April 27, 2024, 08:04:26 AM

Author Topic: 400lb man runs Marathon  (Read 3503 times)

400lb man runs Marathon
« on: March 23, 2011, 09:28:53 AM »
Ok runs is a stretch...but sadis finish
http://sports.espn.go.com/los-angeles/olympics/news/story?id=6242378

Kelly Gneiting broke the Guinness World Record for "Heaviest Person to Complete a Marathon" by crossing the finish at the Los Angeles Marathon on Sunday.

The former U.S. sumo champion, who weighed in at Dodger Stadium on Sunday morning at exactly 400 pounds, finished the race in 9 hours, 48 minutes and 42 seconds.

Gneiting, of Ft. Defiance, Ariz., walked the last 18-plus miles of the race after jogging through the first 8 miles.

Markos Geneti won the men's event, setting a Los Angeles Marathon record with a time of 2:06:35. Buzunesh Deba gave Ethiopia a sweep, taking the women's race in 2:26:34.

Re: 400lb man runs Marathon
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2011, 10:03:57 AM »
Ah running the DC Marathon dis weekend... ah hoping for an under 4hrs...

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2011, 11:12:34 AM »

Good luck Daft

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2011, 11:32:49 AM »

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2011, 12:07:44 PM »
My friend in work run dis... it was her first marathon and she come in at 3:48... very impressive.

Also, she say fat man only run the first 4 miles and it was more like a "waddle".
I see video where fat man sit down in de rain all kinda ting, fus he bun!  :rotfl: but good for him still  :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2011, 01:47:43 PM »
My friend in work run dis... it was her first marathon and she come in at 3:48... very impressive.

Also, she say fat man only run the first 4 miles and it was more like a "waddle".
I see video where fat man sit down in de rain all kinda ting, fus he bun!  :rotfl: but good for him still  :beermug:

All yuh not easy waddle  :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2011, 08:14:56 PM »
Brothers and Sisters ah finish the DC marathon in just under 5hrs... It was cold and it was brutal.... every bone, muscle and ligament hurtin...

Thanks for de support... :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2011, 09:47:04 PM »
Brothers and Sisters ah finish the DC marathon in just under 5hrs... It was cold and it was brutal.... every bone, muscle and ligament hurtin...

CONGRATSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2011, 08:40:29 AM »

:applause:

« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2011, 08:53:17 AM »

well done!!  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2011, 09:53:24 AM »

Ah colleague of mine ran the marathon in under two hours. If I finish the marathon, that alone is an achievement.

« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2011, 02:33:03 PM »

congrats! and ice everywhere

Offline monty

« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2011, 03:04:42 PM »

Ah colleague of mine ran the marathon in under two hours. If I finish the marathon, that alone is an achievement.

I think you mean the 1/2 marathon. DC had both 1/2 and full marathon this weekend.

If it was full marathon, then your friend just broke the world record.  ;D

Offline monty

« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2011, 03:05:35 PM »

COngrats man!

« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2011, 09:20:51 PM »

I think you mean the 1/2 marathon. DC had both 1/2 and full marathon this weekend.

If it was full marathon, then your friend just broke the world record.  ;D

I was about to say... I bun and buss down on North Capitol St... and that was 3hrs into it

Thanks y'all... TnT TNt tNt

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2011, 08:09:55 AM »

Yeah I would have the ambulance near by in case this man goes into Cardiac arrest.
At least he tried, little steps

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2011, 09:11:27 AM »

Daft keep up with the running and stretching after this long run, muscles will be more sore if you layoff

Well done, I would not run in the cold.

Recalled a half marathon I ran many blue moons ago in Trinidad - Simon Bolivar Classic late 1980s
3 weekends in a row I recalled, 10KM, half marathon and lastly a 5KM
running on the Audrey Jeffers highway, all you see is road and more road PRESSURE
then through Western Main Road and the people out on the street with their garden hose "you want meh to wet yah"
Primary objective keeping Granny Luces from passing me on de highway  :rotfl:

« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2011, 01:59:06 PM »

Ah colleague of mine ran the marathon in under two hours.

impossible...

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2011, 01:36:45 PM »

impossible...
Marathon world records
http://www.marathonguide.com/history/records/alltimelist.cfm?Gen=M&Sort=Time
must have been half marathon

« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2011, 03:19:30 PM »

impossible...
Marathon world records
http://www.marathonguide.com/history/records/alltimelist.cfm?Gen=M&Sort=Time
must have been half marathon

Dat rell ridiculous. Of de 50 fastest times, 48 belong tuh Africans. :o

« Reply #20 on: April 04, 2011, 10:08:04 AM »
Dat rell ridiculous. Of de 50 fastest times, 48 belong tuh Africans. :o

Not just Africans - Kenyans and Ethiopians...They are so dominant at that distance, that there must be some kind of explanation... hard to believe that that's just luck & chance. 
« Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 03:42:54 PM by kicker »