April 24, 2024, 03:14:20 PM

Author Topic: ‎48÷2(9+3) = ?  (Read 4419 times)

‎48÷2(9+3) = ?
« on: April 13, 2011, 12:17:22 PM »
?????

hahah Let me spread the frustration and hear what the distinguished people of SW.net have to say.

Re: ‎48÷2(9+3) = ?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2011, 12:20:03 PM »
What was your answer ;D

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2011, 12:25:51 PM »

« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2011, 12:28:09 PM »
Pi

« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2011, 12:31:11 PM »
I get 2

« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2011, 12:37:19 PM »
I get 2

‎48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2(12)
48÷24= 2

ent ?

« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2011, 12:40:07 PM »
Lol... Toppa yuh bring dis here now?

My answer is still 288.

‎48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2(12)
48÷24= 2

ent ?

BODMAS (or even BOMDAS) says you solve the brackets first (yielding 12).  That much everybody could agree on.  There are no exponents to consdider so next we move to the the "DM" part.  Multiplication and Division (and Addition and Subtraction) are operations which occur at the same level of priority, so you can do either first... the only thing that the rules specify is that you evaluate them left to right.

There for you ought to do 48÷2 before you do 2(12).  24x12= 288.

« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2011, 12:48:16 PM »

My answer is still 288.

‎48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2(12)
48÷24= 2

ent ?

BODMAS (or even BOMDAS) says you solve the brackets first (yielding 12).  That much everybody could agree on.  There are no exponents to consdider so next we move to the the "DM" part.  Multiplication and Division (and Addition and Subtraction) are operations which occur at the same level of priority, so you can do either first... the only thing that the rules specify is that you evaluate them left to right.

Actually is 288 I did get yes. Ah gremlin did put ah extra 12 number in de calculator.

« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2011, 12:50:24 PM »

My answer is still 288.

‎48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2(12)
48÷24= 2

ent ?

Yeah I just plug it in Excel ;D

« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2011, 01:08:33 PM »
f**k maths , i really mean that , hate it

« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2011, 01:13:25 PM »
dos

« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2011, 01:16:23 PM »
Yeah I just plug it in Excel ;D

The disagreement between the "2" and "288" camp centering on the priority of operation between multiplication and division.  Some insist that yuh must perform any multiplication first.  Others like me say there is no order of priority, and none of the old mnemonic rules (BODMAS, BOMDAS, PEMDAS etc.) say anything about a hierarchy between the two, but rather they ought to be treated as equals.

Me eh no maths man though... I wash out at integrals.

« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2011, 01:42:25 PM »
The answer is 2!!!  :D

« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2011, 02:02:42 PM »

Yup, dunno where all these other 'solutions' came from lol

« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2011, 02:42:46 PM »

Yup, dunno where all these other 'solutions' came from lol

I'm going to ask my Mathematician friends

« Reply #15 on: April 13, 2011, 03:01:27 PM »
A mexican would say choo....

« Reply #16 on: April 13, 2011, 03:21:49 PM »
It's really 288. PEMDAS - Parenthesis, Exponents, Multiplication, Division, Addition and Substraction or Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally

Offline sinned

« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2011, 03:39:08 PM »

« Reply #18 on: April 13, 2011, 03:47:34 PM »

Math is for people who cyah think for deyself.   :devil:

« Reply #19 on: April 13, 2011, 03:59:07 PM »
If you wrote this in code such as C++ then answer is 288.

« Reply #20 on: April 13, 2011, 04:08:27 PM »
Consumer arithmetic real useful. In fact they could replace a large chunk of Maths with that and finance. Maths real important for the sciences. Countries that produce a lot of scientists have an advantage in Research and Development of new technology and products. Yeah, it important.

But honestly, anybody here ever had cause to use vectors or quadratic equations outside of a classroom ?
« Last Edit: April 13, 2011, 04:12:58 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #21 on: April 13, 2011, 04:18:33 PM »
If we have 48/2(9+3), then if we correctly interpret it as

Then we can distribute the 1/2 through the (9+3) term. E.g. 48/2(9+3)=48/2(12)=48*(12/2)=48*6=288

And (12/2) can be written as (9+3)/2, so I see no problem with writing it that way, other than the fact that writing 12 as the sum of three and nine is cumbersome.

« Reply #22 on: April 13, 2011, 04:32:07 PM »
Well said Jah.

« Reply #23 on: April 13, 2011, 04:35:34 PM »
Consumer arithmetic real useful. In fact they could replace a large chunk of Maths with that and finance. Maths real important for the sciences. Countries that produce a lot of scientists have an advantage in Research and Development of new technology and products. Yeah, it important.

But honestly, anybody here ever had cause to use vectors or quadratic equations outside of a classroom ?

Not personally, but I saw it used to identify a man from a helicopter video in the Reginald Denny case after the LA Riots.

« Reply #24 on: April 13, 2011, 05:04:21 PM »
It's written in an ambiguous manner

http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/48293

« Reply #25 on: April 13, 2011, 05:49:07 PM »
BEDMAS = brackets, exponents, divison, multiplication, addition and subtraction

:D

« Reply #26 on: April 13, 2011, 09:42:05 PM »
I guess at least now we know where "all these other 'solutions' came from"   8)

« Reply #27 on: April 13, 2011, 09:57:10 PM »
I have the letters m,a,t and s in meh last name and I does get mad when I hear it lol I hate that stinking subject with a passion

Offline Pur_Trini

« Reply #28 on: April 14, 2011, 03:19:49 AM »

48/2 (12)

24(12)

24 x 12 = 288
.........and may God bless our Nation.