April 29, 2024, 10:23:20 AM

Author Topic: SWRHA Boss Fired  (Read 8147 times)

SWRHA Boss Fired
« on: March 18, 2011, 07:23:50 AM »
.Home » News.After botched C-section at Sando hospital...
RHA boss gets marching orders
Published: Fri, 2011-03-18 00:32
Yvonne Webb

Flashback: Paula Chester Cumberbatch, fired CEO of the South West Regional Health Authority being welcomed by Mayor of San Fernando Marlene Coudray to the formal service launch of the Eye Theatre and Eye/Ent Ward at the San Fernando General Hospital last Friday.

The woman at the centre of a controversy surrounding the delay in suspension letters being issued to medical staff who were on duty on March 4, when a botched Caesarean section resulted in the death of a woman, has been fired. Paula Chester-Cumberbatch, the Chief Executive Officer of the South West Regional Health Authority, was fired yesterday with immediate effect. She was escorted out of the compound where she held the top notch job for the past year, by security personnel. No reasons were given for her sudden termination. SWRHA chairman Dr Lackram Bodoe issued Chester-Cumberbatch with her marching papers during their regular board meeting, shortly before noon, yesterday.  At a news conference held one hour later, Bodoe confirmed her dismissal but denied that it was linked to the five doctors and four nurses not receiving their suspension letters. He also confirmed that a fifth nurse, a senior practitioner with 34 years service at the San Fernando General Hospital, was added to the list of those suspended, bringing the number to ten.

On March 14, Health Minister Therese Baptiste-Cornelis announced at a news conference that the nine were suspended, with basic pay, to facilitate a three-man independent investigation into the death of Crystal Boodoo-Ramsoomair who died in the maternity ward during child birth. Her child survived. On March 15, with doctors and nurses contesting the action, having not received letters confirming their suspension, the minister by news release noted that for reasons unknown to the chairman, the CEO did not implement the directive for the suspension of the staff.  Bodoe also issued a similar release in which he advised that at a special meeting of its board on March 11, members took a unanimous decision to suspend those directly involved in the management and care of Boodoo-Ramsoomair. In that said release on March 16, he indicated that the board was in the process of determining whether or not its instructions to the CEO were not implemented and if they were not, the reason for such non-implementation. The board held a lengthy meeting on Wednesday afternoon, after which rumours of Chester-Cumberbatch’s termination spread.

At the news conference held at the SWRHA’s Lewis Street, operation, Bodoe confirmed the rumour.
“In respect of the issue surrounding the SWRHA’s CEO, a board meeting was held, yesterday, to determine whether or not the board’s instructions were implemented and if they were not, the reasons for such,” he said. “I must say, at that meeting, the CEO was asked to give reasons for the late implementation of the suspension of the staff. “This morning at our regular statutory meeting of the board discussion was ensued and at this point in time the board has made a decision to terminate the services of the CEO Paula Chester-Cumberbatch with immediate effect.” Bodoe thanked her for her vision and dedication she brought to the organisation and wished her all the best in her future endeavours. Questioned as to the reason for the suspension, Bodoe responded this way. “I would like to thank the CEO for the services she has rendered to the SWRHA,” he said. “This is a new board which has been in office for the past three to four months. “As a board we have looked at our vision and we have looked at the strategic direction in which we want to proceed and we found that certain adjustments needed to be made in that manner. “This is in keeping with the new strategic direction of the board.” Questioned further about the possible link between the delayed suspension and the firing, Bodoe said: “The two matters are not directly related. “One was a matter which was looked at separately and it would not be true to say that the two matters are related,” he added.

Bodoe, a senior gynaecologist, also clarified that he was not part of the independent committee appointed by the ministry to lead the Boodoo-Ramsoomair investigation over the next two weeks. He continued to plead that the suspension in this matter were not punitive, but a measure to protect the public and staff as well as the reputation of the authority. Head of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Dr Sunil Persad, who sat in on the news conference with Bodoe, admitted that the severe staff shortage was further affected by the loss of five doctors on suspension. Bodoe assured measures were put in place to ensure services at the hospital were not adversely affected by the suspension. On the issue of surgeries being cancelled, Bodoe said he was surprised by the report and also gave the assurance that the arrangements would be made to accommodate the 20 patients, whose surgeries have been postponed, at the hospital or private institutions. He said the SWRHA felt strongly that patients were not inconvenienced in any way.

Re: SWRHA Boss Fired
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2011, 07:41:54 AM »
Who hear surprise?

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2011, 08:56:54 AM »
Another political blunder .

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2011, 03:54:47 PM »
Another political blunder .

Blunder is an accident this is their M.O.

« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2011, 05:34:33 AM »
HOW CHRYSTAL DIED
Sacked SWRHA CEO admits breach of Health Ministry's policy
By Akile Simon

A HOUSE officer, with no supervision from a senior doctor, conducted the Caesarean section on Chrystal Boodoo-Ramsoomair which led to her death on March 4 at the San Fernando General Hospital.

This procedure is against the Ministry of Health's guidelines and policy, as outlined in an e-mail sent to sacked South West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA) chief executive officer (CEO) Paula Chester-Cumberbatch, and chairman of the SWRHA board Dr Lackram Bodoe, by medical director of the hospital, Dr Anand Chatoorgoon.

The Sunday Express obtained a series of e-mails which were exchanged between board members, Chatoorgoon, Bodoe and the chief medical officer at the Ministry of Health, Dr Anton Cumberbatch, which started minutes after Boodoo-Ramsoomair died.

C-sections, in cases deemed high-risk, according to the ministry's policy, must not be performed by a house officer alone. An Obstetrics and Gynaecology Registrar must be present or directly involved in the operation.

This did not happen in Ramsoomair's case. On the day she died, undergoing her third C-section, the O&G Registrar on duty at the time was in clinic and the surgery was performed by other medical staff, including the house doctor.

On the night of March 4, Dr Chatoorgoon, at 7.18 p.m., sent an e-mail with the heading "Lost another obstetric case tonight" to Chester-Cumberbatch and which was carbon copied to Bodoe. This e-mail read:

Dearest Paula

Not good news. Lost another obstetric case tonight. Third Caesarean section -postpartum haemorrhage -Hysterectomy -still bleeding in spite of blood components - death. Doctors involved - Drs. Ashmeed Mohammed, Roma Jaggernauth. Intensivist -Dr. Peng. Patient's name was Chrystal Ramsoomair, age 29 years. She died in the ICU in spite of vigorous supportive measures. Baby is fine.

More details tomorrow.

Anand

The next day, around 3.59 a.m., Chester-Cumberbatch, in response, sent an e-mail to Chatoorgoon, which was copied to Dr Cumberbatch, Bodoe and SWRHA officials Seromanie Rampersad-Debideen, Geraldine Lewis, Nalini Parasram and Dr Akenath Misir.

In that e-mail, Chester-Cumberbatch expressed her gratitude for the timely update regarding Ramsoomair's death and ordered that all the relevant reports be put together by the nurses and doctors involved as soon as possible and the patient's medical file and notes be secured.

She also asked Chatoorgoon and Rampersad-Debideen to ensure that Ramsoomair's relatives "Is offered and receives counselling, and that proper/correct information is shared with the family. Do also advise me asap if you perceive any discontent by the family."

A subsequent e-mail was sent by Chatoorgoon to Chester-Cumberbatch around 10:40 a.m. that day, which was again copied to Bodoe, Parasram, Lewis, Cumberbatch, Rampersad-Debideen and Misir. The e-mail is as follows:

Dear CEO

I have spoken with Dr. Ashmeed Mohammed and Dr. Peng, requesting that all reports from the relevant doctors be submitted to me by Wednesday morning. The post mortem will be done on Carnival Monday morning by Professor Daisley. I shall attend and give you an update. In the meantime, I have issued verbal instructions that not only must the O&G Registrar be present in the theatre when Caesarean Sections are being performed, but also they must actually scrub for the case. In the particular case in question, the Caesarean Section was performed by a house officer and not a Registrar although it is true to say that the house officer has acted as Registrar in the past.

Will keep you updated.

Love

Anand

After a careful analysis of the mishap involving Boodoo-Ramsoomair, Chester-Cumberbatch, using her BlackBerry phone around 9.05 p.m., sent a strongly-worded letter admitting that the SWRHA was responsible and negligent in the woman's death.

The letter, which was sent to Cumberbatch and Bodoe, was also copied to two new recipients, Beverly Reid, Samuel Breid and Allyson Cudjoe. Cudjoe is the senior legal officer at the SWRHA.

This e-mail stated:

Dear Chairman and CMO:

After all I have since heard on this maternal death, it is quite clear to me that we have breached the MOH Policy on the management of high-risk cases. By breach, I am noting that the Registrar 'failed to observe the Policy' whereby a house officer is not to perform a c-section alone in high risk cases. This patient was indeed 'high-risk' as this was her third c-section.

For me this shows gross complacency and negligence by the senior doctor involved and what the SWRHA has not done before, I will need to address with the assistance of the new Board. Specifically, dismissal of staff on grounds of medical mismanagement, with a covering HR/Legal Policy established.

I was told the Registrar responsible was in Clinic at the time of the c-section. Was the patient's need for a c-section on Friday morning an emergent situation? Until I read the reports, my lay-woman response is no. Hence it could have been rescheduled by a few hours to fit the availability of the responsible Registrar, who gave clearance to the House Officer to proceed.

Shouldn't the House Officer have used her common-sense, that is mindful of the MOH Policy and the 'underlying level of risk' for the patient, to have this surgery re-scheduled based on the availability of her Registrar? The answer is yes.

On another note I am also concerned that nobody (doctor/nurse) picked up on the fact that the patient was pale and her vitals indicating something was going wrong. Her PM is scheduled for Monday so we know better what went wrong.

From a management perspective, the EMD is to orchestrate the necessary Maternal Mortality Review. You would read below that verbal instructions were given to the O&G Unit. This is to be reinforced in writing on Wednesday. However, apart from this, please note instructions were also given to the ICU staff that they are to serve as 'gate-keepers' whereby unless the Registrar is scrubbed for the case, they are not to anesthetize any patient for a c-section.

Finally, a closure-meeting was held with the family and SWRHA (doctors, quality coordinator) this afternoon, and I was just informed that the patient's family feel that the doctors and the nurses were all negligent. They were pleased with the treatment from the moment the problem was detected but feel that their relative died due to our delay, by both doctors and nurses, in recognizing her deteriorating problem.

If they decide to take legal action, this would not be a case to defend.

Respectfully,

Paula Chester-Cumberbatch

CEO, SWRHA

Chester-Cumberbatch was on Thursday fired by the SWRHA board and has been replaced by Anil Gosine, the SWRHA's general manager of operations.

This came on the heels of an announcement by Health Minister Therese Baptist-Cornelis that five doctors and four nurses were to be suspended pending the outcome of a probe into Boodoo-Ramsoomair's death and a subsequent announcement by doctors that they had received no letters of suspension.

It turned out that Chester-Cumberbatch had delayed the issuing of letters of suspension as she was directed to by the SWRHA Board and as was announced by Minister Baptiste-Cornelis.

Chester-Cumberbatch has threatened to take legal action against the current board over her dismissal. She had a two-year contract which would have expired May 19, 2012.

« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2011, 09:01:29 PM »
Rules broken in Chrystal’s death
By AZARD ALI Monday, March 21 2011

click on pic to zoom inDr Shehenaz Mohammed...NEW information has come to light which suggests that rules and procedures were broken by medical staff who performed the Caesarean section on Carapichaima mother Chrystal Boodoo-Ramsoomair on March 4.

According to a Ministry of Health directive, on November 4, 2009, the South West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA), instructions were given that there should be a registrar/consultant in attendance when Caesarean sections are being performed on pregnant mothers who are deemed to be “high-risk” patients.

The directive was issued by Chief Medical Officer of Health (CMOH) Anton Cumberbatch.

Newsday learned that failure to adhere to this protocol directive at the San Fernando General Hospital (SFGH) is the central issue surrounding last week’s suspension of five doctors and four nurses. It is also crucial to the ministry’s investigations which seeks to determine what went wrong as it relates to Boodoo-Ramsoomair’s death.

Yesterday, the Medical Association of Trinidad and Tobago (MATT) acknowledged that the doctor who performed the C-section on Boodoo- Ramsoomair, have not yet completed post graduate qualifications in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, but had previously acted in the post as registrar by virtue of experience.

“And she had done 250 C-sections including high risk cases. She was deemed competent to act as registrar,” MPATT’s secretary Dr Shehenaz Mohammed said yesterday at a media conference in Chaguanas called to discuss the ongoing saga over the doctors’ suspension and subsequent firing of SWRHA’s CEO Paula Chester-Cumberbatch, on Thursday.

Newsday was told by a source in the ministry that firm action was taken in Boodoo-Ramsoomair’s death because of failure to adhere to the particular protocol directive issued by CMOH Cumberbatch.

The memo, which is addressed to former SWRHA’s CEO Michael Harris, is headed, “Recommendations for immediate implementation following investigations by the Ministry of Health of circumstances related to adverse patient events occurring in the Regional Health Authority — 2008-2009.”

It was copied to the then Minister of Health, Permanent Secretary, Quality Manager (Ministry of Health) Medical Chief of Staff/Hospital medical directors and nursing administrators.

Boodoo-Ramsoomair was deemed a high-risk patient because she previously had two C-sections.

Asked yesterday if he was aware of such directive and why was it not followed in Boodoo-Ramsoomair’s complicated C-section, Medical Director of the SFGH, Dr Anand Chatoorgoon said it had become an established practice at the hospital that experienced House Officers act as registrars even though they do not have post graduate qualifications.

But, in email correspondence, between Chatoorgoon, who sought to clarify the protocol directive, CMOH Cumberbatch categorically told him that the registrar/consultant must have post graduate qualifications.

Yesterday, MPATT disagreed with Cumberbatch.

The association also disclosed email correspondence between Chatoorgoon and Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health Sandra Jones.

Chatoorgoon told Newsday that he was aware of the ministry’s written directive since 2009 and acknowledged that it was only on Friday he sought to clarify the issue, via the emails.

Dated March 17, 2011, Chatoorgoon emailed Jones, saying, “Dear Permanent Secretary, please note my concerns addressed to the CMO which to date have not been addressed. We at SFGH do need clarification on the issues outlined below as we do not wish to be accused of breaching any of the Ministry of Health policies again.”

There was no reply and on March 17 again, Chatoorgoon addressed the CMOH Cumberbatch directly and sent it to Jones’ email account.

He also wrote, “We have documentation here at SFGH signed by Gloria Ames-Small from the Ministry of Health giving approval for doctors employed by the Public Services Commission to act as registrars even though they do no possess a post graduate degree.”

In answer to Chatoorgoon, Jones forwarded an email from Cumberbatch, also on March 17, which stated, “I have already said to you that a registrar must possess post graduate qualifications consistent with the public service and medical board. If no registrar, the consultant must fill the role.”

Chatoorgoonn replied with another memo on Friday last in which he asked Cumberbatch to confirm whether the instructions to have registrar/consultant for high-risk patients, should also apply to other department of medicine at SFGH.

Newsday was not informed of any reply to that email.

MPATT’s Mohammed said yesterday that the association expresses deepest sympathy to the Boodoo-Ramsoomair’s family and it was in support of an investigation.

She said that given the manner of suspension of the doctors, nurses and dismissal of CEO Cumberbatch, doctors would be joining the Public Services Association’s “Black March” rally today on Harris Promenade, San Fernando. Approximately 200 doctors are expected to join the rally.

Newsday was also told yesterday that the investigative team probing Boodoo-Ramsoomair’s death, has already begun its investigations and two of the five doctors have already been interviewed.

Click here to send your comments on this article to Newsday's Ch@tRoom 

Print 

« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2011, 09:14:53 PM »
Statement of the Senior Legal Officer
Monday, March 21 2011

Following is the statement, obtained by Newsday, sent by the SWRHA’s senior legal officer Allyson Cudjoe in response to a request from the SWRHA’s Board of Directors on her handling of the directive given as it related to the suspension of the five doctors and four nurses who were on duty at the time of the 29-year-old mother’s death at the hospital’s maternity ward.

STATEMENT OF THE SENIOR LEGAL OFFICER

This statement is made in response to a request from the Board of Directors of the South-West Regional Health Authority on my handling of the directive of the Board of Directors given at the Emergency Meeting of the Board, held on March 11, 2011. The request for this statement was made at an Emergency Meeting of the Board held on March 16, 2011. I am the Senior Legal Officer of the South-West Regional Health Authority. In that capacity, I report to and take instructions from the Chief Executive Officer of the Authority. The Chief Executive Officer of the Authority reports to and takes instructions from the Board of Directors of the Authority. Sometime between 2.00 pm and 3.00 pm on Sunday March 13, 2011, I received a call from the Chief Executive Officer of the Authority reminding me that she had not yet seen a draft of the suspension letter reflecting the decision of the Emergency Meeting of the Board of Directors on Friday March 11, 2011. I apologized for the delay and promised to send the letter out later that day. I completed the letter and was about to transmit a copy to the Chief Executive Officer, when I observed that she had sent an email on the matter. The email was dated Sunday March 13, 2011 and time stamped 11:17 pm and addressed to me. The hard copy of the email is attached as Appendix 1. Among other things the e mail stated that “another approach” was being considered by the Chief Executive Officer and that it would be discussed the following morning.

Sometime before 8.00 am on Monday morning, I received a call from the Chief Executive Officer inviting me to attend a meeting at 8.00 am in the Conference Room of the San Fernando General Hospital. I arrived at the Conference Room on or about 7.50 am. Sometime between 8:00 am and 8.30 am that morning, I received a second call from the Chief Executive Officer enquiring about the suspension letter and stating that “the approach” being considered entailed allowing the doctors and nursing staff to take “voluntary leave”. I explained to her that I had not sent the letter on Sunday because of her email of that day, but that I had in my possession a printed copy of the letter. She also enquired about the status of the letter appointing the persons to investigate the death of the patient. I informed her that the appointment letter would be completed in accordance with the contents of her email of Sunday, following the meeting.

Upon her arrival at the Conference Room, the Chief Executive Officer called a meeting of the General Manager Human Resources, the General Manager Nursing Acting, the Executive Medical Director of Health and myself in the ante room of the Medical Director’s Office and she enquired about the suspension letter. After glancing at the letter the Chief Executive Officer then tore it up. I asked why it was torn up, to which the Chief Executive Officer replied that the letter was too harsh and that she wanted to take a softer approach.I tried to point to the specific paragraphs of the suspension letter that ‘softened the approach’, but abandoned the idea after she appeared annoyed. Annexed, as Appendix 2 of this Report is the torn letter and/or a copy of same. The Chief Executive Officer then asked to be advised on the ‘voluntary leave approach’. I advised her of the need to ensure that all staff had the required amounts and type of leave to cover the period of the investigation and that the staff remained available for the investigation. I also raised the possibility of staff rejecting the ‘voluntary approach’ and advised that whichever option she then chose to proceed with would become the precedent for the handling of any future adverse events.

The Chief Executive Officer then rose and motioned us into the Conference Room. In the Conference room, the Chief Executive Officer welcomed the group of persons present, made the introductions and then began to address the group. In the Room on behalf of the Authority, was the Chief Executive Officer, the General Manager Nursing Acting, the General Manager Human Resources and myself. Among the other persons present, were a number of doctors and the President of the Medical Professionals Association of Trinidad and Tobago. Neither the Executive Medical Director nor the Medical Director were present. The Chief Executive Officer announced that I would take notes, and I did so. I am in the process of transcribing those notes. Among the matters discussed at that meeting was ‘the voluntary approach.’

After I learnt that the Chief Executive Officer was pursuing the ‘voluntary approach’, I recalled that I had suggested a voluntary approach at the March 11, 2011 Emergency Board Meeting (as a possible alternative to the suspensions). However, I also recalled that that option was firmly rejected by the Board. Therefore, I wondered whether there had been a change in the position of the Board of Directors over the weekend. However, I did not question the Chief Executive Officer on the decision to pursue this approach and remained resolved to follow her direction. Following the meeting with the doctors and at about 9.15 am that Monday, the Chief Executive Officer, the General Manager Nursing Acting, the General Manager Human Resources and myself proceeded across the lobby to a meeting with the nurses and their trade union representatives. There again, I took notes.

The matters discussed were almost identical to the matters discussed with the doctors and included ‘the voluntary approach’. At about 2.00 pm on Monday afternoon, I received a call from the Chief Executive Officer that the doctors and/or nurses had rejected the ‘voluntary approach’ and that I should send her a draft of the suspension letter. I immediately did so, by email. Over the ensuing hours and into Tuesday morning, I discussed with the Chief Executive Officer several instructions for changes to the suspension letter, including the fact that I had prepared the suspension letter for execution by the General Manager, Human Resources. I was then instructed to make the executing party, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Authority. By 9.15 am on Tuesday March 15, 2011, except for verification of the recipients of the letters, I had made all of the changes requested by the Chief Executive Officer and was preparing to finalise the letters.

The letter appointing the Investigative Panel was abandoned, because I had been advised at about 7.00 am that morning that the Ministry would now be appointing the Investigative Panel. By Tuesday afternoon, I had prepared and sent to the Chief Executive Officer the package of final suspension letters, for signature by the Chairman. Sometime later, I was informed by the Chief Executive Officer that the Chairman had either instructed her to execute the letters or had refused to sign the letters.

I therefore changed the letters and sent them letters to the Chief Executive Officer, for her signature. I was then asked to send the letters to the General Manager, Human Resources, for transmission. I did so.At about 5.30 pm or thereabouts, on Tuesday evening, I was asked to make a further change, at which time I had a three way telephone conversation with the Chief Executive Officer, the General Manager Human Resources and the Senior Human Resource Officer, Industrial Relations, in which I expressed my concern at the length of time it was taking to achieve consensus on the contents of the suspension letter, the possible negative impact this delay may have on the affected staff, and the implications of this delay for the operation of the Departments affected and the impending investigation.

I urged the Chief Executive Officer to expedite the service of the suspension letters as the delay now risked violating the directives of the Board and compromising the announcement of the Honorable Minister. On Wednesday morning I was asked to make a further change to the suspension letter, which I asked my Professional Secretary to effect and transmit to the Chief Executive Officer, as I was on my way to a meeting. A copy of the final suspension letter is annexed hereto as Appendix 3. On my way to that meeting, I met the Chief Executive Officer and enquired as to the status of the letters. I was informed that the letters were be hand delivered that morning Wednesday March 16, 2011). I heard nothing about the letters until I was called to the Emergency Meeting of the Board later that day. The statements herein are true and correct, to the best of my recollection, information and belief.

Respectfully ‘Your Partners in Health’

ALLYSON CUDJOE SENIOR LEGAL OFFICER March 17, 2011

« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2011, 05:08:37 AM »
3 Ministers to probe firing of SWRHA CEO
By Anna Ramdass

Story Created: Mar 22, 2011 at 1:21 AM ECT

(Story Updated: Mar 22, 2011 at 1:21 AM ECT )

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced last night that a three-man inter-ministerial committee will be established to probe the firing of chief executive officer of the South West Regional Health Authority Paula Chester-Cumberbatch.

Speaking at the VIP lounge of Piarco International Airport after her return from her London trip just after 7 p.m., Persad-Bissessar said the committee will comprise Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh, Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar and Labour Minister Errol McLeod.

This committee, Persad-Bissessar said, will conduct its investigations and submit a report to Cabinet, after which decisions will be taken.

Recognising that the issue has generated intense heat, Persad-Bissessar said, “In order to calm some of the turmoil in the health sector I will establish an independent ministerial committee to look into that matter to report to the Cabinet within two weeks and the Cabinet will thereafter consider and make a decision.”

She refused to comment on the firing, saying she will not make any premature statements until the facts are presented by the committee.
Last Thursday, Chester-Cumberbatch was sacked with immediate effect. However, Health Minister Therese Baptiste-Cornelis has stated that this had nothing to do with the controversial death of Chrystal Boodoo-Ramsoomair.

Boodoo-Ramsoomair died at the San Fernando General Hospital after undergoing a C-section. Five doctors and five nurses were subsequently suspended and a committee has also been mandated by the SWRHA to conduct a probe into the circumstances that led to the woman’s death.

Persad-Bissessar stressed last night that industrial relations matters and the death of Boodoo-Ramsoomair are two separate issues.
“Let us separate health care and industrial relations matter. We should not allow the death of this woman to go unchecked, we need to find out what happened and that is what the enquiry will do for us,” she said.

Asked if she supported the actions of Therese-Baptiste, the Prime Minister said she has no reason to believe the Minister acted outside of her ambit.

“We have a duty about the lives of our citizens... they have rights, patients’ rights. In any proper investigation the persons are suspended. A suspension is not a disciplinary matter, it is to allow for the investigations. I trust that those investigations will be fair, open and transparent,” she said.

She added, “I will personally ensure that a full and thorough enquiry be conducted into the incident at the O&G Department at the San Fernando General Hospital for justice and for the prevention of instances of that nature. We must respect patients’ rights, they have rights too. When the report is received and discussed, we will decide the way forward.

“For too long we have been saying and hearing of instances of poor patient management at the nation’s health institutions. Government, through its board and management, cannot escape responsibility for the safety of patients at the nation’s health institutions.”

Persad-Bissessar said after the probe into Boodoo-Ramsoomair’s death, the committee, which was also mandated to submit a report on the high infant mortality rates in this country, will also present those findings.

« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2011, 06:42:43 AM »
Oh ho....so Paula Chester-Cummerbatch was just waiting for the back and forth in the background to finish so she could issue the suspension letters.  So why dey fire she again??......steups!!!

« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2011, 07:37:48 AM »
Oh ho....so Paula Chester-Cummerbatch was just waiting for the back and forth in the background to finish so she could issue the suspension letters.  So why dey fire she again??......steups!!!

Because is longgggggg time dey want 2 get rid of her says meh old co-workers from SWRHA.

« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2011, 07:47:26 AM »

Because is longgggggg time dey want 2 get rid of her says meh old co-workers from SWRHA.

yeah ah done realise is victimisation.  Ah hope she get plenty money from a law suit......

« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2011, 08:23:44 AM »

yeah ah done realise is victimisation.  Ah hope she get plenty money from a law suit......

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNN

« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2011, 08:42:36 AM »
mouth open, story jumping out now on power 102

http://www.power102fm.com/profiles/

« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2011, 08:53:20 AM »
mouth open, story jumping out now on power 102

http://www.power102fm.com/profiles/

What dey say? No radio

« Reply #14 on: March 22, 2011, 09:12:06 AM »
Dr. Chatergoon said, in summary, that Cornelis over step she bounds in de matter......

« Reply #15 on: March 22, 2011, 09:17:35 AM »
Dr. Chatergoon said, in summary, that Cornelis over step she bounds in de matter......

Stevie Wonder saw dat?

« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2011, 02:45:40 PM »
SIA eh cool down yet and boops here comes another one .

« Reply #17 on: March 23, 2011, 05:27:03 PM »
CHRYSTAL BLED TO DEATH
By AZARD ALI Wednesday, March 23 2011

click on pic to zoom in« prev photo next photo »WHEN doctors performed a second operation on Chrystal Ramsoomair to prevent bleeding in her womb, two arteries cut during the surgery were not stitched back and the young Carapichaima mother bled to death.

Gynaecologist Dr Jehan Ali who was Ramsoomair’s private doctor before she was admitted to San Fernando General Hospital (SFGH), told Newsday yesterday that he witnessed the post- mortem on the morning of March 5, hours after the woman’s death the night before.

Pathologist Dr Hubert Daisley performed the autopsy.

“Two blood vessels in the womb were ligated. That means, they were not tied off and presumably she died from bleeding,” Ali said, as he gave an account of the hours before the death of Ramsoomair, 29, at the intensive care unit of the hospital. Ramsoomair had delivered her third child, a daughter, named Danielle by Caesarean-section (C-section) but died after undergoing an emergency hysterectomy.

When he last saw her on the maternity ward at about 5 pm on March 4, after Danielle’s delivery, Ali said Chrystal was “as white as a sheet”.

He said he alerted a doctor on call at the ward to Chrystal’s condition, and a hour later she was wheeled back into an operating theatre.

“I was there in the hospital until the patient died,” Ali said in an interview at his office at Southern Medical Clinic, San Fernando yesterday.

Ali explained Ramsoomair had been his patient at Southern Medical Clinic and five weeks before she was due to give birth he referred her to the San Fernando hospital.

“I gave her a letter to attend the ante-natal clinic at the hospital for a C-section at 38 weeks pregnancy. It was her third Caesarian, but not uncomplicated one,” said Ali. When he learned she had undergone the C-section, Ali went to the hospital to visit Ramsoomair.

“When I went upstairs on the ward, she was white like a sheet. I asked the doctor if he had summoned his senior doctor. He told me he was writing his notes (on another patient) and then he will call. I called the registrar and she responded expeditiously.”

Ali believed Ramsoomair was bleeding internally due to complications from the C-section.

By 6 pm that evening, she was taken back into the operating theatre where a registrar and consultant re-opened her to perform a hysterectomy to stop the bleeding, said Ali, who was once head of the Obstetrics and Gynaecology Department of the San Fernando hospital.

Ali decided to offer his help to the hospital’s medical director Dr Anand Chatoorgoon.

“At that point I called Dr Chatoorgoon who was in his office and I told him about the patient’s condition. I told him to ask the consultant who was performing the operation to allow me to assist in stopping the bleeding. I told Chatoorgoon again to speak to the consultant, but I got no response from him.”

Ali went on to say that he waited outside the theatre with Ramsoomair’s relatives and when he could not get a response from the doctors about what was happening to her, he spoke to a ward attendant.

“The ward attendant, who was in an out the theatre, said to me that he told the doctors that ‘Jehan was outside and said that he was willing to help’. I still did not get a response.”

Ali said he remained in the waiting room and about two hours later, Ramsoomair was wheeled out of the theatre, but was taken to the Intensive Care Unit and not the maternity ward.

Ali said he went to see her and “she looked okay to me”.

However, he remained on the ward with family members when Ramsoomair’s condition worsened. Ramsoomai, Ali said, had cardiovascular collapse in which her blood pressure dropped. “Obviously, she was still bleeding even after the hysterectomy, so much, that there was not enough blood for the heart to pump.”

Ali said he then spoke with the anaesthetist who had put Ramsoomair to sleep for the hysterectomy. “The anaesthetist told me that he had informed the doctors during the operation that I was outside.”

Meanwhile, efforts were being made to resuscitate Ramsoomair.

Ali said it was at that point, a consultant doctor asked him to provide assistance.

“I told him ‘why you asking me now?’ All the time I was willing to help but nobody take me on....now when the patient almost dead?”

Ali said he told the anaesthetist to try and get Ramsoomair’s pulse back on track and to get two pints of blood for him to operate to try to stop the bleeding. “I was prepared to go in the theatre without their permission. The nurses may not have allowed me, but I didn’t care. They would had to call the guards for me, but I would have tried to save her life. She never recovered.”

Ali said he left the hospital close to midnight and on following morning, he went to the hospital’s mortuary to witness the post mortem performed by Daisley.

Ali said he was shown the two blood vessels that were left exposed in Ramsoomair’s womb.

Daisley had determined Ramsoomair died from hypovolemic shock as a result of complications of a hysterectomy which took place after a C-section.

Ali stressed he was prepared to assist with the emergency surgery and was prepared to stand the liability since he pays $250,000 per year to the Medical Protection Society, which is an international body for medical insurance for specialist doctors.

Chatoorgoon yesterday acknowledged that it was Ali who first saw Ramsoomair in distress on the hospital’s maternity ward. “Being the good obstetrician that he is, it was Dr Jehan who saw her looking pale in the hospital,” Chatoorgoon told Newsday.

Ali said he is willing to tell a panel appointed by the Ministry of Health to probe Ramsoomair’s death what had happened on March 4. Five doctors and four nurses have been suspended for two weeks with pay pending the investigation.

Ali was ready to gave a statement to the three-member panel on Monday, but he was informed the first round of meetings had been cancelled.

The suspended doctors and nurses did not appear before the panel. The doctors reportedly submitted written statements to the panel.

Newsday understands the doctors are seeking further legal advice on initiating action to stop the probe, claiming political interference by the Health Minister in the suspensions and investigation.

PSA president Watson Duke yesterday said the nurses would have submitted statements in writing to the South West Regional Authority during a preliminary review of the procedures in Ramsoomair’s death. The nurses are seeking further legal advice, Duke said

« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2011, 07:19:06 AM »
Rowley: Sacked CEO should go to court
SWRHA fiasco
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Is it a family affair Mr Prakash Ramadhar

(Story Updated: Mar 23, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT )

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley said yesterday there was no need to investigate the abrupt firing of sacked South West Regional Health Authority chief executive officer Paula Chester-Cumberbatch.

"There is nothing to investigate. She should just go and get her legal redress, because she was fired by a board whose chairman, having made a case, of tardiness (in writing the suspension letters) on her part, when confronted of their precipitate action, the chairman then said she was not fired for that," Rowley said in a telephone interview.

"So now I ask what was she fired for? I see no need for an investigation. They could admit they made a faux pas and put her back in her job or she can go to court where we expect that justice will prevail."

He said when he looked at what Chester-Cumberbatch had done, she came across as a person who was totally in control of the organisation and was acting quite properly. He said the SWRHA board has acted quite improperly in dealing with her, as did Minister of Health Therese Baptiste-Cornelis, who made pronouncements before there was any investigation and information was available.

Rowley said in the same way, the Prime Minister disclosed she was supporting the minister while announcing she was setting up an investigating committee.

"So what are you investigating for (if you have already reached a position)?" he asked.

The current chain of events was sparked by the Carnival Friday death of Chrystal Boodoo-Ramsoomair after a Caesarean section. Boodoo-Ramsoomair, 29, continued to bleed while in the care of nurses and an autopsy determined she died from an alleged botched procedure.

On the news that Legal Affairs Minister, Prakash Ramadhar, may be removed from the ministerial committee appointed to investigate Chester-Cumberbatch's dismissal because he could be a relative of Boodoo-Ramsoomair, Rowley asked if Ramadhar did not know that Boodoo-Ramsoomair was his relative, or is it that he only found out he was appointed to this committee after it was announced.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced on Monday that a ministerial committee headed by Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh has been appointed to investigate Chester-Cumberbatch's firing. Yesterday, however, she announced she may have to remove Ramadhar after getting information he may be related to the deceased.

Rowley said the whole thing was out of control because of the way Baptiste-Cornelis inserted herself into the process.

"There is a legal entity called the SWRHA. It is a statutory body and if something has gone wrong in there, it is its legal right and responsibility to conduct the investigation," he said.

He said with the Minister inserting herself came an opportunity to demonstrate mismanagement on the part of the Government. He said he was sure the authority could have found a qualified and impartial doctor to go in and see what went on, collect information and report. And from his report, the SWRHA could have seen who was culpable and who was not.

"Instead of that, we are now talking about bringing in a PAHO (person) or a foreigner to find what happened," Rowley said, adding: "Are we going to do that every time something like this happens in our hospital? Or is it because on this occasion it started off as a political matter, misdirected by political excesses and they are now trying to pull it back?"

He said something obviously went wrong and the authorities were required to look into it. He noted that the ministry first appointed someone from the Medical Council (Dr Adesh Sirjeusingh) to the investigation team, not realising that such a person could not qualify because it is the Medical Council which has to receive the report from such an investigation.

"It is a whole plethora of incompetence," he said, adding that all the Government was trying to do is score political points at the expense of the people.

« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2011, 02:11:16 AM »
From Newsday

Chrystal’s death on world news

By AZARD ALI Sunday, March 27 2011
click on pic to zoom in
« prev photo next photo »

THE death of Chrystal Ramsoomair has sparked international attention with reports on CNN and Fox News channels that painted a bleak picture to the outside world about the country’s health system and the suspension of five doctors and five nurses.

The reports triggered telephone calls from strangers as far as Germany and Australia to the Boodoo family in rural St Mary’s Village, Carapichaima, to express their sympathy. Speaking to Sunday Newsday, Chrystal’s mother, Joyce, 62, said that a caller from Australia saw the news clip on Fox News and enquired how Chrystal died at San Fernando General Hospital. The 29- year-old mother’s death hogged local newspaper headlines when it was revealed that an autopsy conducted on the body showed that two arteries in the womb were severed and not ligated (stitched).

Yesterday, forensic pathologist professor Hubert Daisley confirmed to Sunday Newsday that when he performed the autopsy on Chrystal, two arteries were in fact shown to have not been ligated. “But I’ll rather not make any comment on the autopsy. Everyone was there, including the doctors who did the surgery and they all saw. There were a number of persons and Dr Jehan Ali who was there, told you what he saw,” Daisley said.

Chrystal’s mother Joyce, said that the issue about her daughter’s death made international news when she received a telephone call at her home, from a person in Australia. The caller told her that he had checked an online directory and called the home of another family in Trinidad with the surname Boodoo. “He told me that his first call was the home of another Boodoo in Central,” Joyce said, “then another person from Germany called.”

Chrystal’s elder sister, Nisha, said that neighbours told them that news about their daughter’s death was carried on CNN and Fox News last Thursday. Nisha said that those reports are on online newspapers as well in which it referred to the doctors’ suspension as unprecedented in the medical fraternity. The country’s health care system also came in for bashing in the international television reports, Nisha said.

The media blitz on the death and events that followed, have kept the Boodoos’ downstairs home in Carapichaima abuzz with relatives, neighbours, friends, curious passersby and non-stop telephone calls. “We should be grieving...yes, but every day is something new on the issue. And it all over the world now. We haven’t had a quiet moment yet,” mom Joyce said. The fourth of five children, Chrystal was 22 when she married Lorne Ramsoomair, 45, from Couva. She had attended Couva Junior Secondary school and worked in stores and a video club. Her other sisters and brothers are Nisha, Niala, Shiva and Nathaniel. Chrystal, Nisha said, was a simple girl who just wanted to become a housewife and a devoted mother. Her first two children were delivered via C-section and when she became pregnant with the third, she knew it would be her last child. It cost her life.

Chrystal’s mom Joyce muses over her own pregnancy challenge 17 years ago when at 45, she became pregnant with her last child, Nathaniel.

The 62-year-old mother made the boast to Sunday Newsday that it is the “strong blood” of the Bodoos that had enabled her to give birth at 45. “So how come my child could die from bleeding?” she asked

The principal issues for the investigative committee are: Was Chrystal Ramsoomair a high-risk pregnant mother, having regard to her two previous C-sections?

The answer to that question will determine how the committee treats with a November 4, 2009 directive from the Ministry of Health which instructed that all high-risk Caesarean sections must have a registrar/consultant in attendance. A doctor who was a House Officer, but who acted as registrar, performed Chrystal’s caesarean section in which she gave birth to a girl - Danielle.

In which of the operation was the arteries severed? Was it during the hysterectomy to stop the bleeding which was performed by a consultant? Was Chrystal, after the C-section, properly monitored on the ward by nurses post surgery in accordance with protocol directive, resulting in undetected bleeding and unconsciousness?

Another intriguing factor is nursing home gynaecologist Dr Jehan Ali’s intervention. As Chrystal’s private gynaecologist, did Ali had any locus standi in a public hospital in the context of him pleading with doctors to allow him to assist in the second operation (hysterectomy) to stop the bleeding, or in the least, supervise it? Ali, a former head of the said hospital’s Ob and Gyn for 21 years, has gone on record as saying that he got no response from Dr Anand Chatoorgoon when he asked to assist the patient.

But Chatoorgoon, speaking to Sunday Newsday, disputed that and said he told Ali that he would allow him to go into the theatre. Chatoorgoon said, however, that he could not instruct the consultant to allow Ali into the theatre. Doctors whom Sunday Newsday spoke to, said there has never been any life-threatening medical situation locally, in which the “human” element overrides rules and procedures.

International medical journals have cited cases, however, in which the Medical Defence Union and Medical Protection Society have covered private doctors medico-legally, for intervening in life-and-death situations.

With respect to the international news coverage, the Latter Day Saints’ website has posted the story and the online International Discussions with the headline: “The Nightmares of Trinidad Public Hospitals.” In Guyana, the Stabroek News, highlighted the doctors’ suspension with the headline: “Five TT docs suspended over C-section death.”

Two other officials in the health care system fell victim following the doctors’ suspension - CEO Paula Chester-Cumberbatch whose dismissal an inter-ministerial team has been appointed to probe. Hospital medical director since 2009, Dr Anand Chatoorgoon has been unceremoniously removed from the chair effective next week Thursday.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,137859.html
« Last Edit: March 27, 2011, 02:13:42 AM by davyjenny1 »