Melo is a toxic presence in the locker room?
I think you rel harsh tho, the Knicks were an incomplete team coming into the playoffs and it's hard to blame Carmelo..they need better role players if they want to be serious..the Nuggets are the exact opposite, they don't have a star who will step up to win them games in the clutch...
Go back and check what I said... he was a toxic presence in the Denver locker room. He was popular with his team mates but he undermined Karl in the locker room. Karl even started tweaking him in public, talking about his selfishness (not in so many words) and his failure to commit defensively. Same thing he went thru with Iverson.
Allyuh men also keep talking about how poor the Knicks were coming into the season... and missing the point completely. As "incomplete" as the Knicks were there was a solid core of young players surrounding Stoudemire, a stable foundation around which to build a championship team. I am not faulting Anthony for failing to deliver post-season wins (as implied by your comment), the most the Knicks were going to win was one, maybe two games against the Celtics... with or without Melo. So no, I not faulting him. I faulting the Knicks management (or if you believe the rumblings, the owner, James Dolan) for gutting the team of that solid core, in order to get spectacularly talented offensive player, who also happens to be supremely selfish.
Carmelo could have waited until the off-season to joint the Knicks and he would have had Stoudemire, Gallinari and Felton as team mates (they probably wouldn't have re-signed Chandler). Imagine how much better that team would be next year? Instead Dolan wanted to chase short term glory (a couple more wins and a post-season appearance this season) and Carmelo wanted to chase the $$. Asked why he didn't wait until the off-season Anthony talk about the financial uncertainties anticipated by the CBA impasse... in other words, he wanted to get as much money now before the current agreement expired. To heck with building a title team... he wanted to be paid. Not me saying that... read anybody who following the situation in NY and Denver... I could post links if yuh want.
This is what trading for Anthony cost the Knicks:
Danilo Gallinari
Raymond Felton
Wilson Chandler
Timofey Mozgov
2012 Second Round pick
2013 Second Round pick
2014 First Round pick
2016 right to swap First Round picks (Denver could demand NY exchange picks with them if NY has a better pick)
In addition... we have no money to get a quality big man in the off-season... exactly what we need. In other words, next year's Knicks will look the same as this year's Knicks because he tie up we hands.
We buy all that for what exactly?