March 28, 2024, 06:08:48 AM

Author Topic: I'm officially a Fulham fan  (Read 1900 times)

I'm officially a Fulham fan
« on: April 03, 2011, 03:53:38 PM »
http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/blog/dirty-tackle/post/Fulham-owner-unveils-Michael-Jackson-statue-giv?urn=sow-wp548

Long Live the King of POP.... :beermug:

Fulham owner unveils Michael Jackson statue, gives fans ultimatum
By Brooks Peck

"What are you going to do about it?"
When Fulham owner Mohamed Al Fayed first announced that he was going to have a statue built to honor his friend Michael Jackson and placed outside Craven Cottage, many people thought it was a joke while others wondered what business a statue of the dead singer had at a Premier League stadium.
Well, the former Harrods proprietor followed through on his promise. And on Sunday, before Fulham's match against Blackpool at the quaint little London ground that first opened in 1896, he unveiled the statue to excited fans of the singer and confused fans of Fulham. Al Fayed then danced with children and made it clear that if anyone doesn't like the statue, he doesn't really care.
From the AP:
"Why is it bizarre?" he said. "Football fans love it. If some stupid fans don't understand and appreciate such a gift, they can go to hell.
"I don't want them to be fans. If they don't understand and don't believe in things I believe in, they can go to Chelsea, they can go to anywhere else."
How sweet. Any Fulham fan upset that a statue was built to honor a man who attended one match with Al Fayed in 1999 instead of a legendary player or someone with an actual association to the sport might want to reconsider their anger, though. After the statue was unveiled, Fulham went on to beat Blackpool 3-0. So, clearly, the odd presence of the King of Pop isn't hurting their results.
A close-up of the awkwardly posed, over-sized action figure statue right this way...

« Last Edit: April 03, 2011, 03:55:09 PM by Daft Trini »

Re: I'm officially a Fulham fan
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2011, 07:19:25 PM »
Okay Daft Trini, so when are you going to start the Fulham Forever Thread?  ;)

Guess if you have been a Fulham fan but not a MJ fan then you can "Beat It"!   ;D

Otherwise if you are a Fulham fan and also an MJ fan like Daft Trini then "You Are Not Alone"!   :D

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Q2OgY-ndvpY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Q2OgY-ndvpY</a>
« Last Edit: April 03, 2011, 07:23:06 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2011, 07:47:57 PM »

Guess if you have been a Fulham fan but not a MJ fan then you can "Beat It"!   ;D

Otherwise if you are a Fulham fan and also an MJ fan like Daft Trini then "You Are Not Alone"!   :D

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Q2OgY-ndvpY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Q2OgY-ndvpY</a>

Will u b there wit Billie Jean

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2011, 07:54:57 PM »

Good idea, I might just be starting something!  ;D

« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2011, 09:24:51 PM »

Good idea, I might just be starting something!  ;D

I think you're Off The Wall. But you never know, if you go to watch Fulham, you may see a Thriller!! And I suppose you don't care if they play in Black or White!!!

« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2011, 11:55:58 PM »
Is "Human Nature" I suppose, but we would all be better served if Daft just "Keep it in the Closet".  Or better yet, just tell it to "The Man in the Mirror".  So much "Pretty Young Thing" out there... even "Dirty Diana", and he loving Fullham instead? "Dangerous".

« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2011, 01:10:53 AM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl:  Hear nah allyuh does make my day oui. 

« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2011, 04:13:55 AM »
"Hee hee"
"Go on girl!"

« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2011, 07:16:21 AM »
if FF only see the puns rollin around in here............

« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2011, 07:52:23 AM »
:rotfl: :rotfl:  Hear nah allyuh does make my day oui. 

Evry day 365 days and 366 when it is a leap year.

« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2011, 09:11:04 AM »
Is "Human Nature" I suppose, but we would all be better served if Daft just "Keep it in the Closet".  Or better yet, just tell it to "The Man in the Mirror".  So much "Pretty Young Thing" out there... even "Dirty Diana", and he loving Fullham instead? "Dangerous".

Hey Bakes, back off trying to fix he up with Diana....don't you know The Girl Is Mine? She my Girlfriend! I been Workin' Day & Night. I Can't Help It. She the kind of girl who wants to Rock with You, she Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough. She likes to Get On The Floor so can can Burn This Disco Down. She wants to Rock With You. But now She's Out Of My Life

There you go, the entire Off The Wall album now done LOL

« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2011, 09:37:41 AM »
Instantly a Classic Thread!  :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2011, 10:19:54 AM »
if FF only see the puns rollin around in here............

I pass in... steups and pass out  ::)

« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2011, 06:24:58 PM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: