winner will be rewarded with $300,000. Fourth place is valued at $200,000 while those placing 5th to 11th will get $115,000. Individuals placing in the 12th, 13th and 14th positions in the finals will receive $50,000.

The order of appearance for competitors in the Bmobile International Soca Monarch are:
1. JW and Blaze (Wild & Frisky)
2. Blood (Foot On Fire)
3. Skinny Fabulous SVG (Charge Up)
4. Michelle Xavier (Feteing For Days)
5. Shal Marshall (Defend It)
6. Nadia and Tallpree (Lighters)
7. Iwer George (Come To Meh)
8. Nadia and Patrice Roberts (We Not Leaving)
9. Machel Montano (Advantage)
10. Destra (Welcome Me Back / We Own It)
11. Ravi B (Cyah Come)
12. Bunji Garlin (Hold A Burn)
13. Tian Winter (?)
14. Fay Ann Lyons (Consider It Done)

Caribbean Prestige Foundation also confirmed that it attempted to bring the Groovy Monarch prizes in line with those for the Power Soca competition. The Groovy Soca Monarch winner will get half a million dollars. The second place winner will receive $225,000, 3rd place will get $125,000, the 4th placed winner will get $115,000 dollars, those from 5th to 10th positions will get $100,000 and competitors placing 12th to 15th will receive $50,000.

The order of appearance for competitors in the Play Whe Groovy Soca Monarch finals positions are:
1. Ras Star (Soca Fire)
2. Jahmoun (Digital Bumper)
3. Patch and Yankee Boy (Head Nice)
4. Kes (Wotless)
5. Blaxx (Tanti Woi)
6. All Rounder (Body Wine)
7. Shurwayne Winchester (Manic Monday)
8. Destra (Cool It Down)
9. Chucky (My Bad Ting)
10. Benjai (Trini)
11. Denise Belfon (Dance & Dingolay)
12. Patrice Roberts (Mas & Wining)
13. Kerwin Du Bois (Ah Ting)
14. Megan Waldron (Posse)
15. Cassi (Town Ting)
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 09:11:58 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #24 on: March 02, 2011, 07:47:16 PM »
Ok so of the big guns  Iwer going first and then ah break and then Machel....Destra following Machel....well she goh have to come real good cuz the crowd eh goh have no energy after dem two big guns.....Faye-Ann bringing up the rear......and Bunji somewhere in between there.

De defending champs going first.  Dat good, then we could forget bout dem and get down to the real battle.....hhhmmm then again, ah could sleep through nos. 1 to 6 and get ready for the fireworks!!.... :drool: :drool:  :challenge: :challenge: :duel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

Re: Soca Monarch finalists draw for positions
« Reply #25 on: March 02, 2011, 09:35:06 PM »
ctntworld.com

The Caribbean Prestige Foundation for the Performing Arts hosted the draw for positions for the finals of the Bmobile International Soca Monarch and Play Whe Groovy Soca Monarch Competitions 2011 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel today.

The much-coveted first prize in the Power Soca competition is $2 million. The second place winner will collect $600,000, while the 3rd place winner will be rewarded with $300,000. Fourth place is valued at $200,000 while those placing 5th to 11th will get $115,000. Individuals placing in the 12th, 13th and 14th positions in the finals will receive $50,000.

The order of appearance for competitors in the Bmobile International Soca Monarch are:
1. JW and Blaze
2. Blood (Andy Armstrong)
3. Skinny Fabulous SVG
4. Michelle Xavier
5. Shal Marshall
6. Nadia and Tallpree
7. Iwer George
8. Nadia and Patrice Roberts
9. Machel Montano
10. Destra
11. Ravi B
12. Bunji Garlin
13. Tian Winter
14. Fay Ann Lyons

Caribbean Prestige Foundation also confirmed that it attempted to bring the Groovy Monarch prizes in line with those for the Power Soca competition. The Groovy Soca Monarch winner will get half a million dollars. The second place winner will receive $225,000, 3rd place will get $125,000, the 4th placed winner will get $115,000 dollars, those from 5th to 10th positions will get $100,000 and competitors placing 12th to 15th will receive $50,000.

The order of appearance for competitors in the Play Whe Groovy Soca Monarch finals positions are:
1. Ras Star
2. Jahmoun
3. Patch and Yankee Boy
4. Kes
5. Blaxx
6. All Rounder
7. Shurwayne Winchester
8. Destra
9. Chucky
10. Benjai
11. Denise Belfon
12. Patrice Roberts
13. Kerwin Du Bois
14. Megan Waldron
15. Cassi

So d man who come second in power gettin more than d winner in groovy.

« Reply #26 on: March 04, 2011, 11:33:38 AM »
Any link for the show tonight?

« Reply #27 on: March 04, 2011, 12:13:52 PM »

« Reply #28 on: March 04, 2011, 12:19:55 PM »
Ok so of the big guns  Iwer going first and then ah break and then Machel....Destra following Machel....well she goh have to come real good cuz the crowd eh goh have no energy after dem two big guns.....Faye-Ann bringing up the rear......and Bunji somewhere in between there.

De defending champs going first.  Dat good, then we could forget bout dem and get down to the real battle.....hhhmmm then again, ah could sleep through nos. 1 to 6 and get ready for the fireworks!!.... :drool: :drool:  :challenge: :challenge: :duel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

Who you like for soca monarch? For some reason that Iwer song grew on me and to be honest, at first I thought it was real tata....in fact is still tata but when it come on de radio like de jumbie does come out in me.

« Reply #29 on: March 04, 2011, 01:18:52 PM »

Who you like for soca monarch? For some reason that Iwer song grew on me and to be honest, at first I thought it was real tata....in fact is still tata but when it come on de radio like de jumbie does come out in me.

to hear him sing it live is another thing. talk bout madness. crowd does get mad. something bout d beat does get me hype. iwer is d darkhorse in dis race
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 01:26:26 PM by Tallman »