March 28, 2024, 06:42:51 AM

Author Topic: I wouldn't swap Kenwyne for anyone, says boss Pulis  (Read 2237 times)

I wouldn't swap Kenwyne for anyone, says boss Pulis
« on: April 30, 2011, 08:04:45 AM »
I wouldn't swap Kenwyne for anyone, says boss Pulis
By Martin Spinks (The Sentinel)

KENWYNE Jones goes gunning towards a Stoke goalscoring record today with boss Tony Pulis insisting he wouldn't trade him for a Drogba or a Rooney.

Jones is seeking to score for a fifth successive game at Blackpool this afternoon (3pm) after hitting his best form since last August's £8m record move to the Potteries.

And another goal would inch him closer to John Ritchie's all-time club record of scoring in nine successive league and cup games in October and November 1963.

"On his day, Kenwyne's as good as anyone in the Premier League," said Pulis.

"It's very pleasing, with five games to go, that Kenwyne has hit such a rich vein of form.

"He's got everything. On his day we wouldn't swap him for anybody."

But Pulis admits a variety of carrot and stick is required to keep the big Trinidadian tuned in and focused.

"Kenwyne is on a different planet to the one we are on, a bit like Ricardo Fuller," he joked.

"It's a different mental attitude and approach to life, but he's scoring again and his confidence is going through the roof.

"Forwards are a different breed and once they hit form, it's in conjunction with scoring goals."

Not that Jones is the only Stoke player catching the manager's eye during a run of one defeat in seven league and cup matches.

"He's hit form at just the right time. But there's about four or five who've really got to the top of their game," added Pulis.

"Jermaine Pennant is playing well, while Ryan Shawcross is probably having the best period of his season. All of them are coming into form at the right time.

"We need that to continue, and Kenwyne needs to be one of them.

"Blackpool is our third game in the week, and it's an intimidating place to go. They are fighting for their lives."

Re: I wouldn't swap Kenwyne for anyone, says boss Pulis
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2011, 09:42:34 AM »
Big respect top Kenwyne Jones, he is my country man and he playing better than ever.

But he manager blasted lying.

Drogba or a Rooney for Jones anyday or atleast for now....

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2011, 09:56:28 AM »
Big respect top Kenwyne Jones, he is my country man and he playing better than ever.

Yuh miss the fine print...
Pulis: I wouldn't swap Kenwyne for anyone (that I could get)

« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2011, 10:19:33 AM »

« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2011, 11:41:42 AM »
Plenty of the British pundits, ex-pros, give Jones plenty respect.

"Unplayable on his day....but inconsistent" is the typical description.

« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2011, 11:48:10 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:-Pulis and Arry Redknapp are cut from the same cloth when talking up players!
« Last Edit: April 30, 2011, 11:52:40 AM by Giggsy11 »

« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2011, 01:26:22 PM »

He didnt simply say that he wouldnt swap Kenwyne for anyone.............he said "On his day" which is very different.  So he could very well be telling the truth.

« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2011, 06:58:32 AM »
kenwyne will end up on a big team in the off season.

Manchester, liverpool, Spurs, Arsenal, Chelsea

Arsenal will be the best team for him but he will probably end up at Man U or Liverpool. Both teams need a physical presence up top.

« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2011, 08:45:06 AM »

Arsenal will be the best team for him but he will probably end up at Man U or Liverpool. Both teams need a physical presence up top.

I doubt it.............he just left Sunderland for Stoke

« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2011, 08:50:04 AM »

Kenwyne could take over from Crouch at Spurs; he will be the black version.

« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2011, 08:50:46 AM »

So wha he go do, pull he own hair?

« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2011, 08:55:32 AM »

« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2011, 09:14:08 AM »

::)

« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2011, 01:42:54 PM »
Kenwyne's nickname should be Kenwyne 'On his day' Jones. People always praising his on his day skills  :rotfl:

« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2011, 05:56:48 PM »

He coming Liverpool to do what... carry Andy Carroll water bottle?  steups

« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2011, 05:13:37 AM »
lol@Carry Andy Carroll water bottle  :rotfl: