April 27, 2024, 01:21:17 PM

Author Topic: Interesting Observation From a Once Loyal T&T U20 Parent,Enjoy!!!!!  (Read 6105 times)

Re: Interesting Observation From a Once Loyal T&T U20 Parent,Enjoy!!!!!
« Reply #30 on: April 06, 2011, 10:04:09 AM »
This man woman or child is being quite duplicitous as they claim they're not knowledgeable about the game yet they're prediciting Daniel Cyrus to go far and commenting on other players.

So when you went to Korea was your ticket provided by Simpaul?

« Reply #31 on: April 06, 2011, 10:09:37 AM »
T&T, the land of Steelpan, Calypso and flukes..

« Reply #32 on: April 06, 2011, 10:11:29 AM »
People have been saying this all along

Jack is the reason we make the world cups,

The only team that had a hard time was the U20 back in the day.

All other world cup qualifications are as a direct result of Jack "opening" up the game rather than improvements on the field.

Anyone can see through the smoke screen if you look closely.

would we qualify without the play off spots? probably not

Jack is the number one reason for the qualifications

« Reply #33 on: April 06, 2011, 10:15:09 AM »
We going Brazil!!

Offline congo

« Reply #34 on: April 06, 2011, 10:37:16 AM »
Boss posts. It's alright to dream but we also need to be realistic. There is so much more involved in football nowadays than just skills. Rooney grew up on a rough council estate. He had to literally fight his way to the top. How many of our footballers can say that if they don't make it in football they'll have to turn to crime to etch out a living? That's the reality of most football playing youths in Africa. How many of our footballers have faced rejection? We as a people are afraid to speak to offend anyone. It's just how we are. Sometimes you need to tell someone they are just not good enough!

It's such a different reality for us. Here it's a sport and played for fun and some parents even dream of getting a contract just to get nice money. Footballers are a reflection of the society. The way they play football is how they live their lives, run industry etc. Look at it carefully. It's a philosophy/ culture that transfers to their football. What is our philosophy?

"Brand Trinidad and Tobago" is not strong enough to promote our football. It's just a fact. Africa has players littered in leagues all over the world. We still scorn and raise our eyebrows when our players get contracts in countries like kazakhstan and stuff as if we are better than that in someway. We have an inflated view of ourselves and it's not just in football.

Even at their best Latapy, Yorke never really got it. Yorke had 2 good years at Man U. Cristiano Ronaldo took off like a rocket in 2005 and hasn't come down since.

Maybe it's time we seriously focus on the women and see what we can produce with them..!!
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 11:16:18 AM by congo »

« Reply #35 on: April 06, 2011, 10:45:05 AM »
Saga respect for trying to be the best for your son.  :beermug:

Ah have a story for you.

Ah man tried to get into a very prestigious music school but was rejected.  He was told that he could not make the scale and that he would never be able to sing anything that people would want to hear.  The young man said, "There's music inside of me and I intend to get it out.

Look him here.

Flash"http://www.youtube.com/embed/8y3_kH9nYcA"Flash

By your definition he is also a fluke.  When someone puts in the time they're not a fluke.  

Dreams can come through, the deciding factor is whether or not you are willing to pay the cost, take the risk and put in the time.  If you are not we understand.  But with that stay safe philosophy nothing will ever be invented or discovered.  Heck, ah man wouldn't even put in a tackle.

We have a right to expect the best from our colors.  
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 10:47:14 AM by Preacher »

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #36 on: April 06, 2011, 10:47:35 AM »
Typical of most folks to stare reality in the face and ignore it......

« Reply #37 on: April 06, 2011, 11:58:14 AM »
Can't see how people saying that he have a point  ???  there is absolutely no point all the was typed. The fans are being blamed for expecting too much from players. You ever hear :bs: so. It's like if you all just let us travel the world and if we win come and meet we in the airport and let the government heap praises on us, but if we fail just allow we nah. :bs:

This is ah big man game, where is either you can or you can not. Nearly is for horse shoe. What about the fans who came out in droves to support the U17 girls and although most admitted that the quality of soccer was not good enough the effort and committment the young ladies showed was good enough for them. How bout them apples.

Ride out with that fan have to much expectation :bs:   how about when the National teams play at home they do it with mammy and daddy alone in the stands and "the expectant fans" stay home and save they hard earned money. How about that? That whole letter/email is just a bunch of excuses and rationalizing why the son quit playing. That has nothing to do with we, daiz y'all decision, live with it.

Man bunch of jokers.

« Reply #38 on: April 06, 2011, 12:02:01 PM »
Can't see how people saying that he have a point  ???  there is absolutely no point all the was typed. The fans are being blamed for expecting too much from players. You ever hear :bs: so. It's like if you all just let us travel the world and if we win come and meet we in the airport and let the government heap praises on us, but if we fail just allow we nah. :bs:

This is ah big man game, where is either you can or you can not. Nearly is for horse shoe. What about the fans who came out in droves to support the U17 girls and although most admitted that the quality of soccer was not good enough the effort and committment the young ladies showed was good enough for them. How bout them apples.

Ride out with that fan have to much expectation :bs:   how about when the National teams play at home they do it with mammy and daddy alone in the stands and "the expectant fans" stay home and save they hard earned money. How about that? That whole letter/email is just a bunch of excuses and rationalizing why the son quit playing. That has nothing to do with we, daiz y'all decision, live with it.

Man bunch of jokers.

« Reply #39 on: April 06, 2011, 02:33:37 PM »
Boss posts. It's alright to dream but we also need to be realistic. There is so much more involved in football nowadays than just skills. Rooney grew up on a rough council estate. He had to literally fight his way to the top. How many of our footballers can say that if they don't make it in football they'll have to turn to crime to etch out a living? That's the reality of most football playing youths in Africa. How many of our footballers have faced rejection? We as a people are afraid to speak to offend anyone. It's just how we are. Sometimes you need to tell someone they are just not good enough!

It's such a different reality for us. Here it's a sport and played for fun and some parents even dream of getting a contract just to get nice money. Footballers are a reflection of the society. The way they play football is how they live their lives, run industry etc. Look at it carefully. It's a philosophy/ culture that transfers to their football. What is our philosophy?

"Brand Trinidad and Tobago" is not strong enough to promote our football. It's just a fact. Africa has players littered in leagues all over the world. We still scorn and raise our eyebrows when our players get contracts in countries like kazakhstan and stuff as if we are better than that in someway. We have an inflated view of ourselves and it's not just in football.

Even at their best Latapy, Yorke never really got it. Yorke had 2 good years at Man U. Cristiano Ronaldo took off like a rocket in 2005 and hasn't come down since.

Maybe it's time we seriously focus on the women and see what we can produce with them..!!

I was liking you post until you talk about Yorke  and Latapy,  you have to be mad these guys made it when no ever thought of Trinidad football.  although Yorke partied a lot he was a professional that’s what a lot of these youths are missing. Yorke was always the fittest player on whatever team he played on and for you to say he only had two good year you had to just now start watching football because that was utter madness.

Offline congo

« Reply #40 on: April 06, 2011, 03:26:50 PM »
Yeah but you have to be naive to think that if these guys were alot more serious about it they could have done even more and achieved alot more. We remember the drunk driving charges, the stumbling out of nightclubs. Yorke achieved alot at Manchester but after there was downhill. Let's be honest.

« Reply #41 on: April 06, 2011, 03:28:38 PM »
I had lunch with an old friend today and he told me that if you had to select a team pick the best crop of players from your pool,so let's look at this for a second we've been selecting players right out of colleges league-that for a long time has not been working,we've been selecting players from the pro league that also has not been bearing fruit lately so lets see overseas ah yes overseas well unfortunately that has holes as well,with some players riding pine regularly and the ones who getting a sweat every so often can't seem to find the back of the net consistently.

I tell you reality is a bitch and the truth definitely hurts and it seems as if all the forum members have a lot of time on there hands to spend constantly trying to defend mediocrity.The fact is as a footballing nation in order for us to amount to any success we need to be micro managed,yuh see it's impossible for us to play what was delegated to us it's a retention problem,it's evident in our games man ent holding their positions,straying,running off the ball a problem more likely to hold on for too long or dribble excessively,fitness an issue,I could go on an on,starting to see the picture,me eh like the word fluke either but like it has found a home here currently with our state of affairs....                

« Reply #42 on: April 06, 2011, 04:47:21 PM »

Congo, Haven't you notice the amount of crime in the communities. How many potential ballers have been dead over the past 6/7 yrs. Sadly some of them don't even see pro football as an option. Clubs scrunting and jack strangling.  Man who playing proleague does still "moonlight" in the minors for pocket change. Ask Marvin Oliver or The Hardest?
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 05:11:16 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #43 on: April 06, 2011, 04:55:37 PM »
 Nice article OP. There is a few things that i disagree with. For starters you can't blame the 12th man... unless he throw something in the pitch... or runs across it half naked/misc. As far as coaching goes, they (the coaches) have the rite to put forth whatever formation/strat they like, whether you like it or not, they are getting paid to do a job. In my mind no one knows his players better than a the gaffa.

On to the other things such as underdogs, and to an extend yes internationally but in our confederation we are one of the top teams that still consist of many admirers aboard from time to time. I think the old national squads had more talented individuals but since then the game has evolved, it begs to wonder how the old guys would coup in modern football.

The coach is the most important piece of puzzle in a football team and International coaches have it very hard because they dont

« Reply #44 on: April 06, 2011, 05:08:07 PM »
The headline, :from a Once loyal TT 20 Parent, fool me. I thought he was going to tell us about the run down of the failed program to prepare the U-20s for the U20 WC. But to my surprise we the fans recieved "bwah". First of all, Most fans are fickle. I have seen the best teams and clubs get booed by their loyal fans. TT is no different. The reason why people don't support national footbal is because local football has lost the appeal it once had. The fans have abandon  the national because of "poor" jack.  We want him out. We need new leadership. Ironically he is in power because the 'people" wanted change. Like everything else, there must be new blood. We fans have no control over football administration. We will walk as long as the mafia exits.

Why did your son played so poorly against Mexico. Was it because of the fans. We coached him. We reading all this thing about they going to Colombia for training. We read they beating pro-clubs and when the real test come we only see flashes of brillance and a deluge of tata. This team was spotted a 2 goal handicapp and got 4 in the first half and you blaming the fans?

I feel bad for then guys because I played for the U-20 many moons ago. I wanted the team to do well. It is a great honour to stand for the playing of your anthem, together with the rush of adrenaline and butterflies in your stomach. Them guys did not go out their to lose. They were just outplayed. They looked cluless most of the game. You blaming we for that??!!!!!!
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 05:12:51 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #45 on: April 06, 2011, 05:19:36 PM »
deeks i wish it had a like button for that post yes...go hadda go wit the old cosign

« Reply #46 on: April 06, 2011, 08:32:43 PM »
Coaching is key. I will always use Cyd as my example. One coach turn this man from a defensive liability and a head case to a starter men wanted to see play. That 06 team was not our most talented on paper but it was the best coached. Coaching has a lot to do with how a team performs.

First thing Beenie worked on was fitness. Then before the WC we played way above our weight class and get real licks going in. Men was afraid of the scores we would have collected. That is why we as a nation was so impressed by what any other nation would consider a poor performance. We knew the results that the team was getting and honestly scraping fourth place in CONCACAF, past Bahrain and then to go and draw points from Sweden and hold England for so long was commendable hence why the whole nation is proud of the team.

The fact that the U-20 couldn't beat Cuba a fellow Caribbean team who definitely has less resources is not acceptable though. Why can't our teams get good preparation from the get go. Why we have to scrape through CONCACAF and then get games in preparation for the big show? Why not get good preparation from jump. This U-17 and U-20 as well as senior crop missed great opportunities to pick up experience against decent opponents by not getting at least further into the qualifying. This has set them way behind the heavy hitters in CONCACAF. Couple this with the fact that the everyday practice and games at a lower standard than the CONCACAF big teams and  we would have to agree that the fact the senior team doesn't get more routed in games in the hex is amazing.  Then again overseas player is our crutch.

The reason why our players blossom late is because it does take them way longer than other countries to get the exposure they need. When men learning the job on senior team duty you can only expect the senior team to be competitive at best every 12 years.  It seems like 16 is our number though. With the right coaching some of these same youth men might come good in 12-16 yrs time (putting them around 30-something). That sounds about par for our players. So 2026 here we come. Then again foreign born players might mash up this equation and may have to be our lifetime plaster for the sore that is T&T football.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 08:34:22 PM by rippin »

« Reply #47 on: April 07, 2011, 10:20:25 AM »
So we honestly feel that the rest of our u-20 side better than Jake Thompson? Who get release by how much small club already in the past 2/3 years?

« Reply #48 on: April 07, 2011, 10:30:46 AM »
deeks i wish it had a like button for that post yes...go hadda go wit the old cosign

ah try to address dis eh, but dat track flat oui.

good thread. ah like de long essay format. is a fine line between confidence and delusion.

« Reply #49 on: April 07, 2011, 02:32:13 PM »
People have been saying this all along

Jack is the reason we make the world cups,

The only team that had a hard time was the U20 back in the day.

All other world cup qualifications are as a direct result of Jack "opening" up the game rather than improvements on the field.

Anyone can see through the smoke screen if you look closely.

would we qualify without the play off spots? probably not

Jack is the number one reason for the qualifications
       :beermug: :beermug: :applause: :applause: :applause: :notworthy: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #50 on: April 07, 2011, 02:44:06 PM »
Sorry but the person  who write this is a damn fool.

There is some truth to unrealistic expectations but to say that ALL our qualifications in the last five years were due to flukes is rubbish and an insult to some damn hard work.

The Soca Warriors had no room for mistake when  Beenie came, they came  from behind against Guat. and Mex to win and keep us alive. They went to Bahrain in a must win situation and did what even Japan couldn't, they won. Yes DL scored the goal and he also scored vs Panama. It doesn't matter WHO scored the goal, what matters is that it SCORED. This is football it's a team sport, you work together and get it in the back of hte net. DL scored few goals for the same reason that Sancho and Marvin Andrews scored few, they are defenders. If DL scored with he head or ass, it matters not.

OUr U 20 team held their own with Italy and also with Paraguay, the number one team in SA at the time - both games in one week were a fluke??

Give some credit to the respective coaches and the prep. that went into it.

I didn't see this present team and perhaps their prep. in Colombia was insufficient perhaps the opposition wass just better - but come on - three WCs in three years and they're all flukes??

STEUUPPSS!!

« Reply #51 on: April 07, 2011, 05:15:54 PM »
Yeah but you have to be naive to think that if these guys were alot more serious about it they could have done even more and achieved alot more. We remember the drunk driving charges, the stumbling out of nightclubs. Yorke achieved alot at Manchester but after there was downhill. Let's be honest.

Clueless.... Yorke was at Aston Villa for 9 years before he joined Manchester and he was their big player ... wake up!