April 28, 2024, 12:05:28 PM

Author Topic: Please do not select me - Cricket  (Read 3036 times)

Please do not select me - Cricket
« on: March 30, 2011, 09:30:49 AM »
What WI cricketer asked the selectors not to pick him due to a lack of form.
They ignored him and he went on to have a magnificent score.

Cah give away too much info, it will get too easy.

TM NOT YOU.

Re: Please do not select me - Cricket
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2011, 07:47:23 AM »
Hint,

- he was from TT
- he scored a century
- he dead.

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2011, 10:26:35 AM »
Tallest go through.

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2011, 05:17:10 PM »
Hint,

- he was from TT
- he scored a century
- he dead.

Joey Carew? An educated guess but I feel ah wrong like an o.

« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2011, 08:24:15 AM »
Not Joey.

This guy also played football for TT.

« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2011, 09:20:37 AM »
Clifford Roach

« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2011, 09:56:06 AM »
Not Joey.

This guy also played football for TT.

k thought so.

« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2011, 11:15:30 AM »
Tallest correct as usual.

I believe first WI to score a century and double century in Test cricket.

The man score a duck in TT ask to be dropped for the Guyana test vs. England. They refused to and he score a double century yes.

« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2011, 01:11:09 PM »
His son taught at Fatima, VB, maybe after your time, remember when his dad passed, had an indepth video on him at school in de auditorium

« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2011, 01:08:24 AM »
Barataria,

I had a Mr. Roach who was my class teacher in Form II. I believe he taught us Eng.

Thought he was his son but never asked. Sorry I never saw that vid.

Mr. Roach was a very nice teacher. However, in later years they made him a Dean. Pity such a nice fella should start giving out licks.

« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2011, 05:03:40 AM »
Barataria,

I had a Mr. Roach who was my class teacher in Form II. I believe he taught us Eng.

Mr. Roach was a very nice teacher. However, in later years they made him a Dean. Pity such a nice fella should start giving out licks.

Yeah, he was a cool teacher, did not teach me but was respected by most of us.  Must have made him dean after I left as well, cyar see him dishin out licks, but hey, he would have had to as dean.  Actually, he along with a couple other teachers emigrated to Dallas when there was a huge movement to bring teachers from the Caribbean in Math/Science to the US.  Saw him once on my way to AZ as I passed through Dallas.  I believe he is still out there

« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2011, 07:59:01 AM »
Barataria,

Yeah, he was a cool teacher, did not teach me but was respected by most of us.  Must have made him dean after I left as well, cyar see him dishin out licks, but hey, he would have had to as dean.  Actually, he along with a couple other teachers emigrated to Dallas when there was a huge movement to bring teachers from the Caribbean in Math/Science to the US.  Saw him once on my way to AZ as I passed through Dallas.  I believe he is still out there

I get licks from Clifford Roach arready...

I believe he may have passed away some years ago as well. Touches might know for sure.

He was a great teacher and dean though

« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2011, 09:51:45 AM »
Barataria,

I get licks from Clifford Roach arready...

I believe he may have passed away some years ago as well. Touches might know for sure.

He was a great teacher and dean though

If he passed away, sorry to hear that. He was a really nice teacher to have. Gave out some of the most curious pennances. Now that I think about it, it was probably Math he taught me.

If he did pass away really sorry to hear that.

« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2011, 08:06:53 PM »
Not too sure Roach passed away.  Both Roach and Ifill (former O- and A-level Physics Teacher at Fatima) left TT at the same time and both settled to teach in Dallas.  I saw Ifill last year in NY and he did not mention that Roach passed away, given our closeness this is something I think he would have shared, though of course I cannot confirm.  Will try to touch base w/Ifill and hear the latest.

« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2011, 12:28:55 PM »
I remember Ifill well was in Form V or VI when I started Fatima.

I think he Benjamin and James were more or less in the same year.
Made the transition from Form VI to teaching before they went on in their lives.