March 28, 2024, 07:15:16 AM

Author Topic: Gary Griffith Thread.  (Read 14496 times)

Re: Unmanned ‘spying‘ vehicles soon—Gary
« Reply #30 on: May 12, 2014, 07:50:12 PM »
capt crunch...the cereal gettin soggy breds.

Stop the tv appearances and pappy show stories.

« Reply #31 on: May 16, 2014, 02:07:26 PM »
Gary Griffith is a special kind of a-hole.  A kind I've never encountered before......ah doesn't know if to laugh at him or feel pity.........

« Reply #32 on: May 16, 2014, 04:53:15 PM »
I have to admit that national security portfolio does turn good people dotish.

« Reply #33 on: May 16, 2014, 07:53:44 PM »
Gary Griffith is a special kind of a-hole.  A kind I've never encountered before......ah doesn't know if to laugh at him or feel pity.........
daiz d man wit d plan babe...ketch yuhself >:( :cursing: :yellowcard:................ ::) :-[ :'( ::)

« Reply #34 on: May 16, 2014, 09:55:56 PM »
Maybe that is somebody's plan is to turn "good" people doltish so that the criminals would continue to reek havoc unabated

« Reply #35 on: May 19, 2014, 12:41:15 PM »
Maybe the coup rumours had substance........or they made them up to justify the purchasing of the "toys".

It's not hard to post a status or send a tweet to the town makko, who takes it up and sells it wholesale.

« Reply #36 on: May 20, 2014, 02:27:05 PM »
He speaks too quickly, makes him sound less credible, like human predictive texting.

Gary Griffith Thread.
« Reply #37 on: December 29, 2014, 06:31:08 PM »
Griffith takes pride in crime drop

I wonder what world this fellow Gary Griffith really living in?
How could serious crime be down when the murder toll for 2014 is on target to equal or surpass last year's total of 407?
Is murder not the most serious crime that anyone can commit in Gary's book?
And if so then why is our National Security Minister Gary Griffith trying to take the T&T public for fools once again?
When our National Security Minister Gary Griffith wants to make such claims that serious crime is down then he needs to provide a complete list of indictable offenses for 2014 and one for last year so we can all qualify his claim.

Griffith takes pride in crime drop
By Gyasi Gonzales gyasi.gonzales@trinidadexpres (T&T Express)s.com
Story Created: Dec 25, 2014 at 10:01 PM ECT

NATIONAL Security Minister Gary Griffith came out in full support of the protective services yesterday, beaming with pride as he boasted that Trinidad and Tobago’s serious crime rate had been cut by half since 2009.

The minister mandated that in the coming year the focus of the nation’s security forces is to dismantle illegal gangs, remove illegal guns already in the country and prevent more from coming in.

“The success is there so let’s continue to support and let’s not criticise for the sake of criticising,” said Griffith.

The Minister was flanked by Deputy Commissioner of Police (ACP) Glenn Hackett, whom he mistakenly referred to as ACP (Peter) Reyes—the policeman in the news for an incident involving a cellular phone on a Caribbean Airlines flight from Trinidad to Tobago last week—during a brief interview at Inter Agency Task Force headquarters in Aranjuez.

Griffith quickly corrected himself, stating that it was a name he had on his mind, especially when DCP Hackett experienced difficulty switching off his ringing Blackberry Z10 cell phone yesterday morning.

“I am here to give solidarity to our troops, whereas the majority of our country are at home with loved ones, obviously there will be a need for certain agencies to be there to protect ourselves and families and citizens of our country and I think it’s something that ought to be recognised, that the hard work and dedication of our law enforcement agencies 24/7,” said Griffith.

“This year, thanks to the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service and the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force...has proven to be the lowest number of serious crimes in this country in 31 years,” he added.

“They (the protective services) broke the record last year and then this year there were 12,000 serious crimes compared to 2009 where we had 22,000 serious crimes, so when you do the maths it is that every single hour there was one less serious crime committed in comparison to 2009.

“When we speak about serious crimes we speak about homicides, rapes, kidnappings and armed robbery,” he explained.

To the gang members, or those desirous of joining criminal gangs, Griffith had a message intended specially for them.

“It is very difficult to be protected by the law if you yourself operate outside of the law,” said the minister, who revealed that out of the 400 murders in 2013, 250 of those were as a result of gang-related activities.

To the troops, he said: “We have your back as it is not easy for anyone to put their hand on a Bible and be prepared to be the ultimate patriot, that you are willing to give your life to your country and that you are willing to give up your life for a stranger.”

« Last Edit: May 15, 2015, 02:47:17 AM by Flex »

Re: Griffith takes pride in crime drop
« Reply #38 on: January 03, 2015, 11:38:10 AM »
So the portfolio of MONS has now changed to include COP I guess the one thing that Bratton and Guiliani taught them is that if you list all the criminal offenses one year but the next year list less or not report them then crime will be down but we all know it's a matter of stats and stats like the colombians at villa capri once you lay them down will tell you anything.

« Reply #39 on: January 07, 2015, 05:01:42 PM »
Why Griffith doh shut he mudda c00nt.

« Reply #40 on: January 07, 2015, 07:05:31 PM »
Why Griffith doh shut he mudda c00nt.

:thumbsup:

Gary Griffith Thread.
« Reply #41 on: February 05, 2015, 02:49:18 AM »
Gary Griffith moves on PP.
By Gail Alexander (Guardian)

Former national security minister Gary Griffith plans to filed a report with the police concerning an alleged meeting with advertising agency head Ernie Ross at Ross Advertising on the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) director David West issue, for the police to determine if any criminal matter occurred. Griffith confirmed that to the T&T Guardian yesterday.

The situation has further compounded the issue, which centres on West’s complaint to police concerning alleged witness-tampering by former Attorney General Anand Ramlogan in a defamation matter in which Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley is involved. Government last week denied pressuring Griffith to withdraw witness statements in West’s complaint.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar removed both Ramlogan and Griffith from the Cabinet on Monday after police started a criminal probe of West’s allegations. West gave police a statement last week when he reported the matter to acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams. Ramlogan has not yet given any statement to the police, it was confirmed yesterday.

Yesterday, Griffith said he has already submitted two statements to the police on the witness-tampering allegations. He said he would submit a statement on a third matter,  the Ross issue, today. Communication Minister Vasant Bharath has denied Griffith’s claim that he had met with Ross, Griffith and Griffith’s wife, Nicole, concerning West’s allegations. Bharath said he was at Ross’ on a regular basis but didn’t attend any meeting as Griffith described.

Acting Police Commissioner Williams told the T&T Guardian yesterday that during the course of an interview by police recently, Griffith lodged the report. He said Deputy Police Commissioner Harold Phillips, who is assigned to handle the entire West issue, is now “effectively addressing the matter.”

Ross advertising responds

Yesterday, Ross Advertising issued a statement on the issue, saying there had been several inaccurate reports by the media and statements by Griffith on the alleged meeting between the head of Ross Advertising, Griffith and Mrs Griffith on January 29 at Ross’ offices.

The statement said there was never any meeting between Bharath, Griffith, Mrs Griffith and Ross. It noted, however, that there was a meeting between Griffith, Mrs Griffith and Ross at the premises but said Bharath was never part of the meeting at any time. Ross, the statement said, convened the meeting as media adviser to Griffith, noting Ross had done several advertising campaigns on the National Security Ministry’s behalf.

The company added: “As is proper form, the former minister (Griffith) and his wife were both advised at the onset and during the session that the discussions were entirely in their interest and there was no attempt to change the veracity of statements.

“At all times the purpose of the meeting was to best prepare the minister for scrutiny of the media, public and Opposition party.

“It is an informal role which Mr Ross has conducted with Minister Griffith as well as many other members of the Cabinet on numerous occasions, via phone, meetings, e-mail and text messages as issues arise.” The company said it has been conducting media management exercises for over 20 years regionally with a successful record.

PM wants inquiry

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has forwarded a request to President Anthony Carmona for an independent enquiry into the circumstances involved in the Ramlogan/Griffith/Rowley/West matter, which was sparked by a defamation suit in the Section 34 matter filed by Ramlogan against Rowley, following West’s allegations. A letter to this effect was dispatched along with statements the PM received from Ramlogan and Griffith.

In removing Ramlogan and Griffith from office on Monday, the PM had expressed concern that West had not informed either the President or her of his allegations that he had been approached by Ramlogan to withdraw a witness statement in the defamation matter involving Rowley. West’s statement was done for Rowley’s side. The PM questioned why West had waited until now to reveal his allegations.

She also expressed concern on various aspects of Rowley’s position, including whether he had known of the issue when he was consulted on West’s appointment. She said if that was the case, Rowley should also have informed the President. The PM said West’s position as PCA director was compromised because of the current situation and he should immediately resign or his appointment should be revoked.

West didn’t answer calls yesterday on whether he would resign.

http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/Gary-Griffith-I-was-fired-290599121.html

« Last Edit: February 08, 2015, 04:52:36 AM by Flex »

Gary Griffith fingers 3 more ministers.
« Reply #42 on: February 08, 2015, 04:51:07 AM »
Griffith fingers 3 more ministers
By Renuka Singh (Guardian).

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar may be blindsided by a new report filed by former national security minister Gary Griffith with the police, in which he names three of her Cabinet ministers in the chain of events that were set off by Police Complaints Authority director David West’s involvement in a civil matter between former attorney general Anand Ramlogan and Opposition Leader Dr. Keith Rowley.

The Sunday Guardian learned that Griffith filed the new report with the police investigating witness-tampering allegations against Ramlogan, arising out of the civil matter, on Friday. In it, he alleges Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal, Labour Minister Errol McLeod and Communications Minister Vasant Bharath were present during a meeting he attended at her office in St Clair on January 29, while she met with the rest of Cabinet in a nearby room.

Asked if she was aware of the latest development yesterday via a text message, Persad-Bissessar texted a simple “no.” But the Sunday Guardian learned yesterday that the new report describes the impromptu meeting between Griffith, Bharath, Moonilal and McLeod on January 29 and states that neither Moonilal nor McLeod made any contribution in the meeting, but would have witnessed the discussions between Bharath and Griffith.

The impromptu meeting is among four which occurred at the Office of the Prime Minister on the said day (January 29) while the rest of Cabinet met in another room, Griffith’s statement claims.

The report also contains copies of text messages between Griffith and Bharath in the days after it was revealed that the former was listed as a key witness in West’s statement alleging that Ramlogan used the PCA job as an inducement to him to withdraw his statement in support of Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, in a defamation lawsuit brought by Ramlogan against Rowley.

Griffith backed up West’s statement, alleging that Ramlogan had contacted him (Griffith) asking that he contact West to find out whether he had withdrawn that statement. Griffith has maintained, however, that he did not know the contents of the statement the former attorney general was referring to when he delivered the message to West at Ramlogan’s behest.

Text message evidence

One of the texts included in the report, allegedly from Bharath to Griffifth, asks Griffith to consider whether his “partners would believe that he did not know what statement the AG was referring to.” That text allegedly came after Griffith began to defend his stance on the matter in the media after public furore over the allegations against Ramlogan by West.

The Sunday Guardian also learned that Griffith is weighing his legal options against Bharath over a press statement Bharath issued last Sunday, the day before Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced that both Griffith and Ramlogan had resigned.

Bharath, in that media release, dismissed reports that Griffith was being “pressured to withdraw a witness statement” during the Cabinet meeting on January 29. Bharath then accused Griffith of compromising the integrity of Cabinet “without any clear or rational reason.” Both Griffth and Ramlogan were fired the following Monday by Persad-Bissessar during a public address to the nation in which she also reshuffled her Cabinet.

Those close to Griffith are now wondering, if Griffith was removed for being listed as a witness in a police investigation how the PM will treat with this new development.

Bharath wary of media leaks

Contacted for comment yesterday, Bharath said he was more concerned that details of a police investigation were being ventilated in the media. He did not comment or express any concern that he was named in Griffith's police statement, instead saying that it “is a matter of grave concern” that the media had copies of the police report.

“I would hate to think that someone is leaking documents from police files to the media. To do so would be at best mischievous and at worst, intended to corrupt any investigation that police may deem proper,” Bharath said. Bharath said that it was in the public’s interest to let police matters proceed without “unauthorised interference by third parties.”

“With this in mind, I believe that the proper investigation of the allegations you have raised would be best served by reserving comment until such time as the matter may be investigated by the persons authorised to do so,” Bharath said.

Re: Gary Griffith Thread.
« Reply #43 on: February 08, 2015, 04:55:26 AM »
Gary Versus Vasant
Bharath reserves comment pending probe

Former National Security minister Gary Griffith has named Communications Minister Vasant Bharath as the minister who tried to influence him not to speak out in the alleged witness tampering matter involving fired attorney general Anand Ramlogan and Police Complaints Authority (PCA) director David West.

In his statement to police, Griffith said the move to silence him took place at a meeting on January 29 at the conference room of the Office of the Prime Minister in St Clair.

Griffith has also submitted to police text messages that were exchanged between him and Bharath on January 30 to support his claim.

The Sunday Express broke the story of the alleged witness tampering on January 25.

Both Griffith and Ramlogan were fired by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar on February 2.

The allegation levelled against Ramlogan is that six days before West was appointed director of the PCA he (Ramlogan) telephoned him and asked that he withdraw his witness statement in a defamation lawsuit relating to the failed extradition involving Section 34 applicants Steve Ferguson and Ishwar Galbaransingh in exchange for him being selected for the job.

Ramlogan has denied the allegation which is now the subject of a police probe.

The text messages were exchanged on the same day (January 30) West reported Ramlogan to the police.

Telephone records show that the text messages were from the same mobile numbers the Sunday Express have used to contact Bharath and Griffith from the time they were both given ministerial portfolios.

At the time the text messages were sent Griffith was still a member of Cabinet before being fired on February 2, 2015 by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar who said he had an obligation to tell her that he was asked to telephone West and find out if he had pulled back a “document”.

Griffith, who is a key witness in the matter, has dismissed the reason for him being axed from the Cabinet, insisting that he was removed because he did not agree with several Cabinet colleagues that he should deny the December 19, 2014 telephone conversation he had with West.

Griffith handed over the text messages along with two statements to police last week.

Text messages

The text messages exchanged between Griffith and Bharath commenced at 11.08 a.m on January 30 and read as follows:

Griffith to Bharath: Interesting that the same words being used by United National Congress (UNC) minions on the blogs is exactly what u used to try and influence and intimidate me not to speak the truth. I hope u all prepared to finish what u start. U all underestimating my capabilities

Bharath to Griffith: Wht r u talking about

Griffith to Bharath: Check blogs. Word for word

Bharath to Griffith: I don’t get blogs. I have not uttered a word to anyone

Wht does it say

Whatever it says I can guarantee u did not come from me

Griffith to Bharath: “Steups. Pile of crap from UNC that I should be fired. Why I didn’t report it etc. Nonsense. There was never anything to report

My statement drafted does not implicate or go against anand. It is my involvement in the matter

Bharath to Griffith: “I can assure u that has not come from me. And in any event my comments were y West didn’t report it…not you…. All I ask you was whether your partners at the oval would believe that u didn’t know what statement AG was referring to

Griffith to Bharath: “Ok. But exact angle being used by bloggers who are minions to the cabal

Bharath to Griffith: “I am not a member of the cabal….so i don’t know who they are. U need to look elsewhere…I would have hoped that u would have known me better than that….a little disappointed if honest

Griffith to Bharath: “So how you think I feel to be given the option to be thrown under the bus in an attempt to save anand

I hearing about firing all over the place. Up to now she has not even asked to see me to find out or the Commissioner of Police (CoP) who would confirm that I am not under investigation or implicated in any way. So I hope everyone treading carefully and looking down the road

Bharath to Griffith:Have u tried contacting her

Griffith to Bharath: Several messages. No response. I gave her my draft statement. No response

Text messages exchange ended at 4.09 p.m.

The meeting

On January 29, the day before the text messages were exchanged between Griffith and Bharath, a meeting was held in the conference room of the Office of the Prime Minister in St Clair while the weekly Cabinet meeting was in session.

Details of the meeting are listed in one of the statements Griffith handed over to police last week.

Griffith told police that Labour Minister Errol McLeod who was the acting Prime Minister at the time, Leader of Government Business and Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal and Bharath were present at the meeting.

In his statement, Griffith also said that at no time did Moonilal and McLeod try to persuade him from doing what he intended.

Griffith further told police that both Moonilal and McLeod said “nothing of significance” but were observing.

An excerpt from Griffith’s second statement reads: “On Thursday January 29, 2015 I went to a Cabinet meeting which was to be held on the third floor of the Office of the Prime Minister located at St Clair. I arrived at the Office of the Prime Minister at around 9.50 a.m. and the Cabinet meeting started at around 10 a.m. The Cabinet meeting was being chaired by the acting Prime Minister Errol McLeod. At the meeting also were most of the other Cabinet ministers including Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal and Trade and Communications Minister Vasant Bharath.

“At around 10 a.m. Mr Roodal Moonilal requested that I accompany him to the Prime Minister’s conference room which is situated on the third floor next to the Prime Minister’s office. I accompanied him to the conference room and I met the then acting Prime Minister Errol Mc Leod and Minister Vasant Bharath there.

“I cannot recall who stated that my presence there was to discuss my involvement pertaining to the investigation involving the Attorney General Anand Ramlogan (former) and the PCA director Mr David West. I informed them that I would be obligated to speak the truth and stated what I know pertaining to this matter.

“I stated that this meant that I will be obliged to state that the Attorney General Anand Ramlogan (former) did contact me to ascertain if Mr West had withdrawn a document which they had dismissed previously. I also told them that I didn’t know the specifics of the document.

While there Mr Bharath stated let us walk this through. He (Bharath) said if I was aware of the implications which would take place if I pursue the matter in that direction and that it can affect the Government. I informed him that if the Government is affected I am not to be blamed as the inappropriate action was committed by the attorney.

« Reply #44 on: February 08, 2015, 07:28:12 PM »
 :banginghead: when will they roll up the tent and move this circus out of town?

« Reply #45 on: February 08, 2015, 07:55:53 PM »
ah was out of circulation for a while being in a country without much internet access and ah comeback to all this bacchanal? ah man loose his ministerial position for standing up for the truth  ??? I'm confused !!   

« Reply #46 on: February 08, 2015, 09:36:37 PM »
ah was out of circulation for a while being in a country without much internet access and ah comeback to all this bacchanal? ah man loose his ministerial position for standing up for the truth  ??? I'm confused !!   

Hell hath no fury like a woman Gary scorned.

« Reply #47 on: February 09, 2015, 01:40:29 PM »
So yeah...I realise we eh do a caption contest in a while..and find this one in papers.

Caption it nah.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #48 on: February 17, 2015, 12:32:27 AM »
^^  ;D

Ah couldn't come up with a caption for that nah, but Gary looking uncomfortable.

« Reply #49 on: February 17, 2015, 02:35:32 AM »
This Griffith West Rowley Ramlogan caught me by surprise. More surprising was his sacking.

« Reply #50 on: March 05, 2015, 02:54:03 AM »
Ex-minister Griffith anxious to be cleared of emailgate but says:
By Anna Ramdass (Express)

DON’T RUSH COPS

The police should not be rushed to provide a conclusion on the emailgate probe, says former national security minister Gary Griffith.
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar on Monday called on the authorities to move swiftly to conclude the investigations, noting that information requested from service provider Google was received.
“If the e-mail information sent from the US authorities has in fact been received directly from Google by the police concerning my e-mail account and those of other ministers, then those investigations must move with dispatch, must move swiftly to conclude that investigation having regard of the serious nature of the allegations...I ask that the findings be made public as a matter of urgency so the damage done to our country’s reputation can be restored,” she said.
Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams, via a release on Tuesday, confirmed that police had received the information from Google and was analysing it.
“The information contained in the communication is voluminous in nature and the alleged e-mails are being analysed by the TTPS to determine their authenticity,” stated the release.
Griffith told the Express yesterday that while he too is anxious to cleared of the allegations in emailgate he knows, from his own training in law enforcement that these investigations take time.
He said in the same way the investigations into the assassination of senior counsel Dana Seetahal and the LifeSport scandal will also take time.
In May 2013, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley during his motion of no confidence against the People’s Partnership Government and the Prime Minister, disclosed the contents of 31 e-mails purporting to be exchanges between Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar, former Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, then Minister of Local Government Surujrattan Rambachan and Griffith.
The e-mails alleged these high office holders were conspiring to harm a journalist, plant electronic spy devices in the Office of the DPP, offer the DPP a judgeship, and to accept payment from an unnamed woman in exchange for the freedom of people involved in the Section 34 fiasco in September 2012.
Griffith pointed out that when Rowley exposed the e-mails, he (Griffith) handed over his mobile phone to the police for investigation as he had nothing to hide.
“Based on the investigations then, my own phone was interrogated and nothing was found,” said Griffith.
He said more in depth investigations were needed and hence Google was asked to provide information on e-mails sent, received, deleted and archived.
“I expect this matter would be dealt with as quickly as possible but it would be inappropriate to rush or demand the police to hasten their investigations,” said Griffith.
He said the police cannot just come forward with “bits and pieces” of information.
“We should allow the police to do their job,” said Griffith, adding that the police have to make two determinations- the authenticity of the e-mails and secondly the truth in the content of the e-mails.
“It’s a lot of work that needs to be done....What I expect is that until they have fully completed their investigation, they will make a public statement,” he said.
Griffith noted that when Seetahal was murdered on May 4 last year within the first 24 hours “a lot of information was brought to my attention which I still have in my head”.
However, he said the police cannot call a press conference and divulge pieces of information.
“That is not how the police operate, that is how politicians operate,” he said.
“All aspects of the investigation must be completed before the police can come forward and make any public pronouncement,” he said.
He added that so too in the case of LifeSport, there was a lot of information but that matter is also under probe.
“We have to be patient and let the police do their work, I hope it an be done as soon as possible but they have to do their work,” said Griffith.
Williams had appointed Deputy Commissioner of Police (Operations) Mervyn Richardson as the lead investigator into emailgate but he retired from the service in November last year.
Deputy Commissioner of Police Glenn Hackett who is now the leading investigator on the case could not be reached yesterday.

« Reply #51 on: November 13, 2018, 10:22:30 PM »
Like "Get Them Gary" ain't making joke, he really getting out there and trying to put a stop to the crime and corruption.

« Reply #52 on: November 14, 2018, 04:27:16 PM »
Like "Get Them Gary" ain't making joke, he really getting out there and trying to put a stop to the crime and corruption.

Work in progress. If PNM lose the election, I don't think Gary going to be there. He needs 3 to 4 years to fix just the police service.

« Reply #53 on: November 14, 2018, 06:36:53 PM »

Work in progress. If PNM lose the election, I don't think Gary going to be there. He needs 3 to 4 years to fix just the police service.

Wake me up when he start going after the big heads... once he do that, he will end up like Gary Boleyn ....

« Reply #54 on: November 14, 2018, 10:38:11 PM »
Who is Gary Boleyn ?

Offline congo

« Reply #55 on: November 15, 2018, 02:04:17 PM »

« Reply #56 on: November 15, 2018, 06:31:06 PM »
Well he may well end up like Anne Boleyn, seeing the way, Sel Richardson, Dana Seetahal, Gladiators ended up. There is lack of trust for some in the TTPS.  And rightly so. The TTPS needs a house cleaning. He can't bull-dozed his way into the task of bringing respectability to the service. He will lose the backing of the entire service. He has to do a delicate balancing act. trinis want 2 things. But they doh want these things to affect their family or community. They want the bandits dead. But not their sons, nephews, etc. They want white collar criminals locked up. But not they families who are involved. We doh know what the f--k we want.

« Reply #57 on: December 04, 2018, 04:15:49 PM »
"Happy hour over!" The man had a big drug bust in Westmoorings today.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2018, 09:53:17 PM by soccerman »

« Reply #58 on: February 10, 2020, 07:18:13 AM »
After newspaper report, top cop Griffith probes politician cop
BY KEN CHEE HING (NEWSDAY).

Police Commissioner Gary Griffith has launched an investigation following a newspaper report of a man actively seeking political office with a political party while on the payroll of the police service.

Griffith, in a press release made it abundantly clear, "When you join the TT Police Service, you immediately lose certain rights as a citizen. He said he is now investigating allegations of a police officer applying and being interviewed for a political post while in the service and being quoted in the media of openly expressing his support and allegiance to the principles of that said party.

Section 40 of the Police Service Act Chapter 15:01 states "A police officer is disqualified from membership of the Senate, the House of Representatives, the Tobago House of Assembly, or a Municipal Corporation."

Section 133 also states: An officer: (a) shall not engage in any activity, occupation or undertaking which would impair his usefulness

Section 139, he said, states: "An officer shall not make any public expression of political and sectarian opinions, and shall bear himself with strict impartiality in all matters."

A police officer holds immense authority, which includes that power to take away the rights of freedom of other citizens, hence at no time, must there even be the perception that an officer can and would use such authority to show any degree of bias in the performance of his duties, the release said.

If one wants to have such rights to freely express his/her political alliance, and even to officially join, support, and represent any political party holding any political post, he/she must resign. Prior to being selected as police commissioner, Griffith was a former National Security Minister and was also National Security advisor to then prime minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

Between the period of swearing such an oath, to when you tender your resignation from the TTPS, any such action could be seen as being biased and politically motivated, and also would be in breach of TTPS Regulations and relevant disciplinary action would be taken, he warned in the release.

The press release stated that only a few weeks ago, Griffith had cause to caution an officer for showing open support to a political party and making scathing attacks against another party via social media. This clearly means, Griffith said, that there are officers who are not aware of the regulations in the TTPS.

Presently, another investigation is ongoing of reports of a police officer in Tobago who likewise, has openly expressed his support for one political party, with reports of him trying to influence citizens to support said political party.

Griffith also said he had noted comments regarding the alleged reason for an officer not being selected by a community to represent them, being that he is seen as "an informant."

Any community, inclusive of politicians who see "informants" as a source of concern, can be seen as being part of the problem, Griffith said. He added that he shudders to think that any politician or community with law-abiding citizens would have issues of someone being an "informant", who would be there to prevent crime rather than cause it.

If this is remotely accurate, Griffith said in the release, it goes in line with his recent statement about the social decay of our society, whereby a community is accused of being upset that someone is an informant, not for being perceived as providing information to cause crime, but to provide information to the police to prevent crime and arrest criminals.

And this is seen as being the improper type for representation by some, as it gives the perception that a cold-blooded criminal or gang leader, can be seen as being the type who they prefer to represent and lead them. This is the type of social decay which must be addressed by our nation, as policing alone cannot fix such misguided views, Griffith said.

« Reply #59 on: February 11, 2020, 03:38:18 PM »
Griffith monitoring 'lawyer criminals'
BY COREY CONNELLY (NEWSDAY).

Police Commissioner Gary Griffith has criticised the criminal justice system for granting quick bail to some perpetrators. He also warned "lawyer criminals' that he would be "monitoring them like a hawk."

Addressing members of the Tobago business community on Wednesday at the Shirvan Police Station, Griffith said the current systems in place hinder the police from reducing crime.

He said there is a very good possibility that the people who have committed the vast majority of crimes in Tobago over the past few years, have already been arrested and charged.

"And then we were given virtual diplomatic immunity by the criminal justice system because persons believe that these criminals have a right to be free," Griffith said, insisting the rights of law-abiding citizens must take precedence.

"It cannot continue."

Griffith said Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley has taken a tough stand on criminals.

"In Barbados, if someone is found with something a little stronger than a slingshot, the prime minister now she has put no bail for 24 months. But we have politicians; we have persons in the media; we have activists; we have people in the Law Association having the audacity to state if I find someone with an assault rifle that can kill hundreds of persons, they have a right to get bail."

Saying people benefit from crime, the top cop said some even pay individuals to write and speak on their behalf.

He added while criminals lawyers have a right to defend the accused, "there is also something called lawyer criminals and I am monitoring them like a hawk.

"They will not like me but they have their job to do and I have mine. It will be a drastic difference from their direction to mine."

Griffith said the public must agitate for criminals to be kept in jail without bail for longer periods.

"We can't crack this if 323 persons we have held with illegal firearms in the last three years have been given bail on the first hearing. And we have the intelligence that says there are no more than 800 shooters. So, we have arguably arrested and held more than half of the individuals, which means that we could have reduced homicide probably by half.

"But, instead the 323 went back out, purchased more weapons, finished the hit and probably put a hit on the person whom they felt sold them out. And then we (police) are expected to deal with the problem."

Griffith said law-abiding citizens must speak out on this issue.

The meeting, chaired by Tobago Chamber president Diane Hadad, addressed the spate of gun robberies and other criminal activities within recent months. Many police officers, including the island's top brass, attended.

Some participants spoke about their harrowing experiences with criminals and the island's porous borders while others complained about the absence of police patrols, particularly in areas that were identified as hotspots. Stakeholders also highlighted instances of perceived police inaction.

Griffith told the businessmen there will be a drastic improvement in the delivery of service from the police service in Tobago.

"I do not have a golden wand. It cannot be done overnight. Certain things we can do. there are some low-hanging fruit I can put in place based on a number of recommendations that you have made."