March 29, 2024, 12:59:26 AM

Author Topic: Let's go back to the true art form Calypso ....(kaiso getting horn)  (Read 1839 times)

Ok leh we create a collection of the form which truly reflects the music, the message, the satire, the wit, and the wisdom of the  calypso 'bard' ....nuff with the commercial ..jump and wave 'soca'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=th-G_AvO-fM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIX5iPQBZ3o&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qAEgrtqtMwE&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jc4xR_qTLu0&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95FcKwASbVM&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yaqlgPq75Gc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2EOmEUi50I&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ny7S1gTGn-Y&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DeyvpBznVnA&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u81lNJbX8qc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IizX-cnOV_Q&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4Q5R2zIgpU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lG5lHG5dAoE&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwYmMkfSkEo&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zp6HIJwx_Ck&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiKLqpC0-Ug&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uBgy2dKkJ0&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Divi0h--_HU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHEbi6IldC4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cYkqMT6HKD0&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-xlgD6JH2Jg&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zOqmG1Sfck&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rgZVJ-3fJDw&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dgD5GlapMnc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jA-QYLJUPFk&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rr7RsrANnQE&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PwszyR8LUiA&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9U4ouCeWO7Y&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vfan5WNWvC4&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MaDq173w5w&feature=list_related&playnext=1&list=MLGxdCwVVULXf5g1xx3ULHpN8OW0H-R5GP

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRsZcfqpVCw&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsuyfZrK01w&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-HHQWm7rrA&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MPISdBWOmwU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtrQUmEWev0&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHxmPi3Z03Y&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NenbH45gYR4&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZnKHe3BL1E&feature=related
« Last Edit: January 29, 2011, 07:01:16 PM by AB.Trini »

Re: Let's go back to the true art form Calypso ....(kaiso getting horn)
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2011, 03:07:19 PM »
As the late Blazer Dan would say "Wrong Timing"!  ;)

This is a nice thread but to be honest we can better concentrate on this after carnival!

Right now we dealing with new music along with the bacchanal and excitement that is Carnival!

Keep the topic going though but can't concentrate on this right now!!
« Last Edit: February 01, 2011, 11:52:52 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2011, 08:37:33 PM »
Nice history lesson here: Nice rhythm too. Let's keep the true spirit alive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UL5vofD9eIA

« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2011, 09:30:31 AM »
Breds bring it anytime and everytime ah listen to Bro Valentino bad for days and then ah Cro Cro plenty tunes to listen .

« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2011, 10:40:05 AM »
Music is constantly evolving and like food it has  a variety of appeals to everyone. Soca with it's upbeat tempo and fast pace jump up seems to suit a certain sector, place and time for its purpose.

In my humble opinion, the classic art for of the calypso, has an enduring quality, timelessness and meaning that lingers yearly for me.

« Last Edit: February 27, 2011, 12:39:22 AM by davyjenny1 »