April 19, 2024, 05:51:29 PM

Author Topic: Warriors June 1 friendly off  (Read 6372 times)

Warriors June 1 friendly off
« on: May 06, 2011, 04:40:31 AM »
Warriors June 1 friendly off.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

New Soca Warriors coach, German Otto Pfister will have to wait until the August 10 Fifa international date to see his new charges in action.

This after it was disclosed by T&T Football Federation technical director, Keith Look Loy the federation was finding it difficult to source a suitable opponent for the June 1, international Fifa date.

Look Loy, who was part of the technical committee which selected the 73-year-old for national coach made the disclosure yesterday, when contacted by telephone.

Prior to leaving for the United Kingdom last month to hold discussions with English-born players who are eligible to represent T&T, the German said he was eager to see the Soca Warriors come up respectable opponents on June 1 and August 10.

But contacted yesterday, Look Loy said the intended encounter has been shelved as the local federation is having difficulty to source quality opposition.

Look Loy explained, “The problem is that all the top teams in Concacaf will be involved in their final preparations for the Gold Cup which runs from June 5 - 25 in the USA.

“It is the same situation with the top South American countries. They are all preparing for the Copa America in Argentina which kicks off on July 1 and will be engaged in friendly matches which have been organised already, or in some instances training camps.

“Pfister said he wanted to play a team of quality and outside of the teams in the Concacaf Gold Cup and Copa America, we don’t think there are any major teams which are available.

As an alternative Look Loy said, the coach was looking at possibly a training camp to be held overseas where the locally-based players and the players he invites will come together.

Asked if any thought was put into arranging a friendly with a team from Africa, Europe or Asia, Look Loy said it would be costly to bring such teams to T&T shores.

He further explained that part of the reason T&T was finding it difficult to attract top quality opposition was due to its current Fifa world ranking.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2011, 05:21:22 AM by Flex »

Offline madness

Re: Warriors June 1 friendly off
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2011, 04:50:54 AM »
wow interesting

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2011, 05:59:08 AM »
steups dem fellas trying to organize ah friendly in 3 weeks...

get allyuh facking act together and do a yearly muddercant calender

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2011, 06:15:35 AM »
 :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o

Here we go again!! :-[ :-\

« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2011, 06:43:55 AM »
Alyuh was expecting anything different...look Montserrat available.

Yuh feel dem didnt fully well know that all this time...I sure Otto must be went Europe match hunting as well on his last trip.

But in trute and in fact...playing we ent benefiting yuh at this time.

« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2011, 06:58:42 AM »

WE GOING BRAZIL!!!

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :party: :party:

« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2011, 07:15:45 AM »
De more things change, de more they stay de same. So much for the TTFF turning a new page... Loud flickin' steups!  ::)
« Last Edit: May 06, 2011, 12:56:58 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2011, 07:19:03 AM »

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2011, 07:20:38 AM »
Same Khaki pants
last minute ting

de only ting I agree wid is de lower your ranking de less your higher rank teams want anyting to do wid yah

« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2011, 07:29:27 AM »
Alyuh was expecting anything different.

ENTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
De more things change, de more they stay de same. Loud flickin' steups!  ::)

Fire doh sin yuh soul over dem fellas.

« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2011, 07:29:52 AM »
Was it ever on?

« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2011, 07:32:55 AM »
Bottom line is that no quality team wants to play us. 

« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2011, 07:46:07 AM »
Bottom line is that no quality team wants to play us. 

Exactly. This is the reality of our situation right now.

« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2011, 07:53:05 AM »
exactly...most quality teams have had their friendlies lined up long before..and hopefully this shows that otto was serious about not wasting time with garbage opposition

« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2011, 08:44:38 AM »
While they at it why don't they search for some quality administrators as well.

Offline tempo

« Reply #15 on: May 06, 2011, 09:13:46 AM »
This is unbelievable on several fronts and shows the incompetence of the people running day to day football operations in T&T.

1. Even though Pfister is quoted as saying he wants to avoid playing South America and CONCACAF teams for the June friendly, Look Loy says teams from those regions were busy with their preparations for Copa America and Gold Cup and is a major cause for them not being to find an opponent

2. Having a training camp during fifa dates don't carry the same requirement for players to report as a game would. Point being that once the Europe based players' regular seasons are over, they are on vacation with their families and a national team can't force them or their clubs to report to such a camp.

3. Having a training camp in Europe would carry a significant expense itself. Why then, can't they play a team over there rather than bringing them to "T&T shores"?

4. The most stunning of the series of stunning statements is this: “Pfister said he wanted to play a team of quality and outside of the teams in the Concacaf Gold Cup and Copa America, we don’t think there are any major teams which are available.   So, I guess there are no quality teams in Africa or Asia? Not only are quality teams in Africa and Asia,  we can also meet them in England.... oh yeah, I forgot JAW completely screwed that option up. Folks, we are not seeing another World Cup and you can trace this back to the impasse. God don't like ugly.

« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2011, 09:34:56 AM »

HAHAHA i guess dey guyanese hook ups on holiday?

« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2011, 10:05:38 AM »

Also, what makes me angry is the amount of traitor-like, self-serving sabotage that went into the facilitation of our ranking crash by Jackula and his lapdog chronies. Truly sickening. How many contracts lost because of the pathetic drop well below the rank of 70

Offline madness

« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2011, 10:06:26 AM »
it's going to be difficult now but lets c what happens now

« Reply #19 on: May 06, 2011, 10:41:15 AM »
Here is the thing what teams are we looking to play for Mook Loy to say is due to rue FIFA rankings what about countries like Wales Ireland or the smaller eastern European countries but them fellas so inherently dishonest and disorganized.

« Reply #20 on: May 06, 2011, 10:59:06 AM »
these dates set up by FIFA for a very long time now...very long.. from what i read recently...its like 4 years...
this is terrible news....sad

« Reply #21 on: May 06, 2011, 12:24:58 PM »
It's Latas fault!  ::)

« Reply #22 on: May 06, 2011, 12:43:08 PM »
Labourers ready to roll, w/o lights and all

« Reply #23 on: May 06, 2011, 12:47:06 PM »
Here is the thing what teams are we looking to play for Mook Loy to say is due to rue FIFA rankings what about countries like Wales Ireland or the smaller eastern European countries but them fellas so inherently dishonest and disorganized.

exactly ..... 

« Reply #24 on: May 06, 2011, 01:11:28 PM »
What allyuh worried about? If we ain play in the next 2 years our rankings will improve significantly, den everybody go want tuh play we for warm ups before WC. This was a carefully designed plan, genius if you ask me.

« Reply #25 on: May 06, 2011, 01:44:45 PM »
Labourers ready to roll, w/o lights and all

We might be a better match up than WASA or Guyana

« Reply #26 on: May 06, 2011, 01:49:51 PM »

I hear that and all is last minute all things being relative

« Reply #27 on: May 06, 2011, 04:05:08 PM »
Tallman...E man..Flex

please post the FIFA dates for the last 2 years and lets see if we played on them...and against which team

« Reply #28 on: May 06, 2011, 05:30:40 PM »
one step forward and 2 steps back, pfister have to put up with the papyshow

why didn't we play against ireland, wales, finland or tukey or saudi arabia, i don't understand ttff logic when coming to organzing a friendly on a fifa date.

look loy was getting praise from some members on here but he has yet to impress me other than his insistance on pfister
« Last Edit: May 06, 2011, 05:32:27 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #29 on: May 06, 2011, 07:21:16 PM »
This is one time i agree wid de TTFF ...we have to rush ah friendly ...de coach is 73 !

lets see ..T&T wants a friendly .....given our recent track record and the naming of a new coach it should not be too difficult ..after all we are on the up right ? we now have a german coach ...who probably is less german than at least one trini I know ...given his former assignments ... but is ah start ... we going Brazil ...once de USA team passing through POS ..with seats available !

I remember the pendulum story ...must have used it on this forum at least 5 years running ...still is on the button ....no matter how it swings it comes to rest in the same place everytime .... like de TTFF...not a new ship folks ..just the same rusty vessel with a new coat of paint ...wont take too long for the underclothes to be revealed ...

I may see a real football effort in my life time but I seriously doubt it ..not with these football enzymes running the show . IF I had my druthers I would push for William Munro for the next coaching job ...at least he could put on a good show ..
So its the same ole same ole ....from the most promising organisation in T&T ...promising and then more promises ...while another generation of young aspirants are hoping for a better future based on football ...... :'(