June 03, 2024, 07:48:04 PM

Author Topic: 2011 Champions League Final.  (Read 18805 times)

Re: 2011 Champions League Final.
« Reply #60 on: May 28, 2011, 12:00:59 PM »
Where my lads?!  :beermug: calling all UTD fans !!  :devil:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZN239G6aJZo&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZN239G6aJZo&amp;</a>

lmao eurotrip funny movie. but did you know that bald english guy is actually a liverpool fan?

« Reply #61 on: May 28, 2011, 01:05:20 PM »
Damn, not even a place for Berba on the bench today.  Sir Alex could be ruthless when he ready.  I imagine that is a signal to depart in the summer.  Ruud Van Nistelroy could relate to that. ;)

« Reply #62 on: May 28, 2011, 01:08:33 PM »
Ah wonder what went on there with Berba? strange

« Reply #63 on: May 28, 2011, 01:19:44 PM »
That was offside - fractionally.

« Reply #64 on: May 28, 2011, 01:27:25 PM »
Amazing to watch the level of skill here, like a chess game. WOW amazing pace to this game.

« Reply #65 on: May 28, 2011, 01:33:29 PM »
Great game so far - fitting of a final.  1st 45 flew by.

Barca the better of the two teams but not by a large enough gulf because they are vulnerable at the back - anybody's game!
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 01:42:37 PM by kicker »

« Reply #66 on: May 28, 2011, 01:40:35 PM »
34'
Well United really needed that shot in the arm. It looked bleak but now it's game on.
34'
ESPN's John Brewin at Wembley Stadium: Wow, just wow. Rooney's goal has United fans believing again. To say it went against the run of play is a clear understatement, and the look on Sir Alex's face showed his disbelief.

« Reply #67 on: May 28, 2011, 01:40:54 PM »
Damn, not even a place for Berba on the bench today.  Sir Alex could be ruthless when he ready.  I imagine that is a signal to depart in the summer.  Ruud Van Nistelroy could relate to that. ;)

Serves him right... when you want to be greedy and ruthless (engineering a transfer from Spurs the way he did) then don't be surprised when you're dealt with the same way in return.  Harsh, because he's a class footballer, co-top scorer and all of that... but there's a price you pay when you shake hands with the devil... even the chief Red Devil himself.

« Reply #68 on: May 28, 2011, 01:45:44 PM »
::) Why can't we just enjoy the game?

« Reply #69 on: May 28, 2011, 01:47:20 PM »
Berbatov in final omission

Bench role for Owen, who is surprisingly preferred to Bulgarian

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has left striker Dimitar Berbatov out of his squad for Saturday's UEFA Champions League final with Barcelona.

The Bulgarian, the club's top scorer this season, was expected to be amongst the substitutes at the very least, but Michael Owen has earned a place on the bench while Javier Hernandez will partner Wayne Rooney from the start.

Winger Nani and veteran Paul Scholes are Ferguson's other attacking options in reserve, but Bulgarian Berbatov's omission will come as a shock to fans.

The 30-year-old, a £30.75million signing from Tottenham in 2008, has notched 21 goals in all competitions this season.

However, due to the emergence of Hernandez, who will start against the Spaniards at Wembley, Berbatov has fallen down the forward pecking order.

Ferguson's snub casts serious doubts over the player's Old Trafford future, despite him having finished joint-top of the Premier League scoring charts.

There were no surprises in the United starting XI, though, with Fabio starting at right-back while there are substitute roles for Darren Fletcher and Anderson.

With both sides seeking their fourth European Cup, Barcelona threw up a surprise of their own, leaving club captain Carlos Puyol on the bench with Javier Mascherano at centre-half.

Starting XIs

Barcelona: Valdes, Alves, Pique, Mascherano, Abidal, Busquets, Xavi, Iniesta, Pedro, Messi, David Villa.

Manchester United: Van der Sar; Fabio, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, Valencia, Carrick, Giggs, Park Ji-Sung, Rooney, Hernandez.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_6957364,00.html

« Reply #70 on: May 28, 2011, 01:50:28 PM »
::) Why can't we just enjoy the game?

Just stating the facts, boss.  I am not saying anything that the analysts didn't say.  And, I enjoying the game. ;)

« Reply #71 on: May 28, 2011, 01:53:30 PM »

Serves him right... when you want to be greedy and ruthless (engineering a transfer from Spurs the way he did) then don't be surprised when you're dealt with the same way in return.  Harsh, because he's a class footballer, co-top scorer and all of that... but there's a price you pay when you shake hands with the devil... even the chief Red Devil himself.

Yep.  f**k up Spurs entire season with that last-minute gangsta move to go to Man U.  Spurs never really recovered from that during the season.  I'll be surprised if they were to welcome him back.  He seems to not really appreciate the fact that they gave the chance to come to the EPL, and enjoys jeering the Spurs fans.

« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 01:57:18 PM by Tenorsaw »

« Reply #72 on: May 28, 2011, 02:11:24 PM »
Utd need a substitution . Men looking tired. If we score it will be a miracle.  edit: Game over we dead!

« Reply #73 on: May 28, 2011, 02:11:54 PM »
Damn - this 2nd half has been domination...

« Reply #74 on: May 28, 2011, 02:12:02 PM »
dey rippin manu ah new asshole 8)

« Reply #75 on: May 28, 2011, 02:15:17 PM »
Bad idea to omit Berbatov.  Owen is a like-for-like sub with Hernandez.

« Reply #76 on: May 28, 2011, 02:15:50 PM »
Too bad Howard Webb couldn't do this match.  Ferguson woudda like that.

« Reply #77 on: May 28, 2011, 02:16:53 PM »
do worry we scoring 3 to win  :devil:

« Reply #78 on: May 28, 2011, 02:19:06 PM »
Them men chasing Shadows...

« Reply #79 on: May 28, 2011, 02:21:43 PM »

Ent!

It woulda have 2 penalty and a red card by now

« Reply #80 on: May 28, 2011, 02:23:19 PM »

Ent!

It woulda have 2 penalty and a red card by now

lol...... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #81 on: May 28, 2011, 02:24:06 PM »
Does Chicarito knows he's supposed to play this game? This is a game where you have to show where you can play not just tap balls into empty net.

« Reply #82 on: May 28, 2011, 02:35:48 PM »
Chicharito does run down lost cause-crosses and deep crosses to the far post. In this game Man U not getting into the wide positions to make them plays. 

Right now, somebody like Beckham, who could supply a good cross from a deeper area might make a difference. But you have an already defensive, counterattacking side, playing deeper and can't get the ball. No crosses.

I feeling bad though, yuh mean Arsenal give more of a fight than the great Man U?

« Reply #83 on: May 28, 2011, 02:36:57 PM »
Better team won  :beermug:
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 06:30:22 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #84 on: May 28, 2011, 02:38:19 PM »
Too easy  :-\

« Reply #85 on: May 28, 2011, 02:39:37 PM »
One thing about Sir Alex:  he appreciates good football.  He really admires Barcelona.  Has said that many times before.  Wouldn't be surprised if he went for Guardiola as his successor.  Has ushered a lot of praise in his direction before.  He took this defeat in good taste.

« Reply #86 on: May 28, 2011, 02:41:51 PM »
Too easy  :-\

nah yuh have to admit dey looked up to it in d first 25-30 minutes

« Reply #87 on: May 28, 2011, 02:43:05 PM »
Congrats Barca Fans, your team played well all season and they deserved this win. On another note, lift your heads high Man.U fans we won the league, made it to Champions league finals with a side that most people did not think would win anything and we have some exciting new talent to come in soon.  :rotfl:

« Reply #88 on: May 28, 2011, 02:44:02 PM »
Well deserved Barca. 

They are a special team.

I think Man U ended up with one shot on target. 

« Reply #89 on: May 28, 2011, 02:45:17 PM »
Yep.  f**k up Spurs entire season with that last-minute gangsta move to go to Man U.  Spurs never really recovered from that during the season.  I'll be surprised if they were to welcome him back.  He seems to not really appreciate the fact that they gave the chance to come to the EPL, and enjoys jeering the Spurs fans.

And the thing is that he really didn't have reason to gripe about anything while with Spurs.  He was in good favor with Harry and had just started to peak as a player in an up and coming Spurs side brimming with young talent.  Well, he got his wish and got his EPL glory for ManU and now Ferguson find a nicer shinier bauble to play with so he get put on de shelf collecting dust.

Barca deserved to win this match but Van Der Sar could have done better on the first two goals.  Okay, he get wrong footed on a well-placed shot by Pedro, but that Messi goal was soft by Van Der Sar's standards.  The commentator harped on the defense giving Messi too much space but Evra reacted to his movement, Messi just did well to open a little room to shoot.  Perhaps VDS was screened a little by Vidic.  Not how he would have wanted to go out I'm sure, even in defeat.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 02:49:14 PM by Bakes »