April 23, 2024, 07:14:25 PM

Author Topic: Coaches and Managers Status.  (Read 30510 times)

Re: 2011/2012 Coaches and Manager Status.
« Reply #60 on: July 29, 2011, 08:25:03 PM »
nothing wrong with aspiring to be that level, but thinking you are on that level can be detrimental.  for example, we think we on the same level as cost rica, jamaica, panama, etc and as a result we suffer when we play those teams since we overestimate ourselves.

Except that you're basing your viewpoint on a fallacy: practically no one in the U.S. feels that we're on the same level as Germany, Brazil, Spain, etc.

Who is "practically no one"?

Re: Klinsmann named as U.S. coach
« Reply #61 on: July 29, 2011, 10:50:38 PM »
Dang that whole team about to change.  Great for US football.  Finally. Hopefully they'll let expertise lead the way and not propaganda.

real big news, but as observer noted, who will be his asst coach?

pfister has corneal the man born with the golden spoon in his mouth as his asst, that is pfister problem, however, pfister is the type of coach who may not need a high profile asst to do well

I would bet he's bringing in his own AC.  They need to let Klinsman do his thing. 

Re: Klinsmann named as U.S. coach
« Reply #62 on: July 29, 2011, 11:00:29 PM »
Dang that whole team about to change.  Great for US football.  Finally. Hopefully they'll let expertise lead the way and not propaganda.

I don't think the whole team is about to change. What he will probably do is create a more defined structure that creates a path to the USMNT starting with having the older youth teams play the same system as the senior team.
I wonder what will happen to poster boy Landy as I somehow think he has had a hand in all this.

You know what?  Klisman said it plainly, on air, last WC coverage and Lalas was vex.  Klins said the US need to look beyond just the suburbs to find their players, like basketball they need to look in the city areas for the best players in the country.  If Klinesman do that, that's a complete restructuring of the team.  And I might actually become a US fan.  For a long time US has had a "We can do it ourselves" attitude but they realize that the tide is changing, good.  In my OPINION they always seemed to have a quota system in place when is comes to certain players.  I done.

« Reply #63 on: July 30, 2011, 12:03:43 AM »
U facking kidding me.. someone tell me is a facking nightmare I am having.. This fuk ??

« Reply #64 on: July 30, 2011, 10:38:07 AM »
nothing wrong with aspiring to be that level, but thinking you are on that level can be detrimental.  for example, we think we on the same level as cost rica, jamaica, panama, etc and as a result we suffer when we play those teams since we overestimate ourselves.

Except that you're basing your viewpoint on a fallacy: practically no one in the U.S. feels that we're on the same level as Germany, Brazil, Spain, etc.

yeah lot of americans/american soccer fans think the US is much bigger than they actually are, reasons include reaching several world cups in a row, beating spain in the confederations cup, reaching the confed final and leading brazil 2-0, winning their world cup group that included England, fifa world ranking, etc.  these are just a few reasons.  However football fans know better.

the good ting for allyuh is klinsman knows better and i am sure he has a plan to help the american fantasy becomes a reality.  whether it happens or not, only time will tell.

« Reply #65 on: July 30, 2011, 11:07:48 AM »
yeah lot of americans/american soccer fans think the US is much bigger than they actually are, reasons include reaching several world cups in a row, beating spain in the confederations cup, reaching the confed final and leading brazil 2-0, winning their world cup group that included England, fifa world ranking, etc.  these are just a few reasons. 

Still a far cry feeling we're "big like germany, brazil, spain, etc" as you claimed. And anyone who feels that way is certainly in a minority.

« Reply #66 on: July 30, 2011, 11:14:32 AM »
yeah lot of americans/american soccer fans think the US is much bigger than they actually are, reasons include reaching several world cups in a row, beating spain in the confederations cup, reaching the confed final and leading brazil 2-0, winning their world cup group that included England, fifa world ranking, etc.  these are just a few reasons. 

Still a far cry feeling we're "big like germany, brazil, spain, etc" as you claimed. And anyone who feels that way is certainly in a minority.

i never said majority...just remember de US is a big country so the "minority amount" can still be a large number relative to other countries.

Bob Bradley to interview to be Egypt manager
« Reply #67 on: August 09, 2011, 01:39:37 PM »
Bob Bradley to interview to be Egypt manager

Recently released US national team manager Bob Bradley is set to interview for the vacant Egypt job this week, MLSsoccer.com has confirmed.

On Sunday night, Egyptian paper Al-Ahram reported that Bradley would be in competition with former Montenegro manager Zoran Filipović and former Trinidad and Tobago coach Francisco Maturana. However, an Egyptian federation spokesman indicated to MLSsoccer.com that the American was their first choice.

"The president of the federation will meet with the coach this week," Egypt's national team press officer Azmi Megahed told MLSsoccer.com on Monday. "He is maybe the top contender."

http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2011/08/08/bob-bradley-interview-be-egypt-manager

Re: Bob Bradley to interview to be Egypt manager
« Reply #68 on: August 09, 2011, 01:55:19 PM »
Appsss..."The Afro" taking his Corbeaux brand to Egypt.

Good Luck to him.

Offline Small Change

« Reply #69 on: August 09, 2011, 05:26:16 PM »
This same "Corbeaux" brand beats TnT ALL the time. The man did well. He beat the mighty Spain and competed well as the TOP teams in the world. He have a rough 2006 WC, from being in a tough group, but he did well in S.A. The Corbeaux brands beat alot of teams............

What brand does TnT have??

« Reply #70 on: August 09, 2011, 07:23:45 PM »
This same "Corbeaux" brand beats TnT ALL the time. The man did well. He beat the mighty Spain and competed well as the TOP teams in the world. He have a rough 2006 WC, from being in a tough group, but he did well in S.A. The Corbeaux brands beat alot of teams............

he talking about Mats.... see if you can figure it out.

« Reply #71 on: August 09, 2011, 08:27:08 PM »

Let de man talk nah.

« Reply #72 on: August 09, 2011, 08:45:42 PM »

Let de man talk nah.

DavyJenniyish perhaps...???

« Reply #73 on: August 11, 2011, 07:22:16 AM »
Oh Dear= It seems like small change just appear from another planet.
 Not to understand that the Corbeaux brand was the style that Maturana , the afro Coach employed seems to me that he just drop from space.
 What is the quote again- Keep your mouth shut so that people may think that you are intelligent but open it and it will leave no doubt.
 I got out of bed and was in a good mood, now I have to ask the good lord to give me some help to make it through this day.

Costa Rica football coach La Volpe quits
« Reply #74 on: August 13, 2011, 01:55:37 PM »
Costa Rica football coach La Volpe quits
AFP

Costa Rica's Argentinian coach Ricardo La Volpe has quit after 11 months in the job, the Costa Rican Football Federation (FCF) announced.

FCF president Eduardo Li said that the decision had been taken by mutual consent and that La Volpe would not receive a financial settlement.

La Volpe, 59, took over from Ronald Gonzalez last September with the aim of qualifying the team for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil after failing to make the previous edition in South Africa.

However, Costa Rica suffered several losses in recent friendlies as well as going out in the first round of the Copa America last month.

The former Argentina World Cup-winning goalkeeper previously coached several Mexican clubs and the Mexican national side from 2002 to 2006, as well as stints with Argentinian top flight clubs Boca Juniors and Velez Sarsfield.

Chris Powell steers Charlton clear of false dawns in bid to find light
« Reply #75 on: August 24, 2011, 06:26:54 AM »
Chris Powell steers Charlton clear of false dawns in bid to find light

There is pride at The Valley after a bright start in League One that no one is taking for granted

Jeremy Alexander at The Valley
guardian.co.uk,    Sunday 21 August 2011 22.59 BST

Charlton Athletic have won three and drawn one of their opening four matches in League One under their manager, Chris Powell. Photograph: PA
Charlton Athletic have come a long way in five years – a long way down. On 23 August 2006 they played Manchester United, the second of seven defeats in their first eight league games. That was the beginning of the descent. On Saturday in League One Sc**thorpe United reminded them how far back it is. Charlton were 2-0 up before the hour and on course to maintain their 100% league record, only for Sc**thorpe to get back to 2-2. To make matters worse the second goal came in the 91st minute.

Sheffield United, with a similar record, also led then drew, allowing MK Dons to spring above both on goal difference. Chris Powell, Charlton's manager since January, was sanguine. "We haven't lost yet," he said. "We can take pride in that."

But he admitted: "We have to see games out. You want to play higher but naturally tend to defend what you've got." To prove it and maybe his inexperience he went from 4-4-2 for 80 minutes to 4-5-1 (with Jason Euell for Paul Hayes), then virtually 5-5-0 in added time (with Gary Doherty for Bradley Wright-Phillips). Sc**thorpe, never outplayed, knew they were on to a good thing and Bobby Grant, scorer of their first, showed with his equaliser there was another fire in The Iron. "He's been bang on it in training," said his manager, Alan Knill. "We've tried to calm him down."

"I must applaud Sc**thorpe for playing their part in a very good game," said Powell. As a left-back for nearly 25 years, including three spells at Charlton which yielded five caps under Sven-Goran Eriksson, he earned a reputation that led to chairmanship of the Professional Footballers' Association. As he prepared last year to move from pitch to dugout he lamented the game's loss of "humility and integrity". Back at The Valley he is unlikely to see the riches that have taken players "out of touch with the common man".

Charlton, who owe their existence and home to the common man after a seven-year exile from 1985, take pains to keep in touch. "In signing 16 players this summer we've had to take wage capping into account," explains the chief executive, Stephen Kavanagh, to fans. At this level none cost anything worth disclosing. Fewer left on the same basis, though Carl Jenkinson went to Arsenal for £1m.

Danny Hollands, from Bournemouth, stood out in a bright midfield until collective legs went. His crisp cross laid the second goal on Wright-Phillips's head, his third of the season. The first followed a free-kick, Johnnie Jackson heading in.

Charlton have known false dawns before. Two seasons ago, in their first attempt to get back to the Championship with Phil Parkinson, they kicked off with six wins but finished fourth. They were fifth last January when Powell succeeded him, starting with four wins before four defeats and only two more wins in the last 19 games, but Powell can take heart from Parkinson's experience: he was engaged in 2008 after eight matches as caretaker without a win. Charlton recognise false dusks, too, as well as good men when they have them. They have learned the lesson of snap appointments that followed the Curbishley years. Powell starts in credit.

He and they value community and communication and should see a 15,505 crowd as due reward, matching last season's average. So was a letter Powell received from a lady in Coventry, who was "horrified" to find Charlton on a summer training camp in Spain sharing the hotel where she customarily spends quiet family holidays. "I am writing to congratulate your team on their behaviour and general politeness – so totally opposite to the reports generally applied in the tabloids," she wrote.

Powell had his own words about the riots which forced postponement of Charlton's Carling Cup match against Reading. "We shouldn't underestimate the role we can play in our community. I want all our fans and everyone connected with Charlton to do their bit," he said. The match is now being played on Tuesday. Charlton will have no fear of penalties and every hope of a marriage made in heaven with Powell.

Bob Bradley chosen as Egypt coach
« Reply #76 on: September 14, 2011, 12:28:28 PM »
Egypt name American Bradley as coach

Egypt have appointed former United States coach Bob Bradley as national team manager, state news agency MENA said on Wednesday.

Bradley replaces long-standing coach Hassan Shehata who left in June after holders Egypt struggled in qualifying for the 2012 African Nations Cup finals. They have since been eliminated.

Bradley, fired by the U.S. in July, was on an Egyptian FA shortlist that included the experienced Francisco Maturana, who has managed Peru, Ecuador and his native Colombia, and Zoran Filipovic, the former Yugoslav striker and Montenegro coach.

(continue)

Re: Bob Bradley chosen as Egypt coach
« Reply #77 on: September 14, 2011, 12:53:33 PM »
That is a move an a half.

The English does bawl about foreign coach, imagine the kinda pressure Bradley will get from segments of the Egyptian public.

It is good for Bradley though, a country that in a more competitive confederation. If he get them to a WC it will be a real achievement.

« Reply #78 on: September 14, 2011, 01:16:45 PM »
groundbreaking move yes.

i find bradley is a good coach (better than klinnsman). with egypt talent, he could probably do some damage on the continent.

of course, african football is a different beast from concacaf eh.

« Reply #79 on: September 14, 2011, 02:38:29 PM »
groundbreaking move yes.

i find bradley is a good coach (better than klinnsman). with egypt talent, he could probably do some damage on the continent.

of course, african football is a different beast from concacaf eh.

african qualifying is a world apart from concacaf

bradley is a good coach, i rate him :beermug:

Inter SACKS Gasperini
« Reply #80 on: September 21, 2011, 03:41:05 PM »
 Current World Club Football champs Internazionale FC has sacked it's head coach Gasperini following a humbling home defeat by newly promoted side Novara, a side that spent a long time in division 3 without featuring in Serie A for 55 years WOW.

Rumors have it that Raneri is going to replace him for the next Champions League clash against CSKA.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 03:43:16 PM by sHOTTA12 »

Re: Inter SACKS Gasperini
« Reply #81 on: September 21, 2011, 03:45:02 PM »
shit club before calciopoli...is only natural deyll fall back down

« Reply #82 on: September 24, 2011, 10:36:29 AM »
Bob Bradley finally signs on to coach Egypt

Bob Bradley was presented as the new coach of the Egyptian national team Saturday in Cairo, where he signed a contract before a packed news conference and was presented with a red team jersey.

Bradley becomes just the third American-born coach of a foreign national team and certainly will operate under far more scrutiny than those who came before him — Bill Moravek, who coached the U.S. Virgin Islands in 2000, and Steve Sampson, in charge of Costa Rica in 2002-04.

(continue)

« Reply #83 on: September 25, 2011, 04:03:27 PM »

Offline TdotTrini

Manager/Coach Status Thread.
« Reply #84 on: January 08, 2012, 12:48:27 PM »
QPR Sacked Warnock

QPR has sacked Neil Warnock, replacement to be announce by 8pm London time...

« Last Edit: March 29, 2015, 06:25:28 AM by Flex »
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

Re: QPR Sacked Warnock
« Reply #85 on: January 08, 2012, 12:56:44 PM »
k...

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #86 on: January 08, 2012, 01:02:49 PM »
Conte, Hughes, Guus is de leading candidate to replace.

« Reply #87 on: January 08, 2012, 03:27:34 PM »
... somewhat inevitable.

« Reply #88 on: January 08, 2012, 05:36:09 PM »

who?

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #89 on: January 08, 2012, 07:08:14 PM »

who?

Thats right Antonio Conte.