March 28, 2024, 11:23:46 AM

Author Topic: Marvin Andrews: Rangers will still qualify  (Read 1191 times)

Marvin Andrews: Rangers will still qualify
« on: October 20, 2005, 01:19:15 PM »
Sporting Life

WE WILL STILL QUALIFY - ANDREWS

Defender Marvin Andrews remains confident Rangers will overcome the disappointment of their goalless draw with Artmedia at Ibrox to qualify for the knock-out stages of the Champions League.

Rangers spurned the chance to go top of Group H as Porto opened up the section with a surprise 2-0 win over leaders Inter Milan.

With just three points separating Inter and bottom side Porto, Alex McLeish's men now face tricky away ties against Artmedia and Porto before finishing with a home game against the Italians.

However, Andrews, who replaced the injured Sotirios Kyrgiakos in the first half, is upbeat about the prospect of taking one of the top two places.

"That belief wouldn't go anyway until the last sound of the whistle in the last game," he said. "At this moment in time we have as good a chance as anybody in the group.

"We're just disappointed because of the opportunities we had to score and put ourselves in with a better chance.

"But these things happen in football and we just have to keep working hard and look forward to the next game in Bratislava.

"The most important thing was that we haven't lost, we picked up a point.

"The boys were excellent, we created loads of chances but we just never put the ball into the back of the net."

Andrews denied Rangers had underestimated their Slovakian opponents.

He added: "They were a well organised team, they came looking for a draw and they achieved that.

"They held their shape really well but we still opened them up and created chances.

"The majority of the chances were one against one with the goalkeeper but he had a fantastic night, pulling off some really good saves."

Rangers striker Peter Lovenkrands believes the frustrated fans, many of whom jeered the players off the pitch at the end of the game, should not be too downhearted.

He said: "We played really good football and we just didn't put our chances away so we can't be disappointed.

"We should be happy with that even though we didn't get the three points.

"The group opened up with Porto winning so it's going to be tough and really exciting now.

"As long was we don't lose any points in the next couple of games I think we have a good chance of qualifying.

"We'll create chances over in Bratislava in the next game, we just need to put them away."

« Last Edit: October 20, 2005, 01:34:50 PM by Tallman »

Re: Marvin Andrews: Rangers will still qualify
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 10:11:29 PM »
 Good luck anyway...Marvin Andrews should know about miracles so i guess i will take his word 4 it....Go T&T

Re: Marvin Andrews: Rangers will still qualify
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2005, 10:47:22 PM »
doh doubt Big Marv at all nah..he does talk to God regular