April 19, 2024, 01:19:04 AM

Author Topic: Barcelona Forever.  (Read 6683 times)

Barcelona Forever.
« on: February 15, 2011, 07:15:49 AM »
Source: BBC Sport

The house that built Barca

Uefa Champions League
Venue: The Emirates Date: Wednesday 16 February Kick-off: 1945 GMT Coverage: BBC Sport website, BBC Radio 5 live and ITV1

Pepe Reina, Cesc Fabregas and Carles Puyol are graduates of La Masia

By Matthias Krug

The small, unassuming, brown-brick house built in traditional Catalan style stands almost unnoticed as the great swarm of Barcelona fans head towards the Nou Camp.

This is the house - La Masia - that has been the foundation of Barca's success. It provides the DNA for the club's players, the philosophy for how the game should be played - to pressure, to keep possession, to attack.

The three 2010 Fifa Ballon d'Or finalists Lionel Messi, Andres Iniesta and Xavi Hernandez, and much of Barcelona's first team all learned their trade at La Masia.

Another, of course, is Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas, who is preparing to face his former classmates in the last 16 of the Champions League on Wednesday.

The stellar names to have graduated from La Masia are impressive and the Spanish champions intend to maintain their conveyor belt of talent at a new state-of-the-art facility just south of the city, which will open in September.

But back to La Masia. It is in these homely surroundings, a mere stone's throw from the Nou Camp, that promising young players have matured into world stars. Graduation photographs of current captain Carles Puyol and coach Pep Guardiola hang on the wall of the brown-tiled dining room where Messi would have had lunch. In the small adjacent games room, Xavi would have played table tennis.

Daily schedule of La Masia student
06:45 Get up and make bed
07:00 Breakfast at La Masia
07:30 School bus pick-up
08:00-14:00 School
14:15 Lunch
15:00 Free hour
16:00-18:00 Added schooling
19:00-20:45 Training
21:00 Shower/Bus back to La Masia
21:30 Dinner
22:00 TV/Internet

Nearby the kitchen, next to the stairs, a cook greets you with a hearty laugh, while in the upstairs study room, which has a view of the Nou Camp, the likes of Iniesta would have done their homework.

The bedrooms are split up with a few on the top floor and the remainder sprinkled around the Nou Camp.

La Masia has an air of tradition mingled with expectancy and an atmosphere of fun and familiarity.

There is not much more to the place than that, but it is these 600 square metres that make the Barcelona youth system so unique in producing the football equivalent of gold.

"This Barcelona team is made up of a lot of people from La Masia, and that's an important factor in our success, because we know each other for such a long time," Iniesta told BBC Sport.

"We grew up here together with the same idea of football in mind and playing according to the same philosophy."

And, in many ways, it is Iniesta, the midfielder lauded by fans across Spain this season for his 2010 World Cup-winning goal, who personifies La Masia's spirit.

"Andres is one of the players who best represents what we stand for here in La Masia, who most comes here to visit us, and who has the best links with us," said La Masia director Carles Folguera as we settled down for an interview in the conference room next to the small wooden bar area that leads into the residence.

Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi and Xavi
Barca's three Fifa Ballon d'Or finalists

"Andres had a very bad time at the start here in La Masia. He's very family orientated, and with his family far away in Albacete, he took some months to adapt.

"But he did adapt very well in the end, and he's really humble considering all that he's achieved. Here we teach discipline, order, control, and we try to show that a football player can be a star without being a 'show-off', just by making your team-mates better."

The key to Barca's current success is a philosophy of play which emerged as a direct descendant of Holland's Total Football of the 70's, and is implemented throughout the club's teams - from seven-year-olds right up to the first team.

"Everyone says our philosophy started with the 'Dream Team' of Cryuff," Folguera stated.

"I think it was born out of the attempt to dominate play by keeping possession of the ball. We're always looking for a type of player who's not physical but a very good thinker, who's ready to take decisions, who has talent, technique and agility. Physical strength is not important."

Scouted from across Spain, the 60 young players who live at La Masia play surprisingly little football - just over one and a half hours per day.

Instead, there is a heightened emphasis on school work, with players expected to attend extra classes with tutors at La Masia once they return to the centre after a day at school.

This way, the students who do not make it into professional football can opt for university or find employment.

"Here is where the stars all started," added Folguera, throwing a proud glance at photographs of some of the most illustrious years to have graduated from La Masia: one includes Liverpool goalkeeper Pepe Reina with Xavi and Puyol.

"So the current players think: 'I'm in a good place'. But that's also a danger. We have to let them see that the dream is a long journey. We tell them to have patience, and that not all of them will make it.

"Pep Guardiola likes to help, but not all 48 players who are currently here can make it. Despite this, La Masia is of course the ideal place for a young player to come."

La Masia director Carles Folguera surveys a picture of graduated classes in the dining room
Folguera has seen many current stars blossom at La Masia

The less-is- more approach of Barcelona's training regime is designed to make each training session of the highest possible quality.

"It is all about bringing high intensity into those sessions," the club's football youth academy co-ordinator Albert Puig explained.

"Up to the age of 16 we don't do any fitness training with the boys, just practice with the ball. Then we add the fitness training, but always incorporated into exercises with the ball."

Little wonder, then, that players like Pedro, who hails from the Canary Islands, and local players such as Sergio Busquets and Gerard Pique seemingly run with the ball stuck to their boots.

Of course, there have been mistakes - and costly ones at that - with Fabregas allowed to leave for the English Premier League and Arsenal and Pique spending four years under Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson at Old Trafford.

Pique came home at a cost of £9.7m, but Fabregas is still in north London.

Watching the La Masia graduates in the Barcelona first team the game seems easy. They exhibit a sureness bordering on laziness, zip the ball back and forth in triangles and play double-one-two's that leave the opposition - and the crowd - awestruck.

"It doesn't just look easy. It is easy to play with the La Masia players," Brazilian right-back Dani Alves told the BBC. "They have unbelievable qualities on the ball and you have to be happy about playing in a team like this."

And still La Masia keeps churning them out.

Andreu Fontas, Thiago Alcantara, Marc Bartra, Jonathan dos Santos and Victor Vazquez offered a glimpse of the next Barca generation in December 2010 in Barcelona's final Champions League group match against Russian champions Rubin Kazan.

Qualification for the knockout stages of European club football's most prestigious competition was already in the bag but the largely second-string side were comfortable winners, with Fontas and Vazquez scoring in a 2-0 win.

La Masia
It costs £8 million a year to run La Masia

Why do other top clubs around Europe not replicate the La Masia model, which is estimated to cost about a fifth of the £50m fee Chelsea spent on signing Fernando Torres from Liverpool in January?

"Other clubs like Real Madrid have a good youth system too, the difference is just that they don't use theirs," Puig added. "So the work is left unfinished. We on the other hand incorporate our talents into the first team on a regular basis. It's a little bit like producing a Ferrari but then not using it."

It comes with a touch of melancholy, then, that this iconic building on the road leading to the Nou Camp will soon no longer be used to nurture the club's young players.

La Masia is closing down at the end of the 2010-11 season and is to be replaced by new facilities - for 70-80 residents - in the Ciudad Deportiva in Sant Joan Despi.

"It is a necessary move. The new facilities are more modern. These are new times, but we do not want to lose the familiar essence of this building," Folguera reflected.

Barcelona's school of excellence will expand from 600 square metres to 5,000; from two floors to five; from ageing to entirely modern facilities. But memories and a sense of pride will remain in this old brick house which has seen the stars of world football come and go.

Xavi Hernandez is nominated for the Ballon d'Or

Ballon d'Or trio light up World Cup
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 09:00:07 AM by Flex »

Re: The house that built Barca
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2011, 07:24:26 AM »
  :beermug: Touches nice real nice read.

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2011, 08:16:35 AM »

I surprised at the little time that is actually spent on football.

Maybe our local players should take a page out of this book.....DISCIPLINE

I eh see, down the islands, rum shop, zen, hoes running and soccer picnic.

« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2011, 08:45:53 AM »
very nice read.....

seems sad that its closing down..

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2011, 09:46:54 AM »
very nice read.....

At least they're moving to a modern facility and it's not completing shut down.

That place produced some world class footballers....are they the new Ajax in terms of player development?

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2011, 10:04:41 AM »

Our players, young or otherwise, wouldn't be able to self-inject the required level of discipline on their own, probably any more than these Spanish kids would themselves, but moreso because "discipline" is not a big part of our culture to begin with.  All dem ting yuh call dey, down the islands, rum shop, zen, hoes runnin, soccer picnic aka "fete match" and now gangsta-ism are all too ingrained in our culture for our players to easily avoid it.  We would have to revamp our whole system of thinking and our attitudes about football (from top to bottom and right back up again) to have anything close to a "La Masia" in our country or to churn out the youths that would readily buy into that system and what it represents.  In the meantime, we just stuck with a system of changing head coaches.

« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2011, 11:01:57 AM »

Our players, young or otherwise, wouldn't be able to self-inject the required level of discipline on their own, probably any more than these Spanish kids would themselves, but moreso because "discipline" is not a big part of our culture to begin with.  All dem ting yuh call dey, down the islands, rum shop, zen, hoes runnin, soccer picnic aka "fete match" and now gangsta-ism are all too ingrained in our culture for our players to easily avoid it.  We would have to revamp our whole system of thinking and our attitudes about football (from top to bottom and right back up again) to have anything close to a "La Masia" in our country or to churn out the youths that would readily buy into that system and what it represents.  In the meantime, we just stuck with a system of changing head coaches.
Its worth a try...

« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2011, 11:58:51 AM »

Its worth a try...

I think it is possible to achieve it, over a very long period of time.  As more and more of our players go out and get exposed to the standards of excellence that is required to compete on a global or maybe even just on a regional level, the more it should have a positive backlash to our development.  Ultimately, it is up to our governing body to set the standards of our structural development, as well as putting things in place to help our coaches and players and managers alike, attain such standards.  Obviously, THAT isn't going to happen in my lifetime or yours.  So, the only alternative I see, is that we have the right people doing the right things to make that happen independent of the ttff and jack and all his cronies so as to render them obsolete and unnecessary.  Call me a dreamer, but that is the only way I see us coming out of this mess we are in.  Unfortunately, too, it is a process that may even take longer than the first.

Offline Israel

« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2011, 12:10:02 PM »
mes que un club for real oui....

"But he did adapt very well in the end, and he's really humble considering all that he's achieved. Here we teach discipline, order, control, and we try to show that a football player can be a star without being a 'show-off', just by making your team-mates better.".....madrid should show this to cristina.

Interesting to see that they dont do any fitness till the age of 16 though
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2011, 12:24:38 PM »

"But he did adapt very well in the end, and he's really humble considering all that he's achieved. Here we teach discipline, order, control, and we try to show that a football player can be a star without being a 'show-off', just by making your team-mates better.".....madrid should show this to cristina:rotfl:

(yuh hadda excuse meh, is de first time ah seein' somebody call him/she dat)
and I'm sure he's the FIRST person that comes to mind when everybody reads that statement.

I would imagine the effect would be more ball control, better passing and better positional play.  Also, remember that these clubs does have these players from all since they is 6 and 7 years old......imagine hat the learning process must be like and the fitness levels might even be at a level where they don't have to put too much emphasis on it until they reach that age where they will be playing against men outside of their peer group.

Offline tempo

« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2011, 01:08:16 PM »
The next national coach may be the driving force in creating a similar set up in T&T. What would be some of choices of sites currently available. No more white elephants like Tarouba.

« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2011, 01:24:00 PM »
The next national coach may be the driving force in creating a similar set up in T&T. What would be some of choices of sites currently available. No more white elephants like Tarouba.

For all the money that jack done (and continues to) tief from our football, a system could have been put in place where we utilize all of our stadia as regional training facilities for coaches AND players alike and develop a better relationship with our schools that would allow their Pe teachers, coaches and volunteers to take mandatory coaching courses.  It would be something that takes a lot of money, but that is where sponsorship and someone with more vision and less greed at the helm would come in. Something like that is where I would like for us to start.  If we had the right people (appointed maybe) in the right places, converging with the right ideas, we might could get something done.  But, again, I know I am thinking wishfully.

Side note: I would also replace that astro turf at the Marvin Lee and put down grass.   

« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2011, 01:55:47 PM »
Though he was not a product of La Masia, it seems to be a revolving door thing going on.

Luis Enrique former player and captain of Barcelona is now coach of Barca B, just like Guardiola, Cruyff and Carles Rexach. Luis Enrique is currently responsible for the likes of Dos Santos, Fontas, Thiago, Alcantara et al.

Offline Jay10

« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2011, 02:42:48 PM »

For all the money that jack done (and continues to) tief from our football, a system could have been put in place where we utilize all of our stadia as regional training facilities for coaches AND players alike and develop a better relationship with our schools that would allow their Pe teachers, coaches and volunteers to take mandatory coaching courses.  It would be something that takes a lot of money, but that is where sponsorship and someone with more vision and less greed at the helm would come in. Something like that is where I would like for us to start.  If we had the right people (appointed maybe) in the right places, converging with the right ideas, we might could get something done.  But, again, I know I am thinking wishfully.

Side note: I would also replace that astro turf at the Marvin Lee and put down grass.   

I think Trinidad needs more turf fields. Remember JPFC has 4 alot of different teams who all use the MLS as their home field. The turf is able to take all the practice and games easily. On the other hand, look at the state of all the stadias, the fields are often in poor condition, and it isn't even being used regularly..

« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2011, 03:58:46 PM »

"But he did adapt very well in the end, and he's really humble considering all that he's achieved. Here we teach discipline, order, control, and we try to show that a football player can be a star without being a 'show-off', just by making your team-mates better.".....madrid should show this to cristina:rotfl:

(yuh hadda excuse meh, is de first time ah seein' somebody call him/she dat)
and I'm sure he's the FIRST person that comes to mind when everybody reads that statement.

I would imagine the effect would be more ball control, better passing and better positional play.  Also, remember that these clubs does have these players from all since they is 6 and 7 years old......imagine hat the learning process must be like and the fitness levels might even be at a level where they don't have to put too much emphasis on it until they reach that age where they will be playing against men outside of their peer group.

Could not have said it better myself. These youths are a special crop, meaning they're skilled, technical and agile. I'm certain without actually working on fitness, that they're still fit compared to other boys in their age group. They practice at a competitive level day in day out, so just at training everyone is giving it their all and I'm sure it indirectly works on their fitness and speed of play...no lazy man thing, otherwise they drop you like a bag ah sand lol

« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2011, 04:14:15 PM »
See how doable it is?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2011, 05:09:37 PM »
who in TT putting out the money to do that? Allyuh dreaming, oui!!!!

« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2011, 07:34:17 PM »

I think Trinidad needs more turf fields. Remember JPFC has 4 alot of different teams who all use the MLS as their home field. The turf is able to take all the practice and games easily. On the other hand, look at the state of all the stadias, the fields are often in poor condition, and it isn't even being used regularly..

Turf eh good fuh de body.  Dize it fuh me.  Every body in charge of football want it because it's cost effective, but the truth is, it's not good for the body, players, for the most part, don't like it and it is the worst thing to play on in the rain.  All grass fields need is proper maintainance.

« Reply #18 on: February 15, 2011, 08:50:43 PM »
All grass fields need is proper maintainance.

which part in TT that happening. The premier football field is not even maintained properly.

« Reply #19 on: February 15, 2011, 09:34:33 PM »
All grass fields need is proper maintainance.

which part in TT that happening. The premier football field is not even maintained properly.

Deeks...take the time and read what I said.  Everything that I pointed out here is what I am suggesting we NEED and not likely to get in our lifetime.  I have, on more than one occaision, suggested, at the very least, that it is all wishful thinking. Roll yuh sleeves back down and button back up yuh shirt, Padnah.

« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2011, 08:25:21 PM »

Turf eh good fuh de body.  Dize it fuh me.  Every body in charge of football want it because it's cost effective, but the truth is, it's not good for the body, players, for the most part, don't like it and it is the worst thing to play on in the rain.  All grass fields need is proper maintainance.

They getting close but they still eh design an artificial surface that could fully replicate the natural surface.

The worst thing about the super turf is de setta rubber pellets in yuh socks when yuh done sweat... Wifey tired buff me fuh finding them all over the apartment months after season done lol  ;D ;D ;D
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 08:28:28 PM by kicker »

« Reply #21 on: February 17, 2011, 08:30:18 PM »

They getting close but they still eh design an artificial surface that could fully replicate the natural surface.

The worst thing about the super turf is de setta rubber pellets in yuh socks when yuh done sweat... Wifey tired buff me fuh finding them all over the apartment months after season done lol  ;D ;D ;D

steups... when yuh reach home and peel off yuh drawers... rubber pellets all over de damn place

« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2011, 09:00:59 PM »

Dem ting more irritating than anything....the biggest issue for me is coaching GK's on it, especially the young ones teenage and under.  For the kind of training and drills that you need to put them through, artificial turf is the wrong answer and it could lead to orthopoedic problems both long and short term. I eh want no parts of it.    

Barca wins a second trophy today
« Reply #23 on: August 26, 2011, 08:58:57 PM »
Season eh start yet and Barca already win two trophy.
What a poor field today for such a big game.
Barca still pulled it off, though they never flowed.
Fabragas scored a brilliant goal and fits in like he never left. Class is class

Re: Barca wins a second trophy today
« Reply #24 on: August 26, 2011, 10:28:08 PM »
Porto played really well - very very athletic team, with good discipline - made Barca work without being a negative park the bus team...they went for it, and Barca took a very long time to find their rhythm.... but in the end, quality won out...

Good finish by Fabregas..

Re: Barca wins a second trophy today
« Reply #25 on: August 27, 2011, 05:16:45 AM »
Porto played really well - very very athletic team, with good discipline - made Barca work without being a negative park the bus team...they went for it, and Barca took a very long time to find their rhythm.... but in the end, quality won out...

Good finish by Fabregas..

I agree on Porto. Very impessed! The coach did not change much from last year, so they defended well, high up the park and made Barca play faster than they would like. Good tactical game

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #26 on: August 28, 2011, 12:14:27 AM »
very nice read.....

At least they're moving to a modern facility and it's not completing shut down.

That place produced some world class footballers....are they the new Ajax in terms of player development?
They hadda be doing this for some decades before they could reach Ajax level. They now start, but I hope they keep it going.
Victoria concordia crescit