April 20, 2024, 04:27:43 AM

Author Topic: Bunji Garlin Thread  (Read 25183 times)

Bunji Garlin Thread
« on: February 24, 2011, 08:30:56 PM »
Soca Fireman

Starting things off with this excellent Rachel Price interview!

Looks like he's not going to allow Machel to walk away with the $2 million Soca Monarch Prize that easy!!
Machel :flamethrower: Bunji

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9umX9OrtCHs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9umX9OrtCHs</a>
« Last Edit: February 22, 2015, 07:38:15 AM by Flex »

Re: Soca Fireman Thread!
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 07:37:33 AM »
my favourite soca artiste

bunji is Mr. Soca Monarch. always comes out HARD on dat night

Re: Soca Fireman Thread!
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2011, 09:15:11 PM »
Warning to Machel at Army Fete!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rGSnwIssu88" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rGSnwIssu88</a>
« Last Edit: March 01, 2011, 09:17:14 PM by Socapro »

Re: Soca Fireman/Bunji Garlin Thread!
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2011, 10:11:46 AM »
Bunji trumps everybody because he always bringing a new verse, from the original Hold a burn he already drop about three new verses in different fetes. I expect to hear another new one on Fantastic Friday.

His tunes have more lyrical content than any other artist and being able to harmonize that into a soca beat is what will give him a good chance to win Soca Monarch.

Plus we already saw that he is not afraid to set himself on fire.  :D

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2011, 11:40:36 AM »
Bunji trumps everybody because he always bringing a new verse, from the original Hold a burn he already drop about three new verses in different fetes. I expect to hear another new one on Fantastic Friday.

His tunes have more lyrical content than any other artist and being able to harmonize that into a soca beat is what will give him a good chance to win Soca Monarch.

Plus we already saw that he is not afraid to set himself on fire.  :D

he coming real good friday. bunji doh stick for soca monarch

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2011, 11:41:47 AM »
i feel we go need to buy ah whole new stadium after bunji performance yes lol

Wicked Bunji Freestyle
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2013, 12:16:28 PM »
First minute is nothin special but after dat....crazy :o :timeout:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ebzk6xqczFw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ebzk6xqczFw</a>

Bunji, Machel nominated for Soul Train Awards
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2013, 02:56:38 PM »
Bunji, Machel nominated for Soul Train Awards

http://www.guardian.co.tt/entertainment/2013-09-18/bunji-machel-nominated-soul-train-awards

Ian 'Bunji Garlin' Alvarez and Machel Montano have been nominated for Soul Train Awards in the Best International Performance Category.

Alvarez was nominated for his hit song Differentology, which has garnered international attention.

Montano, reigning Power and Groovy Soca Monarch, was nominated for The Fog, another popular selection from the 2013 Carnival season.

Other nominees in the category are Next to Me by Scotland's Emeli Sande, Personally by P-Square from Nigeria, and Ur Waist by Iyanya, also from Nigeria.

Montano and Kes the Band were nominated for 2011 Soul Train Awards in the Best Caribbean Performance category.

The Soul Train Awards will be presented November 8 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas. The awards will air December 1 on BET and Centric.

U.S. actor-comedian Anthony Anderson will host the show.

Re: Bunji, Machel nominated for Soul Train Awards
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2013, 02:57:54 PM »
Emeli Sande - Next To Me:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-nwdjQmc_N8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-nwdjQmc_N8</a>

P-Square - Personally
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ttdU19Kwce8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ttdU19Kwce8</a>

Iyanya - Ur Waist

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/94cFx9Y7LQU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/94cFx9Y7LQU</a>
« Last Edit: September 18, 2013, 03:00:10 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2013, 04:34:05 PM »
Bunji Garlin - Differentology (Official Music Video)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/u5g4EsftP8I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/u5g4EsftP8I</a>

Machel Montano - The Fog (Official Music Video)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ea57flloyaw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ea57flloyaw</a>

« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2013, 05:17:01 PM »
Bunji song sweet boy. He should win. Best I've heard for some time.

« Reply #11 on: September 18, 2013, 06:30:07 PM »
Bunji song sweet boy. He should win. Best I've heard for some time.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2013, 11:09:58 AM »
Here is the voting link people:
http://www.centrictv.com/shows/soul-train-awards/soul-train-awards-2013-voting.html

Please go cast your vote for Bunji or Machel like I did!  :beermug:

You can also leave a comment in suppport of our nominated artists that you voted for.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2013, 01:02:40 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2013, 01:01:13 PM »
Done!

Bunji!

« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2013, 04:38:35 PM »
Have to vote for Machel just for the Mtl Expos cap

« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2013, 07:13:12 PM »
Bunji should win this....creative and very well chereographed

Plus d song have Positive vibes.... TOP VOTE..

« Reply #16 on: October 01, 2013, 12:00:11 PM »

P-Square - Personally

Iyanya - Ur Waist

How come you didn't post none of the links for tunes on pages 2-4?  ;D

« Reply #17 on: October 01, 2013, 01:17:52 PM »

P-Square - Personally

Iyanya - Ur Waist

How come you didn't post none of the links for tunes on pages 2-4?  ;D

It had more pages?  ::)

Bunji Garlin's "Differentology" on Hot97 Battle of The Beats VOTE!
« Reply #18 on: October 28, 2013, 09:47:06 AM »
Battle Of The Beats:Music Meeting Ep 3
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/g5hXGxlbyIM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/g5hXGxlbyIM</a>

You can Vote here: http://www.hot97.com/battleofthebeats/

Apparently you can vote for 3 different songs every 24 hours so you can vote for Bunji for a number of times on different days if you wish. :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: October 28, 2013, 10:50:13 AM by Socapro »

Re: Bunji Garlin's "Differentology" on Hot97 Battle of The Beats VOTE!
« Reply #19 on: October 28, 2013, 11:16:15 AM »
"BUNJI GARLAND"

« Reply #20 on: October 28, 2013, 02:41:12 PM »
they bawl when cee pick bunji oui

« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2013, 09:03:05 PM »
There's no stopping the success of Trinidadian vocalist Bunji Garlin's latest anthem "Differentology."  The soca star's song will be featured on tonight's episode of ABC's top-rated TV drama series Grey's Anatomy. Tune in tonight (Nov. 21) at 9pm ET / 8pm CT to watch out for the jam in season 10, episode 10, titled “Somebody That I Used to Know.”  "Differentology" is also quickly becoming one of the NBA's new favorite arena anthems. It aired this week during the Brooklyn Nets vs. Portland Trail Blazers game at Barclays Center on Nov. 18 and the Toronto Raptors blasted the hit during their Miami Heat face-off on Nov 5.

"Differentology" has been this year's biggest hit throughout the Caribbean Carnival season, scoring over one million YouTube views since February. More recently, the song has been making major strides in North America. "Differentology" was recently declared the reigning champion on NYC’s HOT 97 FM’s Battle of The Beats competition, which put the track into full rotation at hip hop’s premiere station.  He landed a nomination at the 2013 Soul Train Awards for Best International Performance for the song, and it also caught the attention of DJ supergroup Major Lazer, who immediately jumped on the remix.

http://tinyurl.com/l9qkey9

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2013, 10:01:41 PM »
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Differentology playing in NBA games take a look: Click here
« Last Edit: November 21, 2013, 10:25:46 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #23 on: November 22, 2013, 09:47:51 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/44XniwLotR4#t=29" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/44XniwLotR4#t=29</a>

Re: Re: Bunji Garlin's "Differentology" on Hot97 Battle of The Beats VOTE!
« Reply #24 on: November 23, 2013, 04:33:32 AM »
:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Differentology playing in NBA games take a look: Click here

Nice!!

Mr Montano must be sour

« Reply #25 on: November 23, 2013, 04:35:18 AM »
He might make a new Music video I'm sure of it.

« Reply #27 on: December 02, 2013, 03:49:30 PM »
Congrats!!!!!!!

« Reply #28 on: December 02, 2013, 07:36:48 PM »
Bunji deserve whatever rewards this song brings him......it too sweet......good for T&T that we had two entries on the list.

And for Bunji to beat Emeli Sande woman is something to really take note because of all the songs from outside T&T on the list, hers is the only one I heard on local radio from time to time.  Its a nice song.....but Differentology just on another level.....dat guitar dread.....lawd this melody sweet......

All yuh hear his offering for 2014 so far??  Redlight district??  Dat sweet too.....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KIf0K8UZ0k0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KIf0K8UZ0k0</a>
« Last Edit: December 02, 2013, 07:40:12 PM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #29 on: December 03, 2013, 03:06:29 AM »
Bunji wins Soul Train Award
By Joan Rampersad (Express).
Tuesday, December 3 2013

Ian Alvarez, more popularly known as Bunji Garlin, was a happy and relieved man on Sunday night, after it was announced to the world he had won the 2013 Soul Train Award for Best International Perfor-mance for his song “Differentology”.

He told Newsday yesterday, “My beautiful wife and I celebrated with wine last night. We know we’ve got to celebrate with our fans too, and that will come soon.”

Alvarez, who is married to soca queen Fay-Ann Lyons, said they got confirmation of the award via email two weeks ago, but even though the show was pre-taped in Las Vegas on November 9 the winners were not officially announced until the event was aired on American network’s BET (Black Entertainment Television) and Centric on Sunday night.

Alvarez, a former Soca Monarch, said of his initial reaction, “I was happy since then, and very joyous. The most difficult part was keeping it away from everybody. It is now a weight off my shoulder.”

He dedicated the award to his wife, their daughter Syri, his parents and fans. “This is for them,” he said. Alvarez’ award, a replica of a “soul train”, is being shipped to the soca star who did not attend the taping, and is expected to arrive this week.

“Differentology” a soulful, Latin jazz infused soca ode to Carnival has received critical acclaim on the international music circuit.

On the BET website, “Differentology” was listed under Best International Performance and the following was written: “Are you ready? The soca artiste kept listeners moving at a steady pace with this Caribbean banger.”

Alvarez beat out fellow TT soca star Machel Montano whose “The Fog” was also nominated, as well as English-born Scottish recording artiste and songwriter, Emeli Sandé with “Next to Me”, Nigerian R&B duo, twin brothers Peter and Paul Okoye, known as P-Square, with “Personally”, another Nigerian recording artiste, singer, songwriter Iyanya who sang “Ur Waist” , to win the award.

To his fans, Alvarez said he would need a very long scroll to list everybody he has to thank.

“The people of Trinidad and Tobago moved the song,” said Alvarez. “How the song was placed on nomination in the first place, I don’t know. I am still trying to find out. People had to vote for it afterwards. The power of the people moved the song and I am very grateful and humbled by this award.”

Alvarez also stated that after many years of people doubting his style of music, even questioning himself, he nevertheless persisted and his efforts are now paying off.

The music award comes after “Differentology” was played as the background music to the opening scenes of last Thursday’s episode, titled “Somebody That I Used to Know”, of Grey’s Anatomy, a hit medical drama that airs on American Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) and is now in its tenth season. Grey’s Anatomy is the most popular prime time TV show in the US, with over nine million viewers and millions more worldwide.

Alvarez said he felt very humbled and thankful such an opportunity had come his way.

His song has also become one of the NBA’s Top Arena Anthems for 2013-2014 Season, having been played during the Brooklyn Nets vs Portland Trail Blazers game at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York, on November 18, and the Toronto Raptors blasted the hit during their Miami Heat face-off in Toronto, Canada on November 5.

Asked what’s next on the agenda, Alvarez said different opportunities were going to come forward. “We have to stay focused now as the real work is about to begin in the real world,” he said, starting with the launch of his band Vikings this weekend.