April 24, 2024, 12:51:27 PM

Author Topic: Diamond League- Rome Golden Gala(May 26th)  (Read 3161 times)

Offline Aviator

Diamond League- Rome Golden Gala(May 26th)
« on: May 23, 2011, 11:23:50 PM »

Startlist/results:-
http://www.diamondleague-rome.com/en/Live-StartlistsResults/Overview/

Men's 400mH
CLEMENT Kerron USA
CULSON Javier PUR
DUTCH Johnny USA
GAYMON Justin USA
GORDON Jehue TRI
GREENE David GBR
TAYLOR Angelo USA
VAN ZYL Louis J. RSA
WILLIAMS Rhys GBR

Men's 400m
BORLÉE Jonathan BEL
BROWN Christopher BAH
GONZALES Jermaine JAM
NEVILLE David USA
NIXON Greg USA
QUOW Renny TRI
ROONEY Martyn GBR
TORRANCE Jamaal USA
VISTALLI Marco Francesco ITA

Men's 200m
ANDERSON Marvin JAM
BAPTISTE Leon GBR
CALLANDER Emmanuel TRI
CRAWFORD Shawn USA
HESSION Paul IRL
HOWE Andrew ITA
MALCOLM Christian GBR
PESSONNEAUX Pierre Alexis FRA
SORRILLO Rondel TRI

Would not be surprised if Sorrillo wins this race.

Finally the big man makes his debut...

Men's 100m
CLARKE Lerone JAM
COLLINS Kim SKN
EDWARDS Rae Monzavous USA
FORSYTHE Mario JAM
LEMAITRE Christophe FRA
MBANDJOCK Martial FRA
POWELL Asafa JAM
THOMPSON Richard TRI
BOLT Usain JAM
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Offline Aviator

Re: Diamond League- Rome Golden Gala(May 26th)
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 11:40:51 AM »
Richard is nicely sandwiched between the two big men....Will not be pretty :-\

Ranking Result Rank
1 EDWARDS Rae Monzavous USA 7 MAY 1981 10.00 10.15
2 FORSYTHE Mario JAM 30 OCT 1985 9.95 10.12 1 3
3 LEMAITRE Christophe FRA 11 JUN 1990 9.97 10.08
4 BOLT Usain JAM 21 AUG 1986 9.58
5 THOMPSON Richard TRI 7 JUN 1985 9.89
6 POWELL Asafa JAM 23 NOV 1982 9.72 9.95 4 1

7 CLARKE Lerone JAM 12 JUL 1981 9.99 10.32
8 COLLINS Kim SKN 5 APR 1976 9.98 10.34
9 SAMUELS J-Mee USA 20 MAY 1987 10.03 10.21
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 11:42:50 AM by Aviator »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 02:35:35 PM »
I'm just happy he switched training camps.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 02:52:24 PM »
I'm just happy he switched training camps.

So am I, but I am not enitrely confident that who he is with now has all that is necessart to maximize his talents. However it is a step-up from Shaver...

Hopefully the seriously needed strength work that Richard needs will get done now. Might be too late to make much of a difference this season, but hopefully it will show for next season. A place in the finals is all I ask this year. I personally do not expect a better placing than Berlin '09 in Daegu this year.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 05:09:45 PM by Aviator »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2011, 08:40:43 AM »
The meet will begin at at 2p.m. EDT today. Here are some places where video links could be possibly found:-

http://www.oleoletv.com/broadcast/1/

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=118273&part=sports

Offline Trini1

« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2011, 10:47:29 AM »
I thought he moved from shaver to hsi, not so? Then onto where he is now... Anyhow whichever it is I hope he gets that strength and the speed endurance to finish as well as he starts. He is of now our best sprinter and has been so for quite some time!

I ask of him in addition to a final... a sub-10 which I believe he is fully capable of doing by September. I would love for Marc to be there too. I feel he is a sprinter that has not maximized his potential- in terms of his height etc he should be up there with the big 3. I'm till proud of his achievements nonetheless.

My desire, which has been so for some time is for some of our athletes, male and female, young and old to be coached by Ato! It would be great but it's a dream that may never materialize....

Offline Aviator

« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2011, 12:23:35 PM »
Van Zyl wins in 47.92...

Dai Greene second 48.24.

Angelo Taylor third 48.66.

Jehue Gordon fifth 49.09.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2011, 02:01:18 PM »
Official Results - Men - 100 Metres - Wind : +0.6 m/s   Pos     Athlete     Nat     Mark     Pts   
1     Usain Bolt     [JAM]  JAM     9.91     4
2    Asafa Powell    [JAM] JAM    9.93    2
3    Christophe Lemaitre    [FRA] FRA    10.00    1
4    Kim Collins    [SKN] SKN    10.12    
5    Richard Thompson    [trI] TRI    10.13    
6    Monzavous Edwards    [USA] USA    10.20    
7    Mario Forsythe    [JAM] JAM    10.21    
8    Lerone Clarke    [JAM] JAM    10.31    
9    J-Mee Samuels    [USA] USA    10.40    

I hope the focus of Richard's new coahing set-up is peaking for Worlds only. Usually he comes to nationals being fairly sharp, but with the way the rest of the guys are looking a 10.0x will suffice for a win or even the time he ran today.

World champs are very late this season, so there is some time to start to get that ship back on track.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2011, 05:40:54 PM by Aviator »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2011, 02:43:18 PM »
Official Results - Men - 400 Metres   Pos     Athlete     Nat     Mark     Pts   
1     Chris Brown     [BAH]  BAH     45.16     
2    Jermaine Gonzales    [JAM] JAM    45.43    
3    Jonathan Borlée    [BEL] BEL    45.53    
4    Greg Nixon    [USA] USA    45.62    
5    Renny Quow    [trI] TRI    45.83    
6    David Neville    [USA] USA    45.94    
7    Marco Vistalli    [ITA] ITA    46.02    
8    Martyn Rooney    [GBR] GBR    46.12    
9    Jamaal Torrance    [USA] USA    46.22    
« Last Edit: May 26, 2011, 05:41:04 PM by Aviator »

« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2011, 05:06:46 PM »
That guy Van Zyl from South Africa is something else. He runs a mean 400m as well.

Dont think that we will see two Trinis in the mens 100m final at world champs this year. Hopefully one will make it. I can ensure you that there will be 4 Yardies in the mens 100m final and the possibly the 200m as well.

Based on the results today, TT track and field seems to be on a decline when compared to other Track and field nations. I hope this changes before the worlds.

« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2011, 08:12:15 PM »
That guy Van Zyl from South Africa is something else. He runs a mean 400m as well.

Dont think that we will see two Trinis in the mens 100m final at world champs this year. Hopefully one will make it. I can ensure you that there will be 4 Yardies in the mens 100m final and the possibly the 200m as well.

Based on the results today, TT track and field seems to be on a decline when compared to other Track and field nations. I hope this changes before the worlds.

Richard really playing the fool letting Kim beat him  steups.  Early days still...e will see.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2011, 10:49:59 PM »
Highlights of the meet:-

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/NRUTpyUssc0&amp;feature=channel_video_title" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/NRUTpyUssc0&amp;feature=channel_video_title</a>

« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2011, 02:51:18 AM »
Sad to say but Richard not in dem fellas class  ... to beat them fellas or at least get within their range he have to work at least harder than them and I'm not certain I'm seeing signs of that ... still looks frail and technique starting still looks flawed.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2011, 06:07:29 AM »
Sad to say but Richard not in dem fellas class  ... to beat them fellas or at least get within their range he have to work at least harder than them and I'm not certain I'm seeing signs of that ... still looks frail and technique starting still looks flawed.

With his current coaching set-up, if he is a good listener and fast learner, he could make big technical improvements by Worlds. The first round of the 100m is exactly 3 months from today, so he has time for that. However for the strength department he will have to take this winter very seriously or else he will be permanently left behind...

« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2011, 02:52:09 PM »
Yeah, there are many critics who feel that RT silver medal was fluke. I dont think that he will be running a sub10 this year.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2011, 05:13:34 PM »
Yeah, there are many critics who feel that RT silver medal was fluke. I dont think that he will be running a sub10 this year.

I do not believe it was a fluke, but what I will say is that he has gotten away from the training that took him there and shoul dhave by now taken beyond that point car accident and injuries aside. He had a steady diet of 200m races in 2008, whereas in the 2009/2010 season he ran less 200m races combined than he did in '08, and as far as I know is yet to run one this year. Not to mention that by looking at him I have yet to see any improvements in muscularity.

Just an example Richard got to 60m in 6.40s in Beijing, in Berlin Tyson is only 0.01s faster to 60m at 6.39 but ends up running 0.18s faster at 9.71. Now all the intangibles cannot be covered in that comparison, but there are somethings that Tyson does that Richard does not....

« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2011, 05:38:59 PM »

RT silver was no fluke. He beat the best of the rest. Everybody saw it on tv. RT came of an unbelievable  NCAA season and went straight to Olimpics. Now,  He just have to change and adjust to the new realities.

« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2011, 07:25:50 PM »

RT silver was no fluke. He beat the best of the rest. Everybody saw it on tv. RT came of an unbelievable  NCAA season and went straight to Olimpics. Now,  He just have to change and adjust to the new realities.

I agree. I dont think it was a fluke either. Its just that he hasnt been consistent with the 9.9s. However, I think he can get back to the 9.9s.

Offline Die_Hard

« Reply #18 on: May 27, 2011, 08:07:28 PM »
Don't think it was a fluke either, he consistently made finals and ran fairly well afterwrads.  It seems to have gone to his damn head though.  I am so glad he has changed coaching...he should be getting better..I saw him in Jamaica duck at the tape to avoid coming last and losing to a high schooler.

« Reply #19 on: May 27, 2011, 08:37:43 PM »
Richard rel playing de backside, he better watch he tail, Kim Collins ran him down in dat race..steups/

Offline Trini1

« Reply #20 on: May 28, 2011, 03:03:08 PM »
Richard's run was not a fluke i believe if he is serious he can run sub-10. Why? he did it in 2009 after the accident so he an more than do it now! Some may have forgotten the 9.93 in the berlin final!