April 29, 2024, 09:25:54 AM

Would you like to see Creole revived in Trinidad?

Yes
16 (80%)
No
1 (5%)
don't care
3 (15%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Author Topic: Patois!  (Read 17522 times)

Offline matapèl

Re: Patois!
« Reply #30 on: August 01, 2008, 09:38:20 PM »
this is a song that I love! from martinique!

http://www.deezer.com/track/262162

its called "doudou mwen ké ba'w sa" Darling I will give you this
Si ou tonbé, fò ou lévé! If you fall, you must get up!

« Reply #31 on: August 02, 2008, 06:46:44 AM »
Thanks Mose,
                      I like that sound too bad. Last year on the Parkway, a big truck bust that tune, if you see  how some people get on like they from Xangoland
Deeks it just have something about dat stickfight riddum does just get yuh going. And when yuh drop a good lavwé on top ah dat, well...

dat is so true, the other creole speaking islands have kept that primal sound in that Carnival music that made the white people shudder. In the old days Trinidad was one of England's most unruly colonies; they knew how far they could push us before something happened Over the years the meaning of the carnival and its music has changed so much. That resistant spirit has vanished form the music and It seems the people as well. This kind of music just gets the fires going that why i love martinique's carnival so much!   
I guess I'll have to try to make it to Martinique and Guadeloupe sometime.

« Reply #32 on: August 02, 2008, 06:59:00 AM »
mi gwo ka! (here is some gwo ka) with dance!

http://www.dailymotion.com/relevance/search/gwo%2Bka/video/x3ois4_100eme-video-la-vraie-musique_music

akiyo is playing here, this girl is very good too!
Interesting. I see some bongo dance moves in there as well.

Coming back to this. We had a young Guadeloupean(sp?) exchange student from France join our folk group this past year (he's since returned to France). But I remember him at times in our practices working on some of those steps.

« Reply #33 on: August 02, 2008, 10:58:14 AM »
Thanks Mose,
                      I like that sound too bad. Last year on the Parkway, a big truck bust that tune, if you see  how some people get on like they from Xangoland
Deeks it just have something about dat stickfight riddum does just get yuh going. And when yuh drop a good lavwé on top ah dat, well...

dat is so true, the other creole speaking islands have kept that primal sound in that Carnival music that made the white people shudder. In the old days Trinidad was one of England's most unruly colonies; they knew how far they could push us before something happened Over the years the meaning of the carnival and its music has changed so much. That resistant spirit has vanished form the music and It seems the people as well. This kind of music just gets the fires going that why i love martinique's carnival so much!   

Matapel ou konete carnival Martiniquen?
« Last Edit: August 07, 2008, 05:02:36 PM by Pointman »

Offline matapèl

« Reply #34 on: August 03, 2008, 06:00:18 PM »
wi pointman mwen konnèt Kanaval-Matinik, mwen tini fanmi laba-la (yes pointman, i know matinique carnival and i have family over there)

Offline matapèl

« Reply #35 on: August 03, 2008, 06:56:59 PM »
here is some Akiyo music from Guadeloupe!

its called Chenn-la (the Chain)

one of their most loved! just listen to those drums!

http://www.deezer.com/track/291340

« Reply #36 on: August 05, 2008, 03:53:30 PM »
Real Nice!!!!

Offline Trini1

« Reply #37 on: August 16, 2008, 05:33:18 PM »
Je peux parler un peu de francais seulement, mais je voudrais apprendre patois. merci beaucoup. lol so i wud like to actually learn patois because i've just had an interest since many of my friends have a 'home' language. I'd like to feel the same way really.

« Reply #38 on: August 17, 2008, 02:10:37 PM »
Matapel,
             Sak passe. We don't hear from you. But right now everybody head up in the Olympics.

« Reply #39 on: August 18, 2008, 02:39:18 PM »
Matapel,
             Sak passe. We don't hear from you. But right now everybody head up in the Olympics.

daiz Haitian Kreol,

Trini patois(kreol) is sa ki fe?

Offline matapèl

« Reply #40 on: September 15, 2008, 02:22:42 PM »
Matapel,

daiz Haitian Kreol,

Trini patois(kreol) is sa ki fe?

We can say sa ka fet or sa ki fe yet another way is sa'w fe (sa ou feh)

« Reply #41 on: September 19, 2008, 05:44:45 PM »
Matapek,
                   Sa ki fe? I read on the papers that there is  a place on Dundonald street called Euphoria that plays lots of zouk music. They have a zouk night on Thursdays called Zouk Kole Sere T&T. Have you been there? What's it like?

Offline matapèl

« Reply #42 on: September 22, 2008, 07:34:39 PM »
No I have not been there, but now i am wondering if anyone there knows how to dance zouk lol

« Reply #43 on: September 22, 2008, 08:53:26 PM »
That is a good question. When you go let us know. By the way I got this Haitian son for Obama on a QRC forum.

http://www.opamizik.com/mp3s/hands_up_pour_obama.mp3

« Reply #44 on: September 22, 2008, 08:55:16 PM »
Is more compas than zouk!!!

Offline matapèl

« Reply #45 on: September 24, 2008, 11:24:43 AM »
I like compas a good song

Mèsi bokou! (thanks a lot)

I am trying to find out who is singing, I will tell you when I can

Lévé lanmen sé'w lé Obama pou pwézidan!

« Reply #46 on: October 16, 2008, 10:33:48 AM »
I eh kno where to put this link

<-- click here
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline matapèl

« Reply #47 on: October 17, 2008, 04:33:21 PM »
I have read this poem many times loved it, it has lots of patois in it. i only grieve because patois is not surviving as well as it should, I am in my 20's so I will pass on the French and Patois to my Children and keep the Traditional languages of my family going but there are not many trinis like me out there its sad. Thanks for posting it

« Reply #48 on: October 23, 2008, 09:03:19 PM »

Offline matapèl

« Reply #49 on: October 24, 2008, 09:04:55 PM »
yeah i like the style form Brazil, in Martinique its a lil different! thanks man!

Offline matapèl

« Reply #50 on: January 30, 2009, 04:07:42 PM »
ok people i am sorry to have been away for so long. i am back now so just let me know what you want to learn and i will post a lesson.

« Reply #51 on: January 30, 2009, 04:49:25 PM »
Aye Patois,
                  Good to see you back. I have to admit I have not done anything with the language but I still interested. How is the Zouk scene in TT as Carnival is around the corner. I hear one of the soca songs by Destra. It very zouk.

Offline matapèl

« Reply #52 on: January 30, 2009, 06:10:47 PM »
this thread will be a lot more active....

Offline matapèl

« Reply #53 on: March 29, 2009, 09:07:01 PM »
for those of you who are on face book, there is a new face book group that is dedicated to the advancement and promotion of our Creole. It is called ''Annou palé Patwa'' [let's speak Patois'']

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?topic=8098&post=28022&uid=61220156866#/group.php?gid=61220156866

Also we have a new wiki up devoted to the goals stated by our group you can find a link to that wiki on the group's main page. So come see what Trinidad Creole speaking community is doing. The movement to save Creole [patois] is finally gaining some steam! hope to see you there! Come join our discussions ask you questions tell us what you know and share your ideas.

vini, annou kozé yon titak! [come let's chat a little]

« Reply #54 on: March 31, 2009, 06:02:35 PM »
Matapel,

I came upon this gabonaise name Nadege

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4dAnI5fbxOc&feature=related

Offline matapèl

« Reply #55 on: April 02, 2009, 08:18:58 AM »
I have never really listened to Gabonais Zouk, thanks for that! dont forget to check out the my space link!

« Reply #56 on: February 17, 2011, 08:58:27 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Gd12zLqAxP4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Gd12zLqAxP4</a>

There are lot more of these on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/user/katvixenchick

« Reply #57 on: February 17, 2011, 12:22:03 PM »
Very nice find Bitter... I must say that even though I too lacked a full appreciation for the language, I see the need not to treasure and try and preserve it.  Lol@ "dreevay" @ 4:57, and the translation "roam about the place"... ent! lol

Nice  :beermug: