March 28, 2024, 06:35:12 AM

Author Topic: Judge slams TTFF....awards interim payment to warriors  (Read 4922 times)

Judge slams TTFF....awards interim payment to warriors
« on: February 25, 2011, 09:32:00 AM »
I just heard the following: Should be fairly accurate, but give me some leeway here!

Judge said he had never witnessed such a poorly produced set of accounts. He has demanded TTFF produce a full and exact account including spreadsheets showing all income and expenditure.

He said he couldn't even tell when and how the govts $88 million was received and spent.

He refused TTFF's request to remove Oliver Camps from the submission. He said Oliver Camps was the sole proprietor of TTFF and was therefore responsible for overseeing all activity.

He ruled that the 3 players who settled during the case should pay their share of legal fees as it was their duty to inform their lawyer that they had settled.

He awarded the 13 remaining players US$1.1 million as an interim payment to be paid within 21 days.

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Re: Judge slams TTFF....awards interim payment to warriors
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 09:35:06 AM »
Boom! I hope dis true! And i HOPE IT GETS REPORTED!!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2011, 09:38:13 AM »
TT$533,000 per man... that's not bad.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 09:41:03 AM »

Shouldn't that be TT$6.3 million plus

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2011, 09:46:23 AM »

It is 13 of them...  ::)

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2011, 09:49:20 AM »

It is 13 of them...  ::)

Thanks, my bad!!!!

« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2011, 09:52:43 AM »
....True talk, fellas, this interim payment is a drop in the bucket of the money that was stolen from the '06 campaign.  Jack and dem are much bigger thieves than any of us can imagine.  True talk.

« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2011, 09:59:29 AM »

All 3 papers were represented in court!!

« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2011, 10:01:49 AM »

I sure all three papers were present at the Luncheon the TTFF Special Adviser held at his home earlier this year too! Dat doh say nuttin!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2011, 10:20:57 AM »

True, but its very difficult to not report facts when you cover a story. Sure, they can try to reduce the impact, but in this instance I'm sure the truth will be printed. However, its the editorials that will do the damage and I'm not convinced all three will be brave enough to attack TTFF and question Jack too much.

I sure all three papers were present at the Luncheon the TTFF Special Adviser held at his home earlier this year too! Dat doh say nuttin!

« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2011, 10:36:04 AM »
Now they go stop spending money on football and blame de palyers.

« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2011, 10:40:32 AM »
Thanks for the update FS... great news indeed.  :beermug:

By my math each player should be receiving (1,100,000 x 6) 6,600,000/13= $508k TT approx.  Not a bad return on 4 years of patience and frustration.

In other words... business as usual.

« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2011, 10:43:37 AM »
Thanks for the update FS... great news indeed.  :beermug:

By my math each player should be receiving (1,100,000 x 6) 6,600,000/13= $508k TT approx.  Not a bad return on 4 years of patience and frustration.

And nearly 100 times more than originally offered with maybe more to come!!

In other words... business as usual.

« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2011, 11:28:59 AM »
He ruled that the 3 players who settled during the case should pay their share of legal fees as it was their duty to inform their lawyer that they had settled.

He awarded the 13 remaining players US$1.1 million as an interim payment to be paid within 21 days.

wow!! :o  bek-eh-nell

« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2011, 12:11:39 PM »
where all the money gone? !!!

« Reply #15 on: February 25, 2011, 12:18:42 PM »
just in time for all the footballers to go carnival fetes  :rotfl:

« Reply #16 on: February 25, 2011, 12:23:29 PM »
diamondtrim go hadda sell he silk garments on e-bay

« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2011, 12:27:46 PM »
Until TTFF actually hands over checks I will reserve my excitement

But thanks to the judge for showing some balls

« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2011, 12:35:33 PM »
where all the money gone? !!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9l6s3joSKy0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9l6s3joSKy0</a>

« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2011, 12:42:14 PM »
I thought we would have heard something different,this is old news,the amount of times the different courts have awarded the Worriors payments,what i can't understand is the judge say the TTFF books not right but he award payments to the players,i wonder if the players going to accept that.

Any how what is the source of this information,we gone back with the ah hear thing and man waving flag.

« Reply #20 on: February 25, 2011, 12:49:25 PM »
I thought we would have heard something different,this is old news,the amount of times the different courts have awarded the Worriors payments,what i can't understand is the judge say the TTFF books not right but he award payments to the players,i wonder if the players going to accept that.

Any how what is the source of this information,we gone back with the ah hear thing and man waving flag.

Coops ah respect yuh plenty eh... but yuh does come like a real wet rag sometimes...

understand that there is a procedure to do things... the TTFF have failed to come up with a proper set of books...
de judge send them back to correct it and in the meantime make a next interim payment... if de TTFF continue to stall with shoddy accounting, he could then take further action, including charging people with contempt of court... de law does not usually work like on tv.. where cases does wrap up in one hour minus commercials.

« Reply #21 on: February 25, 2011, 12:53:17 PM »

The players have never been awarded money before... the various rulings in their favor just agreed with them that they were OWED money.  This is the first time a court has told the TTFF to pay the players.  Also, why wouldn't the players accept this?  The key word here is "interim"... which in trini slang is equivalent to "in the mean time."  So this is not the end of the matter, the TTFF has to pay them this amount, and more if a proper accounting justifies it.

« Reply #22 on: February 25, 2011, 12:56:47 PM »

Coops ah respect yuh plenty eh... but yuh does come like a real wet rag sometimes...

understand that there is a procedure to do things... the TTFF have failed to come up with a proper set of books...
de judge send them back to correct it and in the meantime make a next interim payment... if de TTFF continue to stall with shoddy accounting, he could then take further action, including charging people with contempt of court... de law does not usually work like on tv.. where cases does wrap up in one hour minus commercials.

Sorry ,my bad i thought this was the final settlement,i didn't know there is more to come.

« Reply #23 on: February 25, 2011, 12:58:35 PM »

I guess we all get a little skeptical, but this is the real deal. There is no appeal, because this was the appeal! TTFF have 21 days to pay US$1.1 million. The judge cannot award any more at this stage because, frankly, he's got no idea how much the players are owed. However, there is enough evidence to award the interim. Now there is a court order, TTFF can receive punative fines or custodial sentences if they don't comply. I believe TTFF can still use certain legal avenues to delay but the judge will only tolerate so much time wasting. He basically believes the players are owed money and have waited long enough.

« Reply #24 on: February 25, 2011, 01:07:06 PM »

I guess we all get a little skeptical, but this is the real deal. There is no appeal, because this was the appeal! TTFF have 21 days to pay US$1.1 million. The judge cannot award any more at this stage because, frankly, he's got no idea how much the players are owed. However, there is enough evidence to award the interim. Now there is a court order, TTFF can receive punative fines or custodial sentences if they don't comply. I believe TTFF can still use certain legal avenues to delay but the judge will only tolerate so much time wasting. He basically believes the players are owed money and have waited long enough.

Ah love it! The TTFF have to start paying up or get their jail clothes ready!!
God is ah Trini, he doh like ugly & the longest rope has an end!  :chilling:

« Reply #25 on: February 25, 2011, 01:23:44 PM »
Guess the Ministry of Works will embark on some new project to pay the players

« Reply #26 on: February 25, 2011, 01:25:14 PM »
Best news in a looong time.

« Reply #27 on: February 25, 2011, 02:36:35 PM »
Yes, yes, yes, yippeeeeeeeeeeeee! Any word from Jack?  :loser: :cursing:

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #28 on: February 25, 2011, 03:27:02 PM »
*going through too many emotions*

*needs time to collect thoughts and feelings*

« Reply #29 on: February 25, 2011, 03:41:26 PM »
*going through too many emotions*

*needs time to collect thoughts and feelings*

Yuh go help out Birchy wit he lawyer fees?