March 29, 2024, 12:29:43 AM

Author Topic: Most Patriotric Soca/Calypso/Chutney of all times  (Read 10541 times)

Most Patriotric Soca/Calypso/Chutney of all times
« on: February 25, 2011, 09:52:09 PM »
Ok so what are some of the most patriotic a soca/calypso or chutney music of all times?

Trini (Benjai): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ha6CP4DE1k

Trini to de Bone (David Rudder): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVDuS_JGHW4
Lorraine (Explainer): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nz92BR_b3jY
Sparrow Come Back Home (Mighty Sparrow): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JCO8c-pHxU

Thank God for TnT by Black Sage

Some very astonishing lyrics.......make yuh feel really proud despite all the nonsense:

http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Independence/PatrioticSongs.htm

Calypso: Portrait of Trinidad (1965)
Trinidad is my land
And of it I am proud and glad
But I can't understand
Why some people does talk it bad
(But I know)
All of them whey runnin' dey mout'
Doh know whey they talkin' bout
They will paint here balck everyday
But the right things they would never say

CHORUS

Like our sportsmen
Being rated among the best
Our scholars have sit and passed every test
And put us right 'longside de rest
(But then)
Our pitch lake is the greatest one of its kind
Our sugar and oil is really refined
So you see, friends, this is a real King
Solomon's mine.

VERSE TWO

They does talk some nonsense
Me eh know whey dey ding it for
Bout so much violence
Man, yuh would swear that we fighting war
We have we delinquents to face
But just like any other place
Well the things they does say bout here
Is really too much for me to bear

CHORUS

Because my people are daily making progress
Without any form of stupidness
And in this way we much gain success
For when we moving
We all move as one body
No bickering between you and me
For our policy stand for racial equality

VERSE THREE

So when a stranger spending
A little time in this lovely isle
Every day you see him
He always have a hearty smile
When his time is up to depart
He would say with pride in heart
I'll be back, you could bet yuh life
And if ah cyah come ah go sen' mih wife

CHORUS

And then he'll tell you
He really wants her to come
To drink a rum and have plenty fun
In this great island in the sun
For Trinidadians (as foreigners do recall)
It doesn't matter whether big or small
Or if you rich or poor, friend
We cater for one and all

VERSE FOUR

So all uh dem whey talkin'
They either drunk or they starin' mad
Or maybe they forgettin'
Mr Universe belongs to Trinidad
And yet
We have men of talent and skill
With high hopes of improving still
And if you think all this is a lie
The Mighty Sniper go tell you why

CHORUS

Now, our steelbands
Is the best talent in the world
By calypsoes our stories are told
With this rhythm to touch your soul
So Trinidad, this lovely land of my birth
Small, but overwhelming in worth
And as you know Carnival is the greatest
frolic on earth.

Performed by Sniper
« Last Edit: July 25, 2013, 02:21:52 PM by Tallman »

« Last Edit: July 25, 2013, 06:05:12 PM by Tallman »

« Last Edit: July 25, 2013, 05:59:58 PM by Tallman »

Re: Most Patriotric Soca/Calypso/Chutney of all times
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2013, 02:49:09 PM »
The Patriot's Song (Written by Kamalo Deen and performed by George Victory)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2013, 06:05:48 PM by Tallman »

« Last Edit: July 25, 2013, 05:56:58 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2013, 04:44:44 PM »
Andre Tanker.......Forward Home http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8UqAJtiOnI
Roger George & Carl Jacobs......Sugar Island http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSGUSPhnI8M
Bro marvin...Jahaji Bhai....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4FlLb3IlgI

We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Last Edit: July 26, 2013, 02:19:08 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2013, 12:38:07 PM »
Felicity Hindu School - Our Nation's Dawning

Shivanand & Narendra Maharaj ft. Sudesh Sooknarine - Our Nation's Dawning

Our Nation's Dawning
By George Carlton Sampson

Come, come away, hail to the day
This is our land's great morning
Birds in the trees waft to the breeze
Songs of our nation's dawning.
Hummingbird bright, lend your delight,
Ibis your scarlet feathers;
Kiskadee call, summon them all
This is a day of wonders!

Chorus
O land of fairest beauty
We pledge our lives to duty
And vow this day
And vow this day to serve thee.

Flambouyant gay, make glad the day
Colourful blooms resplendent
Hibiscus hedge witness our pledge
And honour this day transcendent.
Fireflies bright, shine through the night:
Illumine our thanksgiving
Of this great day each heart can say
This is our Nation's Dawning!

Three sister hills, list to the trills
Echoing to high heaven
And from the sea, the blue Caribee
Breezes will join the revel.
Palm trees on high reach to the sky
While bells aloft are pealing
Man, bird and beast, earth, sea and sky
Raise chants of joy excelling.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2013, 12:46:21 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2013, 12:46:06 PM »
Eastern Youth Chorale/Eastern Performing Arts Fraternity ft. Alternative Quartet - Our Land of Sun and Seas

Our Land of Sun and Seas

Send down thy blessing on our lands
O'God and make us free,
Let love and wisdom lead our hearts
To dwell in Unity!

CHORUS
Our lands of sun and seas
Our beauteous flowering trees
Our hills, our rills
Our song-bird trills
Our fields, our people free
We offer God to thee!
Improve our Arts
Make pure hearts
To dwell in Unity.
Let mighty nations far and near
Revere our nation small
May we show forth to countries great
A peace surpassing all
A peace surpassing all.

May long our heroes last
Who gave this nation birth
The Church - The State
All small and great
In wisdom hold them all
And never let them fall,
Improve our Arts
Make pure our hearts
O never let us fall.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2013, 01:57:17 PM »
As mentioned above, my pick of most patriotic is really between 'Trini to De Bone', and 'Portrait of Trinidad' (though curiously 'Tobago' was given no mention in that song). 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2013, 02:34:05 PM »
Of course Black Stalin's "We Can Make it If We Try"...and I don't know if this will count more to regional patriotism instead of national patriotism, but regardless I've even found B. Stalin's 'Caribbean Unity' as another great patriotic song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rhlfUh7KGg
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2013, 09:20:21 AM »
As mentioned above, my pick of most patriotic is really between 'Trini to De Bone', and 'Portrait of Trinidad' (though curiously 'Tobago' was given no mention in that song). 

WOW...one person brave enough to actually state the fact. It's the only reason why I have always preferred the remix of 'Trini to De Bone' over the original.

Tallman, check that vid again and listen to the lyrics. Why does he figure he 'has' to omit Tobago from the entire song when the majority of the vid takes place on the island? I cannot call that a representation of Red, White and Black, or as a patriotic song about The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago based on that by itself.

Now there's a song from Kerwin Du Bois that I would like to add but don't know the actual name of the song. I have it down as 'Destination'. Anyone that could help me out would be greatly appreciated.

Lead into Chorus....

So don't you worry
Everything will be alright
Cook and Curry
Play a steelband later tonight

Don't you worry
Everything will be ok
You'll be sorry
If you don't book a flight, so baby......

Chorus
Come fly with me
and you will see
How destiny
Was meant to be
Baby just come
and go with me
Experience Love
In T&T

Blessings and enjoy the day.
Richard G.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2013, 05:43:49 PM »
Trinidad to d bone

I ez ah Trini

« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2013, 08:37:43 PM »
Felicity Hindu School - Our Nation's Dawning

Shivanand & Narendra Maharaj ft. Sudesh Sooknarine - Our Nation's Dawning

Our Nation's Dawning

Come, come away, hail to the day
This is our land's great morning
Birds in the trees waft to the breeze
Songs of our nation's dawning.
Hummingbird bright, lend your delight,
Ibis your scarlet feathers;
Kiskadee call, summon them all
This is a day of wonders!

Chorus
O land of fairest beauty
We pledge our lives to duty
And vow this day
And vow this day to serve thee.

Flambouyant gay, make glad the day
Colourful blooms resplendent
Hibiscus hedge witness our pledge
And honour this day transcendent.
Fireflies bright, shine through the night:
Illumine our thanksgiving
Of this great day each heart can say
This is our Nation's Dawning!

Three sister hills, list to the trills
Echoing to high heaven
And from the sea, the blue Caribee
Breezes will join the revel.
Palm trees on high reach to the sky
While bells aloft are pealing
Man, bird and beast, earth, sea and sky
Raise chants of joy excelling.

I love our anthem, but this song has always been beautiful to me.

« Reply #17 on: September 14, 2013, 08:19:56 PM »
I don't know if I would say this is in the "all times" category, but is a decent song, and better than the wine on a bumper stuff Machel usually sings.

Neval Chatelal & Machel Montano - Wonders of this World

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4-ydtMtQe6E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4-ydtMtQe6E</a>