April 25, 2024, 06:14:16 AM

Author Topic: Berlusconi and de bad T'ing... TnT Government eh want nutten  (Read 3376 times)

Berlusconi and de bad T'ing... TnT Government eh want nutten
« on: February 15, 2011, 10:13:15 AM »
Like Shaggy say "soap opera cyah sweet so"   :D

February 15, 2011

Berlusconi to Face Trial in Under-Age Prostitution Case

By RACHEL DONADIO

ROME — A Milan judge on Tuesday ordered Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi to stand trial in April on charges of paying an underage nightclub dancer for sex and of abusing his office to help release her from police custody when she was detained for theft.

The trial is expected to begin April 6, according to a statement released by the judge.

Mr. Berlusconi denies wrongdoing. After the ruling on Tuesday he did not appear at a scheduled news conference in Sicily, where Italy is seeking to stem a flow of more than 5,000 illegal immigrants from Tunisia.

Since prosecutors announced last week that they would call for an expedited trial, saying they had enough evidence to waive preliminary hearings, Mr. Berlusconi has fought back in the news media, accusing the judiciary of a “moral coup” against his leadership.

He said on Monday that he would not step down, and his center-right coalition, which governs with a narrow majority, has stood by him, even as a growing number of Italians are tiring of his leadership. As the crisis wears on no one has ruled out early elections before Mr. Berlusconi’s mandate ends in 2013.

The president of Italy, Giorgio Napolitano, who has the power to dissolve Parliament and call early elections, said on Tuesday that the growing showdown between the executive and the judiciary posed “reasons for anxiety,” Italian news media reported.

On Sunday thousands took to the streets in Italian cities and worldwide in coordinated demonstrations that organizers said were aimed at restoring the dignity of Italian women amid the latest sex scandal and after years in which Mr. Berlusconi has routinely appointed television showgirls to political office.

The judge’s ruling came weeks after prosecutors said they were investigating Mr. Berlusconi on charges that he paid Karima El Mahroug, a nightclub dancer nicknamed Ruby Heart-Stealer, for sex before she turned 18 and abused his office in calling the police to intervene when she was detained in May for theft.

Mr. Berlusconi has said he called the police to avoid “an international diplomatic incident” because he had been told that the Moroccan-born Ms. Mahroug was the niece of Hosni Mubarak, then the president of Egypt.

The age of consent is 14 in Italy and prostitution is legal, but not with someone under the age of 18.

Both Mr. Berlusconi and Ms. Mahroug say they did not have sex, although Ms. Mahroug said the prime minister gave her 7,000 euros the first time she came to his villa for a party last spring. In a television interview last month, she said she had made up “a parallel life,” telling people she was Egyptian, not Moroccan, although she did not reveal whether she had ever claimed to be Mr. Mubarak’s niece.

The trial would not be Mr. Berlusconi’s first. Over the years he has emerged largely unscathed from a dizzying list of legal troubles, including charges of corruption, tax evasion and bribing judges. In each case he was either acquitted on appeal or the statute of limitations ran out.

In the new trial Mr. Berlusconi would not have to appear in court but could do so if he chose.

Piero Longo, a lawyer for Mr. Berlusconi, said in a television interview on Tuesday that the judge’s decision was “exactly what we expected.” Noting that Mr. Berlusconi would be tried before a panel of three female judges, he said: “Great. Women are always appreciated, sometimes even agreeable,” the center-left daily La Repubblica reported.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/02/16/world/europe/16italy.html?hp
« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 10:14:59 AM by Bakes »

Re: Berlusconi and de bad T'ing... TnT Government eh want nutten
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2011, 01:19:48 PM »
Money, Cialis and Hair dye.... a wicked combination

Dais ah damn good looking hoe doh

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2011, 01:43:44 PM »
He resign yet??

« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2011, 02:02:19 PM »
He resign yet??

Resign what?  Dis is ah every day thing fuh Silvio

The trial would not be Mr. Berlusconi’s first. Over the years he has emerged largely unscathed from a dizzying list of legal troubles, including charges of corruption, tax evasion and bribing judges. In each case he was either acquitted on appeal or the statute of limitations ran out.

... clearly de man innocent, all politricks and witchuntism.  Prosecutor dem juss mad Silvio viagra stronger dan dem own.

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2011, 10:10:53 PM »
muslim woman is one of the sexiest on de planet.

« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2011, 06:46:34 AM »
muslim woman is one of the sexiest on de planet.
Agreed.

« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2011, 08:38:32 AM »
I don't understand why a good-lookin bird like that has to turn to all out hooking.
Surely she could find a sugar daddy.

« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2011, 12:21:05 PM »
I don't understand why a good-lookin bird like that has to turn to all out hooking.

All u applyin 4 d position?

« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2011, 12:22:06 PM »

Guttuso comes to mind. He could surely do with something to relieve the issues he's going through. Dat man need tuh ease de tension!

« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2011, 12:42:23 PM »

It might be splitting hairs but I think a sugar daddy is exactly what she was looking for... and apparently she found it in Silvio before de mark buss.  Of course she still exchanging sex for euros/favors... tricking, however yuh parse it.

« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2011, 03:52:39 PM »

And the difference is? ???  .....a tad less honesty perhaps in the case of "finding a sugar daddy"?
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2011, 04:13:31 PM »
It might be splitting hairs but I think a sugar daddy is exactly what she was looking for... and apparently she found it in Silvio before de mark buss.  Of course she still exchanging sex for euros/favors... tricking, however yuh parse it.

Well she young so yeh maybe she just hasn't had enough time to get the sugar daddy deal.

And the difference is? ???  .....a tad less honesty perhaps in the case of "finding a sugar daddy"?

Prostitution is illegal, and involves multiple johns. 
She can't be jailed for having a sugar daddy.
Morally, the two not far apart though.

« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2011, 04:38:02 PM »

Separate from allyuh bigger picture argument... it not illegal in Italy though, just not with a ho pro under 18.

« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2011, 05:17:13 PM »
All these high fallootings could say what they want about prostitution. It will always be there as long as MEN want it. Prostitution is  a man's issue.

« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2011, 06:54:02 PM »
All these high fallootings could say what they want about prostitution. It will always be there as long as MEN want it. Prostitution is  a man's issue.

Part ah me say they should just legalize it yes... my only real concern with it is the involvement of pimps and traffickers and the abuse and exploitation that they bring to the situation.  From a public policy and even public health standpoint you can make credible arguments against it as well... but a crime?  Hard to buy that.

« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2011, 08:10:06 PM »

Part ah me say they should just legalize it yes... my only real concern with it is the involvement of pimps and traffickers and the abuse and exploitation that they bring to the situation.  From a public policy and even public health standpoint you can make credible arguments against it as well... but a crime?  Hard to buy that.

I agree. I can see where you coming from.

« Reply #16 on: February 17, 2011, 06:25:49 AM »

I agree. I can see where you coming from.

Come to Canada ...

Prostitution is not illegal up here  ... now mind you, trying to do it legally is a different story

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prostitution_in_Canada

http://www.torontolife.com/daily/informer/the-new-normal/2010/09/28/prostitution-in-canada-now-even-more-legal/

« Reply #17 on: February 17, 2011, 06:57:17 AM »

Separate from allyuh bigger picture argument... it not illegal in Italy though, just not with a ho pro under 18.

I didn't know that.  Time to book a flight. :)