April 28, 2024, 01:25:48 PM

Author Topic: 2011 Gold Cup Thread.  (Read 76245 times)

Offline reggae-fan

Re: 2011 Gold Cup Thread.
« Reply #150 on: June 11, 2011, 06:20:25 AM »
This Guadelupe team has a good fighting spirit. Also... :-[ congrats to Jamaica. That was a commanding 2nd half in particular. Anything less than a semi-final spot with this team should be considered a failure. There is genuine talent in this squad. Definite change from the more pyhsical approach Jam used to use in the late 90s and 2000s.

Side note, Chicharito on his way to destroying Concacaf. 5 goals in 2 games.

The thing about Guadeloupe is that the majority of their players play in the French lower divisions.  Thats why they typically do better than the average caribbean team in the Gold cup tourney.

« Reply #151 on: June 11, 2011, 06:35:03 AM »
This Guadelupe team has a good fighting spirit. Also... :-[ congrats to Jamaica. That was a commanding 2nd half in particular. Anything less than a semi-final spot with this team should be considered a failure. There is genuine talent in this squad. Definite change from the more pyhsical approach Jam used to use in the late 90s and 2000s.

Side note, Chicharito on his way to destroying Concacaf. 5 goals in 2 games.

The thing about Guadeloupe is that the majority of their players play in the French lower divisions.  Thats why they typically do better than the average caribbean team in the Gold cup tourney.

Yeah its a pity they can't compete in WC qualifiers. They're a good team.  Good understanding of the game and decent technical ability.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #152 on: June 11, 2011, 06:45:33 AM »
congrats to JA is one of the best games I ever see them play,total control.Dey string some passes during a stretch in de second half that almost resulted in a goal,it was more than we have done in 3 yrs put togehter.However de top teams not going to give them dat much time to control but I wish dem de best,fly de Caribbean flag high because dem North Americans feel dey controlling everything now.

Didn't like the game much, low level quality from both teams, just that JA win, which is also good. Either team will get killed by USA and Mexico, hell even Canada will cause each loads of problem. Both teams Central presence is very lacking.
The Guatemalans plan was to play the rough physical game which threw off Jamaica's style of play in the first half. Eventually the Reggae Boyz started to play which led to the dominating performance leading to the goals and a Jamaica win.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sports/Red-hot-Boyz_8995594
« Last Edit: June 11, 2011, 06:49:18 AM by jamaica2099 »
jjbrown

« Reply #153 on: June 11, 2011, 08:01:57 AM »
dem grenadian player sounding kinda english yes.

http://youtu.be/oNtwEcSdUZY

« Reply #154 on: June 11, 2011, 08:42:19 AM »
dem grenadian player sounding kinda english yes.

http://youtu.be/oNtwEcSdUZY
The two players (except the one with a couple words at the end) they interviewed are English

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #155 on: June 11, 2011, 09:07:33 AM »
That was embarrassing. Without Warner, I can see Central America stealing one more spot from CFU. Cuba is a huge disappointment. Grenada is even worse.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

Offline RehanaOmardeenfan

« Reply #156 on: June 11, 2011, 09:26:37 AM »
Grenada had a fat man on they team :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

He was playing striker too...looked almost like Ronaldo last game out there :devil: :devil:

« Reply #157 on: June 11, 2011, 09:55:05 AM »

He was playing striker too...looked almost like Ronaldo last game out there :devil: :devil:

he look like dey bring him out ah retirement from some fete match side.

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #158 on: June 11, 2011, 10:04:28 AM »
Jamaica is playing marvelous football . I  lookingfoward to seeing the JA Honduras clash. Jamaica reaching finals and possibly winning it all.. go reggae boyz .. keep the caribbean flag flying high.. I watch the second half and I could swear I saw JA strang about 30 passes together before guatemala even got close to the ball. Am jealous but gave jack he jacket.. good going boyz I wid you on this one....

I was at the game and trust me- by that time, Guatemala and their supporters had all but given up on the game- which I didn't understand, because at that point they were only down 2-0 with over 10 mins left. The thing that shocked me about JA was the discipline exhibited by the team- they could have played like a typical Caribbean side and tried to only boom-kick and out-athleticize GUA the whole way through, or they could have tried to add the typical agressive physical element all the way through like you'd expect from JA, but instead played a refined "short pass, short through-ball" game that will see them go far in this tournament. Kudos to their coach for that.

As for Grenada- they could have actually stayed in the game if they had learned to defend the flanks. The only time they were in the game was he first 25 mins or so when the Honduran midfielders weren't moving outside at all. Costly is slow like molasses with only a left foot- Honduras is missing the likes of Pavon and Suazo bad. Also, the short dreadlocks guy who subbed in for Honduras is a cut above the rest of his team- I'm going to keep an eye on him in time to come.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #159 on: June 11, 2011, 11:10:32 AM »
That was embarrassing. Without Warner, I can see Central America stealing one more spot from CFU. Cuba is a huge disappointment. Grenada is even worse.

You really believe that the likes of Belize and Nicaragua are better than T&T, Haiti, Cuba, Martinique etc? I would bet on Grenada beating any of those two central american teams. Cuba is probably better if matched with El Salvador or Guatemala...but definately way ahead of teams like Belize and Nicaragua

« Reply #160 on: June 11, 2011, 12:05:29 PM »
Cuba is a decent team. Had they taken their chances in the first half against Mexico and not given so much space to the wingers and unmarked for most of the game, the scoreline would have been different.
 I think we need friendlies against CUBa and El salvador before we move up the playing ladder

« Reply #161 on: June 11, 2011, 12:35:15 PM »

he look like dey bring him out ah retirement from some fete match side.
Thats Facey, he has played for Bolton in the EPL, set up Grenada's goal and also hit the post later in the match.  He gave T&T quite a bit of trouble in the air and holding the ball up in the Caribbean Cup as well.  You may say fat but he is strong as an ox and the Spanish commentators were calling him the tank and saying he should play football at FIU (thats where they were playing).  He also has a grandparent from T&T.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2011, 01:06:55 PM by theworm2345 »

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #162 on: June 11, 2011, 04:43:07 PM »
This link is better than the CONCACAF one: http://futbol.univision.com/copa-oro/partidos-en-vivo/

No need to register.

Canada is dominating Gwada. But, game is still 0-0, just past 30 minutes.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #163 on: June 11, 2011, 06:30:50 PM »
Fútbol 1, sahker 0.

Panama scores in the 20th minute.

Edit:

USA concedes a penalty. Panama scores.

Panama 2 USA 0
« Last Edit: June 11, 2011, 06:47:13 PM by kaliman2006 »

« Reply #164 on: June 11, 2011, 06:46:40 PM »
Like Chuck really piss Uncle Jack off

« Reply #165 on: June 11, 2011, 06:54:45 PM »
panama knockin a nice brand but their crossing ent too hot at times

« Reply #166 on: June 11, 2011, 07:05:54 PM »
panama knockin a nice brand but their crossing ent too hot at times

Agreed. Also, some of their final passes leave a lot to be desired. In defence, they have been lucky not to concede some free kicks in some very dangerous positions. The defenders must time their tackles better.

« Reply #167 on: June 11, 2011, 07:33:27 PM »
Ref having a very good game.

« Reply #168 on: June 11, 2011, 07:41:59 PM »
Panama looking like they going to concede again

« Reply #169 on: June 11, 2011, 08:42:45 PM »
panama 2 - usa 1 final score.

them tallman looking good for a 2014 qualification run

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #170 on: June 11, 2011, 09:18:20 PM »
panama 2 - usa 1 final score.

them tallman looking good for a 2014 qualification run

Dont forget that Panama played in the Gold Cup final a couple years ago. Very athletic, physically sound players, not like the typical central americans (guate, El Sal)

« Reply #171 on: June 12, 2011, 03:43:47 AM »
Panama captain was BOSS in that game. They showed how to beat USA- pressure the ball and fast counterattack. Then again one has to be fit to run for 90+ minutes. Speed is the name of the game in this era.

« Reply #172 on: June 12, 2011, 09:56:49 AM »
The travel for this tournament is tough. None of the teams have a home base, is basically a cross country nomadic trek.
Group A
June 05 Dallas
June 09 Charlotte
June 12 Chicago

Group B
June 06 LA
June 10 Miami
June 13 NY

Group C
June 07 Detroit
June 11 Tampa
June 14 Kansas City

Quarterfinals
June 18 NY
June 19 DC

Semi-Finals
June 22 Houston

Final
June 25 Final

Group A (e.g. Jamaica): LA, Miami, NY, DC, Houston, Pasadena
Group B (e.g. Mexico) : Dallas, Charlotte, Chicago, NY,  Houston, Pasadena
Group C (e.g. USA): Detroit, Tampa, KC, DC, Houston, Pasadena

« Reply #173 on: June 12, 2011, 01:12:39 PM »
 The MNT Blog
News and Notes on the U.S. Men's National Team  
Posted by ussoccer at 6/12/2011 10:04 AM CDT

Here's a look at the scenarios the U.S. team faces heading into Tuesday's match with Guadeloupe. The bottom line is that a win in Kansas City, Kan., will clinch a top-two place in the group for the U.S.

The U.S. has the advantage of playing the last game of the CONCACAF Gold Cup group stage and will know exactly what is needed to advance. The best chance for the U.S. to win the group would be a Canada win against Panama by one or two goals, however, a 3-0 win for Canada also provides for scenarios in which the U.S. could advance.

GROUP C STANDINGS
Team   GP   W   L    T    GF  GA   GD   Pts.
PAN       2    2    0    0    5    3    +2    6
USA       2    1    1    0    3    2    +1    3
CAN       2    1    1    0    1    2    -1    3
GPE       2    0    2    0    2    4    -2    0

TIEBREAKERS
At the end of group play, if two or more teams are equal on points (including ties among third place teams), the manner in which teams will advance to the next round will be resolved as follows and in the order indicated:

a. Greater number of points in matches between the tied teams.
b. Greater Goal Difference in matches between the tied teams (if more than two teams finish equal on points).
c. Greater number of goals scored in matches among the tied teams (if more than two teams finish equal on points).
d. Greater Goal Difference in all group matches.
e. Greater number of goals scored in all group matches.
f. Drawing of lots.

U.S. SCENARIOS

IF PANAMA BEATS CANADA ...

and the U.S. wins, the U.S. advances in second place.
and the U.S. ties, the U.S. advances in second place.
and the U.S. loses by one goal, the U.S. advances in second place.
and the U.S. loses by two or three goals, the U.S. finishes in third place with three points*
and the U.S. loses by four or more goals, the U.S. finishes in fourth place
IF PANAMA AND CANADA TIE ..
and the U.S. wins, the U.S. advances in second place.
and the U.S. ties, the U.S. advances in second place. (tiebreaker: head to head vs Canada)
If Panama ties and the U.S. loses, the U.S. will finish in fourth place. (tiebreaker: head to head vs Guadeloupe)
IF CANADA BEATS PANAMA ...
by one or two goals and the U.S. wins, the U.S. wins the group.
3-0 and the U.S. wins by one or more scoring at least 2, the U.S. will advance in first place.
3-0 and the U.S. wins 1-0, there will be a drawing of lots to determine first or second place.
by three goals, scoring four or more, and the U.S. wins, the U.S. will advance in second place.
by four goals and the U.S. wins, the U.S. advances in second place.
and the U.S. ties, the U.S. will finish in third place with four points**
and the U.S. loses, the U.S. will finish in fourth place.

THIRD PLACE SCENARIOS
(Note: Will be updated daily based on Group A and B results).

* If the U.S. were to advance as a third-place team with three points, one of the following must happen:
Either El Salvador-Cuba or Guatemala-Greneda end in a tie
Either Cuba or Greneda win with a margin of victory that when added to the U.S. margin of defeat is less than 10

** If the U.S. were to advance as a third-place team with four points, one of the following must happen:
Either El Salvador-Cuba or Guatemala-Greneda end in a tie
Either Cuba or Greneda win
Either El Salvador wins by five or fewer goals OR Guatemala wins by two or fewer goals.

Note: There are additional scenarios based on goals scored should El Salvador (-5, 1 GS), Guatemala (-2, 0 GS) and the U.S. (+1, 3 GS) all finish with four points and a +1 goal difference.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #174 on: June 12, 2011, 01:28:52 PM »
The likely scenario here is that the USA will win its game, Panama will tie or beat Canada. USA finsishes second, Panama finishes top, Canada is eliminated.

Second place finisher from the USA group will face the top team from Jamaica's group...as of this moment, Jmaica needs only a tie vs Honduras to finish top. That puts Jamaica on a colision course with the Yanks. I believe they are the team Jamaica would have wanted to avoid more than any one else in the quarter finals.

In other words, there is no real incentive for Jamaica and Honduras to go all out to win their group.

On the flip side, this USA team is obvioulsy not as strong as teams of te past..Panama exposed their weaknesses for all to see. Now would be a good time to take them on and knock them out of the tournament early in their own back-yards. Although Im certain that officials have already been briefed to ensure that teh usa gets fee passage to the final from here on in.  :-\
« Last Edit: June 12, 2011, 01:34:01 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #175 on: June 12, 2011, 01:40:11 PM »
The likely scenario here is that the USA will win its game, Panama will tie or beat Canada. USA finsishes second, Panama finishes top, Canada is eliminated.

Second place finisher from the USA group will face the top team from Jamaica's group...as of this moment, Jmaica needs only a tie vs Honduras to finish top. That puts Jamaica on a colision course with the Yanks. I believe they are the team Jamaica would have wanted o avoid than any one lese in the quarter finals.

In other words, there is no incentive for Jamaica and Honduras to go all out to win the group.

On the flip side, this USA team is obvioulsy not as strong as teams of te past..Panama exposed their weknesses for all to see. Now would be a good time to take them on and knock them out of the tournament early.

Who the USA missing to not be as strong? This is basically the best team the USA can field at any competition. 

Howard   
Bocanegra     
Goodson     
Cherundolo   
Ream   
Dempsey   
Jones     
Bradley   
Donovan   
Altidore     
Agudelo     
Bradley 

Maybe Onyewu, Fielhaber (still a squad player).

Just like the Women's team the US Men's seems to be struggling to find quality players that can replace aging players. As it stands who can replace Dempsey and Donovan?

Offline jamaica98

« Reply #176 on: June 12, 2011, 02:56:31 PM »

Second place finisher from the USA group will face the top team from Jamaica's group...as of this moment, Jmaica needs only a tie vs Honduras to finish top. That puts Jamaica on a colision course with the Yanks. I believe they are the team Jamaica would have wanted o avoid than any one lese in the quarter finals.

In other words, there is no incentive for Jamaica and Honduras to go all out to win the group.

On the flip side, this USA team is obvioulsy not as strong as teams of te past..Panama exposed their weknesses for all to see. Now would be a good time to take them on and knock them out of the tournament early.

Who the USA missing to not be as strong? This is basically the best team the USA can field at any competition. 

Howard   
Bocanegra     
Goodson     
Cherundolo   
Ream   
Dempsey   
Jones     
Bradley   
Donovan   
Altidore     
Agudelo     
Bradley 

Just like the Women's team the US Men's seems to be struggling to find quality players that can replace aging players. As it stands who can replace Dempsey and Donovan?

He did not say they did not have their best team out there....he is comparing this squad to squads of years gone by.....

« Reply #177 on: June 12, 2011, 03:57:58 PM »

Howard   
Bocanegra     
Goodson     
Cherundolo   
Ream   
Dempsey   
Jones     
Bradley   
Donovan   
Altidore     
Agudelo     
Bradley 

He did not say they did not have their best team out there....he is comparing this squad to squads of years gone by.....

Years gone by when? That's what I am saying.

« Reply #178 on: June 12, 2011, 06:30:06 PM »
The US team ain't strong talk, cyah hold water.  Nonetheless, I watched the replays and it seemed like the USA missed many many opportunities.  So the victory maybe a bit out of perspective.  Granted I did not see the game.  all the best to Panama though any win against the favorites is good.  Plus, Jamrock ain't fraid no US.

« Reply #179 on: June 12, 2011, 06:32:47 PM »
I turn to the NBA game for 5 minutes and come back is 2-0 Mexico. When all that happen?