April 27, 2024, 02:25:13 PM

Author Topic: Local staff for foreign coach.  (Read 5712 times)

Local staff for foreign coach.
« on: March 03, 2011, 05:56:47 AM »
Local staff for foreign coach.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

A totally-local technical staff will work alongside a foreign coach when Trinidad and Tobago appoints a staff for the senior national football team.

Yesterday, Keith Look Loy , the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) technical adviser, confirmed that the process to select a new Soca Warriors head coach is complete.

He further disclosed that a recommendation was made to the TTFF Executive Committee. But Look Loy hesitated to confirm that 73 year-old German Otto Pfister was selected as reported in the media.

Look Loy instead said he did not want to preempt a decision of the Executive Committee, who will make an announcement shortly.

"I can confirm that the screening process is over," Look Loy said. "We have made a recommendation, and we are hoping that a prompt appointment is made.

All that, of course, depends on Government approval of funds for the compensation package for the coaching staff.'"

Look Loy, who headed the selection committee, reported that five candidates were considered. The screening committee had face to face interviews with Pfister and Dutchman Erwin Koeman, and telephone interviews with Johan Neeskens, Carlos Queiroz and Ruud Krol.

Queiroz has since taken up another position. Look Loy said that during the selection process, the foreign candidate had the option of bringing their own people.

"Everyone was invited to do that , and all wanted to do that except for Pfister, who wanted to work with young local coaches," Look Loy said. "He was prepared to work with an entirely local staff.

Apart from these men, other persons had submitted applications and we have made recommendation for the position of assistant coach, goalkeeper coach, trainer and so on," he said.

Re: Local staff for foreign coach.
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 06:11:12 AM »
ah have $10 that says this idea was "locally" inspired ::)

Offline WarriorSaint

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2011, 07:09:50 AM »
Shouldnt the coach be allowed to have a say in his staff? I mean he is the one going to be working with them. Atleast he should be able to choose his own assistant, that way he would have full confidence in his coaching staff.

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2011, 07:14:47 AM »
What a big bowl of crap !!!!!!!!!!!......

No wonder we could never have any success.

Its always a hand down and with the locals they are always pinching at everything, from players to coaches, these locals have to earn whatever selection that is presented to them and not inherit one because they feeling sorry for them.

The locals need to go through the channels, from step A to step Z. (IE: Stephan Hart, Dennis Lawrence)....

I say if you want to expose the local coaches, then why not start them off at youth level as assistants and then let them work their way up. ?

Leo Beenhakker didn't allowed this when he first came to T&T. (IE: Russell Latapy).

Francisco Maturana also didn't allowed this but was forced and paid the ultimate price. (IE: Russell Latapy).

Furthermore, wether foreign or local, a coach must be allowed to bring in or, choose his own staff and not have one presented to him sort off like: dam if you do, dam if you dont...

To many old heads working for the TTFF who do not do their homeworks or just make impulsive decisions. They are not moving with the times at all. They want to hire a big name and try to change his thinking to theirs.... working for the TTFF you have to think upside down....

Again, its very simple, we are continuing to walk the same path and then we are expecting different. If you plant a corn seed you wouldn't get a mango tree.

The TTFF wants to have their hands in everything, just leave whoever it is to do their job, there is a time and place for everything, you will get your chance, but at least give the coach a chance to fail at his will.

PS: More than likely, Otto Pfister will get the job ? so we hire a German coach and we learing the Dutch system, this oath to be interesting. If you are going to spend millions, at least make it worthwhile....
« Last Edit: March 03, 2011, 07:33:51 AM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2011, 07:49:49 AM »
exactly...read my thread on coaches in the PFL

« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2011, 07:56:20 AM »
So in a way thye're confirming that it is Pfister? Because he's the only one that wanted a local staff. All the others wanted to bring their own staff. And its been confirmed that the staff would be totally local.  ???

« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2011, 08:02:04 AM »

Its always a hand down and with the locals they are always pinching at everything, from players to coaches, these locals have to earn whatever selection that is presented to them and not inherit one because they feeling sorry for them.

The locals need to go through the channels, from step A to step Z. (IE: Stephan Hart, Dennis Lawrence)....

I say if you want to expose the local coaches, then why not start them off at youth level as assistants and then let them work their way up. ?

Leo Beenhakker didn't allowed this when he first came to T&T. (IE: Russell Latapy).

Francisco Maturana also didn't allowed this but was forced and paid the ultimate price. (IE: Russell Latapy).

Furthermore, wether foreign or local, a coach must be allowed to bring in or, choose his own staff and not have one presented to him sort off like: dam if you do, dam if you dont...

To many old heads working for the TTFF who do not do their homeworks or just make impulsive decisions. They are not moving with the times at all. They want to hire a big name and try to change his thinking to theirs.... working for the TTFF you have to think upside down....

Again, its very simple, we are continuing to walk the same path and then we are expecting different. If you plant a corn seed you wouldn't get a mango tree.

The TTFF wants to have their hands in everything, just leave whoever it is to do their job, there is a time and place for everything, you will get your chance, but at least give the coach a chance to fail at his will.

PS: More than likely, Otto Pfister will get the job ? so we hire a German coach and we learing the Dutch system, this oath to be interesting. If you are going to spend millions, at least make it worthwhile....

WELL SAID FLEX !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who is me ? I am just a loyal fan who dont know nothing....

FORK THE TTFF !!!!!!!!!! they forever making stupid decisions, Look Loy is a dam dunce, reminds he of McComie, Lincoln is a coward, Camps in jail soon, Gorden is a blasted pupet and Corneal is a yellow belly asshole.

WE going Brazil,,,,,,,,,,,,, in a toom !!!!
« Last Edit: March 03, 2011, 08:04:21 AM by Sam »

« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2011, 08:06:16 AM »
Guess it would be cheaper to have local assistants .

« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2011, 08:29:18 AM »
Well de writing on de wall before de campaign even start.   :banginghead: :'(

« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2011, 08:46:56 AM »
Yuh think Pfister cares if he getting $60,000 US a month at 73? Already we know he has no balls to stand up to the TTFF.Everything the TTFF want he'll agree as long as the tax payers forking up $60,000 US a month to him.
How can those who can make change sit back year after year,time after time,generation after generation and see this sh#t continue and turn a blind eye to it and they say they love the country and they love the game. 

« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2011, 08:56:39 AM »
TTFF real f**king sad and cheap..

TTFF: Aye, we want you but you think you can work with a local staff so we can keep down costs?

Pfister : Yea no scene

The rest: Get the f**k outta here

TTFF : Pfister it is

At least bring an assistant that work with you for years na man...

Leo had an assistant, a defensive coach and then at the world cup had a f**king coach on details such as throwings and set pieces

STEWPS.. now the local staff going to brainwash the man over the selection pool and it going to be the same shithongs who not worthy representing and men like Birchall will never play for TnT again

« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2011, 09:43:54 AM »
Pfister look like he don't mind toeing the line at all.

« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2011, 09:55:27 AM »
Pfister look like he don't mind toeing the line at all.

All yuh leh d man get some extra money 4 he retirement.
Well de writing on de wall before de campaign even start.   :banginghead: :'(

Yuh know dat and yuh still :banginghead:

BRAZIL 2014 WIT OR WITHOUT dat is my plan may I suggest the same.

« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2011, 10:05:56 AM »
Just read the article and what a load of crock. An incoming coach whose hands are already tied????? Wow!! No wonder TnT football can't get anywhere. The assistant coach is usually the head coach's confidant. He is the one who can say let's try this..what do you think about doing this...I know you like that player but he isn't ready...The head coach will bounce ideas off the assistant....Who is going to be Pfister's confidant? Corneal? Latas? This is doomed to failure and an absolute waste of taxpayers money.

« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2011, 10:46:33 AM »

couldn't agree more, same bias decision making on players by these less than mediocre local coaches and staff. people home have a insecure way of moving, they can't let go and let others with more knowledge run something. real small minded.

you are bringing a world class coach and surrounding him with a bunch of wanna bes, i had a bad feeling this would happen.

« Reply #15 on: March 03, 2011, 10:47:32 AM »
TTFF real f**king sad and cheap..

TTFF: Aye, we want you but you think you can work with a local staff so we can keep down costs?

Pfister : Yea no scene

The rest: Get the f**k outta here

TTFF : Pfister it is

At least bring an assistant that work with you for years na man...

Leo had an assistant, a defensive coach and then at the world cup had a f**king coach on details such as throwings and set pieces

STEWPS.. now the local staff going to brainwash the man over the selection pool and it going to be the same shithongs who not worthy representing and men like Birchall will never play for TnT again

couldn't agree more with you on this one, very upset that latapy and the rest are involved in sr program.

these men want to run before they even creep

« Reply #16 on: March 03, 2011, 11:14:56 AM »

FORK THE TTFF !!!!!!!!!! they forever making stupid decisions, Look Loy is a dam dunce, reminds he of McComie, Lincoln is a coward, Camps in jail soon, Gorden is a blasted pupet and Corneal is a yellow belly asshole.

Lincoln Phillip's guy was Carlos Queiroz.

Keith Look Loy's guy was always Pfister. Sam, cowardice has nothing to do with Lincoln's inability to get his plans moving. He is surrounded and out-gunned by Anton Corneal, Keith Look Loy, Richard Groden and Jamaal Shabazz.

Those four represent the direction the TTFF has taken over the past four years and they will likely remain in power unless the judge orders the entire TTFF to vacate if bankruptcy is ordered.

Lincoln cannot make the changes necessary on his own. He just cannot and it is naive to think that he can be the lone voice of reform within the TTFF and be successful in the face of those who like things the way they are.

It is important the Socawarrior.net members understand this and provide the encouragement he needs to continue. RIght now, he is truly fed up, trust me.

Everybody in the TTFF on a different page and everyone wants to be the hero. But these four men is a big problem.

Offline Coach

« Reply #17 on: March 03, 2011, 11:31:02 AM »
A good assistant can make a difference!!

Pfister is looking for a contract and don't mind who is working with him, he knows that he is probably there for a short period.

At 73 he knows there is not much coaching jobs out there for him, so do you think he really cares if he is a winner with TT! "So... just give me the damn job with assistants!"

« Reply #18 on: March 03, 2011, 11:33:34 AM »
Some people already talking bout $60,000 US of tax payers money,dont they know if the man bring in outsiders it would cost much more than local.The good thing is that our local support staff could learn from the German over 4 years.Good move,still better than Latapy in charge.

« Reply #19 on: March 03, 2011, 11:37:14 AM »

Keith Look Loy's guy was always Pfister. Sam, cowardice has nothing to do with Lincoln's inability to get his plans moving. He is surrounded and out-gunned by Anton Corneal, Keith Look Loy, Richard Groden and Jamaal Shabazz.

Those four represent the direction the TTFF has taken over the past four years and they will likely remain in power unless the judge orders the entire TTFF to vacate if bankruptcy is ordered.

Lincoln cannot make the changes necessary on his own. He just cannot and it is naive to think that he can be the lone voice of reform within the TTFF and be successful in the face of those who like things the way they are.

It is important the Socawarrior.net members understand this and provide the encouragement he needs to continue. RIght now, he is truly fed up, trust me.

Everybody in the TTFF on a different page and everyone wants to be the hero. But these four men is a big problem.

Hmmm.... Flex on a role.... I guess he knows more what goes on in T&T football that us, so I will have to go with Flex here.

But Flex, tell LP is not doing himself any favors working there too ?

« Reply #20 on: March 03, 2011, 11:43:20 AM »
Some people already talking bout $60,000 US of tax payers money,dont they know if the man bring in outsiders it would cost much more than local.The good thing is that our local support staff could learn from the German over 4 years.Good move,still better than Latapy in charge.

Buy ah Benz and then put regular unleaded in the tank, and douglas cheap tires on the wheels, but don't worry is ah benz. Right now the TTFF p*ssing in the gas tank and running on bald tires.

Offline Coach

« Reply #21 on: March 03, 2011, 11:48:16 AM »

"Everybody in the TTFF on a different page" and don't have a clue on what it takes to do their job properly!!

« Reply #22 on: March 03, 2011, 11:57:08 AM »

Hmmm.... Flex on a role.... I guess he knows more what goes on in T&T football that us, so I will have to go with Flex here.

But Flex, tell LP is not doing himself any favors working there too ?

EXACTLY so 4give me 4 not shedding a tear

« Reply #23 on: March 03, 2011, 12:46:55 PM »

breds, you know what is funny, men on here lambast me about look loy and say he not choosing no one, well look at thing, look loy is the instigator with this foolish local staff nonsense for a world class coach

« Reply #24 on: March 03, 2011, 01:45:10 PM »
It's funny how de only one who didn't want to bring their own assistants get de job (supposedly).  This means that Birchall and Darryl Roberts could forget about ever playing fuh T&T again.  Most likely Latapy will be de assistant and his Gold Cup failures will be back again.

I was hoping that with a new coach we could see a midfield with Roberts, Birchall and Hyland but I think I could stop dreaming now.

« Reply #25 on: March 03, 2011, 01:51:47 PM »
It's funny how de only one who didn't want to bring their own assistants get de job (supposedly).  This means that Birchall and Darryl Roberts could forget about ever playing fuh T&T again.  Most likely Latapy will be de assistant and his Gold Cup failures will be back again.

I was hoping that with a new coach we could see a midfield with Roberts, Birchall and Hyland but I think I could stop dreaming now.

once latapy there, darryl nor birchall can make any sr squad.

latas is a selection nightmare for tt sr football, he will stop the best players from playing on the team, latas will probably want to jeopardize our chances at brazil, he could care less about tt football progressing, it has always been about himself and not the country

« Reply #26 on: March 03, 2011, 08:39:16 PM »

I hear yuh Flex and Sando have a point too, he works there under the current bad people, so he have to take some blame as well, he is here for a paycheck. If you lime with thieves then yuh guilty by association.

I dont expect LP to come out and cuss or fight with anyone, but as the TD he has been and have always been very quiet.

Our football have been on the decline since 2006 and he and everyone else just allowing it to fall apart instead of trying his best to solve the problem, he opts to stay quiet. There is a good way and a bad one to do your job or make your point clear.

But he still meh boy and I know he is a nice fella, but unfortunately, he blew his rep working for the TTFF.... I still feel he would have done better under better people....

A TD is a big position !!!!! and as a TD you need to set the path... or so I believe, even if man get vex, you need to straighten them out, but then again he out numbered by four punks !!!!!! so I understand your point....

Tell him for me Flex, Carlos Queiroz is not an international coach.  :devil:
« Last Edit: March 03, 2011, 08:43:03 PM by Sam »

« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2011, 08:49:38 PM »
I dont expect LP to come out and cuss or fight with anyone...

So what he and Wim was doing, playing pat-a-cake?  :devil:

« Reply #28 on: March 03, 2011, 09:28:42 PM »
As much as I can't condone the govt paying US$60,000 when TTFF should manage their finances better, I just want to play devils advocate here.

TTFF are flat broke, but they want to appoint a big name coach. Maybe the others would take less, but demanded they bring their own assistants which, maybe, meant the cost of a new coach would be, say US$100,000 in total. So Pfister looks good value for money once you add in salaries for local coaches.

However, to be critical, I agree, this is shortsighted. Anyone would be crazy to employ a 73 year old guy in a stressful position. Maybe if he had his own team of coaches, it would be less stressful. But its likely that he would not stay longer than 4 years. Statistically, he may not even LIVE 4 years (not wishing ill on the man, but morbidity rates don't look good in this profession!) So, in 4 years time, we're back to putting our local coaches in charge, who, we know, don't cut the mustard.

I would have preferred a younger coach with an assistant who could step up in the future. If you fail to plan, you plan to fail!

« Reply #29 on: March 03, 2011, 09:36:42 PM »
Well let's not throw in the towel yet fellas.  Is T&T ball so it must have some kinda drama.  On the bright side though.  (As I grin from ear to ear)  ;D.   We have COACH.   Qualified to.   That is good news considering our most recent past.  I am hopeful. Glass half full.  :chilling:

More importantly than giving him staff, is getting him players.   ::)   Flex do yuh thing.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2011, 09:38:34 PM by Preacher »