April 19, 2024, 05:13:39 AM

Author Topic: Clayton Ince reclaims #1 jersey at Coventry  (Read 2377 times)

Clayton Ince reclaims #1 jersey at Coventry
« on: October 20, 2005, 07:55:41 AM »
Stephen Bywater returns to West Ham
Coventry City FC

Stephen Bywater has been recalled by West Ham United.

The goalkeeper returns to the London club with immediate effect.

It means that Clayton Ince is now the Sky Blues' only senior keeper, supported by 18-year-old Jonathan Tuffey.

Said boss Micky Adams:

"We're obviously very disappointed Stephen has been recalled but we have to get on with it.

"It leaves us very short of cover but it gives a great opportunity to Clayton, who is obviously very experienced."

Re: Clayton Ince reclaims #1 jersey at Coventry
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 07:58:29 AM »
A good turn of luck for Ince, now some regular 1st team action

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2005, 08:01:48 AM »
What does this mean for Shaka, or is it beacuse Carroll's hand is still injured???

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2005, 08:13:55 AM »
What does this mean for Shaka, or is it beacuse Carroll's hand is still injured???

I would like to know the impact also, is Carroll still fighting his injury?

« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2005, 09:38:35 AM »
big up to ince he is going to do well in coventry goal;

« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2005, 09:39:47 AM »
we have enough keepers to share with the rest of the carribbean

« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2005, 10:44:06 AM »
This is a very interesting situation.

Firstly, Jack is recovering from injury so obviously he will be short of match practice come Nov 12th.

Since Bywater has now moved back to West Ham then this means that Clayton will be our match fit keeper since he will be playing during the next few weeks.

Also, the fact that West Ham called back Bywater means that Carrol is worse off than they thought and Bywater might be cover for Shaka!!

if that is the case, then both shaka and clayton will be competing for the goalkeeping spot against bahrain.

We have to monitor these guys carefully (as usual) tuh see how dey performing!

competition like rain!!

« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2005, 11:07:53 AM »
ince is good though, i think jack is also good, shaka is past his time, jack will b de goal keeper for de world cup, ince will b de back-up, i cant believe we goin wit three keepers

« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2005, 11:09:16 AM »
three good world class keepers too :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2005, 11:18:38 AM »
ince is good though, i think jack is also good, shaka is past his time, jack will b de goal keeper for de world cup, ince will b de back-up, i cant believe we goin wit three keepers

Jack? better than shaka? A past his prime keeper would not be in the Premiership! U make him sound as if he geriatric!!

Clayton is the best keeper that we have, by a long shot.  Ince was injured, and shaka had club trouble, so jack stepped up and took his chance.  He is a god keeper, but he will not be the one lining up for us in germany if we get past bahrain.

By the way, trininfinite, only 22 players were allowed to the world cup but fifa changed within the last cup or two, to 23 to accomodate a third keeper. so we have to carry 3 keepers.

GO JACK,
GO SHAKA
GO INCE

« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2005, 11:22:49 AM »
Long time Ince hasn't been on the field for us (March...0-0 with CR)

Not sure he played much for this new club(2 league cup appearances I think) or the old club at the end.

He could do with some games...keep him sharp.

« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2005, 11:56:00 AM »
I just hope they eh call Bywater to keep Shaka on the bench...

« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2005, 12:04:02 PM »
Good for ince! ;D

« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2005, 01:23:41 PM »
Ah love the competition for that keeper spot. Man wil lbe on dey toes..... and them fellas ain't gonna let anything in.

Go Ince.
Go Shaka
Go Jack

Go Warriors !!

« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2005, 12:20:35 AM »
Ince starting fuh a Championship Team and his team is 21st out of 24th and he better than Shaka? Shaka reach an age where injuries have kept him back and teams looking to de younger keepers betweeen the uprights.  He still in de blasted Premiership.  In Ince case, he cyah even make ah bench in de Premiership as a 3rd stringer but some of allyuh does say he is best we have?  Jack holding he own and he is the future.  Ah glad we have all three of dem but let we not call ah man world class until he played for a big squad at some point on a regular basis please.  Three class keepers yes.  World Class!!??  Allyuh go make meh choke on dey dumpling yes.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2005, 10:28:53 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #15 on: October 21, 2005, 11:21:45 AM »
Men saying Shaka past his prime.  Fellas, goalkeepers does get like wine as they get older.  Ah ain't think Ince better than Shaka.  My analysis of the two is that Shaka is still a very competent shot stopper, relishes the big game opportunity, and has better footwork.  What's bad for Ince is that he is not that far behind Ince in terms of age, and will be the transitional number one (once he plays for a decent club) until Jack is ready to claim the spot as his own.