April 16, 2024, 01:40:01 AM

Author Topic: Centre Backs  (Read 3167 times)

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

Centre Backs
« on: May 10, 2011, 09:21:08 AM »
Not too many people pay attention these days, but I'm interested to see who people would rate as the top ten Centre Backs right now. Any ideas?

Vidic, Puyol, Pique, Nesta, Alex, Carvalho, Hummels, Silva, Kompany, Subotic.

I am tempted to bump Alex for Lucio but I really haven't seen him play this season. Last season he would have been #1 for me. Any thoughts?
Victoria concordia crescit

Re: Centre Backs
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2011, 09:54:47 AM »
Beside the obvious ones mentioned.

I like Vermalean though he did not play this season
Also Samba from Blackburn Rovers

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 09:58:02 AM »
Up until last year Lucio was the best I'd seen in a long time... Like you I haven't seen him much this season... Kompany seems to be making a name for himself. 

Thuram is one of my all time favorites. 

honorable mention to Marvin "Dog" Andrews and Dennis "tallest" Lawrence lol

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2011, 10:01:15 AM »
As much as people don't rate him, Rio Ferdinand should get mentioned. I think he plays the postion well and is excellent at reading the game.

« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2011, 10:03:50 AM »
Vermaelen has a serious flaw in his game, he keeps getting sucked up the pitch trying to win the ball. Similar to Koscielny. I actually fear the two of them playing as a pair. They will constantly leave the keeper exposed. Great ball winner, but he's terrible at marking space, which to me is the hallmark of a truly great central defender.

Beside the obvious ones mentioned.

I like Vermalean though he did not play this season
Also Samba from Blackburn Rovers

« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2011, 10:06:03 AM »
Apart from the obvious and those already mentioned, I would also throw in Thiago Silva.. Definitely one for the future.

Brazil have a nice crop of centre backs right now, Lucio, Juan, Alex, David Luiz, Thiago Silva, Cris etc etc.

« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2011, 10:06:43 AM »
Up until last year Lucio was the best I'd seen in a long time... Like you I haven't seen him much this season... Kompany seems to be making a name for himself. 

Yeah Thuram was a boss. But the king will always be Baresi. Andrews and Lawrence slightly behind Franco.

« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2011, 10:11:41 AM »
Yeah I put Thiago Silva as one of my ten. Juan I not so keen on. Luiz yes but I only see him play against Man U and one of those was when he stink up Old Trafford this Sunday. Cris I don't know. Who does he play for?

Apart from the obvious and those already mentioned, I would also throw in Thiago Silva.. Definitely one for the future.

Brazil have a nice crop of centre backs right now, Lucio, Juan, Alex, David Luiz, Thiago Silva, Cris etc etc.

« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2011, 10:15:45 AM »
Yeah I put Thiago Silva as one of my ten. Juan I not so keen on. Luiz yes but I only see him play against Man U and one of those was when he stink up Old Trafford this Sunday. Cris I don't know. Who does he play for?

Oh, hard luck getting blind.. Cris is the tall man playing for Lyon, and then it also have the tall man who used to play with David Luiz at Benfica.. Luisao although he kinda awkward.

I rate Pepe and Bruno Alves too.

« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2011, 10:19:54 AM »
I really couldn't make up my mind about Rio Ferdinand. Maybe because I keep comparing him to Vidic when they play together, even though they are very different players.

As much as people don't rate him, Rio Ferdinand should get mentioned. I think he plays the postion well and is excellent at reading the game.

« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2011, 10:52:15 AM »
My top 5

1) Vidic
2) Terry
3) Puyol
4) Rio
5) Pique

« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2011, 11:01:12 AM »
Vidic END THREAD

« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2011, 11:15:32 AM »
One cannot leave out Terry and Rio. Lately Samba from Blackburn is the man of the moment.

« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2011, 11:21:11 AM »
Honestly think Terry has dropped a lot this season. Haven't been impressed.

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2011, 12:04:38 PM »
Rio have to be in that top ten once he is healthy. Awareness and reading of de game, plus having a midfielders touch don't come too often as a centre back
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2011, 12:29:38 PM »
My top 5

1) Vidic
2) Terry
3) Puyol
4) Rio
5) Pique

I like dis top 5, but I would drop Rio (because he is injury-prone) and add Lucio

« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2011, 12:31:11 PM »

and yet Chelsea have the best defensive record in the Prem. Terry has been very good this season, he will almost definitely be runner-up in Chelsea fans' player of the year voting (behind Cech).

« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2011, 12:43:21 PM »

Yeah Thuram was a boss. But the king will always be Baresi. Andrews and Lawrence slightly behind Franco.

Maldini!

« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2011, 12:52:31 PM »
Fair enough. I just don't think he's one of the best individual defenders this year. Last year sure, but this year he has made more mistakes of positioning, tackling and clearances (some of which have been ridiculous) than in times past. Cech is probably the biggest reason for that record. Not saying Chelsea's defence hasn't been good but one doesn't necessarily equal the other. I suppose it's a matter of opinion. Never had much respect for poll results anyway.

and yet Chelsea have the best defensive record in the Prem. Terry has been very good this season, he will almost definitely be runner-up in Chelsea fans' player of the year voting (behind Cech).
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 01:17:49 PM by dansteel »

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2011, 12:59:02 PM »

beat me to it

« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2011, 01:24:35 PM »
Did not realize man was talking about CB in history. I thought the thread/discussion was presently playing  :beermug:

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2011, 01:28:14 PM »
One cannot leave out Terry and Rio. Lately Samba from Blackburn is the man of the moment.

and arsenal were close to signing him in january, this club starting to look gift horses in the mouth yes

« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2011, 02:18:06 PM »
Rio have to be in that top ten once he is healthy. Awareness and reading of de game, plus having a midfielders touch don't come too often as a centre back

That's his major strength there...

His one on one defending against tricky attackers is his weakness in my opinion. 

All in all one of the best in the current crop of centre backs. 

Offline scooby

« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2011, 04:27:41 PM »
aldo i am a big man u fan i dint vidic is #1 i have notice in 1 v 1 situations he gets beat to frequently but he is in the top I will say, the best right maybe tiago silva or rio ferdinand when fit they are outstanding readers of the game and very compose on the ball

« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2011, 06:36:34 PM »
Vincent Kompany is excellent.

« Reply #25 on: May 10, 2011, 11:07:16 PM »
i going past all ah dem easy easy...de eh good