June 16, 2024, 12:06:21 AM

Author Topic: Yorke to play for Man U again.  (Read 3909 times)

Yorke to play for Man U again.
« on: May 16, 2011, 04:13:55 AM »
Yorke to play for Man U again.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Dwight Yorke will wear the Manchester United uniform another time after accepting an invitation to play in the Gary Neville testimonial at Old Trafford on May 24.

Yorke will be with several of his old teammates as they take on Juventus in a repeat of  the 1999 Champions League semi-final.

Neville is hopeful David Beckham will accept an invitation to play in the affair which is being billed the “class of 92” when Neville started playing.

"One of the greatest privileges of being a manager is playing part in the development of young players—watching them grow in confidence and ability," said Reds boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

“I have been fortunate to work with many exceptional young players, but the class of 92 was unique.

“For so many of them to stay together and succeed at the highest level is a great tribute to their talent and this club’s belief in the power of youth.”

Neville’s 1999 treble-winning team-mates Nicky Butt, Ronny Johnsen, Henning Berg and Yorke are among the players to see action.

Gary Neville testimonial, Manchester United v Juventus, Tuesday, May 24. 7.30pm kick-off.

Tickets available by contacting 0161 868 8000 or through www.manutd.co.uk.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2011, 05:02:28 AM by Flex »

Re: Yorke to play for Man U again.
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 09:24:11 AM »
i would like to see this

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 06:30:22 PM »
good ole gary...

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/AZk1y7UNZzY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/AZk1y7UNZzY</a>

gorm ah miss mih side  :'(

« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2011, 08:10:08 AM »
Boy ah envy all the England based warriors for dat game. Dat will be quite a treat.

« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2011, 08:27:39 AM »
good ole gary...

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/AZk1y7UNZzY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/AZk1y7UNZzY</a>

gorm ah miss mih side  :'(

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7gehzhS6Vzo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7gehzhS6Vzo</a>

« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2011, 06:58:28 AM »
LA grant Beckham permission to go to Neville testimonial
Galaxy midfielder will miss Houston game; Arena supports decision
By: Luis Bueno (Mls.net).

CARSON, Calif. — The LA Galaxy have granted David Beckham permission to travel to England for Gary Neville’s testimonial match on Tuesday, Galaxy coach Bruce Arena announced after Saturday’s match.

Beckham will miss the Galaxy’s regular-season match against Houston Dynamo at the Home Depot Center next Wednesday, May 25, and will re-join the team in Boston ahead of the club’s match at New England on May 28.

“I do think it’s important for David to be there, given their relationship and the years they had together, those fabled years,” Arena said of the two former England internationals. “We thought it was important.”

Beckham and Neville rose through the ranks at Manchester United in the early 1990s. The two helped lead Manchester United to Premiership and Champions League titles. Off the field, the two remain close, and participating in Neville's farewell game is meaningful for Beckham.

“I played for Manchester United for over 10 years and Gary Neville was my best man and is one of my best friends,” the Galaxy midfielder said. “To be there for him and for his family is important because it was such an important era for us and for Manchester United, and if Sir Alex Ferguson hadn’t have given us a chance when we were all young, we wouldn’t have been able to create what we created.”

The testimonial match, which will pit a Manchester United team against Juventus at Old Trafford, will feature other players who came up with Neville and Beckham, including Nicky Butt, Phil Neville, Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes, all part of the Class of '92.

Any potential controversy over the decision should begin and end with Arena, he said.

“This decision is made on what I think is in the best interest of our team as well,” Arena said. “That decision has been made. It’s my responsibility, so if you want to throw darts, the darts should be thrown at me. I’m the person that has to accept the responsibility with that decision and I think it’s the right one to make.”

Another potential factor in the match was Beckham’s status for the match. The last time the Galaxy had a midweek match, Beckham rested as he did not travel with the club for their May 11 game at Philadelphia. Needing rest and carrying some minor injuries — most notably a thigh injury he picked up against Sporting KC on May 14 — taking time off helped Arena decide.

“I would have rested David on Wednesday, although that was not part of the decision,” Arena said. “David’s carrying an injury. Over the last three weeks or so, he’s been playing with a couple of nicks and it makes the decision easier."

However, Beckham said there were no issues and should not be any issues over his participation in this match.

“It’s special to people," he said. "It’s soccer. It’s sports. People respect that. Whoever thinks otherwise obviously doesn’t know the history of sports and the history of games. But it’s not an issue. There’s no issue with our club. There’s no issue with our manager. There’s no issue with our players. The only issue will be from people who ask questions.”

Offline Phensic

« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2011, 01:43:42 PM »
Anybody knows if this will be available on cable or internet?

« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2011, 02:45:44 PM »
Anybody knows if this will be available on cable or internet?

FSC and ESPN

« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2011, 03:05:11 PM »
fellas  let me apologise before hand...sorry it had to be this juve side to face the man u XI

« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2011, 08:58:16 AM »
What time d game is in we time?

« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2011, 09:00:15 AM »

2:30pm on FSC and ESPN

« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2011, 09:36:50 AM »

Didnt know it would be showing, or else I would have taped the damn  thing! Hopefully they replay it!

« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2011, 09:44:04 AM »

Didnt know it would be showing, or else I would have taped the damn  thing! Hopefully they replay it!

replay , today only

11pm est fsc
8pm est espn

« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2011, 10:35:13 AM »

somebody tape it and post it nah :devil:

replay , today only

11pm est fsc
8pm est espn

« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2011, 11:37:09 AM »
Tanx Small Mag! ah done chune eeen!

« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2011, 12:35:50 PM »
buh I eh seeing Yorkie! like he eh make d trip again

« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2011, 12:36:29 PM »
yorke eh on de side..he commentating...

« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2011, 12:38:01 PM »
WTF!!!!!!!!! RAGE!!!  >:( I WANTED TO SEE YORKE PLAY!!!

« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2011, 12:39:03 PM »
I wonder if he wearing his Tin-Foil Suit to do these duties

« Reply #19 on: May 24, 2011, 12:53:07 PM »
yorke eh on de side..he commentating...

He might do a half time ting!

« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2011, 12:53:14 PM »
Any updates?

« Reply #21 on: May 24, 2011, 12:54:48 PM »
1-0 rooney scores in the 18th

« Reply #22 on: May 24, 2011, 01:11:45 PM »
1-0 rooney scores in the 18th

Bufon and Del Perio playing?

« Reply #23 on: May 24, 2011, 01:16:05 PM »
del piero there
1-1 in de 39th..header by pepe

« Reply #24 on: May 24, 2011, 01:29:30 PM »
Neville Neville ???

« Reply #25 on: May 24, 2011, 02:27:05 PM »
we need to buy beckham again! lol

« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2011, 03:20:55 PM »
They really didn't like Yorke at all boy. I really hope Yorke is the one who turn them down. Can't see how they can leave him out of that line up.

« Reply #27 on: May 24, 2011, 03:25:34 PM »
It sounds like Dwight doing colour commentory.

« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2011, 11:47:15 AM »
Can't see how they can leave him out of that line up.

Why?

« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2011, 11:50:03 AM »
Can't see how they can leave him out of that line up.

Why?

lol Elan is a twat.. only Butt, Becks and Phil Neville got asked to play because thats his real close friends(and brother).. and well Giggsy and Scholesy still sweating

besides Fergie wanted to use some players to get a run out so they wont be cold for the CL Final.. 

Elan acting like it was the entire 99 squad except Yorke