April 28, 2024, 12:05:25 PM

Author Topic: 2011 Gold Cup Thread.  (Read 76242 times)

2011 Gold Cup Thread.
« on: March 07, 2011, 06:20:07 AM »
SPICE BOYZ TO ENHANCE TEAM FOR GOLD CUP
http://www.gfa.gd

http://www.gfa.gd/component/content/article/1-latest-news/70-spice-boyz-to-enhance-team-for-gold-cup

ST GEORGE’S, Grenada - Grenada Football Association (GFA)is seeking to strengthen the senior men’s national team ahead of its second outing in the CONCACAF Gold Cup to be staged in the USA from June 5th to 25th.

The GFA has confirmed that the new management of the senior team will be looking toward the United Kingdom for more accomplished professionals with
Grenadian roots.

Among those being targeted are Blackburn Rovers’ Jason Roberts, Everton’s Jermaine Beckford and Wycombe Wanderers’ defender Leon Johnson.

US-based Shalrie Joseph and Craig Rocastle are also expected to feature prominently in the Spice Boyz line-up. Joseph plays for the New England
Revolution in Major League Soccer and Rocastle is a midfielder with Sporting Kansas City also in the MLS.

In recent years the GFA, has secured the services of UK-based players to enhance the team in international tournaments including World Cup
preliminaries. The team is hoping for an improved performance and possible second round qualification in the 2011 Gold Cup Tournament.

The GFA has extended an invitation to players with Grenadian roots and who are interested in representing Grenada to contact the Technical Committee of the association.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 06:37:57 AM by Flex »

Re: 2011 Gold Cup Thread.
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 07:45:54 AM »
Interesting to see If Jermain Beckford accepts the invitation from Grenada, knowing that he is also eligible to play for Jamaica.

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 09:51:17 AM »
Interesting to see If Jermain Beckford accepts the invitation from Grenada, knowing that he is also eligible to play for Jamaica.
What a shame we Trinis didn't have reason to go to the UK as early as other Caribbean people,I suppose these people left their shores to seek a life much better than what they experienced in their homelands.TT people did leave TT but a high percentage ended up studying and even if they stayed their children followed suit,recently though some Trinis have had kids who are getting involved in football.We should still be proud of what we have achieved in 2006 and getting so close in 1990, with virtually all home grown players.

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2011, 09:59:40 AM »
What a shame we Trinis didn't have reason to go to the UK as early as other Caribbean people,I suppose these people left their shores to seek a life much better than what they experienced in their homelands.TT people did leave TT but a high percentage ended up studying and even if they stayed their children followed suit,recently though some Trinis have had kids who are getting involved in football.We should still be proud of what we have achieved in 2006 and getting so close in 1990, with virtually all home grown players.

there are guys eligible to play for us but it seems we don't Scout/approach players in the UK we only look at the USA and Canadian players

« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2011, 11:43:41 AM »

The teams from the caribbean are no longer looking to UK born players like they used to 10 years ago. In Jamaica's case back in 1997/98, we had virtually no Jamaican born and bred professional players playing outside of Jamaica that were eligible to be called upon. Today, Jamaica can easily assemble 18 players who it has exported to various leagues accross europe and North America in the past 5 years. At the same time, players such as Nyron Nosworthy has repeatedly called upon the JFF for consideration in future squads with little success. Ashley Young once approached the JFF about his eligibility, but the JFF never showed further interest (in this case, i thought this is one that got away from the JFF). So its somewhat of a double-edged sword. There are at least 5 players in the EPL TODAY who are eligible for Jamaica and would probably accept if given the call, but have not been given a look. Why, because we have more options today than we did back then. Not that I'm saying these playes should be scorned...but its a good problem to have, as we continue to export more and more players to professional clubs accross the globe. Gone are the days when you could walk into a caribbean side (particularly the big 2 Ja and T&T) and start simply because you are a UB40.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 12:46:55 PM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2011, 01:03:25 PM »
Ah see way yuh saying Reggaefan. 8)

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2011, 11:50:52 AM »
Mexico-El Salvador to highlight Gold Cup opener

NEW YORK - Five-time and defending champion Mexico will open the CONCACAF Gold Cup against El Salvador on June 5 as the nightcap of a Group A doubleheader at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, that will also feature Costa Rica vs. Cuba, the confederation announced Tuesday.

Caribbean and Central American champions Jamaica and Honduras will be paired in Group B and begin play the following night at The Home Depot Center in Carson, California, with the Reggae Boyz facing Grenada and the Catrachos playing Guatemala.

North American rivals the United States and Canada will complete the opening round of games on Tuesday, June 7 at Ford Field in Detroit, clashing in the second game of a Group C doubleheader that will open with Panama against Guadeloupe.

"We are extremely excited for this year's Gold Cup and are completely confident that it will be the best ever," CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer said. "We are bringing our fans the region's best football in fantastic venues - with a lot on the line. It is truly a can't-miss event."

Round-robin play will resume on Thursday, June 9, with Group A matches at Charlotte, North Carolina, and continue through June 14, whittling the field to the eight quarterfinalists, which will then begin knockout matches June 18 at the New Meadowlands Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

A second doubleheader of quarterfinal matches is set for RFK Stadium in Washington on June 19, with a semifinal doubleheader on June 22 at Reliant Stadium in Houston.

The final will be played June 25 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.
A week of exclusive pre-sales is to begin Wednesday. Those wishing to purchase tickets are asked to call the local stadium box office or local MLS team for further information. Tickets will go on sale to the general public on March 16 through www.Ticketmaster.com.

CONCACAF GOLD CUP
All Times U.S. Eastern (Local times in parentheses)
GROUP A: Mexico, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Cuba
GROUP B: Honduras, Guatemala, Jamaica, Grenada
GROUP C: USA, Canada, Panamá, Guadeloupe

First Round
Sunday, June 5
At Arlington, Texas
Costa Rica vs. Cuba, 6 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Mexico vs. El Salvador, 8 p.m. (7 p.m.)

Monday, June 6
At Carson, California
Jamaica vs. Grenada, 9 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Honduras vs. Guatemala, 11 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Tuesday, June 7
At Detroit
Panama vs. Guadeloupe, 6 p.m. (6 p.m.)
United States vs. Canada, 8 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Thursday, June 9
At Charlotte, North Carolina
Costa Rica vs. El Salvador, 7 p.m. (7 p.m.)
Cuba vs. Mexico, 9 p.m. (9 p.m.)

Friday, June 10
At Miami
Jamaica vs. Guatemala, 7 p.m. (7 p.m.)
Grenada vs. Honduras, 9 p.m. (9 p.m.)

Saturday, June 11
At Tampa, Florida
Canada vs. Guadeloupe, 6 p.m. (6 p.m.)
United States vs. Panama, 8 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Sunday, June 12
At Chicago
El Salvador vs. Cuba, 6 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Mexico vs. Costa Rica, 8 p.m. (7 p.m.)

Monday, June 13
At Harrison, New Jersey
Guatemala vs. Grenada, 7 p.m. (7 p.m.)
Honduras vs. Jamaica, 9 p.m. (9 p.m.)

Tuesday, June 14
At Kansas City, Kansas
Canada vs. Panama, 7 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Guadeloupe vs. United States, 9 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Quarterfinals
Saturday, June 18
At East Rutherford, New Jersey
Group A runner-up vs. Group B runner-up-x
Group A winner vs. Group B/C third-place-x
x-matches scheduled for 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. (5 p.m. and 8 p.m. local) with order TBD

Sunday, June 19
At Washington
Group B winner vs. Group C runner-up-y
Group C winner vs. Group A/B third place-y
y-matches scheduled for 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. (3 p.m. and 6 p.m. local) with order TBD

Semifinals
Wednesday, June 22
At Houston
Quarterfinal winners-z
z-matches scheduled for 7 p.m. and 10 p.m. (6 p.m. and 9 p.m. local) with order TBD

Final
Saturday, June 25
At Pasadena, California
Semifinal winners, 9 p.m. (6 p.m.)
jjbrown

« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2011, 01:19:58 PM »
Ah seeing Jamaica somewhere up there with the 3 other top teams,whoever they turn out to be.All the best to the Boyz.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2011, 01:42:44 PM »
Ah seeing Jamaica somewhere up there with the 3 other top teams,whoever they turn out to be.All the best to the Boyz.

On Paper, Jamaica should be able to finish at least second in its group. I'd give Honduras a slight edge in winning the group, and, if histrory is anything to go by, Jamaica should get the better of Guatemala. Not that I'm writing off Grenada.

I'd say Jamaica got a fairly easy group, but thats what happens when you go into the tournament as cmapions of your region.  Group C USA, Canada, Panamá, Guadeloupe: any of Canada, Panama, and guadeloupe could accompany the USA through. group B will be the usual suspects Mex and CRC

quarterfinalists:

USA
MEX
CRC
HON
JAM
PAN
CAN (best third place)
SAL (best third place)
« Last Edit: March 08, 2011, 01:47:07 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2011, 03:23:48 PM »
ah backing grenada in this tournament. we is almost family.

« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2011, 08:21:24 PM »
well boys and girls, we miss out on the liming this year  :'(

ah have a Southwest ticket and I might be landing in a city near you  ;)

« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2011, 11:48:07 AM »
dat mexico costa rica game in chicago gonna draw the biggest crowd for the tournament. Trus mi dat game gonna be fyar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! last game wid both of those teams was maddnest..
I eh missing out both of theese game for nothing..

« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2011, 08:44:22 PM »
What is this "Gold Cup" of which you speak?

« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2011, 08:56:35 PM »
What is this "Gold Cup" of which you speak?

« Reply #14 on: March 10, 2011, 03:50:48 PM »
How Come Group B look like the most traveled group? From Cali to Florida and then to NJ  ??? The other 2 groups with USA and MEX seems to be concentrated in one section of the country...hmmm

« Reply #15 on: June 05, 2011, 08:30:03 AM »
Watch games live starting today....

Group A
6:00 PM Costa Rica v Cuba
8:00 PM Mexico v El Salvador

http://www.concacaftv.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Home/
« Last Edit: June 05, 2011, 08:35:36 AM by Flex »

« Reply #16 on: June 05, 2011, 11:22:05 AM »
 :yawning: :yawning:

......chups we eh interested in this, we going Brazil!!

« Reply #17 on: June 05, 2011, 11:45:37 AM »
:yawning: :yawning:

......chups we eh interested in this, we going Brazil!!

;)

« Reply #18 on: June 05, 2011, 03:51:19 PM »
any live internet link available guys..

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2011, 04:10:54 PM »

« Reply #20 on: June 05, 2011, 04:12:14 PM »

« Reply #21 on: June 05, 2011, 04:17:42 PM »
I get it now cr 1 up on cuba

« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2011, 04:38:46 PM »
Cuba looking composed and organized, and trying to play the game, but about every 4-5 minutes or so, Costa Rica does cut them apart. This half could just as easily end 3-0 CR as tied 1-1

« Reply #23 on: June 05, 2011, 05:13:22 PM »
Cuba coach need a bull pistle. They decide to play a high line to squeeze the play into Costa-Rica half of the field, but when your central defenders playing on the half line, they playing flat across and get beat twice in 3 minutes by a simple through-ball.

4-0 now barely 3 minutes gone in the 2nd half.

« Reply #24 on: June 05, 2011, 05:38:14 PM »
Cuba coach need a bull pistle. They decide to play a high line to squeeze the play into Costa-Rica half of the field, but when your central defenders playing on the half line, they playing flat across and get beat twice in 3 minutes by a simple through-ball.

4-0 now barely 3 minutes gone in the 2nd half.

5-0 now...

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #25 on: June 05, 2011, 05:40:41 PM »
Costa Rica putting  ah beating on Cuba....5-0 now

« Reply #26 on: June 05, 2011, 05:49:56 PM »
Costa Rica putting  ah beating on Cuba....5-0 now

And we were struggling to beat Cuba in Gold Cup qualification so that could have been us taking that beating!
Thank God we are not in this Gold Cup to save ourselves from that sort of embarassment!   :beermug:

« Reply #27 on: June 05, 2011, 05:51:53 PM »
these are teams we struggle with in the caribbean.let's see what Grenada do.

« Reply #28 on: June 05, 2011, 06:02:19 PM »
Cuba would be a good team for us to play again. Like I said they organized and come to play. But they a lil naive in the back and the coaching adjustment at half time set them up for the cutass. After those 2 goals, they were just playing to end the half.

If you going to play that offside trap, then you need a midfielder or somebody to track the runs. What happens with us normally is that we play too deep and leave space for the cutback and the knock-down.

« Reply #29 on: June 05, 2011, 06:18:21 PM »
It will be interesting to see if Mexico change to accommodate Chicharito. By that I mean that at Man U he was living on the deep crosses to the far post and blind-side runs. Mexico tends to play more through the middle.

Right now, he's playing like a winger.