April 27, 2024, 04:36:25 AM

Author Topic: 2011 Gold Cup Thread.  (Read 76148 times)

Re: 2011 Gold Cup Thread.
« Reply #600 on: June 25, 2011, 09:11:18 PM »
some cheap lookin trophy

« Reply #601 on: June 25, 2011, 09:16:51 PM »
An' T&T eh do notten to compete with these guys boy? ooh guude

« Reply #602 on: June 25, 2011, 09:21:59 PM »
That game was real entertainin, glad I tuned in.
Chicharito's through ball for the first was sweet.
#4 was a boss finish by Dos Santos, the space where that passed was very small.
Imagine they scored 4 unanswered goals!

« Reply #603 on: June 25, 2011, 11:05:58 PM »
Mexico is a very kind guest at their hosts home...they let them smell and taste the trophy a little, before they went and grab it and ate all for themselves  :rotfl:

The Mexican fans even shared their beer with them after every Mexican goal  ;D

« Reply #604 on: June 26, 2011, 01:56:36 AM »
Adu looked great, USA looked poor.  Mexico should have won this game alot more comfortably than they did....quality U.S. goals though, but funny enough, they were no where in the game when they scored...very strange how the 1st 25 mins of the game went.   

4-2 actually flattered the States in the end.  Apart from Adu, US has no players with genuine skill and natural expression - Until they figure that out, they will always be on a tier or two below real quality. 

« Reply #605 on: June 26, 2011, 03:36:06 AM »
Adu looked great, USA looked poor.  Mexico should have won this game alot more comfortably than they did....quality U.S. goals though, but funny enough, they were no where in the game when they scored...very strange how the 1st 25 mins of the game went.   

4-2 actually flattered the States in the end.  Apart from Adu, US has no players with genuine skill and natural expression - Until they figure that out, they will always be on a tier or two below real quality

Thank you, Kicker. Is like yuh snatch them words straight from meh heart and mind and dash them like dice into your post. This goes back to Jurgen Klinsmann's comments about the usa needing to "recruit more from the inner city" that went over the heads of the people that was trying to take issue with them. As long as they keep pushing the bland, suburban white-boy brand, their football will always look like it does.  They are masters of fitness, fundamentals and goalkeeping and nothing more.  Every now and then, they will produce a player like dempsey that might have some flair to him (I think he learned something from all them damned Mexicans he grew up with in texas) and I can"t say he isn't a decent player. Every now and then, they will earn a result that permits them to beat their chests: a 1-0 WC knockout loss to Germany; a 3-2 WC thrashing of perennial underachievers, Portugal; a 2-0 defeat of them other Iberian (former) underachievers, Spain; a 2-0 halftime lead over Brazil and that 1-1 draw in south Africa with England.....However, as long as they arrogantly continue seeing themselves as the world beaters (that they are not) both on the pitch and in the commentary booth, they may not see a need to change their......philosophy That arrogance is the weakness the rest of us are supposed to use as motivation to prepare for Brazil 2014 Qualifiers.   

« Reply #606 on: June 26, 2011, 03:41:40 AM »

4-2 actually flattered the States in the end.  Apart from Adu, US has no players with genuine skill and natural expression - Until they figure that out, they will always be on a tier or two below real quality. 
You talking outa timin! don't let yuh bias cloud your vision, Bc fellas like clint dempsey , donovan , edu, altidor , jermain jones (good find) bradley a superb defensive mid, and bocanegra is all top notch quality players, and what i like about them men is that they don't roll on the ground and carry on wid shenanigans when they leading, they does play the game honest wid poise and heart.

the U.S. needs tuh get rid of that badoya guy and the new central defender/ i think his name is goodson or something like that, they were the weakest links in the whole tourney, i think if they had onyewo and clark in the midfield things would've went differently.

mexico got lucky today, the only goal they scored that off set the U.S. defense was the first goal, other than dat, all their goals were weak scrable goals BC of a lack of experience by the newbee defenders and midfielders.

« Reply #607 on: June 26, 2011, 04:51:24 AM »

You talking outa timin! don't let yuh bias cloud your vision, Bc fellas like clint dempsey , donovan , edu, altidor , jermain jones (good find) bradley a superb defensive mid, and bocanegra is all top notch quality players, and what i like about them men is that they don't roll on the ground and carry on wid shenanigans when they leading, they does play the game honest wid poise and heart.

the U.S. needs tuh get rid of that badoya guy and the new central defender/ i think his name is goodson or something like that, they were the weakest links in the whole tourney, i think if they had onyewo and clark in the midfield things would've went differently.

mexico got lucky today, the only goal they scored that off set the U.S. defense was the first goal, other than dat, all their goals were weak scrable goals BC of a lack of experience by the newbee defenders and midfielders.

???

« Reply #608 on: June 26, 2011, 05:25:18 AM »
Didn't realise Mexico wearing Adidas now. !!..

Anybody see Tim Howard face when ever Mexico scores !..... he vex like a tuntun....

« Reply #609 on: June 26, 2011, 05:45:09 AM »
Didn't realise Mexico wearing Adidas now. !!..

Anybody see Tim Howard face when ever Mexico scores !..... he vex like a tuntun....

Mexico been wearin' Adidas maybe 'bout tree-four years now.

Tim "berate 'em" Howard ALWAYS vex (wit he defenders)....he need to get 'bout six big stone and plenty twine.....and the nearest river.

« Reply #610 on: June 26, 2011, 06:49:41 AM »
A man say Mexico get lucky yes .  :rotfl: .  USA get out played plain and simple.

« Reply #611 on: June 26, 2011, 06:50:57 AM »
USA USA USA usa, usa, usa....

« Reply #612 on: June 26, 2011, 06:57:36 AM »
Everybody made valid pro-con points on both teams. I think Onyewu would have made a difference for the US team defensively. But I'll still give the edge to Mex. But I glad the Mex has to bring their A game everytime they play the US. A couple years ago they was showing disdain for the Concacaf. But when US by-passed the CR and Honduras as their most serious rivals the Mex attitude has changed. They now take the group seriously.

But they are worthy champions. Congrats to them.

« Reply #613 on: June 26, 2011, 07:40:13 AM »
The us just get a little stale at the moment, because they have no fresh blood coming through.

USSF have a choice, keep down the current path,

Make the world cup, make the round of 16 and maybe quarters now or them or

Start from now bring in some fresh blood for coaching and a few new players and still maybe make a Quaters or a semis now and them.

Either way the talent is not there to get to the next level at the moment and there is no youths coming through the pipeline to make a step change.

They need to find another pipeline, which is to try to tap into the inner city and immigrant population centers for some more creative talent.

Agudelo is a good start and there may be more coming.

The fact that the MLS teams now have free academies where it is all about ability versus money to play means they are opening up doors to some natural talent.

red bulls for one are pulling a lot of poor spanish youths from jersey and metro NYC area.

The next 5 years will be interesting, Us soccer may experience another growth spurt like in the 90's the base is there, the infrastructure is there. the MLS is there

All they need is for God to send them a
Messi or Ronaldo

Maybe they need a priest.

« Reply #615 on: June 26, 2011, 08:02:11 AM »
Clint Dempsey is a very good player... but what a jackass.  Cameras didn't focus on it but that confrontation he had with the keeper just before Bradley's 79' shot... both of them collided and keeper fell on him.  Dempsey stuck his leg into the keeper's stomach as the keeper was getting off him and essentially kicked him off of him.  Should have been his first yellow.

Agree with Fari... Freddy and Gio stole the show.

Bakes, I used to admire this man play when he was the Revolution eh, but after de incident wid he and Daniel a few years ago where he showed he true colors, ah have seen him exactly as you have stated.  He has to grow up, very immature as a person and it manifests itself on the field.  This larger than life persona he has taken on w/not much to back it up quite frankly on de international football scale says it all.  The US needs less players like him (from a peronality perspective) and more who accept where they are as a footballing nation and aspire to greatness, not believing they have already reached a level of greatness and the world must now watch to show unfold....

« Reply #616 on: June 26, 2011, 08:14:49 AM »
A man say Mexico get lucky yes .  :rotfl: .  USA get out played plain and simple.

JC didn't see the other 3 - 4 goals that Mexico throw way......

For a team that goes to the World Cup consistently there is almost no distinction between US teams of yesteryear.  Their teams look the same year in year out.  Yes they pull off an upset now and again but dais about it.  Dey could beat up on teams in this region, but when it comes to real soccer football dey does fall down flat.....ask Ghana......
« Last Edit: June 26, 2011, 08:17:05 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #617 on: June 26, 2011, 08:21:57 AM »

Mexico got LUCKY??? Is a combined 9 goal de US collect in back to back GC finals.
When Jermain Jones dive and roll around on de ground in de JA game where was his honesty and poise?
Plain and simple de US get ah 'sweat' and Mexico should be given credit for their victory.

« Reply #618 on: June 26, 2011, 08:27:23 AM »
Tim Howard was absolutely terrible. The man had a major nightmare.

Onyewu would not have made a difference.

With Mexico pushing 3 "front runners" it would have always been difficult for USA defenders who are not comfortable on the ball to play forward effectively. With the pace of Guardado and Dos Santos it was always a mountain for the USA. Barrera is to much for Bardley to deal with, plus in possesion the Mexican flooded the midfield better than the USA did.

Anyone realize how long it takes the USA players to give Freddy a pass - Bradley in particular? Freddy pushed into some nice positions and literally had to beg for the obvious pass. It had one time he begged for a pass from Bedoya I think it was and he just played Freddy the ball and walked away, did not even think about supporting him. I think there's a lot of problems behind the scene. The "indivisible" apparently is divided right now. I don't want to, but I believe Dempsey and donovan is causing a lot of problems for Bradley, and like I stated before win or lose in this tournament Bradley is gone.

« Reply #619 on: June 26, 2011, 08:49:50 AM »
Clint Dempsey is a very good player... but what a jackass.  Cameras didn't focus on it but that confrontation he had with the keeper just before Bradley's 79' shot... both of them collided and keeper fell on him.  Dempsey stuck his leg into the keeper's stomach as the keeper was getting off him and essentially kicked him off of him.  Should have been his first yellow.

Agree with Fari... Freddy and Gio stole the show.

Bakes, I used to admire this man play when he was the Revolution eh, but after de incident wid he and Daniel a few years ago where he showed he true colors, ah have seen him exactly as you have stated.  He has to grow up, very immature as a person and it manifests itself on the field.  This larger than life persona he has taken on w/not much to back it up quite frankly on de international football scale says it all.  The US needs less players like him (from a peronality perspective) and more who accept where they are as a footballing nation and aspire to greatness, not believing they have already reached a level of greatness and the world must now watch to show unfold....

Plenty of them american players have the attitude that dempsey does, it's deeply rooted in their culture.  they swear they are "the greatest" at any and everything they partake in and don't ever try to tell them there's plenty room for their improvement.  They believe in their own mainstream media hype and play the game with a sense of entitlement.  If we wasn't busy feeling like we doh have to improve, too, we woulda be washing this side up and dong CONCACAF.   

« Reply #620 on: June 26, 2011, 10:11:31 AM »
allyuh see how dos santos had howard flopping around like a fish on that 4th goal  :rotfl: :rotfl:

man have skillz.

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #621 on: June 26, 2011, 10:25:06 AM »
Mexico overun de States from minute #1 yesterday. Slack defending caused them to go 2-0 down, but they were still dominating the game. They knock a nice quick brand, and swarmed the ball whenever they lost possession. If they could sort out there goalkeeping situation and defensive concentration, they can cause real damage in 2014.
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #622 on: June 26, 2011, 10:36:30 AM »
Mexico overun de States from minute #1 yesterday. Slack defending caused them to go 2-0 down, but they were still dominating the game. They knock a nice quick brand, and swarmed the ball whenever they lost possession. If they could sort out there goalkeeping situation and defensive concentration, they can cause real damage in 2014.

Mexico have good GK's, man....Ochoa is an excellent 'keeper (he just need to sort out that illegal substance ting.;D)...is some of their defenders, or, as you said, their defensive concentration they need to sort out.

« Reply #623 on: June 26, 2011, 11:27:17 AM »
Apart from Adu, US has no players with genuine skill and natural expression - Until they figure that out, they will always be on a tier or two below real quality. 
You talking outa timin! don't let yuh bias cloud your vision, Bc fellas like clint dempsey , donovan , edu, altidor , jermain jones (good find) bradley a superb defensive mid, and bocanegra is all top notch quality players

I never say nuttin' about quality players.  I have no anti-US bias, and I recognize that they have alot of capable players in their squad but  I talking about a certain "type" of quality.  Dem players you call dey is dime o' dozen players in established successful football nations.  The type of quality I talkin' bout is the kinda expression yuh can't really teach, that results in a kind of unpredictability...the kinda quality when yuh watch a player and yuh just see something special...The U.S. lacking that Fredy Adu might not be the best U.S. player but he has it - you just see it in his game...and iz not only I talkin' that...Experienced pro-American analysts have said the same thing...England gets the same criticism, and they have better players than the U.S.

As Chow implied, when the U.S. starts to broaden the source from which its footballing talent pool comes from, they will probably add a different type of quality to their game...

« Reply #624 on: June 26, 2011, 12:48:18 PM »
the world cup final had nothing on this match. one of the best matches i have seen. it was clear mexico fans rally their team on, it was unbelievable, 2-0 down and they still never gave up. this is the poorest us defense in decades with the exception of boca by their own standards.

Usa still havent figured out how to hang on to a 2-0 lead in a final sigh.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2011, 12:49:58 PM by sHOTTA12 »

« Reply #625 on: June 26, 2011, 12:52:04 PM »

Usa still havent figured out how to hang on to a 2-0 lead in a final sigh.

Dize because quality will always prevail over quantity.

« Reply #626 on: June 26, 2011, 01:03:38 PM »
The fact that the MLS teams now have free academies where it is all about ability versus money to play means they are opening up doors to some natural talent.

The thing is they have men namely a lot english  who coaching at these academies and quite frankly from what I've witnessed cannot coach.

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #627 on: June 26, 2011, 01:21:59 PM »
I think the problem is they have an emphasis on athleticism over technique in coaching. A good way (with reasonably talented players) to become a mid ranking nation but to go the extra mile you need the technical ability. I remember reading an article about Southhampton Academy in England (one of the most respected) and the director talked about them concentrating of athleticism over technique. If that is the type of culture the USA want to build then they won't get much further than they already have.

The thing is they have men namely a lot english  who coaching at these academies and quite frankly from what I've witnessed cannot coach.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #628 on: June 26, 2011, 01:32:47 PM »
well I upset about my adopted country loosing but in a kind of way its a positive not to supporters of the warriors and the reggaeboyz.. why?.. I was told by serious supporters dat this is u.s best squad .. if dat is there best squad a well organise TNT squad could take dem.. I eh neva see a U.S team Play this bad in a long long time.. Mexico made dem played bad by playing A great game frm start to finish.. USA got two half chances and scored.. Hats of to to the mexicans.All di posters on this forum who is mexican lovers and American haters  hats of to allyuh too. Altidore , Freddy go still get up in the morning and go about there quest to improve football in this country for African americans weather yu guys hate dem or not...
This game had nothing to do wid coaching mexico team is just skilful and very very good. One of the best looking mexican team I have seen in ages..

« Reply #629 on: June 26, 2011, 02:10:37 PM »

Yuh no I don't come on this board to often but when I read some responses I can't help but be amused by it,you obviously was watching a different game than me.

It was a very exciting game on both ends but the better side prevailed end of story!!!!!