April 19, 2024, 12:49:31 PM

Author Topic: Machel Montano Thread!!  (Read 54091 times)

Re: Machel Montano Thread!!
« Reply #120 on: March 06, 2017, 02:38:31 PM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/af3icFpjqkE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/af3icFpjqkE</a>

« Reply #121 on: March 06, 2017, 02:41:17 PM »
Machel Monday 2017 - Machel and Calypso Rose Performance and Tribute

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/o9OLfMeSrFw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/o9OLfMeSrFw</a>

« Reply #122 on: March 06, 2017, 02:42:38 PM »

Machel Monday 2017 - Machel and Bunji Full Performance

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tWIZ4TwZ-qM&amp;t=0s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tWIZ4TwZ-qM&amp;t=0s</a>

« Reply #123 on: March 06, 2017, 04:23:42 PM »
Seeing Rose on stage with that cast of historical figures of our stage has a Cesaria Evora and Buena Vista Social Club kind of feel and quality. Special!

« Reply #124 on: March 09, 2017, 05:50:55 AM »
Seeing Rose on stage with that cast of historical figures of our stage has a Cesaria Evora and Buena Vista Social Club kind of feel and quality. Special!

For me that was the best part of the show

« Reply #125 on: March 17, 2017, 01:50:25 PM »

Musical rivals make peace for Machel Monday*

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/storyimage/TT/20170221/LOCAL/170229916/AR/0/AR-170229916.jpg&MaxW=730&imageversion=Article

Port of Spain

Machel Montano not only brought together some of the region’s most iconic musical acts for a once-in-a-lifetime, all-star stage show at his Machel Monday concert but also inspired a few of them to set aside some long-standing rivalries. The annual concert was held on Monday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain. Leading by example Jamaican dancehall stars Beenie Man (Moses Davis) and Bounty Killer (Rodney Price), two sides of perhaps the longest-running musical feuds in the region, shared the same stage peacefully du­ring a special segment hosted by veteran DJ Chinese Laundry (Anthony Chow Lin On).

Laundry himself later put aside his personal differences with vete­ran soca man and fellow radio station owner Neil “Iwer” George du­ring a nostalgic performance of their own. It is unclear the root of their discord, but it is said the two men had not spoken to each other for nearly a decade prior to Monday’s show.
They must have all been encou­raged by Montano’s own personal peace-making
moment with soca contempo­rary Bunji Garlin (Ian Alva­rez).

« Reply #126 on: March 17, 2017, 01:51:17 PM »
The King of Soca, Machel Montano Speaks on His Success + Importance of His Fans

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/DzP112U-VMA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/DzP112U-VMA</a>

« Reply #127 on: May 14, 2017, 12:58:10 PM »

« Reply #128 on: June 02, 2017, 01:40:47 PM »
Watching TV and this commercial came on...Is this Machel?

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/vFkf6NKjqBQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/vFkf6NKjqBQ</a>

« Reply #129 on: June 03, 2017, 07:31:03 AM »
Definitely sounds like him. But that is not Trini. Most likely PR.

« Reply #130 on: June 04, 2017, 05:53:24 PM »
Major Lazer has a new tune with Machel and Konshens. More Pop and dancehall combination. Not much Soca influence. Still will most likely be a big song

'Front of the Line' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bYxADz3ztA&t=71s
« Last Edit: June 04, 2017, 06:04:18 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #131 on: June 04, 2017, 05:58:35 PM »
soccerman see my previous post. Think that is the answer to your video question

« Reply #132 on: June 05, 2017, 07:29:35 AM »
soccerman see my previous post. Think that is the answer to your video question

Offline Swima

« Reply #133 on: June 06, 2017, 08:10:52 AM »
Major Lazer has a new tune with Machel and Konshens. More Pop and dancehall combination. Not much Soca influence. Still will most likely be a big song

How does this not have much soca influence.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #134 on: June 07, 2017, 04:56:05 AM »

How does this not have much soca influence.

How does it have Soca influence? Let us start the argument. Tell me how

Offline Swima

« Reply #135 on: June 07, 2017, 07:08:03 AM »
I'm your huckleberry

Let's start with the drum pattern which is used throughout the song.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2017, 07:14:29 AM by Swima »

« Reply #136 on: June 07, 2017, 07:14:13 AM »
Wrong! That drum pattern being used by Major Lazer is a typical EDM beat and not close to anything Soca

Offline Swima

« Reply #137 on: June 07, 2017, 07:17:47 AM »
So what makes you so sure that it is exclusive to EDM? The alternate switch between kick and snare was adopted since the early 1980's in soca. Tonal changes through the years may influence many other genres, including reggaeton, dancehall, and EDM. But that drum pattern orginated in 1980's soca. See songs like The Hammer, Sing in She Party, Doh Rock It So etc.

But hey, you are the authority on all things Trinidad culture right?

Can we move forward, or you still want to argue drum patterns?

« Reply #138 on: June 07, 2017, 12:17:42 PM »
If you want to convince yourself that an obvious Majaor Lazer EDM beat is somehow Soca that is on you to m keep telling yourself that, I am not here to convince you :D and all tunes you mentioned clearly do not have the same drum pattern.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2017, 12:20:29 PM by Sando prince »

Offline Swima

« Reply #139 on: June 07, 2017, 01:14:46 PM »
So what makes it a Major Lazer EDM beat? Qualify your statement and stop dancing around the issue (pun intended).

Better yet, explain to me what makes something soca.

All tunes mentioned have the sequence of kick and snare that exists in the song in question btw. 

The problem as I see it as that we are quick to pigeon hole our own music and disqualify it, making soca very narrow and one dimensional in the mind of many a Trini. Sadly this is why our music finds difficulty breaking into other markets, because WE keep it back by saying garbage like "dat ehn soca!".

Clearly you have sat in studios around Trinidad and discussed this with producers and writers, so let me stop embarrasing myself.

BTW, is AOA by Machel EDM or soca? I'm so confused!

« Reply #140 on: June 07, 2017, 05:34:39 PM »
So what makes it a Major Lazer EDM beat? Qualify your statement and stop dancing around the issue (pun intended).

Better yet, explain to me what makes something soca.

All tunes mentioned have the sequence of kick and snare that exists in the song in question btw. 

The problem as I see it as that we are quick to pigeon hole our own music and disqualify it, making soca very narrow and one dimensional in the mind of many a Trini. Sadly this is why our music finds difficulty breaking into other markets, because WE keep it back by saying garbage like "dat ehn soca!".

Clearly you have sat in studios around Trinidad and discussed this with producers and writers, so let me stop embarrasing myself.

BTW, is AOA by Machel EDM or soca? I'm so confused!

and the problem as I see it is we quick to reach and reach for what is not ours to fulfil some void. So who has the problem? Most people will not think and will not class this as Soca, however you on the other hand is confusing an EDM production by Major Lazer as Soca because in your head you want it to be Soca and you want others to believe to this is Soca. steupse you going as far to say this is our music :D
« Last Edit: June 07, 2017, 11:04:01 PM by Sando prince »

Offline Swima

« Reply #141 on: June 07, 2017, 06:23:19 PM »
No one said the song is soca. You said there aren not many soca elements and I disagreed and cited the drum pattern as being soca influenced.

I then asked you to qualify your statement and you have not been able to answer any of my questions.

I can see i am wasting my time.

« Reply #142 on: June 07, 2017, 11:03:07 PM »

You wasting mine clearly. Like I said the Pop/Dancehall tune produced by Major Lazer clearly has not much Soca influence and you came to argue a soca drum beat which is not there, instead its the typical EDM Major Lazer beat. Yes you wasting my time

Offline Swima

« Reply #143 on: June 08, 2017, 03:32:51 AM »

You wasting mine clearly. Like I said the Pop/Dancehall tune produced by Major Lazer clearly has not much Soca influence and you came to argue a soca drum beat which is not there, instead its the typical EDM Major Lazer beat. Yes you wasting my time

Then explain what is clearly soca and why that EDM beat cannot and has not borrowed elements of soca.

Easy question. If you respond with more conjecture and no direct answer, then I done wasting both our time.

« Reply #144 on: June 08, 2017, 06:21:12 AM »

Then explain what is clearly soca and why that EDM beat cannot and has not borrowed elements of soca.

Easy question. If you respond with more conjecture and no direct answer, then I done wasting both our time.

So once again, what elements of Soca has the EDM beat borrowed? clearly NOT a drum pattern that is in your head. Soca music from its origins until now does not have any EDM/Pop beat style. You claim there is an obvious Soca influence but only came up with a drum beat which is not obvious. Yes you wasting both of our time.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2017, 06:24:13 AM by Sando prince »

Offline Swima

« Reply #145 on: June 08, 2017, 09:57:15 AM »
You answer a question with a question. Usually the last futile attempt at legitmizing an argument you have lost.

Let me answer you though:

I started with the drum pattern and provided examples of a kick and snare sequence which is present in soca songs of the past and even some present. I didn't even mention the floor tom present in certain bars when the brass is playing. The floor tom underscoring the beat is something that existed in the says of Shorty, which in those days replaced the snare in many recordings.

I will further explain myself in saying that there is a compelling argument that the song has commanding lyrics in tis hook which is ever present in modern dancehall and soca. The song is called "front of the line" with the hook insisting that the subject of the song 'step to the front of the line' which in many a party soca song can paralleled to Superblue telling the crowd to 'get something and wave' Nigel Lewis telling the crowd to  'move it to the left' or Machel telling the revellers to 'hold on to the big truck'.

Since then we have had American artists like Fatman Scoop doing the same thing and dancehall artists like Elephant Man and Voicemail belting out instructions in their songs, 8 years after hearing Jamaicans  say 'soca a eediat music, only a sing bout instructions to rass'.

Now I reiterate that this is not necessarily a soca song, but my original question to you was how did it no contain much of a soca element.

Further, opinions on this subject can go either way depending on the ear that is listening. I posited though, that Trinis are quick to give up something that they played a role in, because it doesn't meet certain criteria, which I think is an injustice to our indigenous music and the roll it can play in the wider world.

If this was the case with other art forms, then maybe one could argue that Bob Marley's  Could You Be Loved was not actually reggae, but Marley's attempt at securing a disco/soul American market, which from interviews of those around him then, we know to be fact. But then Shaggy's It Wasn't Me, is still the highest selling reggae song of all time, and one of the most successful singles in history. What made that reggae/dancehall?

5 years earlier he and Ini Kamoze had pop hits with soul beats behind them, yet Jamaicans and others identified with them as reggae songs. We are nowhere near that level of adjustment in the case of Front of the Line, yet you are willing to say Trinidad and Tobago's music had little no no influence on that? One of the producers is a friggin Trini!!

Start listening.... really listening, and then make your statement. Listen to Calypso in the 50's and listen to Calypso just 10 years later in the late 60's and they sound completely different. Same genre though. Music moves on, maybe it's time you do too.

I have presented my argument. I eagerly await yours. If you could have the dignity of providing examples with your arguments instead of simply regurgitating previous posts, it would be appreciated.

« Reply #146 on: June 25, 2017, 05:53:14 PM »
MACHEL MASH UP HOLLYWOOD LOS ANGELES YESTERDAY!

Full performance!  https://www.facebook.com/trinijunglejuice/videos/10155622941619560/

« Reply #147 on: August 06, 2017, 11:15:26 AM »

Moving to the beat: Machel Montano, Soca Musician, on the Caribbean musical landscape and the future of soca

How did soca music come into existence, and how does it fit into the Caribbean’s music scene?

MONTANO: Calypso music was one of the most popular forms of music in the world at one point in time. The first full-length album to be given gold status was Harry Belafonte’s Calypso. This impact can be found in ska, Jamaican music and even in big band music, which influenced guys like Frank Sinatra. Soca rose as the successor to calypso, pioneered by the musician Ras Shorty I, who brought spirituality back into the sound of calypso music, employing east Indian rhythms and creating music based on mantras, which grew from there to become the soundtrack to Carnival. Originally an acronym for “soul of calypso”, soca might more accurately represent “sound of the Caribbean”, as it isn’t just the music of Trinidad and Tobago anymore. We’ve had a great contribution from Barbados, Grenada, St Lucia, St Vincent and the wider Caribbean. We’re even seeing the Jamaicans embrace soca. It’s a cultural shift, but one that’s connected to an economic change. Dancehall music and some forms of rap started to decline because they were often too focused on struggle, violence and drugs. Here in the Caribbean, life is beyond that now. People are looking more towards wellness, and joyful and healthy living.

Read More http://www.oxfordbusinessgroup.com/interview/machel-montano-soca-musician-trinidad-and-tobago-2017

« Reply #148 on: August 06, 2017, 11:43:20 AM »

The Unlikely Collaboration | Buss Head Round Table | Part 1 of 4

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Grc7sw5YzS4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Grc7sw5YzS4</a>

« Reply #149 on: August 12, 2017, 01:15:29 PM »

The Unlikely Collaboration | Buss Head Round Table | Part 1 of 4

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Grc7sw5YzS4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Grc7sw5YzS4</a>

History of Soca | Buss Head Round Table | Part 2 of 4

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/D6_G7MkXSrQ&amp;t=1s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/D6_G7MkXSrQ&amp;t=1s</a>