April 27, 2024, 05:41:54 AM

Author Topic: Coaches and Managers Status.  (Read 30604 times)

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
Re: Bob Bradley fired as U.S. coach!
« Reply #30 on: July 28, 2011, 04:52:37 PM »
I think Klinsmann would be great for the US. I love how he had germany runnin 06. He knows US players and even though he turn dem down b4 I think he might be willing to take d challenge now.
It's only kinky the 1st time

Re: 2011/2012 Coaches and Manager Status.
« Reply #31 on: July 28, 2011, 06:50:25 PM »
bradley did a good job.  the problem is the US feel dem big like germany, brazil, spain, etc so dem think they should be doing better in the world cup so bradley "not performing"

i expect a german coach or probably dutch.

« Reply #32 on: July 28, 2011, 08:18:38 PM »
bradley did a good job.  the problem is the US feel dem big like germany, brazil, spain, etc so dem think they should be doing better in the world cup so bradley "not performing"

But nuttin wrong wid dat , thinking dat they on the same level as Brazil or Spain, as least they eh settlin for mediocrity..

« Reply #33 on: July 28, 2011, 09:56:39 PM »

But nuttin wrong wid dat , thinking dat they on the same level as Brazil or Spain, as least they eh settlin for mediocrity..

nothing wrong with aspiring to be that level, but thinking you are on that level can be detrimental.  for example, we think we on the same level as cost rica, jamaica, panama, etc and as a result we suffer when we play those teams since we overestimate ourselves.

United States fire coach Bob Bradley
« Reply #34 on: July 29, 2011, 08:05:39 AM »
Watch the difference with high standards and looking to go further. Bradley did well with this team. His record good, including winning or coming close in big games...they lorse one regional final and lose a group game and the man gone.

Compared to us...we begging to give man with losing record and no clue tactically a chance.

We does cyar qualify for nuttin and instead of holding men accountable we does recycle them in yrs to come.

Source BBC Sport

United States fire coach Bob Bradley

Page last updated at 19:33 GMT, Thursday, 28 July 2011 20:33 UK

Bob Bradley Bradley took over from Bruce Arena in January 2007

Bob Bradley has been sacked as United States coach after four and a half years in charge.

The 53-year-old took the team to the last 16 of the 2010 World Cup after drawing 1-1 with England in Group C.

Bradley was subsequently linked with the Aston Villa manager's job, before opting to sign a four-year deal extension with US Soccer.

"We felt now was the right time for us to make a change," said US Soccer president Sunil Gulati.

Bradley's departure follows a 4-2 defeat by Mexico in the Gold Cup final on 25 June.

But his reign also included a shock win over European champions Spain en route to a runners-up finish at the 2009 Confederations Cup and last summer's creditable World Cup campaign that ended in extra-time defeat by Ghana.

"It is always hard to make these decisions, especially when it involves someone we respect as much as Bob," added Gulati.

"We wish him the best in his future endeavours."

US Soccer added that it would make a further announcement on Friday, raising expectations that it may name a replacement.

Re: Klinsmann named as U.S. coach
« Reply #36 on: July 29, 2011, 10:41:22 AM »
Sunil Gulati finally got the man he wanted for the job. This is the third attempt to land Klinsman as their NMT head coach. Bradley has taken them as far as he could.

« Reply #37 on: July 29, 2011, 10:47:52 AM »
That's huge...
one of my all time favourites.  Gotta give Sunil credit.

Just like that, the USMT has got some respect. (from me)

« Reply #38 on: July 29, 2011, 10:48:11 AM »
Wow!!  That's interesting.....let's see what he can do with the US team.....

« Reply #39 on: July 29, 2011, 10:59:59 AM »
Well well well we cutarse book fuh sure now. It's interesting to see which German will succeed faster,one things for sure we'll no if it's the coach or players......   

« Reply #40 on: July 29, 2011, 11:02:24 AM »
wow, they will be a force to reckon with, it will be nice to see pfister vs. klinsman  :beermug:

« Reply #41 on: July 29, 2011, 11:32:13 AM »
OMG  I knew this was just a matter of time!!!! OH WELL THE ROAD TO BRAZIL JUST GOT A LITTLE HARDER

« Reply #42 on: July 29, 2011, 11:39:09 AM »
Doesn't make much difference to the T&T side of things.

« Reply #43 on: July 29, 2011, 11:46:07 AM »
Quick turnaround ... which means it was a done deal.

I like the choice. It challenges at least one of the assumptions on which some American soccer personalities have relied (although, obviously not Gulati). The assumption is that an American coach is essential to understanding the American player. Yet, on the ground, foreign coaches have been instrumental on the American landscape to a significant degree ... although in my estimation, decreasingly so. Curiously, in uttering this belief, those who express the view ... don't explain the viability of coaches like Wilmer Cabrera or Pia Sundhage or others. Moreover, as American players earn a living overseas, they make adjustments that perhaps would not have applied before.

Having said that, the thing about the Klinsmann selection ... aside from his pedigree as a player and success with Germany ... is that he is probably likely the least "foreign" of foreign coaches ... given his acculturation to the US.

Over the years, many prominent CONCACAF teams (including ours) have engaged in all manner of theatrics and BS in picking national team managers ... from that viewpoint, this Klinsmann selection is probably one of the most pragmatic of selections in terms of competence, fit, 'sell' and availability. Should make life interesting for Jermaine Jones.

« Reply #44 on: July 29, 2011, 12:08:47 PM »
55 games undefeated; 25 losses ... a job done decently enough. Would this man seriously want to coach MLS right now? I doubt it.

« Reply #45 on: July 29, 2011, 12:13:41 PM »
All this means is Mexico will get a stronger challenge.  This has no impact on Trinidad.  Pfister vs. Klinsman  :rotfl:

« Reply #46 on: July 29, 2011, 12:14:53 PM »
All this means is Mexico will get a stronger challenge.  This has no impact on Trinidad.  Pfister vs. Klinsman  :rotfl:

ent!

« Reply #47 on: July 29, 2011, 12:18:04 PM »
Quick turnaround ... which means it was a done deal.

I like the choice. It challenges at least one of the assumptions on which some American soccer personalities have relied (although, obviously not Gulati). The assumption is that an American coach is essential to understanding the American player. Yet, on the ground, foreign coaches have been instrumental on the American landscape to a significant degree ... although in my estimation, decreasingly so. Curiously, in uttering this belief, those who express the view ... don't explain the viability of coaches like Wilmer Cabrera or Pia Sundhage or others. Moreover, as American players earn a living overseas, they make adjustments that perhaps would not have applied before.

Having said that, the thing about the Klinsmann selection ... aside from his pedigree as a player and success with Germany ... is that he is probably likely the least "foreign" of foreign coaches ... given his acculturation to the US.

Over the years, many prominent CONCACAF teams (including ours) have engaged in all manner of theatrics and BS in picking national team managers ... from that viewpoint, this Klinsmann selection is probably one of the most pragmatic of selections in terms of competence, fit, 'sell' and availability. Should make life interesting for Jermaine Jones.

:rotfl: :rotfl: You notice that too.

« Reply #48 on: July 29, 2011, 12:59:40 PM »

ent!

allyuh fellahs laughing but wait till qualifiers start and see the expertise of german coaching and pfister's ability to convert our team into a force to reckon with

crow will be served to the doubters  :devil:  :beermug:

« Reply #49 on: July 29, 2011, 01:16:51 PM »
 :rotfl: alright boss  :beermug: , ah hope yuh right

« Reply #50 on: July 29, 2011, 01:21:28 PM »

ent!

allyuh fellahs laughing but wait till qualifiers start and see the expertise of german coaching and pfister's ability to convert our team into a force to reckon with

I'm sure that would be the sweetest tasting crow ever!!!

« Reply #51 on: July 29, 2011, 02:01:37 PM »
USA follow fashion? Meh I rather have OTTO!

May the best GERMAN win lol.

« Reply #52 on: July 29, 2011, 02:25:12 PM »
Remember his assistant was Lowe, who will not be at his side this time around. This is an interesting signing, because USA is very different from Germany. Just think of his stint with Bayern without Lowe at his side.
Regardless they will remain a force in CONCACAF along with Mexico, the real test is against opposition outside of USA soil.

« Reply #53 on: July 29, 2011, 02:26:04 PM »
Remember his assistant was Lowe, who will not be at his side this time around. This is an interesting signing, because USA is very different from Germany. Just think of his stint with Bayern without Lowe at his side.
Regardless they will remain a force in CONCACAF along with Mexico, the real test is against opposition outside of USA soil.

« Reply #54 on: July 29, 2011, 03:33:10 PM »

« Reply #55 on: July 29, 2011, 03:34:52 PM »

ent!

I'm sure that would be the sweetest tasting crow ever!!!

stew or curry, take yuh pick, dhw and crew will enjoy it, they could drink a stag with it 8)

« Reply #56 on: July 29, 2011, 03:35:14 PM »
Dang that whole team about to change.  Great for US football.  Finally. Hopefully they'll let expertise lead the way and not propaganda.

« Reply #57 on: July 29, 2011, 03:44:04 PM »
Dang that whole team about to change.  Great for US football.  Finally. Hopefully they'll let expertise lead the way and not propaganda.

real big news, but as observer noted, who will be his asst coach?

pfister has corneal the man born with the golden spoon in his mouth as his asst, that is pfister problem, however, pfister is the type of coach who may not need a high profile asst to do well

« Reply #58 on: July 29, 2011, 04:16:15 PM »

I don't think the whole team is about to change. What he will probably do is create a more defined structure that creates a path to the USMNT starting with having the older youth teams play the same system as the senior team.
I wonder what will happen to poster boy Landy as I somehow think he has had a hand in all this.

« Reply #59 on: July 29, 2011, 07:56:10 PM »
nothing wrong with aspiring to be that level, but thinking you are on that level can be detrimental.  for example, we think we on the same level as cost rica, jamaica, panama, etc and as a result we suffer when we play those teams since we overestimate ourselves.

Except that you're basing your viewpoint on a fallacy: practically no one in the U.S. feels that we're on the same level as Germany, Brazil, Spain, etc.