April 28, 2024, 03:49:59 PM

Author Topic: Saprissa's artificial surface no excuse for Mexico  (Read 2418 times)

Saprissa's artificial surface no excuse for Mexico
« on: September 03, 2009, 11:10:40 AM »
Saprissa's artificial surface no excuse for Mexico

Entering Saturday's game in Costa Rica, Mexico will face a factor unseen in other Hexagonal venues.

Costa Rica's home stadium, Estadio Saprissa, utilizes an artificial surface and Mexico must deal with it.

However, the field situation has already been dealt with, players said.

"The field won't be a factor," Mexico defender Carlos Salcido told reporters. "I had the chance to play in the last qualifier there under (Ricardo) Lavolpe and we never trained on an artificial surface. We went there with personality, played well and won the game. The field wasn't a factor then and we can't use it as an excuse now."

(continue)

Costa Rica new Stadium
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2010, 04:30:06 PM »
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 05:30:13 PM by Flex »

Re: Costa Rica new Stadium
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2010, 04:35:23 PM »
This one won't have 'astroturf'?

Re: Costa Rica new Stadium
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2010, 04:44:40 PM »
Nah. Natural grass. I think it will have an athletic track.

Look at the new Stadium in Costa Rica.
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2011, 09:12:01 PM »

Costa Rica new stadium...built by the Chinese!

By Kenneth Hernandez Cerdas

Costa Rica's new home certainly will be brighter and shinier than its former venues, and it probably won't be any less intimidating.

Financed and built by China, a select side from the Asian behemoth will be the first opponent of the Ticos in Estadio Nacional (National Stadium) when the 35,000-seat facility formally opens March 26 in San Jose, becoming the largest venue of its type in Central America.

Re: Look at the new Stadium in Costa Rica.
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2011, 09:50:21 PM »
NICE!

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2011, 12:18:08 AM »
Nice for them to take good licks in from we.  Enough of this indoor thing.

Re: Saprissa's artificial surface no excuse for Mexico
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2011, 09:07:50 AM »
The Chinese Government is looking to bypass the Panama Canal by building a rail road either in Costa Rica or Columbia from the Caribbean Sea to the Pacific. I'm speculating that this is somewhat tied into that railway prospect. The Chinese is looking to avoid the darian.... (just a thought)

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2011, 03:34:05 PM »
Nice looking facility...but i think  The running track around the field will take away the atmosphere that opposing teams feared when they played in the Saprissa. The fans are literally right on top of the field at the saprissa, which is why many teams feared playing there.

« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2011, 01:21:33 PM »
Yeah nothing like playing right up against the crowd  :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2011, 07:00:03 PM »
From what I heard about that stadium was not the crowd closeness, but sometimes the occasional objects(coins, etc) thrown at players. But believe you me, if allyuh think this new stadium would prevent CR from being as good as before, dream on. Is the same cutarse. In our region CR is a good and consistent football country.

« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2011, 11:23:30 AM »

look like ah giant vagina

...and it eh have no place for everybody to park

« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2011, 12:10:06 PM »
HAHAHA dutty...

on a positive note, that track will make it less intimidating for visiting players.