April 25, 2024, 01:29:33 AM

Author Topic: Pfister conducts first session with 'Warriors'  (Read 3782 times)

Pfister conducts first session with 'Warriors'
« on: May 02, 2011, 03:55:12 PM »
Pfister conducts first session with 'Warriors'.

National Team head coach Otto Pfister today insisted that his job with the Senior Team was not to get the right balance of youth and experience in the squad.

Instead he will set about his selection based on whichever player has the sufficient potential regardless of age as he embarks on his project of qualifying for the 2014 World Cup Finals in Brazil.

Pfister met with some of the home-based players for the first time since his appointment on Monday morning at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Following a talk with the players and members of his technical staff, the German-born coach then conducted a light 55-minute session with the squad which did not include members of Caledonia AIA due to their traveling to Haiti later this week for a CFU Club Championship encounter. Those players will however attend Wednesday’s session in Couva.

Among the players who trained included goalkeepers Marvin Phillip, Cleon John and Jan Michael Williams as well as midfielder Clyde Leon who captained the team at the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup.

T&T Under 20 captain Sheldon Bateau, Micah Lewis, Seon Power, Hayden Tinto, Kern Cupid, Ataullah Guerra, Andrei Pacheco and Keston Williams were among some of the familiar faces present at training.

After a ten-minute warm-up, Pfister observed the players in a half-field scrimmage, also getting involved by stopping the play and communicating with the players on occasions. His strong vocal presence was notable throughout.

“This was my first meeting and official session with the boys. We cannot start too strong because a lot of the boys are not too active right now but we had a good session for exactly 55 minutes. We will increase session by session.

We discussed some things like the rules for their behavior and other things in our meeting,” Pfister said after this first session.

“I have a very good impression (after the session). Everybody moved and everybody is in the field and that is important. Last week I was in Europe and I saw some overseas boys.

But I will not say too much on that right now because we have to make sure about everything. But at the end of the day I hope we can have all the boys.

“It is not about a balance of youth or experience. It’s about performance that counts. It’s not a question of whether the boy is young or if he is old. If the boy is good enough then he will be in the field,” he added.

Pfister said he will plan his sessions over the next few weeks in relation to preparing for the two upcoming FIFA dates in June and August. 

Videos

View Pfister's post-training comments

View highlights from the session
« Last Edit: May 03, 2011, 06:06:34 AM by Flex »

Re: Pfister conducts first session with 'Warriors'
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 05:50:34 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/U0wnIfbTDf8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/U0wnIfbTDf8</a>

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2011, 06:26:31 PM »
Pfister conducts first session with 'Warriors'.
By: Sahun Fuentes (TTFF).

National Team head coach Otto Pfister today insisted that his job with the Senior Team was not to get the right balance of youth and experience in the squad. Instead he will set about his selection based on whichever player has the sufficient potential regardless of age as he embarks on his project of qualifying for the 2011 World Cup Finals in Brazil.

:devil: TTFF don't know how to proofread

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2011, 06:58:23 PM »
Otto- Matic

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2011, 07:47:24 PM »
already tellin dem dont wait...come to d ball gonna be interesting to see how he picks d team after dis 2 week trainign

« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2011, 08:08:53 PM »
Otto- Matic

So dat is he full name now? Ottomatic Mister Pfister

« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2011, 08:31:42 PM »
got a ring to it Tallman...lol

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2011, 08:48:29 PM »
Lot of these players are goin to be dropped from the team. Otto is in charge, hughton hector looked like he didnt wanna take instructions.

« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2011, 09:45:06 PM »
Man coaching basic technique in a warm up drill yes. Hopefully we ready for de....................... ???

Offline madness

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2011, 09:53:15 PM »
i like what i c so far. and they need to look aggressive on the field. let c what's going now late on.

« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2011, 10:58:12 PM »
Ah see Corneal already translating

« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2011, 12:26:25 AM »
Cornmeal Snickerin as usual but Ottmatic seems to be well in control of his faculties. A booming voice for his age as well. Maybe he wont just keel over and die on the pitch! Otto gets my vote.

Offline madness

« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2011, 04:55:53 AM »
hey true, i just hope the asst coaches don't influence.

« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2011, 04:57:08 AM »
He looks quite energetic and involved.  Has to be, as he has not brought any backroom staff.  I seeing about 8 foreign pros coming into the side.  Just listen to his tone.  

« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2011, 05:42:04 AM »
Never wait!!! ... nice

« Reply #15 on: May 03, 2011, 07:40:02 AM »
Cornmeal Snickerin as usual but Ottmatic seems to be well in control of his faculties. A booming voice for his age as well. Maybe he wont just keel over and die on the pitch! Otto gets my vote.

BM d name stick ahready

« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2011, 08:10:49 AM »
buh wait nah....how man like JC eh up in arms and pulling out de racist card when de coach was referring to the players as boys...           

« Reply #17 on: May 03, 2011, 08:22:41 AM »
buh wait nah....how man like JC eh up in arms and pulling out de racist card when de coach was referring to the players as boys...           

JC still alive?

« Reply #18 on: May 03, 2011, 08:24:03 AM »
Otto- Matic

Ah like it.  Dais de name dey self.

Offline Lightning

« Reply #19 on: May 03, 2011, 09:40:36 AM »
Otto- Matic

So dat is he full name now? Ottomatic Mister Pfister

If he pull this trick off its should be "Otto-Magic"
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2011, 05:42:06 PM »
much appreciated for the work Mr. Fuentes is doing but...one request with the vids.
think we can get the vids with no music blasting over it.
Wouldnt mind hearing the sounds of the training session. Get a better feel for the session

« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2011, 07:13:42 PM »
much appreciated for the work Mr. Fuentes is doing but...one request with the vids.
think we can get the vids with no music blasting over it.
Wouldnt mind hearing the sounds of the training session. Get a better feel for the session

not to mention not too sound unpatriotic or nothin but if yuh want to add music Sean add some opera or something. I wouldn't suggest it if one of our many problems wasn't "partyin" and a lack of a professional approach. Go with some Miriam Makeba or something. Or maybe some grateful dead!

« Reply #22 on: May 03, 2011, 09:40:15 PM »
only on dis borad we cud complain about d music at d trainin session vids

« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2011, 11:19:09 PM »
only on dis borad we cud complain about d music at d trainin session vids

gotta love it eh shotta!

SWN Rocks! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #24 on: May 04, 2011, 04:11:40 PM »
Okay... the next FIFA international date is 3 weeks away...so who we playing? ???

« Reply #25 on: May 05, 2011, 01:46:53 PM »
Okay... the next FIFA international date is 3 weeks away...so who we playing? ???

Ah Tobago XI....