April 28, 2024, 08:47:01 PM

Author Topic: Fruits of T&T  (Read 70124 times)

Re: Sapodilla.
« Reply #30 on: March 05, 2011, 06:45:40 AM »
Balata real nice. I partial to Tanka beans, plum, sugar apple. And could eat chennet and pomerac all day.
hmm hmm Tanka bean and chennet yah say day .
Well ah guess we could add five finger and gauva then.There is also caimate and a nice cashew top is really sweet too. Tallman you want to do the honours .
and doh talk about figs ,what is name chichito that the small ones right .the ones birds like think it named after a bird
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 06:59:49 AM by Quags »

Re: Fruits of T&T
« Reply #31 on: March 05, 2011, 09:31:16 AM »
silk fig and sikyé fig.,

« Reply #32 on: March 05, 2011, 10:48:58 AM »
Ah go have to try that primrose....my fruit is pomerac

Couldn't find pomerac this year...everybody only importing fruits, iz one setta apple and grapes ???

« Reply #33 on: March 05, 2011, 11:00:14 AM »

Couldn't find pomerac this year...everybody only importing fruits, iz one setta apple and grapes ???

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
have to agree; as a one who  is back home each year, I am appalled by the lack of local fruits in the supermarkets. Now I realize for every fruit there is a season, but oh geezam last July in Pricemart  right next to some local fruits ah watching all the grapes, apples and pears , the majority of shoppers  buying foreign oui..
Now everyone have they pejorative all I would like to see is more of a promotion and  marketing of the local fruit delicacies.

« Reply #34 on: March 05, 2011, 11:45:55 AM »
We Trinis too dam pompous buying grapes and apples in front of such beautil tasting tropical fruits.

« Reply #35 on: March 05, 2011, 11:49:57 AM »
We Trinis too dam pompous buying grapes and apples in front of such beautil tasting tropical fruits.
dunce..if dey not on sale how we pompous trinis go buy it?

ka ka hole
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 02:06:21 PM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #36 on: March 05, 2011, 01:55:27 PM »

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
have to agree; as a one who  is back home each year, I am appalled by the lack of local fruits in the supermarkets. Now I realize for every fruit there is a season, but oh geezam last July in Pricemart  right next to some local fruits ah watching all the grapes, apples and pears , the majority of shoppers  buying foreign oui..
Now everyone have they pejorative all I would like to see is more of a promotion and  marketing of the local fruit delicacies.

No money in local fruits...
It all comes down to business.  Another reasoning is that the foreign fruits last longer than local fruits...pomerac goes bad fast.  Apples and grapes and pears can last long due to the pesticides and hormones they putting in.  Even worse Trinbagonians putting that in their body.

« Reply #37 on: March 05, 2011, 03:56:58 PM »
dunce..if dey not on sale how we pompous trinis go buy it?

ka ka hole
f**k OFF with yuh rass clart underbred pride.

« Reply #38 on: March 05, 2011, 07:06:06 PM »
Tonka Bean

Chennette

Silk Fig

Gros Michel

Caimit

Hog Plum

King Orange

Poteegal

Cashew

Red Cherry
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 07:09:48 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #39 on: March 05, 2011, 07:46:09 PM »
Tallman yuh is boss look nah dem pictures have be craving....... look  here is the challenge find ah picture for each fruit mentioned in this thread LEH WE CALL THIS THREAD THE OFFICIAL FRUITS BABES.

« Reply #40 on: March 05, 2011, 09:16:48 PM »
Tallman yuh is boss look nah dem pictures have be craving....... look  here is the challenge find ah picture for each fruit mentioned in this thread LEH WE CALL THIS THREAD THE OFFICIAL FRUITS BABES.

This is de rest of dem so far:

Sapodilla

Pommerac

Soursop

Pommecythere

Douxdoux mango

Five Fingers

Guava

Damson Plum

Pomegranate

Jack Fruit

Breadfruit

Chataigne

« Reply #41 on: March 06, 2011, 02:39:34 AM »
Boss picks.....

Cleaning  Chataigne iz ah day wuk

« Reply #42 on: March 06, 2011, 04:28:25 AM »
Have mercy on people who cyah get those fruits,what beauties. :'(

« Reply #43 on: March 06, 2011, 06:20:19 AM »
Tallman, you have photos of the following?

tamarind
governor plum
coconut
julie, long starch, rose, vere mangoes
passion fruit
zaboca
sorrel (i think this actually a flower)
mamey seepo

technically speaking, toupi tambou is a root and not a fruit

« Reply #44 on: March 06, 2011, 06:43:06 AM »
What is this Jack fruit ,we have that ?how that is eat ?
never even heard of damson plum and never get any red cherry from anybody. unless it was it was preserved ...hey.
how those things taste
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 06:46:25 AM by Quags »

« Reply #45 on: March 06, 2011, 08:27:20 AM »
Barbadine and pawpaw and mamisiporte.

« Reply #46 on: March 06, 2011, 09:21:22 AM »
Tallman, you have photos of the following?

tamarind
governor plum
coconut
julie, long starch, rose, vere mangoes
passion fruit
zaboca
sorrel (i think this actually a flower)
mamey seepo

Tamarind

Governor Plum

Governor Plum aka Series

Passion Fruit

Mamey Sapote

Coconut

Sorrel

Zaboca

« Reply #47 on: March 06, 2011, 09:47:49 AM »
What is this Jack fruit ,we have that ?how that is eat ?

jackfruit (katahar) taste sweet... but it difficult to find nowadays....

The leaves of the tree  and other leaves such as mango leaf and tulsi leaf is used for Hindu funeral ceremonies...

« Reply #48 on: March 06, 2011, 11:19:16 AM »
Tallman you solve a mystery that's been troubling me for many many years now.  I had pois doux when I was small and I have been looking for it ever since but I didn't know what it was called.  It seems a lot of people are not familiar that fruit because I used to get a lot of blank stares when I described it.

My wife and I have also been arguing about which berry is called series and thanks to you...I've been proven WRONG.  I'll won't hear the end of that for a long time  ::)

« Reply #49 on: March 06, 2011, 12:43:44 PM »
Pomegranates?that is a big surprise.

« Reply #50 on: March 06, 2011, 12:46:02 PM »
Tallman yah win by remembering series jed .
those governor plums look so good.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 12:52:09 PM by Quags »

« Reply #51 on: March 06, 2011, 02:51:17 PM »
Don't start talking about Barbadine! That soursop and sea moss make some good drink and ice cream

« Reply #52 on: March 06, 2011, 05:54:38 PM »
My wife and I have also been arguing about which berry is called series and thanks to you...I've been proven WRONG.  I'll won't hear the end of that for a long time  ::)

Doh study it. Fuh years I having de same argument wit meh brethren. It so happens dat de term Governor Plum is used both for plum and series (de one yuh does roll in yuh hand tuh sorfen up before eating).

Don't start talking about Barbadine! That soursop and sea moss make some good drink and ice cream

Barbadine

Cocoa

Paw paw

« Reply #53 on: March 06, 2011, 07:33:53 PM »
Had a sapodilla yday

« Reply #54 on: March 06, 2011, 09:34:13 PM »
BALATA  :drool: :drool: :drool: :drool: :drool: :drool:

Daz de sweetest right dey!  :notworthy:  Big up de caimate and sapodilla too. De closest ting they have to dem fruits here in the US is a persimmon. Dat too does get lash mercilessly!

Anybody ever hear about a fruit called primrose? It has a distinctive smell and looks like a green pomerac. Daz one that left an indelible impression on my taste buds as ah chile.

Heard of it but never tasted it.

« Reply #55 on: March 06, 2011, 09:39:10 PM »
But then it have fruit we used to eat and now I doh know why, like downs or sour cherry.
Why we used to eat that eh? downs tying up yuh mout and sour cherry have yuh squinging yuh face. But I think the worse for me was Cashew. When yuh done yuh throat raw.

Nah man, dongs nice. Depends on de stage of ripeness. Plus it have different kinds like snatty nose and toetee

Sour cherry does go good wit salt and pepper, and it does taste wicked when it preserved.

Tallman you making up thing. You tellin the man he was eating the toetee kind hence the displeasing taste?  I never hear bout no Toetee downs.   ;D     Next thing is punany plum.   ;D

« Reply #56 on: March 06, 2011, 09:45:39 PM »
This thread make my mouth water.  :drool:

« Reply #57 on: March 07, 2011, 07:38:27 AM »

dais because yuh studyin punany plum

« Reply #58 on: March 07, 2011, 09:59:20 AM »

dais because yuh studyin punany plum

Obviously   ;D

« Reply #59 on: March 07, 2011, 02:49:33 PM »
That fruit yuh have in TT called "Five Fingers",I never know we had that,its one of the most expensive fruits I have seen in England,ah bought one out of curiosity once,ah must have paid close on £2.00,but it tasted really bad,no taste that I could describe.I wonder if yuh have to cook it or something so.