March 29, 2024, 12:08:30 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba U-20 Game (30-Mar-11).  (Read 15085 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Cuba U-20 Game (30-Mar-11).
« on: March 07, 2011, 07:19:17 AM »
T&T vs Cuba U-20 Game in Guatemala City - 10pm.

The Concacaf tournament runs from March 28 to April 10. It will be a 12-team tournament, the preliminary round of which will involve four three-team groups to determine who advances to the quarter-finals.

The four semi-finalists will qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

T&T 18-man squad

Goalkeepers
John Thomas (Fatima College), Stefan Berkeley (University of Connecticut).

Defenders
Joevin Jones (W Connection), Akil Clarke (St Ann’s Rangers), Jerron Morris (Defence Force), Weslie John (W Connection), Dwight Ceballo (Ma Pau FC), Akeem Adams (W Connection), Sheldon Bateau (capt) (San Juan Jabloteh).

Midfielders
Kenaz Williams (Joe Public), Jerron Quashie (University of TT), Ryan Fredericks (W Connection), Marcus Joseph (Joe Public), Shahdon Winchester (W Connection), Isaiah Ferguson (US based).

Forwards
Johan Peltier (San Juan Jabloteh), Jerrel Britto (San Juan Jabloteh), Cordell Cato (San Juan Jabloteh).
« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 04:27:46 AM by Tallman »

TV - INTERNATIONAL CONCACAF UNDER-20 CHAMPIONSHIP
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 06:50:19 AM »
Mar 28    8:00pm    Canada vs Guadeloupe    ESPN3.com USA
Mar 28    10:00pm    Cuba vs Mexico    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Mar 29    8:00pm    Suriname vs USA    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Mar 29    10:00pm    Guatemala vs Jamaica    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Mar 30    8:00pm    Guadeloupe vs Costa Rica    ESPN3.com USA
Mar 30    10:00pm    Trinidad and Tobago vs Cuba    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Mar 31    8:00pm    Panama vs Suriname    ESPN3.com USA
Mar 31    10:00pm    Honduras vs Jamaica    ESPN3.com USA
Apr 1    8:00pm    Canada vs Costa Rica    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Apr 2    6:00pm    Panama vs USA    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Apr 2    8:00pm    Honduras vs Guatemala    ESPND

mods .. please merge as necessary

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba U-20 Game (30-Mar-11).
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2011, 07:40:16 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ttbo0BRsAs0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ttbo0BRsAs0</a>

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2011, 04:30:25 AM »
U-20s count down hours to Cuba clash.
By: Shuan Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago’s  Under 20 footballers will have a final training session on Tuesday prior to their opening match in the Concacaf Final round of qualification against Cuba in Guatemala City on Wednesday.

The team settled in at the Futuro Hotel in Guatemala City after arriving from Honduras where they played two warm-up matches against the Honduras national under 20 team.

Head coach Zoran Vranes would have gotten a chance to see his first opponents Cuba on Monday as they opened the tournament against Mexico while Canada faced Guadeloupe. T&T faces the Cubans on Wednesday at 8pm.

Team captain Sheldon Bateau said on Monday that the members of the team were feeling some level of anxiety as the opening game approaches but said there was still a fair amount of calmness in the camp.

“We’re anxious because we are here in Guatemala now and all the weeks of preparations are now down to this. Our first game is on Wednesday and we are anxious to take the field and get an opening victory,” Bateau told TTFF Media.

“We are focused at the moment. We lost our two games in Honduras but we know what are the areas we need to pay special attention to and we know what our strengths are,” he added.

“Individually all the players are in good shape. We are in good form and just trying to stay focused on free of injury.”

Bateau was also a member of the T&T Under 20 team which participated at the 2009 FIFAU Under 20 World Cup in Egypt and he believes the team is a more experienced one this time around.

“This time around we have more experience in the team so that should be a plus and we also have a high level of fitness. We plan to use that as one of main strengths.

We need to play for 90 minutes and more in every game.. Wherever we may fall short technical wise we intend to use our physical strengths to our advantage, “ Bateau added.

United States faces Suriname and Jamaica tackles Guatemala on Tuesday. The top four teams from the tournament will advance to the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Colombia starting July 29.

Click here for Player Profiles

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2011, 06:18:24 AM »
Games/Results;

Monday, March 28
Guadeloupe 1:2 Canada, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
C.Houelche 26     L.Cavallini 53
                      D.Bassi 58

Mexico 3:0 Cuba, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)
R.Malblanche 36 (OG)
A.Pulido 53
U.Dávila 84

Tuesday, March 29
United States 4:0 Suriname, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
B.Wood 19
J.Gyau 29
C.Doyle 36
K.Rowe 81

Guatemala 2:0 Jamaica, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)
J.Hyde 8 (OG)
G.Lima 35

Wednesday, March 30
Costa Rica 3:0 Guadeloupe, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
J.Campbell 57
J.Campbell 62-Pen
D.Vega 74

Trinidad & Tobago 0:0 Cuba, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Thursday, March 31
Panama vs. Suriname, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Honduras vs. Jamaica, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Friday, April 1
Costa Rica vs. Canada, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Saturday, April 2
United States vs. Panama, 6 p.m. (4 p.m.)
Guatemala vs. Honduras, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)

FIRST ROUND

Group A: Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica
Group B: United States, Panama, Suriname
Group C: Canada, Costa Rica, Guadeloupe
Group D: Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, Cuba

QUARTERFINALS*

Tuesday, April 5
QF1: Group C winner vs. Group D runner-up, 7:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.)
QF2: Group D winner vs. Group C runner-up, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Wednesday, April 6
QF3: Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 7:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.)
QF4: Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

SEMIFINALS*

Friday, April 8

NOTE - At Guatemala City - Times U.S. Eastern (local time in parentheses)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 06:01:59 AM by Flex »

« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2011, 10:06:09 AM »
Ent Jerron Morris is Clayton Morris nephew... !!

« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2011, 12:24:49 PM »
So you guys should be feeling very optimistic about making another world cup at the under-20 level..Cuba looks to be the wekest team in your group...so it will probably you and Mexico advancing. Assuming Mexico wins the group, it will be T&T vs Canada or Costa Rica for a world cup berth.  Guadeloupe gave Canada a hard fight last night, so i suppose from that angle, T&T can do the same.

Jamaica now. We will have to fight nail and tooth with hosts Guatemala and Honduras for a spot through. I have great respect for Honduran football, slightly less for Guatemala, but being the hosts, they have to at least be one of the favorites for at least second place in the group. But even if Jamaica does the improbable and finsh second, they will likely come up against the USA for a spot at the world cup. Doesnt look good for Jamaica. To stand a realsitic chance, Jamaica needs to win the group to face Panama (not exactly easy either, Panama football is on the up). in fact, a loss for Jamaica tonight pretty much ends the dream.

« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 12:29:33 PM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2011, 01:57:11 PM »
So you guys should be feeling very optimistic about making another world cup at the under-20 level..Cuba looks to be the wekest team in your group...so it will probably you and Mexico advancing. Assuming Mexico wins the group, it will be T&T vs Canada or Costa Rica for a world cup berth.  Guadeloupe gave Canada a hard fight last night, so i suppose from that angle, T&T can do the same.

Jamaica now. We will have to fight nail and tooth with hosts Guatemala and Honduras for a spot through. I have great respect for Honduran football, slightly less for Guatemala, but being the hosts, they have to at least be one of the favorites for at least second place in the group. But even if Jamaica does the improbable and finsh second, they will likely come up against the USA for a spot at the world cup. Doesnt look good for Jamaica. To stand a realsitic chance, Jamaica needs to win the group to face Panama (not exactly easy either, Panama football is on the up). in fact, a loss for Jamaica tonight pretty much ends the dream.

I love meh country, but if  them boys can't beat Cuba, I honestly don't think they will go anywhere.

« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2011, 03:06:19 PM »

I love meh country, but if  them boys can't beat Cuba, I honestly don't think they will go anywhere.

Cuba already beat them at U-17 level in T&T. But its a whole new day and a much different team. Go T&T

« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2011, 04:37:56 PM »

Cuba already beat them at U-17 level in T&T. But its a whole new day and a much different team. Go T&T

yea...cause copper was in charge...having the boy play ta ta ...ah just hope that not the same with the U20

« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2011, 05:33:42 PM »

yea...cause copper was in charge...having the boy play ta ta ...ah just hope that not the same with the U20

This was at U-17 in 2009 with Anton Corneal as coach. The current U-17 tied Cuba last year in Trini under Cooper. I think they can take Cuba this time and get out of the 1st round. But doing so we likely face Costa Rica or Canada in the quarters...To be truly confident of victory we would have had to go above and beyond what we normally have as preparations. Has the federation embarked on a program to get us ready to compete with or exceed even mid-tier CONCACAF teams?

A big negative is a lack of confidence on loosing their last few games.  It will take a special effort to get us into the semis. Fortunately (IMO) these players possess the raw firepower to get there.

Offline madness

« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2011, 11:50:18 PM »
I haven't seen the Under 20 team on the tv yet but based on what i have read i hope they do well.

« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2011, 01:07:24 PM »
What will be the time IN T&T (ie in EST) when the game kicks off 8pm or 10pm???

« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2011, 01:10:21 PM »

10 PM EST

« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2011, 01:18:10 PM »

10 PM EST
THANKS... so I could go and see Paul the movie at 8 and come back home in time for the game NICE!!

« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2011, 03:06:38 PM »
 :applause: yeah man.  vibez it up fellaz

« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2011, 03:44:26 PM »
All the best Young Warriors!!! Make T&T proud!

« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2011, 03:55:57 PM »
:applause: yeah man.  vibez it up fellaz

Man revive ah Latas quote!

« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2011, 04:54:35 PM »
Go T&T. Lash dem hard.  :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2011, 05:45:05 PM »
Hopefully, Trini complacency dont bite we in the arse. Cuba is slowly becoming less of a whipping boy in Concacaf. It seems as if their football has somewhat improved. On the other side, with Trinidad, you really dont know what team is coming out to play. I dont think we scoring more than two. And a draw with Cuba will not be to surprising. Nevertheless, good luck and dont concede anything.

« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2011, 05:57:11 PM »
guy's anyway to see or listen to the game

« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2011, 06:07:38 PM »
guy's anyway to see or listen to the game

Concacaf TV. It is free sign up and the quality is superb. Watched JA and Guata yesterday. Unfortunately JA went down by 2. We can safely say that JA is out now.

« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2011, 06:42:12 PM »
The quality of the Concacaf TV stream is sick. Currently Costa Rica giving Guadeloupe a lesson on ball control and composure but score still 0-0.  10 mins lefy in first half.

« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2011, 06:54:19 PM »
The quality of the Concacaf TV stream is sick. Currently Costa Rica giving Guadeloupe a lesson on ball control and composure but score still 0-0.  10 mins lefy in first half.

The stream is top class. But Guada is that bad either.

« Reply #25 on: March 30, 2011, 07:12:26 PM »
yaay for live stream  ;D

« Reply #26 on: March 30, 2011, 07:55:26 PM »
Final score for Guada vs CR => Guada 0 - 3 CR!

« Reply #27 on: March 30, 2011, 07:59:30 PM »
Let's go T&T  :wavetowel:

« Reply #28 on: March 30, 2011, 08:00:24 PM »
Okay T&T vs Cuba U-20 game just about to start!

Link: http://www.concacaftv.premiumtv.co.uk/page/forcelogin/PostLive/0,,12907~629465,00.html

But you need to register, takes about 2 mins!

« Reply #29 on: March 30, 2011, 08:01:59 PM »
winchester is not even a starter ....