April 20, 2024, 09:18:30 AM

Author Topic: Will we be a better society as a result of funds allotted for carnival?  (Read 2520 times)

 Minister of Education, Minister of Arts and Culture, Right honourable Prime Minister,     What is the benefit to human capital as a result of how we choose to spend or allocate funds for carnival? As a society will we be a better place as a result of this spending?

Could we be missing an opportunity to look at a model of learning for social change that may have greater impact if we use of funding differently?

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53055.0

Consider the tremendous amount of money over the years that have been funneled into our sports programs; consider the amount of money that we are  giving to professional athletes? what returns have we gotten that has made a considerable impact on social change?

Consider the whimsical manner in which it was decided to allot 2 million to winners  during the carnival season?  what was the desired impact of that decision?

What if we considered some well intentioned mutual purposes for deploying public funds that would impact not only partial segments of society but influence the core, the roots the foundation of our society? Could we take a look at a model  for social change that is happening in Venezuela?

http://www.sjsu.edu/faculty/diana.hollinger/research.html click on this topic  on top of the page:

# "The Venezuelan Music Education Model: an Instrument for Social Change in California?" California Music Educator's Association State Magazine, Fall, 2007.

How could we all begin to be  proactive and solution focused rather than blaming the ills of the past and questions the decisions of the present?

This is just  one humble opinion as a concerned national who would  like someday to retire in his land of  his birth without fear and worry  to face each day.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 02:32:43 PM by AB.Trini »

Will we be a better society as a result of funds allotted for carnival?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 02:22:31 PM »
Govt spends $100m for C2k11
Published: Sun, 2011-03-06 22:43
Shaliza Hassanali

The National Carnival Commission (NCC) has pumped a staggering $100 million into C2K11. NCC chairman Kenny de Silva said the money injected is expected to generate in excess of $1 billion in business for T&T, as our country moves to make Carnival a profitable and viable business. De Silva said hotels, restaurants, souvenir shops, airlines and other businesses would benefit from the staging of the two-day festival. “Carnival generates $1 billion according to a study undertaken a few years ago.  It is quite possible we could exceed this figure this year. There are different spin offs from Carnival.” De Silva said Carnival was one of the biggest tourism products T&T was showcasing, with thousands of visitors coming to our shores who will be carrying back the message of what we offer.  Of the $100 million spent, de Silva said $45 million will be distributed in prizes, $52 million went towards the building of two stands at the Queen’s Park Savannah, while the remaining $3 million will be expended on security services, meals, refreshments and stipend for judges, construction of the vendors’ booths, setting up of a Carnival village and preparation for all NCC’s venues. De Silva said the NCC has ensured that taxpayers get their monies’ worth. Government allocated $130 million to NCC for 2011.

$2 million more for Grand Stand
De Silva admitted there was cost overrun of $2 million with the construction of the Grand Stand.
“I don’t see any overruns outside of the defined budgets.” De Silva explained that the stands in the Savannah were supposed to cost $42 million plus VAT. “There may be a small overrun in the Grand Stand....maybe a five per cent, which is tolerable. We are looking at $2 million. That is my estimate. We are yet to receive the final figure.” Speaking at his NCC office last Thursday, de Silva said NCC had already retained the services of five security firms to ensure law and order.

Higher security presence for 2011
Hundreds of armed and unarmed security guards, including K9 officers, de Silva said, will be out in full force at all NCC’s venues downtown and in San Fernando. The security officers, de Silva said, will be working closely with the protective services, mainly at Adam Smith and Victoria Squares, the Savannah, Down Town, Piccadilly Greens and Skinner’s Park. Though the security officers will be paid hourly rates ranging from $20 to $45, de Silva could not say how much this would cost taxpayers, since this still had to be worked out by the security firms and submitted to his office. “This year you will be seeing a higher presence of security officers when compared to previous years because we expect this Carnival to be the biggest.” Hundreds of Cepep workers will also be out on the streets from Friday to clean and clear discarded costumes and litter in a timely fashion.

Dimanche Gras expected to be sold out
De Silva said that by today 15,000 tickets priced between $80 to $350 are expected to be sold out.
The Grand Stand can accommodate 7,500 patrons, while North Stand can seat 8,000. “This Carnival, people have shown a level of enthusiasm in purchasing tickets and enquiring information about NCC’s shows.” De Silva said that for the 30 years he has been involved in Carnival, this year people have been more zealous and excited to be part of the action, especially since mas’ has returned to the Savannah. De Silva assured that patrons will leave with a lasting impression when the Calypso Monarch winner walks away with his $2 million first prize.

What is the benefit to human capital?  Will  OUR SOCIETY be a better place as a result of this spending?
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 02:33:03 PM by AB.Trini »

Minister of Education, Minister of Arts and Culture, Right honourable Prime Minister,     What is the benefit to human capital as a result of how we choose to spend or allocate funds for carnival? As a society will we be a better place as a result of this spending?

Could we be missing an opportunity to look at a model of learning for social change that may have greater impact if we use of funding differently?

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53055.0

Consider the tremendous amount of money over the years that have been funneled into our sports programs; consider the amount of money that we are  giving to professional athletes? what returns have we gotten that has made a considerable impact on social change?

Consider the whimsical manner in which it was decided to allot 2 million to winners  during the carnival season?  what was the desired impact of that decision?

What if we considered some well intentioned mutual purposes for deploying public funds that would impact not only partial segments of society but influence the core, the roots the foundation of our society? Could we take a look at a model  for social change that is happening in Venezuela?

http://www.sjsu.edu/faculty/diana.hollinger/research.html click on this topic  on top of the page:

# "The Venezuelan Music Education Model: an Instrument for Social Change in California?" California Music Educator's Association State Magazine, Fall, 2007.

How could we all begin to be  proactive and solution focused rather than blaming the ills of the past and questions the decisions of the present?

This is just one humble opinion as a concerned national who would  like someday to retire in his land of  his birth without fear and worry  to face each day.

Alberta, one of the questions they ask in the article of the program is 'what will we have in thrirty years?' We can barely plan 10-15 years ahead in T&T!

I meet up with a dude from nigeria , and a dude from South Africa and the both hear about trini carnival now. Whenever I mention to anybody I from trini- they say carnival.  I do a google search for carnival and trini was 3 of the 1st 5 hits. We have something bredrin.  The only competitions n a global scale is brazil which the word gettin out can't compete..and then mardi gras, which even americans realizin stale no arse...so we could potentially have something a lot bigger and longer lasting than anything else in the world, if we keep promoting it (including keeping local interest) right. We will definitely be a better society for it, and is part of we culture.

Kounty ah hear yuh but we shouldnt be too quick to promote trinidad carnival abroad.....we have to preserve and protect it from foreigners.

too many leaches come to our shores with there camera crews, music technology etc and steal what is rightfully our intellectual Property.....

they goe back to their countries....create DVD's, CD'S, variety programmes.....and we get not 1 cent from this.....

I have witnessed first hand scenarios where films crews would start filming costumes and certain massmen have had run ins with them.....to stop and get out of here....because they didnt ask....

Kounty ah hear yuh but we shouldnt be too quick to promote trinidad carnival abroad.....we have to preserve and protect it from foreigners.

too many leaches come to our shores with there camera crews, music technology etc and steal what is rightfully our intellectual Property.....

they goe back to their countries....create DVD's, CD'S, variety programmes.....and we get not 1 cent from this.....

I have witnessed first hand scenarios where films crews would start filming costumes and certain massmen have had run ins with them.....to stop and get out of here....because they didnt ask....

If you on a public road, why I cyah film you?

Really this is about the locals getting with the program and promoting themselves as well. We already mentioned this in the Calypso thread, you can find every snatty-nose soca man song on youtube, but Calypsonians still walking around to radio stations handing out cds and hoping to sell enough to break even.

alberta, your question implies that there is a way to assess the "benefit" of carnival funding decisions on "human capital". perhaps there is some other worthier trinbago venture that is starved for govt funds that represents an opportunity cost. yuh have some specific program in mind? ???

This is just  one humble opinion as a concerned national who would  like someday to retire in his land of  his birth without fear and worry  to face each day.

So yuh live abroad, pay yuh taxes abroad and den want to tell TnT how to spend its money so that you could enjoy yuh retirement?

Ryan,
With all due respect, I may live abroad and pay taxes abroad but I do have vested interest in addition to  my relatives  who are subjected to the  challenges of many of the issues we raise on this forum. I am not oblivious to the issues nor  does my status here absolves me of  looking out for my COUNTRY!!!!!

I am not dictating nor prescribing how money ought to be spent; I simply asked in  the allocation of the sums of money been bandied about has the potential to improve the society and in an oblique manner, I have suggested a program that the Venezuelans are implementing with music.

The inference is that we could probably use our money to invest in our cultural art forms to improve the lot of many. The idea was not to criticize but to offer and look at positive solutions within my LAND ; I BORN GREW UP DEY AND I GO ALWAYS BE AH TRINI!!!!

apologies alberta - ah read the link. yeah, this kind of program would be nice. dey build that performing arts centre, might as well use it for something.

Re: Will we be a better society as a result of funds allotted for carnival?
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2011, 11:19:38 PM »
The previous gov't was leading to that direction. That is why NAPA was built. It was supposed to be the major concert hall. They were also building one in Sando. I am not sure about Tobago. The students selectied would have been tutored at NAPA and the other music centers. Hence the purchase of the controversial Bosendorf pianos. I don't know what this current admin. thinks about pursuing that music education of the previous gov't. They may have something in mind. I do think with their multicultural approach we may have more East Indian music and indian musical instrument in their  progam.

By the way, the big buss-up between Rowley and Manning and Calder HArt. was about this NAPA. More so to do about a hotel that was to be built next to NAPA. The hotel was to house students and guest performs. But Rowley questioned the way it was done. It was on the original plan, then dropped. Then when NAPA was being built, it was included by Calder Hart. Rowley questioned that, this I think started the downward spiral of Patos and the PNM.

I have seen videos of the Ven. music program. It is amazing. Mind you Ven. has to money to do it. But boy if that could be implemented in TT  without the usual rachifee, that would be great.

« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2011, 10:12:19 AM »
So AB the answer to your question is NO. Let the coalition apologists suck salt. By injecting $100 million (doh forget these are the same people who say the treasury was empty) they have effectively bought Carnival. When the Prime Minister makes it her duty to personally hand out these $2million checks then it is all about her. Remember perception is reality and she wants to be perceived as a woman of the people.
Now tell me the highest honor a calypsonian can receive is that of Calypso Monarch. When you have the chutney, groovy and power competitions receiving the same money as that of the calypso monarch and panorama winners what then happens is nothing but the trivialization of carnival because it is pan and kaiso(not its genres) that have made carnival what it is.

« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2011, 07:19:08 AM »
100 mil investment for a 1 billion return...I say spend money yes.

We ent have nuttin else...when the oil and gas runs out whats left?

Listen everybody has an opportunity to make money in the season.....besides most of the money is made off returning nationals and foreigners anyway.

The taxi drivers, vendors, hotels...everybody is glad for the lil extra change.

We have a goldmine here and just have to organize and market it properly and we will be set.

The thing is yuh have to know what you trying to do and specialise...keep the jab jab, midknight robber and traditional carnival characters and bands like Mc farlane or push the beads and feathers of the Tribe's and Island People etc.

They could organize Carnival around college spring break....section off a piece of the island and do it MTV style and bring down students and young adults or you could get nice guided pan yard toours and ting for the geriatrics.

Keeping them safe....is what is important.

« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2011, 05:22:29 PM »
Well, well, well. I have heard so many complaints about our carnival mentality which is the 'biggest drawback" to our society. Fete and good times is all we think about. Now we heard buisness and tourist official talking about more min carnivals.  So what do we really want?

« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2011, 12:06:49 AM »
Plain and simple in the end. Carnival is ah business and from the premier heading of my opinion there are several openings of various avenues,opportunities and ideas that can be implemented.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 12:09:12 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #15 on: March 11, 2011, 05:11:46 AM »

If you on a public road, why I cyah film you?

Really this is about the locals getting with the program and promoting themselves as well. We already mentioned this in the Calypso thread, you can find every snatty-nose soca man song on youtube, but Calypsonians still walking around to radio stations handing out cds and hoping to sell enough to break even.

If you are filming for personal use there is no problem. If it is for commercial gain, then as far as i know, the proper thing to do is to secure model releases (which eh happening on the road) or get other permission to use the info in a commercial way.

I think that is where the problem is....not showing the people the proper respect, because I could bet you they would (and could) never do that at an NBA or NFL game
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2011, 12:56:15 AM »
No problem with the 'business' of carnival and the  infusion of $$$ to the economy. How could  government support of the art forms associated with Carnival be better used to educate and to assist with social  reforms in the country?

« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2011, 01:42:10 PM »
Who gives a f****k Now that I have yuh attention....... are we not  visionary  to see the potential in our arts  form besides the obvious?
« Last Edit: March 19, 2011, 01:44:15 PM by AB.Trini »