March 28, 2024, 05:16:53 PM

Author Topic: Keegan will be new manager  (Read 5600 times)

Offline jaffa

Keegan will be new manager
« on: March 31, 2005, 11:35:14 AM »
I hear dis from reliable source!

Offline rocwell

Re: Keegan will be new manager
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2005, 12:02:33 PM »
what source?

Offline jaffa

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2005, 12:11:22 PM »
via BSC

Offline rocwell

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2005, 12:16:21 PM »
come on be more specific, details, details.

Offline jaffa

« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2005, 12:26:27 PM »
A friend who spoke w/ BSC this AM.

« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2005, 12:42:43 PM »
Well if this is true I never thought I 'd see the day when KK would be Coaching TT.

Don't know much about him as a coach but I do know speaking to some Brits. that he has a habbit of running when the going gets rough.

They said he even admitted it...although I myself am totally unaware of this.

Peace,

« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2005, 12:48:40 PM »
They said he even admitted it...although I myself am totally unaware of this.

He admitted that the England job was too much for him when he quit, basically said that he wasn't up to the task.

A friend who spoke w/ BSC this AM.

Jaffa I would be interested to hear what Bertie's thoughts are, did your friend relay anything about this.

Offline jaffa

« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2005, 12:59:43 PM »
He not real pleased!

Offline triniwings

« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2005, 02:58:27 PM »
I would prefer a man with the courage to step down to make room for another if no more progress can be made, than a stubborn man who will fail game after game, make excuses and play his same favourites everyday and make poor tactical decisions.

« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2005, 03:01:04 PM »
He not real pleased!

You don't say? 

« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2005, 03:11:09 PM »
I would prefer a man with the courage to step down to make room for another if no more progress can be made, than a stubborn man who will fail game after game, make excuses and play his same favourites everyday and make poor tactical decisions.

Then we lucky we not getting 'Big Phil", Gullit, or Bora..Cause it's usually their way or the highway...buh how ah call Gullit name with them men who win stuff boy...
Question : Does it really have a coach who don't have favourites? Plans, Strategies, Players or Ideas ?
On the big scene tho, both Favourites & non-favorites usually produce more times than less.
Contrary to popular belief, I think we have open-minded, knowledgable coaches from T&T, if not in T&T. But alas, again I don't really know everbody, but I know of a few.

Offline NC

« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2005, 03:23:07 PM »
By all accounts Spann was a "revelation" yesterday.  How can we be successful when we are discovering talent in the middle of the WC campaign - it will be impossiblt to utilize him effectively.  And one must ask who else is there in T&T that can help this team that has not been discovered?

« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2005, 03:33:50 PM »
Just like how BSC repeatedly made the point that it was the result that mattered in WCQ matches in spite of the performances (see the games against Iran, Scotland, friendly against Northern Ireland, last St Vincent game in WCQ, every single warm up game, Digicel Cup games etc)...he cannot now complain about his dismissal.  

After all...this is what he was hired for.  The performances by the team were piss poor but we qualified for the Hex and the Digicel Cup even though it was by the slimmest of margins.  We have 1 point from 3 games...2 of which were at home.  The other we conceded 5 goals.  I was one who found it hard to fire somebody who did their job i.e. qualify for the Hex (admittedly something that was practically given to T&T due to the draw) and the Digicel Cup, but the "performances" of the team were too consistent to ignore. 

Yes BSC...it is the result in WCQ matches that matter....especially in the Hex.  Thank you for your contribution.  We movin on now.  For better or worse remains to be seen but we know for sure the team was going nowhere with BSC at the helm.

Somebody quoted Big Phil as an example.  Maybe they don't remember how Big Phil got the job in the first place.  After Brasil was in danger of missing the World Cup for the first time in history, they made the move and the rest you know.  The key is.....they made a move.   They didn't just accept their lot and say "who we go put or we tired of de coachin carousel".   
« Last Edit: March 31, 2005, 03:37:22 PM by palos »

« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2005, 03:34:17 PM »
By all accounts Spann was a "revelation" yesterday.  How can we be successful when we are discovering talent in the middle of the WC campaign - it will be impossiblt to utilize him effectively.  And one must ask who else is there in T&T that can help this team that has not been discovered?

All de youth men and dem who this forum have been mentioning for the past umpteen how long. Ask Sam... he have a long long list of talented men... thais why I cyah understand men who saying it have no talent in TnT. de men and dem dey... open allyuh eye..

Offline rocwell

« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2005, 05:20:05 PM »

And so your 'source' has been deemed unreliable

« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2005, 05:23:15 PM »

Maybe not.
Andre Baptiste now say the 1st choice was not well received by the players so they went with the next one.
Phew...dodge a bullet dey with that UK bizness.

« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2005, 05:25:40 PM »

LOL......jaffa....your source might very well have been correct initially.

Andre Baptiste on I95 sayin dat the TTFF had another coach as their first choice but that first choice was vigorously opposed by CERTAIN PLAYERS.  Therefore.....they had to make adjustments.

If Beenhakker is the "adjustment"...then 1) that is a seriously fast adjustment...and 2)I eh think it come much better.

Let's hear from Observer and his thoughts with regards to Beenhakker the coach

« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2005, 05:33:49 PM »
If it was the case that Keegan was first choice and the players oppsoed it....that was a very good move.  Beenhakker seems to be a much better choice that Kevin"Quick to Quit and Complain" Keegan.

« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2005, 05:53:50 PM »
I believe the first choice was Atkinson. Seriously what manager do you think the players would find more utterly objectionable?

Whatever the situation was this is clearly a case where th esecond choice turn to be a better option. To think that after all the decisions Jack make uni-laterally one of the best ones was made by committee.

Irony.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2005, 05:56:10 PM by JDB »

« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2005, 05:56:40 PM »
JDB..you might be right.  I prefer St. Clair over Atkinson.

« Reply #20 on: March 31, 2005, 06:02:57 PM »
Did Jack not say that he may consider 'reallocating BSC?" I wonder what that would look like?

« Reply #21 on: March 31, 2005, 06:04:40 PM »
I think St. Clair might do well with an Under 20 team.  After all he qualified for a World Cup and Signal Hill dominated college football for a while.

« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2005, 06:12:28 PM »
Accordin to Touches...TV6 had a interview wit Jack and he say Bertille was offered de opportunity to wuk wit Beenhakker which he declined.

« Reply #23 on: March 31, 2005, 06:16:04 PM »
St. Clair cannot work with anybody especially a foreign coach.  This might be the end of his coaching career on the national scene.