March 29, 2024, 05:43:22 AM

Author Topic: Young Warriors Clash with young boyz  (Read 3280 times)

Young Warriors Clash with young boyz
« on: February 14, 2011, 02:08:29 PM »
Young Warriors Clash with young boyz.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 footballers will kick off their quest for a place in the 2011 FIFA Under 17 World Cup when they face hosts Jamaica in the second game of a Group C double header in their Concacaf Final round qualifying match at 3pm (4pm TT time) at Catherine Hall.

Barbados will face Honduras in the earlier game from 12 midday in a Group D contest.

The hosts are pumped up for the affair with head coach Wendell Downswell expressing confidence that his team could go all the way based on their showing in recent preparation camps which included recent matches against the United States and a 3-2 win over Haiti and 1-0 loss to Costa Rica last Thursday.

“We have prepared very well for this tournament. I am pleased with what I have seen and now we have to go into the tournament and get the best possible start against Trinidad and Tobago. I think we are capable of getting that,” Downswell told reporters.

T&T’s head coach Shawn Cooper is now overawed by facing the confident hosts in his team’s opening match.

“Our boys are ready also. We arrived here and settled in and one thing on our mind is starting the tournament on a positive note. Jamaica may consider themselves favourites naturally because they are at home and they have been preparing for this occasion but so have we,” Cooper told TTFF Media following a training session on Monday.

“I expect the first game to be a very interesting one. Both teams have a history at this level. We defeated Jamaica in their backyard to qualify for the World Cup in 2007 when Anton Corneal was the head coach and I expect Jamaica will want to make this pay back time but we also have our ambitions in place which is to start well and move on to the next round.

We have Guatemala to face later this week but right now we are focusing on the next task in front of us which is getting off on the right note against Jamaica,” Cooper added.

Team captain Duane Muckette is not feeling any major pressure even though he expects the match to be a tough one.

“We are not afraid of any of the teams including Jamaica but we know we have to be at our best. It’s going  to take a really good team effort for us to advance in this tournament and I feel that once we follow instructions from the coaches and believe in our potential then we can get the result we want. We need to get a good result in this first game.

A win is what we want but we also will not want Jamaica to get three points in the first game. As captain of the team, I have to ensure all the players are relaxed and focused.

We have waited a long time for this match and now after all the preparations it’s finally here for us to go out there and  perform to our best ability as a team,” Muckette added.

Last week, Concacaf rejected the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium as a game venue after the field failed to meet the required standard and was subsequently given a failing grade on Wednesday by the CONCACAF inspection team led by deputy general secretary Ted Howard.

Jarrett Park was then chosen as the second game venue and the opening game was switched to Catherine Hall to give them time to get it ready.

This also will be the first time CONCACAF will crown a U-17 champion since 1996. A format to determine the confederation's World Cup qualifiers without designating a winner was used from 1999 to 2007.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2011, 02:30:13 PM by Flex »

Re: Young Warriors Clash with young boyz
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 04:11:42 PM »
blessings to the team

tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2011, 06:09:23 AM »
Dem boyz went and prepare like Warriors and We warriors were prepared like Boyz. HHS - Heavy Heart Syndrome

« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2011, 06:25:42 AM »
Let's go youths...all the best later.

Gi dem Bois.

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2011, 06:45:12 AM »
Let's go youths...all the best later.

Gi dem Bois.

COSIGNNNN
blessings to the team

tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

COSIGNNNN

Find d match day prayer pls. We need it as David has indicated  y

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2011, 07:47:37 AM »
We will lose. I wish them the best but T&T have a history of only two reasonable local coaches, GAlly and Bertille. These two, while not being good tactitions, demanded a level of comittment and discipline from their players.  I dont know if Cooper is a disciplinarian or a good tactition I dont know about him but then again that is the history of JW and the TTFF in picking local coaches. Latapy may or may not have been a good tactition but I can safely say that his history of indiscipline was borne out in our play on the field. Put the names in a bag and pull out one. I guess our indisciplined and bachanal infused society is not conducive to producing good coaches. I hope Cooper proves me wrong; but I doubt it.

« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2011, 08:06:01 AM »
We will lose. I wish them the best but T&T have a history of only two reasonable local coaches, GAlly and Bertille. These two, while not being good tactitions, demanded a level of comittment and discipline from their players.  I dont know if Cooper is a disciplinarian or a good tactition I dont know about him but then again that is the history of JW and the TTFF in picking local coaches. Latapy may or may not have been a good tactition but I can safely say that his history of indiscipline was borne out in our play on the field. Put the names in a bag and pull out one. I guess our indisciplined and bachanal infused society is not conducive to producing good coaches. I hope Cooper proves me wrong; but I doubt it.

If u dont know him, then why this assessment?  ???

« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2011, 09:57:18 AM »

is not the baccanal infusion dat gets us in trouble, that only adds to our scandal, instead you should train your guns on our ability to outsmart, the will to outsmart, ducking out on the bill, the addiction to figure out the best way to not do the job i.e. Govt workers use the words no way more than yes. This my friend, in my opinion, is way more detrimental to our existence and likewise our produce/t/s.

« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2011, 10:05:21 AM »
Any live feed for this game?

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2011, 12:31:51 PM »
I have the uthmost confidence...Trinidad and Tobago will win....book it!

« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2011, 01:58:30 PM »
I'll be "happy like Larry" if we can get a draw against Jamaica,somehow ah cyah see it.

« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2011, 02:42:50 PM »

For exactly that reason. I dont know him. If he proves me wrong then i was wrong. I will make you a bet right now that I am not wrong. Andre i live in the real world not in one seen through rose-tinted glasses

« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2011, 03:07:07 PM »

For exactly that reason. I dont know him. If he proves me wrong then i was wrong. I will make you a bet right now that I am not wrong. Andre i live in the real world not in one seen through rose-tinted glasses
well look him
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dJgBb31_nq4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dJgBb31_nq4</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3Uy_q8oSxrI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3Uy_q8oSxrI</a>

« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2011, 03:22:35 PM »

well look him
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dJgBb31_nq4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dJgBb31_nq4</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3Uy_q8oSxrI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3Uy_q8oSxrI</a>
Well I really wanted to know about him...his accomplishments experience etc....but I must say that this is the first time I am hearing him speak and must admit his words and demeanor  have left a good impression on me. Lets see if our play matches his words.

« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2011, 03:48:22 PM »

well look him

Well I really wanted to know about him...his accomplishments experience etc....but I must say that this is the first time I am hearing him speak and must admit his words and demeanor  have left a good impression on me. Lets see if our play matches his words.

he used to coach at Naps when they dominated a few years back
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 06:03:47 AM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2011, 03:55:42 PM »

well look him

he used to coach at Naps when the dominated a few years back
OK just never heard of before. Seems to have an ok CV then.....i am so hoping that he proves me wrong...they seem to be doing good though..much better than i thought.

« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2011, 05:07:30 AM »
Henry double earns T&T U-17s draw with host Jamaica.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 men’s team and Jamaica battled to a 2-2 draw in their opening Concacaf World Cup qualifier at Catherine Hall, Montego Bay on Tuesday evening.

T&T, after going a goal down in the 42nd minute, came back strongly to dominate the second half and were rewarded with a double by W Connection striker Shackeil Henry in the 58th and 65th minutes to earn a well deserved point.

Honduras came from behind to defeat Barbados 2-1 with an injury time goal in the first game of the double header.

Jamaica started the brighter of the two teams but had to wait until the 42nd minute for Jason Wright to convert the penalty following a dubious call by the referee.

Falling a goal behind so close to the interval did not deter the T&T team and they came back strongly in the second half, dominating the opening 30 minutes of the half.

Striker Garvin Samaroo was introduced by head coach Shawn Cooper in place of Dwight Quintero in the 48th.

Henry notched the double within ten minutes of each other. But Jamaica got their equalizer in the 78th minute through Andre Lewis.

Both teams went in search of a winner in the closing minutes and the hosts had a couple close chances but goalkeeper Quesi Weston stood tall between the uprights for T&T.

The T&T backline also held firm to ensure a share of points. Jamaica had much of the defending to do in the second half as skipper Duane Muckette and company controlled proceedings with some well orchestrated plays as the game progressed after the break.

T&T coach Shawn Cooper was pleased with the point against the hosts who were considered favourites going into the match particularly following their extensive preparation which included ten matches in Brazil as well as two games against the United States and one each versus Costa Rica and Haiti in the last couple weeks.

T&T camped in Colombia last year and then lost 2-1 to Barbados and defeated the T&T U-20s 3-1 earlier this month.

“It was a great effort from the guys and I’m pretty satisfied with getting a point from the game. Of course we went into the match aiming for a victory. Jamaica settled before us and they got into the game and were given a penalty just before the break. That was a setback for us but we regrouped and we never dropped our heads,” Cooper told TTFF Media.

“Our boys kept playing and we pressed on and we were rewarded with two well taken goals by Henry. Unfortunately Jamaica fought back and got the equalizer.

A point on the table for us after the first game is a promising start and now we have everything to play for against Guatemala on Thursday,” Cooper added.

T&T faces Guatemala on Thursday as they seek a win to keep alive their hopes of a spot at the 2011 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in Mexico in mid-2011.

T&T: - 21.Quesi Weston; 4.Dario Holmes, 5.Damani Richards, 3.Nicholas Marcano, 17.Kiel Pierre; 8.Duane Muckette (capt), 19.Adan Noel, 7.Neil Benjamin (Yellow 41'), 10.Jomal Williams (Yellow 52') (13.Tevonne Morris 80th); 12.Dwight Quintero (11.Garvin Samaroo 48th), 9.Shackeil Henry.

Subs: - 1.Tevin Dodds; 2.Tariq Nicholls, 6.Rondell Phillip, Anthony Charles; 16.Glen Sutton; Akeem Garcia, Isaiah Noreiga.

Coach: - Shawn Cooper.

Venue: - Catherine Hall Sports Complex, Montego Bay.

Game Type: - CONCACAF U-17 World Cup Qualifier.

Standings (Group C):

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
T&T  1  0  1  0  2  2  1
Jamaica  1  0  1  0  2  2  1
Guatemala  0  0  0  0  0  0  0
Nervous start for Jamaica.
By: Adrian Frater (JA Gleaner).

Jamaica surrendered a first half 1-0 lead and were then forced to play catch-up to secure a 2-2 draw against Caribbean neighbours Trinidad & Tobago, in the first-round Group C CONCACAF Under-17 Championship fixture at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall yesterday.

The Wendell Downswell-coached Jamaica took the lead when Jason Wright converted from the penalty spot.

However, T&T took charge in the second half and actually went 2-1 up via a double strike by Shackiel Henry.

But Andre Lewis saved faced for Jamaica with a well-taken equaliser.

"We played well in patches as being the first game, the players were a little bit nervous," said coach Downswell. "We will definitely be looking to give an improved performance in our next game with a view to taking all three points."

JA took lead

Jamaica had the better of the early exchanges, but they had problems piercing the T&T defence. For their part, T&T's attacks were limited to mostly long-range efforts, which posed very little problems for the Jamaica custodian.

With time running out in the first half, Jamaica took the lead in the 43rd minute when T&T defender Neil Benjamin handled the ball and the referee ruled penalty.

Wright made no mistake from the spot, making the half-time score 1-0.

T&T started the second half looking quite purposeful and drew level courtesy of some help by Jamaica's goalkeeper, Odean Clarke. A tame long-range effort by Nicholas Marcano was spilled by the goalkeeper and Henry fired home the ball that fell loose, making the score 1-1.

With the Trinidadians seemingly energised, they gradually began to take control, forcing back Jamaica for long periods.

Not surprisingly, they took the lead in the 64th minute when the wily Henry fired home a powerful grounder from the edge of the penalty area, making the score 2-1.

Jamaica increased the tempo of their play following T&T's goal and thankfully, found the equaliser in the 78th minute.

Lewis controlled a ball elegantly on his chest, turned sweetly and fired past the diving goalkeeper, making the final score 2-2.

There are four groups of three teams participating in the 12-nation championship. The top two in each group will advance to the quarter-finals, with Group B winners and runners-up battling those from Group A, and those from Groups C and D doing the same.

The winning quartet in the quarter-finals will move on to the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Mexico later this year.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 05:19:38 AM by Flex »