April 29, 2024, 01:41:30 AM

Author Topic: Sport Minister promises Pro League team new stadium.  (Read 3736 times)

Sport Minister promises Pro League team new stadium.
« on: May 22, 2011, 06:29:20 AM »
Sport Minister promises Pro League team new stadium.
By Ian Prescott (Expess).

Caledonia ready for Beetham move.

Are you comfortable being in Beetham Gardens, say at 11 o'clock at night, after seeing your favourite T&T Pro League team play a game against Caledonia AIA of Morvant-Laventille?

Well, it is a question fans of Pro League football may have to personally answer if Sport and Youth Affairs Minister Anil Roberts follows through with recent announcements to build a community-type stadium for Caledonia AIA.

The Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs has targeted the open field between Servol and the Government-built houses at Beetham Gardens to build a community-based stadium. Roberts promised that work would start in four months.

"As people who have gotten nothing for so long, we are holding onto this promise with high expectation," said Caledonia AIA coach Jamaal Shabazz.

"This demonstrates a lot of initiative on the part of the Minister of Sport, who is seeking to bring some development to a community that has had very little of anything over the years."

A move to Beetham Gardens brings with it concerns over safety for fans, since the area has over the years been associated with gang warfare and crime, resulting in several unsolved murders.

Another of the real concerns is the laying down of border lines in the community by area gangs, who have restricted rivals and others from entering their district.

"Anywhere in the Morvant-Laventille area would be welcomed by us," Shabazz said. "This is what has been offered and for now that is what we are concentrating on."

So, why not develop the larger Morvant recreation ground? Previously both Caledonia AIA and Malick Senior Comprehensive have attempted to use the Morvant ground, a larger field located in a relatively safer area.

The problems with Morvant had mainly to do with neither team having the funds to fix the surface.

At first glance, the Beetham site does not seem big enough for a full field and stadium. However, Shabazz and Caledonia officials are planning to tour the area to determine if it can hold such a facility.

"Step one is to make sure it can house a full-sized football field. If not, we will have to look elsewhere. Step two is to gather all the warring factions and let them know that Caledonia AIA is a different kind of gang.

We are about togetherness in Morvant-Laventille and will be using this facility to bring an end to this foolishness about borderlines that exists today. Our youths have to be able to go to any part of the community."

Shabazz also feels that the stadium will aid the continued development of Caledonia AIA, which was founded in 1979 as an East Zone team.

In 2008, Caledonia AIA picked up their first major piece of silverware in the FA Trophy and Digicel Pro Bowl.

They then had a best-ever finish when second to Defence Force in the 2010-2011 Digicel Pro League.

Caledonia AIA also qualified for Caribbean competition for the first time this year and performed credibly in the CFU Club Championship before going out to Haitian champions Tempete FC on penalty kicks.

After blowing past St Kitts champs Newtown United 7-0 on aggregate in the first round, Caledonia AIA lost their second round home game 1-0 to Tempete when conceding a fifth minute goal.

However, they travelled to Haiti to get an early goal via midfielder Aaron Armstrong in the sixth minute to win 1-0 and level the scores at 1-1 on aggregate.

The game went to extra-time then penalty kicks, where AIA missed three kicks and lost 3-2 on penalties.

"It was the toughest game we ever played and everyone did their best. Their ground was full...10,000 maximum, and with the usual intimidation. We won the away game 1-0 which sent the tie into extra-time.

I think we did not hold our nerve when it came to the penalty kicks because we missed three, but it was a very good experience for our boys to play such a game under those pressures," said Shabazz.

Re: Sport Minister promises Pro League team new stadium.
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 07:18:03 AM »
I dunno what Anil does be smoking sometimes! As Min of Sport has he ever consider why basketball games are not played at St Paul Gym anymore? 

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2011, 08:10:40 AM »
I spoke to Shabazz about organising this for him. The man take my idea and gone above my head yes...

I hope it come off the ground but I hope they know what they doing cause is real details to be ironed out to make it work

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2011, 12:45:53 PM »
I spoke to Shabazz about organising this for him. The man take my idea and gone above my head yes...

I hope it come off the ground but I hope they know what they doing cause is real details to be ironed out to make it work
when will these fools in T&T, (TTFF & the Pro league) finally realise that you dont build and are unable to support a sports club in a poor and depressed are. All you would get is a bunch Weary 69 and others of her ilk who only want to see football for free. Pro sports need paying fans not " real Fans."  That is why the pro league is nothing more than a welfare league. And now we have this fool for a sports minister offering more welfare. He learning well from JW and the US democrats. Or did the US democrats learn from the T&T political parties?
« Last Edit: May 23, 2011, 10:14:39 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2011, 05:03:59 PM »
I dunno what Anil does be smoking sometimes! As Min of Sport has he ever consider why basketball games are not played at St Paul Gym anymore? 

i hear your opinion breds but the community deserve a chance

it will help some youths in the area and provide some hope, hopefully  :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2011, 06:32:15 PM »

it will help some youths in the area and provide some hope, hopefully  :beermug:

let's hope so, but it didn't work at St Paul Street Gym in East Drive River after NAR gov't spent millions there too.teams doh even want to practice there,much less have games.Dat doh matter when it involves your safety.

If one is concern about bringing hope to the youths in the area, surely there are several other options,less costly and more effective but in Trinidad we doh think about dat as long as we could gallery we self.

« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2011, 06:46:42 PM »
You ever thought who will get the contract to build this said stadium in the area?

Then the protection money to the community leaders in the area to make sure material doh go missing.

I worked briefly on a project in that area and we used to have police and soldier escort just for site visit.

A time they hold up the clerk of works in his van and tell him drive....whole day he was running errand for some youths who had a gun chook in the man waist.

Also the smell and pollution is not conducive for any kinda sporting activity.

I ent care who vex...I not going there, I not paying no money to go and watch no game there and I find its a ridiculous idea.

« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2011, 06:57:51 PM »
Touches

Yuh like me yuh just eh want 2 pay 2 c football.

« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2011, 07:03:37 PM »
I support the idea of developing community grounds for professional sport. I don't like Spalk but I support this initiative 100 %.  He would gain points in book if this actually comes off.

« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2011, 09:54:50 PM »
As a big supporter in community football, I am very disapointed in this announcement for several reasons.
1) These days, it is crucial that a stadium is built on a business foundation. Otherwise, the stadium becomes a white elephant that relies on the govt for maintenence, security etc. If you could guarantee 5, 000 spectators paying $5 or even $10, then placing the stadium in Beetham makes sense financially. Millwall built a stadium in a "no go" area and it worked because they could attract 5-10 thousand supporters paying £15-£60 for tickets. You also need a non matchday income. Access to the field must be restricted to maintain the surface. I am interested in how these concerns would be addressed.

2) Why Beetham? Beetham has excellent links to the highway, but other than that, it must be the most unsavoury location. I'm certain there are other more eligible spots in Morvant/Laventille. But why single out that area? Why not central Port of Spain or Diego Martin or San Juan. North East Stars can't even get a pitch to play on. 65,000 people in that region with the nearest stadium being Larry Gomes. Why don't Caledonia relocate to Arima and play at the velodrome? Thats what Milton Keynes Dons did. Its not like Caledonia have thousands of die hard fans. Plenty people in Arima would go watch their "local" Pro League team.

3) Why Caledonia? What puts them ahead of community teams like Jabloteh, St Anns Rangers, North East? Be nice to see the criteria involved in selecting Caledonia. I did hear that SPORTT were supposed to build 5 new stadiums, one of which was in Grande. Again, the concern is security and maintenence.

« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2011, 10:07:13 PM »
Very good points by Touches and Football Supporter... particularly the latter's point #1.

« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2011, 11:53:12 PM »
Anil, how many in dey right mind will leave dey house good good to go watch a game in the Beetham. I can only imagine the nightmare when it comes to the maintenance of the facilities, security for the patrons,  parking etc.

What's behind this initiative? As another poster pointed out, why Cali? What is the criteria? Should gov't be building stadiums for pro teams? Did Cali put forth some sort of proposal or a business plan? Was there some sort of feasibility study? Where do we draw the line? Looks like another waste of taxpayers money.

Anil, if yuh want to build something for the people in the area, how about a well equipped school. 

« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2011, 05:26:47 AM »
your'll have to remember all dem questions your'll asking dat make sense,doh apply to politicians.What's de real reason? Is it to try and win POS South? one of de few seats dey lost? 
« Last Edit: May 23, 2011, 06:49:37 AM by royal »

« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2011, 06:24:58 AM »
Somewhat commendable idea. Problem is..the execution.

How big a stadium?

Next ting...when yuh hear bout stories like dis how yuh expect people to take this kind of announcement?

Making it a part of the community is a good initiative. Community owned and maintained. I hope they think of a plan to make sure that all persons given a role, and it doh fester any existing animosity due to turf rivalry and such.

Will any other pro league clubs be benefiting from a similar initiative? Or is it just Cali?

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2011, 06:40:45 AM »
You don't need a stadium. Just decent stands, changing rooms and artificial turf.

« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2011, 06:50:52 AM »
Notice the timing of this announcement...right after half the beetham had their illegal electricity connection disconnected and after they killed a "community leader" resulting in the blocking of the highway and the pelting of missiles on Saturday.

« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2011, 06:52:49 AM »
From San Fernando - Cedros there is not one Pro League approve field. Dais why Southend have to play at Mannie Ramjohn although they base in Point.

« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2011, 08:04:41 AM »
Notice the timing of this announcement...right after half the beetham had their illegal electricity connection disconnected and after they killed a "community leader" resulting in the blocking of the highway and the pelting of missiles on Saturday.

Way I livin all dat ah go on?

« Reply #18 on: May 23, 2011, 03:37:18 PM »
Believe this! Anil is of sound mine and faculties. It is a political move. Shabazz resigned from the womens team. He might be the man that PP will put as a candidate. Why am I not happy when I should be in jubilation. Ah mean, the La Basse right dey. If they say they was going to close down the La Basse I would have been happier. What I am worried about is what kind of development are they going to do around the stadium so that they would attract fans. I am sure if somebody buss ah empty nuts bags eveybody duck for cover. I need to hear more of what is in the plan. There is a plan to build a tunnel to Maracas. We still waiting on the cycling Velodrome and swimming pool.   :applause: :thumbsdown: :salute: :bs: :praying: :thumbsup: :notlistening: :cheers: :bs:  You see how ambivalent I am.

« Reply #19 on: May 23, 2011, 05:05:03 PM »
From San Fernando - Cedros there is not one Pro League approve field. Dais why Southend have to play at Mannie Ramjohn although they base in Point.

Honestly teams from deep south should not have issues with playing fields. There are more playing fields in the south and deep south that can be converted to mini-stadiums. It is not like POS and  the EW corridor where there is virtually no remaining land for recreational use. Point, Palo Seco, Fyzabad have space to build mini stadiums. Every man jack want's the gov't to build stadium for them. And when the gov't say that want to use the said facility for other purposes, they does curse. I am really disappointed in the the Point Fortin community. They really not interested in football and sports. They can organize one of the best festivals in TT and probably the rest of the Carib. after Carnival. And you mean to say that they can't even organize a proper mini stadium for a football club that use to carry the pride of the borough in the 50s, 60s, 70s. All yuh south people joking, oui!!!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 08:11:39 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2011, 06:20:24 AM »
why me???

« Reply #21 on: May 24, 2011, 08:05:56 AM »

Somebody I work wit get they windscreen mash up in this event.

« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2011, 06:52:38 PM »

:applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #23 on: May 26, 2011, 07:15:59 AM »

All yuh assuming that dem yute want help. The Laveentille Technology centre underutilise. Now that same centre assesing  people who are tradesmen but have no certification u feel dem people goin?

« Reply #24 on: May 26, 2011, 11:04:48 AM »

All yuh assuming that dem yute want help. The Laveentille Technology centre underutilise. Now that same centre assesing  people who are tradesmen but have no certification u feel dem people goin?

what kinda hope building a stadium provides? and building a stadium in the vicinity of a dump makes absolutely no sense.

« Reply #25 on: May 26, 2011, 11:19:28 AM »
we need a stadium near the beach so after the game we can take a dip :)

wouldnt it be cool to play near sea level? xD

« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2014, 06:17:28 PM »
What ever happen to this?

« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2014, 06:20:22 PM »

The same thing happened to the 34 million.

It varnished and no one questing it or if they do, after a week everybody liming and feting again and forgot it ever went missing.

What, 10 years now they building the Brian Lara stadium and it aint done yet and they love cricket in T&T as the number one sport, so don't expect football to get any better treatment.

« Last Edit: June 11, 2014, 06:23:51 PM by Flex »

« Reply #28 on: June 12, 2014, 04:49:35 AM »

The same thing happened to the 34 million.

It varnished and no one questing it or if they do, after a week everybody liming and feting again and forgot it ever went missing.

What, 10 years now they building the Brian Lara stadium and it aint done yet and they love cricket in T&T as the number one sport, so don't expect football to get any better treatment.

Sadness...

Also couldn't let this go;

It varnished...

"Like an old Oak table"... (Blackadder II quotes anyone?)