April 25, 2024, 11:30:43 PM

Author Topic: DC United Waive Julius James  (Read 5229 times)

DC United Waive Julius James
« on: February 17, 2011, 02:35:33 PM »
http://www.dcunited.com/press-release/2011/02/dc-united-waives-defender-julius-james

Washington, D.C. - D.C. United announced today that it has waived defender Julius James. In one and a half seasons in Washington, James played in 31 MLS contests (24 starts), recording two goals in 2,388 minutes on the pitch. In a separate transaction, United has acquired allocation money from the LA Galaxy in exchange for an international roster spot.

“We would like to thank Julius for his contributions to D.C. United and we wish him well in the future,” said General Manager Dave Kasper.

Kasper continues, “We are also pleased to have acquired allocation money that provides us with an additional asset for future player moves.”

James joined the Black-and-Red in a trade with Houston on August 14, 2009. The central defender made nine appearances (eight starts) for United during his first season, scoring in the club’s season finale on October 24 in Kansas City. In 2010 James logged 1,682 minutes for the Black-and-Red, appearing in 22 League contests (16 starts). The Trinidad and Tobago National Team member scored his lone goal of the campaign in a 1-0 win over Toronto FC on September 11.

James was selected ninth overall in the 2008 MLS SuperDraft by Toronto FC from the University of Connecticut. During his rookie campaign the defender played 13 matches (10 starts) for Toronto, scoring in his MLS debut on May 31 against the LA Galaxy.

Re: DC United Waive Julius James
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2011, 02:39:52 PM »
wtf? just so?

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2011, 02:40:23 PM »
Soon there will be no T&T players left in any of the major leagues  :(

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2011, 03:07:06 PM »

Che, wha nonsense yuh talkin, 90% of de PFL is Trinbagonians

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2011, 03:39:04 PM »
That is the life of a pro-baller. Here today, gone tomorrow. That is why I will always support the Blacklisted Soca Warriors. jack, pay the Warriors they money

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2011, 04:01:19 PM »
Look at the posts from United's supporters on the article. They rel upset.

« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2011, 04:53:43 PM »
play de fitball JJ...  good luck with your next move

« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2011, 05:09:27 PM »
Wow

« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2011, 06:42:08 PM »

« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2011, 07:07:50 PM »
Hopefully another club takes him.  He has a lot to offer.
Good luck

« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2011, 07:14:54 PM »
I eh worried fuh Julius. He have sometin' bigger up he sleeve, watch de move ....

« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2011, 07:19:27 PM »
Anybody check on Morvant and c if he aok.

« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2011, 07:59:55 PM »
I eh worried fuh Julius. He have sometin' bigger up he sleeve, watch de move ....

I feel he'll be picked up elsewhere as well, because he's a solid player and has experience. One thing about the MLS is that it lacks security. I've had a few friends who've been cut just like that and many of them just had to pack and go back home, mainly bc they were ketching they rass.

« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2011, 09:44:36 PM »

ah feel so

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2011, 10:02:32 PM »
 :joker:
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #15 on: February 17, 2011, 10:34:25 PM »

Che, wha nonsense yuh talkin, 90% of de PFL is Trinbagonians

Offline SabreWolves

« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2011, 06:20:39 AM »
There must be something more to this....
Man doh just get waive so

SC

« Reply #17 on: February 18, 2011, 09:15:13 AM »
That's the world of Pro sports,today you in tomorrow you out it don't have to have a reason,the amount of contacts and relationships and who knows who and who is who partner,it's dog eat dog and who have the money have all the say.
Some how i find with all the contracts and trails our players get we are always the last to be picked up and when it's time to release any player we are the first to be let go,how many teams have Trini players are their marque players,we either start games and are subed or brought on for 15/20 mins and peeps saying our boys doing well.
I must say playing abroad is doing nothing for our players,as a matter of fact it's only ruining their confidence and that's why they can't perform when they represent T&T,just my honest feelings.     

« Reply #18 on: February 18, 2011, 09:27:58 AM »
James will have a tough time getting on a team in the MLS because of his foreign status.

MLS has a lot of intricate rules on foreign based.

foreign based just out of college get a bligh for a few years but after that you have to battle with the big name foreigners like Henry and the likes.

it gets very complicated as time goes on.

Offline Jay10

« Reply #19 on: February 18, 2011, 09:43:34 AM »
James will have a tough time getting on a team in the MLS because of his foreign status.

foreign based just out of college get a bligh for a few years but after that you have to battle with the big name foreigners like Henry and the likes.

I read on the forum tha JJ has a green card. So foreign status is not an issue

« Reply #20 on: February 18, 2011, 10:01:12 AM »

I read on the forum tha JJ has a green card. So foreign status is not an issue

The DC United website had him listed as having International status.
http://www.dcunited.com/player/julius-james

« Reply #21 on: February 18, 2011, 10:38:09 AM »
really is he that good to keep ? If so how come he is not a standout on the national team ..made up mainly of locals ? just asking ...

« Reply #22 on: February 18, 2011, 10:51:08 AM »
Surprising move. James is a promising player, he needs to be playing consistently in a decent league. He also needs to get his Green Card asap

« Reply #23 on: February 18, 2011, 11:01:44 AM »
Surprising move. James is a promising player, he needs to be playing consistently in a decent league. He also needs to get his Green Card asap

Surprising ???? If at almost 27 years you have not cemented a place or look likely to ...." Thanks for your contribution you have helped to bring us where we are but we need to move forward so we want to give some younger player with potential the same opportunity you had to make good . "  That my friend is hardly surprising .

« Reply #24 on: February 18, 2011, 11:02:51 AM »
Move forward to what? He was their best defender last season!

« Reply #25 on: February 18, 2011, 11:13:42 AM »
Move forward to what? He was their best defender last season!
I guess you missed my point ...27 ??? yet to exhale ....not saying he is no good but we must replace holding and Roberts with garner and croft else we lose all 4 ?? get it now ??

« Reply #26 on: February 18, 2011, 12:04:12 PM »
No, still dont get it. 27 is a player's prime. This player was also the best defender on the team. Moving him to 'make room' for someone else defeats the whole purpose of trying to win.

« Reply #27 on: February 18, 2011, 01:01:37 PM »
The 4 years he spent in college didn't really develop his professional game so you really can't call this his prime. The thing is he is a hard worker so someone will pick him up.

« Reply #28 on: February 18, 2011, 01:50:16 PM »
 I was at the VYSA Convention in Washington a few weeks ago and one of the sessions was based on DC United and it was done by the new Coach Ben Olson,he laid out in detail what's being done by the club,the direction they are taking,his philosophy,he is still learning and has a lot to learn,his transition from player to Coach etc etc questions were asked how he is dealing with players he has been playing with for years and now has to coach them,players he thinks is no longer usefull to the team,he mentioned the foreign players he has and Julius James was mentioned,i can't say what happen but they were still trimming the team.Sometimes we can only speculate but really and truly we don't know what's going on inside these clubs.   

« Reply #29 on: February 18, 2011, 02:40:29 PM »

MLS was never a major league anyway  ;D