March 29, 2024, 08:24:08 AM

Author Topic: Trinidad Police Strike  (Read 14234 times)

Trinidad Police Strike
« on: February 15, 2011, 02:36:09 AM »
Hope citizens in trini have their own protection by now because this going to get worst.  Hearing this straight from sources in east-west corridor branches and central branches.... This all rooted from the disbelief of paying the COP millions of dollars salary last year, yet other ranks are only offered a 5% raise...  Also calling in Sick ffrom working in carnival events are next....
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Security lapse
PM, CJ, AG homes affected as cops sick out again
By Akile Simon

Story Created: Feb 15, 2011 at 12:53 AM ECT

SECURITY at the private residence of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and Chief Justice Ivor Archie was reportedly affected yesterday, as scores of police officers stayed off the job in protest action over the state of their salary negotiations.

Police officers have been up in arms over the Chief Personnel Officer's (CPO) proposed five per cent increase in salaries.

Sources at the Guard and Emergency Branch (GEB), which provides 24-hour security at the PM, AG and CJ's residences, said none of their officers showed up for duty yesterday and the same is expected today, when the protest action is to continue.

The Express was told that alternative security arrangements were eventually put in place to ensure the homes of the senior State officials were adequately protected.

Operations at several magistrates' courts throughout the country were also severely affected as police officers called in sick, resulting in prisoners not being taken from the prisons.

Yesterday's action came on the heels of a meeting last Friday by the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service Social and Welfare Association's general council to chart a way forward.

Two Mondays ago, officers also stayed off the job. Yesterday, they intensified those actions, demanding that the Government intervene in the impasse with the CPO regarding negotiations.

Many police stations along the East-West Corridor were deserted yesterday and the handful of CID officers present were assigned to the charge rooms to supplement the strength of their missing colleagues.

There was also a large number of absenteeism at the Traffic Branch. Motorists took full advantage of the absence of officers along the highway, as many of them drove along the shoulder as they made their way into Port of Spain during the early morning rush-hour traffic.

The majority of officers who showed up for duty were Special Reserve Police officers, who themselves are disgruntled after not being paid money owed to them since last July.

Operations within several policing divisions, sections and units throughout the Police Service are expected to be affected again today and tomorrow, as police officers have vowed to continue their "protest action".

Police officers have threatened to shut down all Carnival activities, including fetes, leading up to Carnival Monday and Tuesday, if their demands are not met.

Officers are seeking a 40 per cent increase as opposed to the consolidated offer of five per cent over a three-year period offered by the CPO.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and National Security Minister Brigadier John Sandy have condemned the sick-out action by the police, saying that five per cent is all that can be offered at this stage.

Sandy described the officers who stayed off the job last week as "unpatriotic".

Commissioner of Police Dwayne Gibbs also pleaded with police officers to put their grouses aside and put the security of their country first. He also promised that steps are being taken to ensure a safe Carnival, should there be any further action by police officers.

The police association has distanced itself from the action taken by its officers.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 07:04:10 AM by Babalawo »

Re: Trinidad Police Strike
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2011, 04:22:05 AM »
Statistics
DIVISION    PERSONS REPORTED    PERSONS ABSENT
Tobago    111    3
Eastern Division    All persons reported to work    
Western Division    52    30
Northern Division    N/A    23
South Western Division    114    26
Southern Division    97    83
Port-of-Spain Division    43    31
Central Division    65    31
North Eastern Division    89    23

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2011, 06:11:45 AM »
why not pay the police on performance appraisals?

« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2011, 06:49:03 AM »
why not pay the police on performance appraisals?

Then dey go get million as well because evrybody does get box 1. I hope it change but dat was d norm.

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2011, 07:19:36 AM »
I don't understand the 40% increase nonsense....who gets that in any part of the world?  Kamla might have to pull a Ronald Reagan and fire all ah them like he did with the Air Traffic Controllers....

They get $1k a month extra plus the proposed 5%.  But to ask for a 40% increase is ridiculous.....If I was the PM, I not giving in on that either....  Plus they eh solving no fricken crime so what yuh paying them for?  Please.....  I agree with performance appraisals but that's also dangerous b/c if you put quotas on police real men (many innocent) go get lock up...  It's a fine line but that's what happens when people could care less about the population and safety in general.

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2011, 08:17:08 AM »
I don't understand the 40% increase nonsense....who gets that in any part of the world?  Kamla might have to pull a Ronald Reagan and fire all ah them like he did with the Air Traffic Controllers....

They get $1k a month extra plus the proposed 5%.  But to ask for a 40% increase is ridiculous.....If I was the PM, I not giving in on that either....  Plus they eh solving no fricken crime so what yuh paying them for?  Please.....  I agree with performance appraisals but that's also dangerous b/c if you put quotas on police real men (many innocent) go get lock up...  It's a fine line but that's what happens when people could care less about the population and safety in general.

Very good points... "performance appraisals" is not the solution, what criteria are you going to use to deny a man a pay raise?  Also, I not too hung up on the 40% talk, that is a starting point for negotiations... just like 5% should be, except Kamla insisting that that is final.  I don't agree with the sick out either, but Kamla can't pull a Regan since they not striking (the thread title is misleading)... yuh can't fire a man for using his sick leave.

As I said in the comments TnT needs a Labor Relations Board (if there isn't already one in place) to deal with situations like this.

« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2011, 08:21:35 AM »

I have always held that there are certain groups of public servants who should be well paid.  People in the military and teachers.  Just as 40% is ridiculous, 5% is just as ridiculous......its called collective bargaining......start at an extreme position and come to an agreeable position....

Ah hope yuh was just as incensed when an unqualified junior employee was going to get a 10 days and she pay moved from $5,000 to $45,000......she name Reshmi....yuh hear bout dat piece ah dotishness??!!  

Ah hope yuh was just as incensed when dey give out these laptops in a programme that is not sustainable.  As a police officer every time Gibbs or Ewatski talk to mih I would feel insulted.  Ah hope yuh was incensed when dey getting million a year for what??!!  What de 2 ah dem do since dey reach??!!

Ah hope yuh was incensed when dey proposed $2 million for rum, wave yuh rag (or advantage it  ::)) songs.......

« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2011, 10:01:04 AM »
Well...here are the existing salaries.

Rank                  Existing Wages              Total Costs
Constable             5123                         8560
Corporal                6745                        10182
Sergeant               8205                        11842
Inspector              9735                         13172
Asst. Supt             11535                       14972
Supt                     12397                       15834
Snr Supt               14111                        17548
Asst Comm             17319                       20756

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Online soccerman

« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2011, 10:15:21 AM »

Are these their monthly salaries?

« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2011, 10:46:56 AM »

Are these their monthly salaries?

It should represent base pay and allowances. A friend who reach longevity as a a constable gets about 8100. If u wuk some of d specialist units u get commuted which I blieve is a 1/3 of yuh base pay. Howver, pension is paid on yuh base pay so dat is d issue. If yuh salary small yuh pension small. When yuh on leave yuh doh get commuted so u c y police doh take leave.

« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2011, 10:49:41 AM »

I have always held that there are certain groups of public servants who should be well paid.  People in the military and teachers.  Just as 40% is ridiculous, 5% is just as ridiculous......its called collective bargaining......start at an extreme position and come to an agreeable position....

Ah hope yuh was just as incensed when an unqualified junior employee was going to get a 10 days and she pay moved from $5,000 to $45,000......she name Reshmi....yuh hear bout dat piece ah dotishness??!!  

Ah hope yuh was just as incensed when dey give out these laptops in a programme that is not sustainable.  As a police officer every time Gibbs or Ewatski talk to mih I would feel insulted.  Ah hope yuh was incensed when dey getting million a year for what??!!  What de 2 ah dem do since dey reach??!!
Ah hope yuh was incensed when dey proposed $2 million for rum, wave yuh rag (or advantage it  ::)) songs.......
Absolutely, I was just as dismayed as everyone else.  I also agree with you that negotiations have to take place.  What really amazes me how people think both in trini and abroad.  Most non-mgt people really have no idea about how businesses run.  That said (I am not accusing you in any way), it's interesting to see what people ask for and the reality in expecting how it will be paid.  I am not saying one way or the other, but like someone said in another post, if the police get anywhere close to that number, every other public servant will be up in arms and rightfully so.  Again, is anyone really impressed with the job of the T&T police service?  Seriously?  So why pay exorbitant prices for something that obviously has a poor rate of return.

By the way, I eh agreeing with the military making big money in trini as you indicated b/c we not fighting no war....  Teachers on the other hand, I could see but still only if you getting a return on your investment.

« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2011, 01:40:04 PM »
Arimaman for as long as I remember the Police Service has been starved for the tools they need to do the job.  Yes some ah dem disgusting.  Yes some ah dem corrupt.  But I cyar fathom what it must be like to go to work and the building have a tree growing through it  :o.  Or de toilet cyar flush properly.  Or the living conditions just poor overall. 

Imagine in 2011 Police still doh have speed guns.  A simple thing like a speed gun....we basically asking these people to fight crime with 18th century tools.  And den pay dem peanuts on top of that.  Where the return on investment going to come from??

Maybe things eh as bad as it is cuz I not inside dey.  Maybe dey really getting treated nice, nice and dey really is just a setta greedy, lazy, corrupt bastards.....but ah have ah sneaky feeling dat eh the case generally.....

Offline Jay10

« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2011, 01:52:29 PM »
40 % is where they starting at. negotiations will probably bring it down to about 20%.

Now, many blame the police for being slack, corrupt and lazy. I've even read on some forums that they should increase the minimum requirements to get in the service etc. Some saying fire them.

Now think about a job where you can be put in danger every single time you are on duty. Think about how important the service is. The fact is you cannot just go out and look for people who are willing to 'protect and serve'. So I think they should at least sit down and negotiate.

« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2011, 01:57:46 PM »
Arimaman for as long as I remember the Police Service has been starved for the tools they need to do the job.  Yes some ah dem disgusting.  Yes some ah dem corrupt.  But I cyar fathom what it must be like to go to work and the building have a tree growing through it  :o.  Or de toilet cyar flush properly.  Or the living conditions just poor overall. 

Imagine in 2011 Police still doh have speed guns.  A simple thing like a speed gun....we basically asking these people to fight crime with 18th century tools.  And den pay dem peanuts on top of that.  Where the return on investment going to come from??

Maybe things eh as bad as it is cuz I not inside dey.  Maybe dey really getting treated nice, nice and dey really is just a setta greedy, lazy, corrupt bastards.....but ah have ah sneaky feeling dat eh the case generally.....
I like the facts that yuh bringing tuh the table.  Very well documented indeed.  I agree that those are downright poor working conditions.  But, this is a democracy, correct......

Based on your facts, why not focusing on some of those issues rather than just a 40% pay increase?  I not living in trini anymore so it's easy for me to sit in my office and type away.  However, I really doh have a dog in the fight with regards to political affiliation but the entire world in a downwards economy and somehow I get that these officers have no real understanding about the country's financial climate (then again, neither do I and aparently same goes for the PM).

Nonetheless, I could understand why the police frustrated and downright angry, but at the end of the day, this is public safety and they swore to an oath and you have to do your job regardless.  Again, this is peoples lives they playing with so I eh agreeing with no sickout.  

« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2011, 02:00:45 PM »
40 % is where they starting at. negotiations will probably bring it down to about 20%.

Now, many blame the police for being slack, corrupt and lazy. I've even read on some forums that they should increase the minimum requirements to get in the service etc. Some saying fire them.

Now think about a job where you can be put in danger every single time you are on duty. Think about how important the service is. The fact is you cannot just go out and look for people who are willing to 'protect and serve'. So I think they should at least sit down and negotiate.
That quote about putting yuh life in danger me eh agreeing with.  Fact is, one "choose" to go into the police service, you were not drafted.  So to me that is b.s. 

Yuh cyar just go out and look for people to protect and serve another b.s. comment.  How many people would like to get a job as a police office in T&T?  I bet when they have they exams demand certainly by 20 times exceeds the supply of positions.... 

Sorry Jay10, I have to disagree with yuh on that one. 

« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2011, 02:07:07 PM »

You watching too much Starsky and Hutch movies... dis is Trinidad yuh talking about.  Den again... de way fight does break out in some ah dem rumshop yuh could be right, clearly dat is ah workplace hazard.

« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2011, 04:04:28 PM »
the police are one of the main reasons why our nation is in this mess, they are moving further to destabilize the country and have an anti-govt approach to the PP.

if i was the pm , i would try to revamp the recruiting and get rid of these officers because they are not doing anything to improve the safety and welfare of the nation

i have a question for other posters, who many police strikes have happened over the last 10-15 years?
« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 04:09:28 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2011, 05:25:24 PM »
They have not strike because the previous admin. gave them what they wanted(rightly or wrongly).

« Reply #18 on: February 15, 2011, 06:01:18 PM »
the police are one of the main reasons why our nation is in this mess, they are moving further to destabilize the country and have an anti-govt approach to the PP.

if i was the pm , i would try to revamp the recruiting and get rid of these officers because they are not doing anything to improve the safety and welfare of the nation

i have a question for other posters, who many police strikes have happened over the last 10-15 years?

For the record the PNM was working to reform the service........it was taking too long for my liking and Martin Joseph was not the most public of persons to do PR on the process, but they were working.....as much as you might not like to hear it....

But tell mih, what has the PP articulated in terms of policy on National Security for the country that was not ALREADY in train from the past administration???  Go.......

« Reply #19 on: February 15, 2011, 07:16:47 PM »

You watching too much Starsky and Hutch movies... dis is Trinidad yuh talking about.  Den again... de way fight does break out in some ah dem rumshop yuh could be right, clearly dat is ah workplace hazard.

Policing is serious business, while i agree that the expectation is that officers aren't risking life and limb every second of everyday, a Police officer is never sure what situation they may have to respond to, which in itself is inherently different to what the rest of our work days entail.

Some level of compensation must be attributed to that risk. What makes the headliness are the rogue elements that cast a net of negativity on the service but for every one corrupt officer there are 10 more that take their job seriously and carry out their duties with a level of pride but those are the ones that largely go unnoticed.

« Reply #20 on: February 15, 2011, 07:42:51 PM »
This is from Hansard.  From approximately page 27, Donna Cox in her capacity as former Junior Minister in the Ministry of National Security went into some detail about proposals for increasing the compensation of police officers. during the budget debate last year.   From page 29 - 30 she talks specifically about this....

She was very detailed about it in a radio interview about last week or the week before.  A lot of research went into the coming up with the figures mentioned.  She said in the interview that monies were allocated for the payments.  Kamla must be use it to buy the laptops....or was going to use part to pay Reshmi.... ::)

Anywho....

http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh20100915.pdf

« Reply #21 on: February 15, 2011, 09:56:14 PM »
This is from Hansard.  From approximately page 27, Donna Cox in her capacity as former Junior Minister in the Ministry of National Security went into some detail about proposals for increasing the compensation of police officers. during the budget debate last year.   From page 29 - 30 she talks specifically about this....

She was very detailed about it in a radio interview about last week or the week before.  A lot of research went into the coming up with the figures mentioned.  She said in the interview that monies were allocated for the payments.  Kamla must be use it to buy the laptops....or was going to use part to pay Reshmi.... ::)

Anywho....

http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh20100915.pdf

So when dey say d govt of d day did not plan 2 pay it I guess they LIE THEN.

« Reply #22 on: February 15, 2011, 10:14:57 PM »
Talk. How can we justify purchasing equipment and conduct crime analysis valued millions of dollars but fail to adequately compensate the officers assigned to operate,manage and implement them risking their lives daily come on people let's admit that no amount of money will make most of us go into the hills of laventille or trainline in marabella or pinto hell no. I just want to feel safe again. Pay police officers a fair salary now. Pass this on so the authorities may hear the public's support towards the officers plight

« Reply #23 on: February 15, 2011, 11:52:56 PM »

Very good points... "performance appraisals" is not the solution, what criteria are you going to use to deny a man a pay raise?  Also, I not too hung up on the 40% talk, that is a starting point for negotiations... just like 5% should be, except Kamla insisting that that is final.  I don't agree with the sick out either, but Kamla can't pull a Regan since they not striking (the thread title is misleading[/b])... yuh can't fire a man for using his sick leave.

As I said in the comments TnT needs a Labor Relations Board (if there isn't already one in place) to deal with situations like this.

Yes its a starting point in reality in negotiations, so Kamla shouldn't have said 5% is the final because that riled up so many in the force to lead to take actions.  The Police service was promises a huge salary increase, many equipment advancements, Global Positioning System (GPS)in every vehicle, safety & insurance for family members, and more.  Only received a COP whos based salary was increased, dictatiing an increased workload in especially in hot spot areas but yet no pay increase for the ones whose hours and work has increased.  Expect continued sick outs in many hotspot area and governmental areas
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 12:05:49 AM by Babalawo »

« Reply #24 on: February 16, 2011, 09:03:38 AM »
Talk. How can we justify purchasing equipment and conduct crime analysis valued millions of dollars but fail to adequately compensate the officers assigned to operate,manage and implement them risking their lives daily come on people let's admit that no amount of money will make most of us go into the hills of laventille or trainline in marabella or pinto hell no. I just want to feel safe again. Pay police officers a fair salary now. Pass this on so the authorities may hear the public's support towards the officers plight

weary? is you type dat?...you in rehab or wha?

« Reply #25 on: February 16, 2011, 09:14:03 AM »

Very good points... "performance appraisals" is not the solution, what criteria are you going to use to deny a man a pay raise?  Also, I not too hung up on the 40% talk, that is a starting point for negotiations... just like 5% should be, except Kamla insisting that that is final.  I don't agree with the sick out either, but Kamla can't pull a Regan since they not striking (the thread title is misleading[/b])... yuh can't fire a man for using his sick leave.

Yes its a starting point in reality in negotiations, so Kamla shouldn't have said 5% is the final because that riled up so many in the force to lead to take actions.  The Police service was promises a huge salary increase, many equipment advancements, Global Positioning System (GPS)in every vehicle, safety & insurance for family members, and more.  Only received a COP whos based salary was increased, dictatiing an increased workload in especially in hot spot areas but yet no pay increase for the ones whose hours and work has increased.   Expect continued sick outs in many hotspot area and governmental areas
That's why they brought a foreign police commissioner to assign a proper work load and to execute effectively.  That's his job.  However, part of his job also is to motivate the staff and it would be tough to do so without having the resources available to him.  Not making excuses for the Police Commissioner but his job is macro and strategic in nature and a lot of people expect micro changes...

« Reply #26 on: February 16, 2011, 09:15:19 AM »
Talk. How can we justify purchasing equipment and conduct crime analysis valued millions of dollars but fail to adequately compensate the officers assigned to operate,manage and implement them risking their lives daily come on people let's admit that no amount of money will make most of us go into the h :rotfl:ills of laventille or trainline in marabella or pinto hell no. I just want to feel safe again. Pay police officers a fair salary now. Pass this on so the authorities may hear the public's support towards the officers plight

weary? is you type dat?...you in rehab or wha?

Weary ah sorry but...... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

*dead*

« Reply #27 on: February 16, 2011, 09:18:26 AM »
That's why they brought a foreign police commissioner to assign a proper work load and to execute effectively.  That's his job.  However, part of his job also is to motivate the staff and it would be tough to do so without having the resources available to him.  Not making excuses for the Police Commissioner but his job is macro and strategic in nature and a lot of people expect micro changes...

Yeah but in a small incestuous community like TnT where everybody is pardnas, any changes need to start from the bottom up.  Morale took a blow when they decide to bring in a foreigner... a white man at that (I doh have issues with it, but let's not pretend the majority black force in TnT don't) and then you pay him a king's ransom while reneging on promises to the rank and file.

« Reply #28 on: February 16, 2011, 09:39:50 AM »

Yeah but in a small incestuous community like TnT where everybody is pardnas, any changes need to start from the bottom up.  Morale took a blow when they decide to bring in a foreigner... a white man at that (I doh have issues with it, but let's not pretend the majority black force in TnT don't) and then you pay him a king's ransom while reneging on promises to the rank and file.
Wrong attitude partner.  I disagree with that.  Change can't start from the bottom up, it never has and never will.  What, the inmates will run the assylum?  Please! What about all the "white" police officers from Scotland yard and pay them big big money, wasn't that an issue?  In fact the gov't say they got the pay structure directly from the previous regime. 
Bottom line is they brought a foreign PC b/c he has no allegiance to anyone.  In other words no partner partner thing.  Yuh have tuh prove yuhself to the new PC. 

« Reply #29 on: February 16, 2011, 10:31:03 AM »
Wrong attitude partner.  I disagree with that.  Change can't start from the bottom up, it never has and never will.  What, the inmates will run the assylum?  Please! What about all the "white" police officers from Scotland yard and pay them big big money, wasn't that an issue?  In fact the gov't say they got the pay structure directly from the previous regime. 
Bottom line is they brought a foreign PC b/c he has no allegiance to anyone.  In other words no partner partner thing.  Yuh have tuh prove yuhself to the new PC. 

Who said anything about inmates running asylum... you sure you read what I write??  You can't change the mentality of the workers by just bringing in some outsider with bright ideas and foisting it on the workforce, you need to change the mentality on the frontlines first in order to get buy-in.  If man ent buying into what you bringing then you just wasting yuh time.  You could say it has never worked but I telling you from first hand experience that that is how it is done... especially when you dealing with the public sector.  Before changing careers I spent 5 years in management consulting, the last two working with HUD on improving some of their processes.  Is the very same thing we encountered.  Upper management was seen as being disconnected from the day to day concerns of workers... just like police officers on the ground in TnT view Gibbs.  In fact that dichotomy existed even before Gibbs... top brass has always been seen as being out of touch.  Change has to start from the bottom... Gibbs himself said as much when he first arrived talking about making the force more professional... you obviously can't do that from talking about it from up on Mt. Zion.

As for the white consultants from Scotland Yard... how de France is that even the same thing as hiring a white outsider to run the whole show?  I know you understand the difference between a consultant and a CEO... the most obvious being that you don't have to take orders from no consultant.

I don't know what "wrong attitude" you talking about when I only presenting what is very likely the mindset of the rank and file constable in TnT.  Doh argue with me argue with them.