April 29, 2024, 12:28:43 AM

Author Topic: Defence Force heads Brazil for Military World Games.  (Read 3184 times)

Defence Force heads Brazil for Military World Games.
« on: July 12, 2011, 08:16:36 PM »
Defence Force heads Brazil for Military World Games.
ttproleague.com.

Digicel Pro League Champions Defence Force will depart Piarco Airport on Wednesday morning with its destination Brazil, for the 5th CISM Military World Games held from July 16 - 24.

Defence Force led by head coach Ross Russell and assistant coach Marvin Gordon qualified for the Military World Games—illustrated as the Military Olympics—by reaching the Final of the 2010 Armed Forces Continental Football Championship tournament in Suriname last November. Russell’s charges were edged 5-4 on penalties after a goalless draw in the Final.

The Pro League club’s journey to the Armed Forces Continental Football Championship Final saw it top Group B with wins over hosts Suriname (3-0) and Canada (5-0) before edging Ecuador (4-3) in the semi-final round.

The T&T soldiers will now depart Piarco around 6:45am and meet a connection flight in Suriname around mid-day for Rio de Janeiro, Brazil—host nation of the Military Games Village.

The Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force is grouped with the Defence Forces of Germany, Cameroon and Egypt. The group winner and best overall second positioned finisher will advance into the Semi-Final Round.

Defence Force FC will first meet the Germans on Friday 15 July followed by Cameroon on Sunday 17 July and Egypt in their final group match on Tuesday 19 July.

Accompanying Russell and Gordon in team management are Captain Keston Charles (Manager), Mark Lewis (Trainer), David Cumberbatch (Physiotherapist) and Corporal Michael Smith (Media Representative).

While the 20-man travelling squad includes Corey Rivers(team captain), goalkeepers Kevin Graham and Dillon Prince, Rawyle Fletcher, Aklie Edwards, Keston Williams, Kerry Joseph, Anton Joseph, Jerywn Balthazar, Dexter Pacheco, Sean Narcis, Javon Neptune, Jemel Seabro, Balondemu Julius, Richard Roy, Michael Edwards, Albert Dexter Thornhill, Rondell Elcock and Devin Jordan.

“It’s a bit of youth and experience,” explained assistant coach Gordon on Tuesday morning following final preparations at the Defence Force Headquarters Ground in Chaguaramas.

“We have the Rawyle Fletcher, the Michael Edwards, the skipper Corey Rivers as the experience and we have the young Jemel Seabro, Richard Roy, Dexter Thornhill as the youths. We blend the team with youth and experience because the younger players need experienced players to guide them especially in tournaments like these.”

Apart from attempting to win the tournament in Brazil, Gordon explained added benefits for the Pro League club.

He said, “As well as going to try and win the tournament, we see it as a great pre-season for us in coming back to defend our League title. We think it would give us a better advantage over other teams coming off a tournament like this and heading straight into the season.

“We will be more match-ready and suppose to get a better start than all the teams this year (in the Digicel Pro League Championship).”

The Military World Games, which appears every four years, is organized by the International Military Sports Council (CISM). The Military World Games began in 1995 and hosted in Rome, Italy. Zagreb, Croatia hosted the Games in 1999, Catania, Italy in 2003 and Hyderabad, India in 2007. Mungyeong, South Korea have already been chosen 2015 hosts.

This year the Military World Games will comprise twenty-four(24) sports, some of them appearing for the first time in military world games, such as beach volleyball.   

Precautionary decision – Carter left out Military Games squad

Defence Force attacker Kevon Carter has been left out of a 20-man squad which leaves Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday morning for the 5th CISM Military World Games held from July 16 – 24 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

It was a precautionary move according to assistant coach Marvin Gordon who said they followed advice of team physiotherapist David Cumberbatch to rest out the 27 year old Trinidad and Tobago international who suffered a broken right leg ten months ago.

Carter suffered the injury on October 01 in the quarterfinals of the First Citizens Cup against St. Ann's Rangers at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium under a challenge by defender Elijah Belgrave.

Defence Force went on to reach the Final on October 24 but suffered a 3-0 penalty kicks defeat against Joe Public at Marvin Lee Stadium following a 1-1 draw as Carter looked on from the stands. He underwent surgery six days after picking up the injury.

But since then Carter has not played a fully competitive match although deemed fully recovered.

Carter featured for Defence Force in a 3-1 practice match win over Caledonia on Saturday however the club prefers not to risk what is considered its most valuable asset.

The 20-man travelling squad includes Corey Rivers (team captain), goalkeepers Kevin Graham and Dillon Prince, Rawyle Fletcher, Aklie Edwards, Keston Williams, Kerry Joseph, Anton Joseph, Jerywn Balthazar, Dexter Pacheco, Sean Narcis, Javon Neptune, Jemel Seabro, Balondemu Julius, Richard Roy, Michael Edwards, Albert Dexter Thornhill, Rondell Elcock and Devin Jordan.

The Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force is grouped with the Defence Forces of Germany, Cameroon and Egypt. The group winner and best overall second positioned finisher will advance into the Semi-Final Round.

Defence Force FC will first meet the Germans on Friday 15 July followed by Cameroon on Sunday 17 July and Egypt in their final group match on Tuesday 19 July.

Re: Defence Force heads Brazil for Military World Games.
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2011, 09:00:06 PM »
This will be a good experience and feather in their cap for Defence Force,it's a moral booster in their preparation for the upcoming season,i hope they take advantage of this opportunity to develope themselves and stop making the kind of excuses when they make when things don't work out for them.

It's another milestone they have accomplished and i wish them all the success at this tournament,bring it home guys we behind you.

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2011, 10:32:06 PM »
All the best to them!!  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2011, 11:35:21 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/bCRfz4wRsm0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/bCRfz4wRsm0</a>

« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2011, 04:31:57 PM »
Good Luck and enjoy.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=1409054. Nice infrastructure for the games.

« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2011, 07:28:34 PM »
Defence Force gunning for Military Games Gold Medal.
ttproleague.com.

“Coming home with gold is most important for us,” said Defence Force FC captain Corey Rivers on Tuesday morning following his team’s final practice session at the Trinidad and Tobago Regiment Headquarters in Chaguaramas before departing on Wednesday morning for the 5th CISM Military World Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Rivers who captained the club to the 2010-2011 Digicel Pro League Championship said that his team will be on the watch-list having played well against the hosts in the Final of the Armed Forces Continental Football Championship which qualified both Brazil and Trinidad and Tobago into the Military World Games.

Defence Force FC went under to the Brazilians 5-4 on penalties after a goalless draw.

“It’s a really proud moment for us being in the Military World Games. In the qualifiers (Armed Forces Continental Football Championship) we went in as under dogs because they didn’t expect Trinidad and Tobago to do well. But we gave a good showing they would be looking at Trinidad and Tobago in Brazil. So we are aware that teams would be looking at us in this tournament.

“Especially Brazil,” he exclaimed. “We played against them in the Final [of the Armed Forces Continental Football Championship] and outplayed them but lost on penalties.”

Rivers went on to add, “We’re all focused. It’s a place we everyone wants to go and play football. We are all in high spirits at the moment. Going to the World Military Games is like going to an Olympics for us and coming back with gold will do us real proud to start the new (TT Pro League) season.”

Assistant Defence Force FC coach Marvin Gordon shared similar emotions saying, “It’s a great feeling because this is like an Olympics for us. And it’s also a great feeling going to Brazil, the home of football. A lot of us dream about going to Brazil and now we have the opportunity to showcase ourselves in Brazil.

“I think the spirit in the camp is high. We want to go and win the tournament. In a tournament like this, we are representing Trinidad and Tobago, so we want to put our best foot forward and bring back the gold medal for Trinidad and Tobago.”

He believes that his side has prepared well for the tournament adding, “We didn’t have much rest [coming off last season and the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship]. Maybe a week off and then back to the training pitch to prepare for this tournament. But mentally I believe the players are ready for this challenge. Our preparation ahead of Brazil is where we want it. We played a practice match on Saturday against Caledonia AIA, which is one of the better teams in Trinidad and Tobago and we came off 3-1 winners.

“So I think going to Brazil, we are ready for the tournament,” ended Gordon.

Head Coach Ross Russell leads the management team which includes Gordon, Captain Keston Charles (Manager), Mark Lewis (Trainer), David Cumberbatch (Physiotherapist) and Corporal Michael Smith (Media Representative).

While the 20-man travelling squad includes Corey Rivers(team captain), goalkeepers Kevin Graham and Dillon Prince, Rawyle Fletcher, Aklie Edwards, Keston Williams, Kerry Joseph, Anton Joseph, Jerywn Balthazar, Dexter Pacheco, Sean Narcis, Javon Neptune, Jemel Seabro, Balondemu Julius, Richard Roy, Michael Edwards, Albert Dexter Thornhill, Rondell Elcock and Devin Jordan.

The T&T Defence Force departed Piarco Airport on Wednesday morning on charter via Suriname for Rio de Janeiro.

The Military World Games, which appears every four years, is organized by the International Military Sports Council (CISM). The Military World Games began in 1995 and hosted in Rome, Italy. Zagreb, Croatia hosted the Games in 1999, Catania, Italy in 2003 and Hyderabad, India in 2007. Mungyeong, South Korea have already been chosen 2015 hosts.

This year the Military World Games will comprise twenty-four(24) sports, some of them appearing for the first time in military world games, such as beach volleyball.

Major Malcolm Nedd heads the T&T Defence Force delegation of 68 members. T&T will also be represented in shooting, basketball, boxing and track and field.

« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2011, 07:33:39 PM »
Good luck DF. We need some good news to boost the players' confidence.

« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2011, 08:06:59 PM »
If is one thing, local players and coach could real talk yuh know, and when de tournament done and they get they ass wash you hear all kinda excuses.

Let de ball do de talking guys....

« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2011, 11:03:46 AM »
If they dont win this they want licks unless they took a B squad.

They are a full fledge professional squad.

I know the German team is not professional and sure about cameroon and egypt but I am guessing the best players in cameroon and egypt and not in the army but i may be wrong.

Our defense force team is really a professional team with some of the best players in TnT.

I dont expect to see Eto running out for the cameroon squad. :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2011, 11:34:29 AM »

I know the German team is not professional and sure about cameroon and egypt but I am guessing the best players in cameroon and egypt and not in the army but i may be wrong.

Our defense force team is really a professional team with some of the best players in TnT.

I hope we are just speculating here,the thing is you don't know the quality of these teams,it's a problem we have and go into tournaments/games and get we ass cut,yes we are a full fledge professional team but when you look a the level of play in our professional league you wonder,is only when we go out we does get exposed for example the Caribbean club championships and we have as you say some of the best players in T&T.
        These teams may not be or play in a professional league but the guys that play Football are professionals by the nature of their jobs/career so don't be surprised by the quality of Football they can produce.All i'm saying is don't take these teams for granted.

Defence Force makes winning start at Military World Games
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2011, 11:43:55 AM »
Defence Force makes winning start at Military World Games
ttproleague.com

Jerwyn Balthazar and Richard Roy were on target for Defence Force FC to guide the T&T soldiers to a 2-1 win over Cameroon Defence Force in their opening Group A match of the 5th CISM Military World Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on Friday(9am TT time).

The Pro League club went ahead in as early as the 5th minute when Balthazar found the back of the net and in the 30th minute, Roy comforted the Trinbagonians to a 2-0 cushion against Cameroon.

The Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force is grouped with the Defence Forces of Cameroon, Germany and Qatar. It was first revealed that Egypt was in Group A, however www.ttproleague.com was reliably informed that Qatar makes up the group. The group winner and best overall second positioned finisher will advance into the Semi-Final Round.

Defence Force FC will next play the Germans on Sunday 17 July and Qatar in their final group match on Tuesday 19 July.

Head Coach Ross Russell and Assistant Coach Marvin Gordon are accompanied by Captain Keston Charles (Manager), Mark Lewis (Trainer), David Cumberbatch (Physiotherapist) and Corporal Michael Smith (Media Representative).

« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2011, 11:50:55 AM »
Good stuff. Didn't Glenroy Samuel join DF last season, how come he is not listed on the squad?
« Last Edit: July 15, 2011, 11:53:28 AM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2011, 04:41:47 AM »
Germans beat T&T Defence Force 4-1
T&T Express Reports.

Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force footballers lost their second match at the 5th Military World Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil yesterday when they went down 4-1 to Germany.

The T&T soldiers had beaten Cameroon 2-1 in their tournament opener on Friday.

Defence Force had defender Rawle Fletcher sent off in the 47th minute after picking up a second yellow card.

Germany were 2-1 losers to Qatar in their opening match, but against the T&T Pro League champions the Germans got a quick start and were leading 3-0 at the half through a hat-trick from Andreas Gerdes-Wurpts (3', 21', 45').

Two minutes after Fletcher was ejected, Jerwyn Bathazar scored for Defence Force to make the score 3-1, before Lars Schafer got a final goal for the Germans a minutes into added-on time.

Qatar dumps Defence Force from Military Games.
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2011, 05:16:44 AM »
Qatar dumps Defence Force from Military Games.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

T&T’s Defence Force was dumped from the football tournament at the Fifth CISM World Military Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil after going under to Qatar 1–0 in their third and final group match, yesterday.

Going into the match against the unbeaten Qataris, the T&T Defence Force, the local national league champions needed a win to have any chance of advancing.

However, in the 35th minute it was reduced to ten men when striker Richard “Shaka” Roy was shown a second yellow card and sent for an early shower by Kenyan referee Sylvester Kirwa after first being cautioned as early as the fifth minute.

Despite, being a man down, the T&T Defence Force managed to go into the interval at 0–0 with its opponents, but two minutes into the second-half, it fell behind when Mohamed Zenhom got what turned out to the match winner.

Two minutes into time added on in the match, the T&T Defence Force saw another of its players take an early shower when Devin Jordan was issued a straight red card while Qatar’s Naif Mubarak Al-Buraiki also had a penalty attempt saved by T&T Defence Force goalkeeper, Kevin Graham. 

With the loss, T&T’s  Defence Force, which committed 33 fouls compared to 18 by Qatar in the rugged match ended with three points, after a first day 2–1 win over Cameroon and third spot in the group while Qatar ended with maximum nine points and a place in tomorrow’s (Thursday) semifinal round. Germany, which whipped T&T Defence Force 4–1 on Sunday, defeated Cameroon 3–1 in its final match.

However, the Germans were pipped out for the best second place and a semifinal spot by Algeria (Group A) which had a superior goal difference of plus-11 to the Germans plus-four after both teams ended with six points in their respective groups.

In the other matches yesterday, Brazil topped Group A after it slammed Uruguay 8–0, while Algeria clobbered Suriname 7–0. In Group B, Egypt blanked France 2–0 while Ecuador edged Kenya 1–0.

« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2011, 06:17:47 AM »
If is one thing, local players and coach could real talk yuh know, and when de tournament done and they get they ass wash you hear all kinda excuses.

Let de ball do de talking guys....

Again, read meh post again.... I was dam right...

They bitches in T&T could talk, but time to play they does shit down they self.

Gunning....... please.... they get gun down.....  :rotfl:

Defence Force gunning for Military Games Gold Medal.
ttproleague.com.

“Coming home with gold is most important for us,” said Defence Force FC captain Corey Rivers on Tuesday morning following his team’s final practice session at the Trinidad and Tobago Regiment Headquarters in Chaguaramas before departing on Wednesday morning for the 5th CISM Military World Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Rivers who captained the club to the 2010-2011 Digicel Pro League Championship said that his team will be on the watch-list having played well against the hosts in the Final of the Armed Forces Continental Football Championship which qualified both Brazil and Trinidad and Tobago into the Military World Games.

Defence Force FC went under to the Brazilians 5-4 on penalties after a goalless draw.

“It’s a really proud moment for us being in the Military World Games. In the qualifiers (Armed Forces Continental Football Championship) we went in as under dogs because they didn’t expect Trinidad and Tobago to do well. But we gave a good showing they would be looking at Trinidad and Tobago in Brazil. So we are aware that teams would be looking at us in this tournament.

“Especially Brazil,” he exclaimed. “We played against them in the Final [of the Armed Forces Continental Football Championship] and outplayed them but lost on penalties.”

Rivers went on to add, “We’re all focused. It’s a place we everyone wants to go and play football. We are all in high spirits at the moment. Going to the World Military Games is like going to an Olympics for us and coming back with gold will do us real proud to start the new (TT Pro League) season.”

Assistant Defence Force FC coach Marvin Gordon shared similar emotions saying, “It’s a great feeling because this is like an Olympics for us. And it’s also a great feeling going to Brazil, the home of football. A lot of us dream about going to Brazil and now we have the opportunity to showcase ourselves in Brazil.

“I think the spirit in the camp is high. We want to go and win the tournament. In a tournament like this, we are representing Trinidad and Tobago, so we want to put our best foot forward and bring back the gold medal for Trinidad and Tobago.”

He believes that his side has prepared well for the tournament adding, “We didn’t have much rest [coming off last season and the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship]. Maybe a week off and then back to the training pitch to prepare for this tournament. But mentally I believe the players are ready for this challenge. Our preparation ahead of Brazil is where we want it. We played a practice match on Saturday against Caledonia AIA, which is one of the better teams in Trinidad and Tobago and we came off 3-1 winners.

“So I think going to Brazil, we are ready for the tournament,” ended Gordon.

Head Coach Ross Russell leads the management team which includes Gordon, Captain Keston Charles (Manager), Mark Lewis (Trainer), David Cumberbatch (Physiotherapist) and Corporal Michael Smith (Media Representative).

The T&T Defence Force departed Piarco Airport on Wednesday morning on charter via Suriname for Rio de Janeiro.

Major Malcolm Nedd heads the T&T Defence Force delegation of 68 members. T&T will also be represented in shooting, basketball, boxing and track and field.

« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2011, 06:35:26 AM »

I hope we are just speculating here,the thing is you don't know the quality of these teams,it's a problem we have and go into tournaments/games and get we ass cut,yes we are a full fledge professional team but when you look a the level of play in our professional league you wonder,is only when we go out we does get exposed for example the Caribbean club championships and we have as you say some of the best players in T&T.
        These teams may not be or play in a professional league but the guys that play Football are professionals by the nature of their jobs/career so don't be surprised by the quality of Football they can produce.All i'm saying is don't take these teams for granted.
        I said it,don't be surprised.     

« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2011, 06:53:49 AM »
this is a sad day for PFL our professional champions cannot beat amature teams from Germany, And Qatar, what the arse is this......

Not sure bout Qatar but I am sure no one from this Germany team is being looked at by the real german national team. Our national team should have plently defense force men that alone should tell you the difference in ability if we were to have TnT versus germany world cup game.

I would think our pro league teams would be better and be professional enough to play these games without have men sent off in every game.

« Reply #17 on: July 20, 2011, 12:16:53 PM »
My only take on this is that countries like Brazil & Germany field teams with players who are way below league standard (otherwise they would be professional footballers) whereas teams like Qatar & Algeria probably contain 2nd tier players (i.e. not good enough to go overseas but could probably earn a living at football, but Army pay is better)

I see players here like Darin Lewis who could play in any Pro League team, but instead chose WASA as its a steady salary.

DF should be of the same standard as Qatar & Algeria. I'm interested to see how they perform in the league this year. When you saw the results in the 2nd half of last season, they seemed to have lost the "eye of the tiger".

I don't think they will be feared this season.

« Reply #18 on: July 20, 2011, 04:00:35 PM »
this is a sad day for PFL our professional champions cannot beat amature teams from Germany, And Qatar, what the arse is this......

Not sure bout Qatar but I am sure no one from this Germany team is being looked at by the real german national team. Our national team should have plently defense force men that alone should tell you the difference in ability if we were to have TnT versus germany world cup game.

I would think our pro league teams would be better and be professional enough to play these games without have men sent off in every game.

I beg to differ here bro. Maybe the Germans do have players who could play 2nd division Bundesliga but opted for a safe career in the German Armed Forces, just like our guys in the TTDF. Qatar, Algeria, Morocco armed forces have good players who choose for the military safety net. I know at one time FAR(Morocco) was Africa's champion. They have a player called Timouni. Played for Morocco in the 2nd mex. WC.

The TTDF today is a far cry of the DF of Coops and LP days. They don't get the best players as before because there are options other than the protective services. But if the options starts to dry up, these guys will up for DF, Police, Fires, Wasa, TTec. Even Palo Seco might come back.