April 20, 2024, 12:05:46 AM

Author Topic: Boldface Thievery... well yes! Lol  (Read 6072 times)

Boldface Thievery... well yes! Lol
« on: April 20, 2011, 02:30:31 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/DSrQtDILuq8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/DSrQtDILuq8</a>

Re: Boldface Thievery... well yes! Lol
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 03:07:19 PM »
is either ah tief ting or Blaze bathing wid de same cake soap vybz kartel use..

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2011, 05:10:51 PM »
This plastered all over farsebook. JW and Blaze saying the song and riddim are theirs and they are seeking legal advice.  :-\

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2011, 11:05:51 PM »

« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2011, 09:46:10 AM »
I actually like it... soca should be translated in all languages... but they should have to pay though  ;D

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/jRg8yTvn59U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/jRg8yTvn59U</a>

« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2011, 11:02:54 AM »
Express article...

Panama group releases 'Palance'-like song

By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Apr 20, 2011 at 10:45 PM ECT

A GROUP from Panama has released a Spanish song bearing a resemblance to this country's 2010 record-breaking Road March winner "Palance".

The group Comando Tiburon, made up of four former disc jockeys, recently released the song titled "Jingle PH 2011". A video of the group performing the song can be found on the social networking site Youtube.

It bears a striking resemblance to the Road March hit sung by Jason "JW" Williams and Ancil "Blaze" Isaac and penned by Kernal Roberts.

Contacted by the Express yesterday, Isaac said both he and Williams found out about the song on Monday from a friend in Miami.

"We got wind of this Monday. This is new ground for us and we are just as surprised as anybody else," Isaac said, adding the Copyright Music Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago (COTT) was immediately contacted and told of the situation.

"We have not given anyone permission to use the song. Jason, Kernel and I are the ones who should be contacted for use of the song and none of us were contacted. We do not know who these guys are."

Isaac said a meeting was held with Junior Lett of COTT yesterday and an investigation has begun.

Comando Tiburon is said to have a distribution deal signed with record company Sony.

"It is madness that this group has bitten our song wholesale and that is disheartening," Isaac said.

Williams said according to their information, "Palance" has been playing in several night clubs in Latin America and the entire team was "taken aback" by the development.

So who is Comando Tiburon?

According to on-line encyclopedia Wikipedia, the group, translated in English as "Shark Command", was "founded in 2000 with 4 former radio DJ's: DJ Flecha, DJ Rolo, DJ Andy and DJ Magnetic with the idea of recording songs and rhythms used to give a change to music".

A further search by the Express has shown that Comando Tiburon also has a song entitled Vete Pa' la Verga, which bears resemblance to the 2004 hit "Stages" sung by now deceased Troydon 'Blazer Dan' Cruickshank.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 05:01:56 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2011, 04:48:51 PM »
This Panamanian group Comando Tiburon is really taking the mick with the regular violation of the copyrights of our T&T soca artists.

Here is a pirate of yet another soca hit, this time its Destra's Bonnie & Clyde!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/b9PXpVbNl9s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/b9PXpVbNl9s</a>

This is yet another reason why we always need to beat Panama seriously when we clash them in a football game!  ;)

« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 07:32:37 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2011, 05:57:58 PM »
This going on loooooong time in Panama, Belize, Puerto Rico. I honestly thought our artists knew this and were being paid royalties.  "follow de leader" for instance was a massive hit in Latin America, in Spanish. Even J-lo on the bandwagon now and have a new song out that sounding quite familiar.

I predicting that when Puerto Ricans run out of their own ideas with their "Reggaeton", it will start to sound suspiciously more and more like straight out Soca.

« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2011, 07:08:13 PM »
This going on loooooong time in Panama, Belize, Puerto Rico. I honestly thought our artists knew this and were being paid royalties.  "follow de leader" for instance was a massive hit in Latin America, in Spanish. Even J-lo on the bandwagon now and have a new song out that sounding quite familiar.

I predicting that when Puerto Ricans run out of their own ideas with their "Reggaeton", it will start to sound suspiciously more and more like straight out Soca.
That is pure Soca in Spanish. I eh vex a lil bit. And yes it isn't new either.

« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2011, 08:33:11 PM »
This group Comando Tiburon real taking this pirating of other artists rhythms and melodies to another level!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHYIorOQuXs

Its ah pity Bob is dead and can do nothing about this!
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 08:36:05 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2011, 08:19:16 AM »
Sounds like a Kevin Lyttle - 112 kinda thing....

« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2011, 08:41:56 AM »
This group Comando Tiburon real taking this pirating of other artists rhythms and melodies to another level!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHYIorOQuXs

Its ah pity Bob is dead and can do nothing about this!

If yuh read de Wikipedia link that e-man post yuh'll see that it says that's what they're known for... using some of the rhythms from the popular songs they play on their radio shows, and adding their own music to it.  As I said elsewhere, the real mystery is that they haven't run into problems before.

« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2011, 08:53:39 AM »

can you post the j-lo song please .

« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2011, 10:20:40 AM »
straight copyright infringement

these artists from panama could get a million dollar lawsuit against them. if jw and blaze get the best lawyers

reggaetone like i have told many is spanish calypso, they copied our beat, now they are copying our music straight

jw and blaze should get a good team of lawyers and sue them :beermug:
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 10:31:04 AM by Controversial »

« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2011, 11:08:40 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/yeuQJLzusgs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/yeuQJLzusgs</a>

« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2011, 02:55:16 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/yeuQJLzusgs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/yeuQJLzusgs</a>

Original tune is much better!  :)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/FFFI3CI5YLs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/FFFI3CI5YLs</a>

What our soca artists need to do every year right after Carnival and producing all those roadmixes of the big Carnival hits (as they usually do in time for Carnival Monday & Tuesday) is to also produce Socaton remixes of their hit soca songs re-voiced in Spanish (some of our parang people can contribute) and target the huge Latino market and start beating these Latinos at their own game!

Also a few collabos with some of their top Latino artists when re-voicing the big hits in Spanish would help just to make sure the Soca/Socaton fans across in Latin America pay full attention right away when these soca/socaton tunes start getting regular airplay across in Latin America! ;)

We already accustomed to doing parang tunes with a strong Spanish flavour for the Christmas season so why not attack the Latino market for the rest of the year after carnival with socaton remixes of the hit soca tracks?!
Soca artists need to concentrate more on targeting the other international markets after carnival outside of North America! There are big markets longing for something hot, sweet and different not just in Latin America but also in South America, Africa, Europe & Asia! Our soca artists should start targeting these markets and they will all eat a bigger food! 

Also don't forget that Trinidad was once part of Latin America so a lot of our music should naturally have a Latin twist and appeal to it! 8)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 06:53:30 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2011, 04:01:46 PM »
I think collabos is the route to go... the ole "if you can't beat them" thing.  Some of the bigger "socaton" artists and biters they might be able to challenge in court, but some of the smaller ones my prove an exercise in futility.  You'll spend more on legal bills than you'd recover.

« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2011, 08:24:29 PM »

can you post the j-lo song please .

talking about this one? #6 on itunes
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/t4H_Zoh7G5A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/t4H_Zoh7G5A</a>

« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2011, 08:50:44 PM »
Thanks E ,am hearing labada ,what soca song is it doh cant place it  .

« Reply #19 on: April 22, 2011, 08:58:23 PM »
Well yes, dem ent even sample the song.......is out right tief!!!

« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2011, 12:13:02 AM »

Part of it is the melody from Dark Secret, that Rudder sang for a bad Mickey Rourke movie . I am pretty sure that the melody wasn't original though and is a popular melody.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YEDPs3btKhU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YEDPs3btKhU</a>

I would also expect that in the case of J Lo they have the rights to use it.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 12:49:23 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #21 on: April 23, 2011, 12:56:18 AM »
talking about this one? #6 on itunes
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/t4H_Zoh7G5A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/t4H_Zoh7G5A</a>

This Chutney-soca song from Nisha B also uses part of the same lambada melody as the J-Lo/Pitbull song!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/wNYm_ez1pTc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/wNYm_ez1pTc</a>
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 01:02:36 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2011, 05:03:38 AM »

Part of it is the melody from Dark Secret, that Rudder sang for a bad Mickey Rourke movie . I am pretty sure that the melody wasn't original though and is a popular melody.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YEDPs3btKhU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YEDPs3btKhU</a>

I would also expect that in the case of J Lo they have the rights to use it.
hmmm you know i was thinking Rudder but was only remembering girl from bhia .It has a little melody from dark secret ,but its obscure and then  mixed with The Lambada .I thinking that rudder song is original ,it just sounds used cause it has a familar 80s sound .Am sure Rudder has no idea they might have used it ,if they did .
Good catch JDB

« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2011, 09:21:54 AM »
Where the outrage when soca artistes "borrow" from pop tunes?

« Reply #24 on: April 23, 2011, 09:53:26 AM »

I see the same silly argument being made on the Express... I just ent have the energy to go on there and argue them on it.  There's a difference among the various types of "borrows", there's sampling, interpolation and then it have the straight riddim jacking (or as Ice Cube call it "Jackin' for Beats") that these Panamenos doing.  There's very little you can do about the interpolation that Destra and Machel in particular have done.  As long as a sample is 8 bars or less then yuh safe.  Thiefin' ah man riddim wholesale sure to buy your ass a lawsuit... it shouldn't be conflated with the other issues.

« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2011, 09:54:56 AM »

Read the entire thread nah man.

« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2011, 11:31:43 AM »

I see the same silly argument being made on the Express... I just ent have the energy to go on there and argue them on it.  There's a difference among the various types of "borrows", there's sampling, interpolation and then it have the straight riddim jacking (or as Ice Cube call it "Jackin' for Beats") that these Panamenos doing.  There's very little you can do about the interpolation that Destra and Machel in particular have done.  As long as a sample is 8 bars or less then yuh safe.  Thiefin' ah man riddim wholesale sure to buy your ass a lawsuit... it shouldn't be conflated with the other issues.

I ent say nothing about lawsuit or sampling. I just throw the comment out there to see the response.

In this very thread however, there is a post with Ghetto Flex and Denise Belfon. Can we really get worked up over a cover of a version (or whatever it is) of a Tommy James and the Shondells song? Them fellas francoment tief Palance though.

I agree with socapro, there is obviously a market. Where T.I. when you need him?

« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2011, 01:40:34 PM »
nutten new here. in de days ah Dollar Wine and a few others, there were Spanish version of the chunes. like wit anyting WE eh follow through and capitalise on the popularity.

« Reply #28 on: April 23, 2011, 02:02:17 PM »
So obviously Latin America likes soca.  All our artistes have to do is make a Spanish version of their songs and they could make a lot more money.  Will anyone want to take the time to write and learn their songs in Spanish though?

« Reply #29 on: April 23, 2011, 02:32:53 PM »
So obviously Latin America likes soca.  All our artistes have to do is make a Spanish version of their songs and they could make a lot more money.  Will anyone want to take the time to write and learn their songs in Spanish though?

It’s worth the effort! We have parang people who could help out the soca artists with the translations!  Give them some more work to do outside of Christmas!

Rather than have Panamanian groups like Comando Tiburon ripping off our music in Spanish why not do a collabo with a few big artists groups like them in the first instance so that the fans in the Latin American market get to know who are the original singers, composers and then after you’ve established your name in Latin America forget about doing the colabs all together so all the profits from royalties, sales and live performances goes into your pocket and deservedly so for being the original creator of the soca/socaton hit song!
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 03:03:27 PM by Socapro »