April 29, 2024, 10:03:00 AM

Author Topic: Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner charged by FIFA over alleged bribes  (Read 107594 times)

Re: Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner charged by FIFA over alleged bribes
« Reply #360 on: June 02, 2011, 04:19:28 PM »
Jayerson, you say "I absolutely do not think this has anything to do with race at all" Then you say "None of them are what we will call West Indian countries."

If you really want to go down that route, be prepared for a racist backlash. You're saying those countries are British & US influenced. British & US people will say "damn right, they ain't like the dodgy West Indians who would murder and steal from anyone"

Racism is like a tennis ball, mate. You hit one out there and it provides the ammunition to hit one straight back at you. Now, maybe you really did mean it in a political or economic sense, but unfortunatly it doesn't come across that way.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #361 on: June 02, 2011, 04:24:33 PM »
My question?
There are 25 members of CFU, 5 reported that they were offered bribes, 13 disputed that, so the balance of
7 what are they saying, why are they quiet.

« Reply #362 on: June 02, 2011, 04:27:03 PM »
Bakes,he from T&T and you know how special we are  :devil:just kidding,you eh see the effect it have on the forum,peeps shame etc etc

« Reply #363 on: June 02, 2011, 05:26:11 PM »
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2011/writers/grant_wahl/06/02/fifa.2022/index.html?hpt=hp_t2

U.S. could benefit from a potential 2022 World Cup revote by FIFA
Thursday June 2, 2011
SI.com

The e-mails and Twitter questions kept pouring in this week: Why was
 the U.S. Soccer Federation staying radio silent on the shenanigans at FIFA? Why didn't U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati take the moral high ground and publicly back England's call to postpone Wednesday's FIFA presidential election amid corruption investigations at world soccer's highest levels? And was the U.S. actually voting for incumbent FIFA president Sepp Blatter?

The answer, it turns out, is simple. Blatter may be a ruthless strongman presiding over an organization rife with corruption, but you know what? From U.S. Soccer's perspective he's a ruthless strongman who's still in charge and happens to be on our side. And in the end, Blatter provides the best chance the U.S. has to take over the prize that matters most to Gulati: hosting World Cup 2022 in the United States.

That brings up two big questions: Is it possible that Qatar might lose the hosting rights that it won for World Cup '22 in a 14-8 final-round vote against the U.S. last December? And has U.S. Soccer surrendered its credibility by failing to speak out against Blatter, who "won" four more years atop FIFA on Wednesday in an election that had only one candidate?

Let's break it down:

Is a revote for the World Cup '22 host back on the table? Not yet, but it could be down the road. The strongest indication yet came on Wednesday when German federation president Theo Swanziger called for an investigation of the controversial vote that gave Qatar World Cup '22. "There is a considerable degree of suspicion that one cannot sweep aside," Swanziger said. "This needs to be examined anew."

Swanziger is a close Blatter ally who replaced German Franz Beckenbauer this week on FIFA's powerful 24-man executive committee. And while there's no concrete evidence yet that Qatar broke the rules in its bid, there are reasons for an investigation into the 2022 bid process. For starters, the most powerful Qatari in world soccer, Mohamed bin Hammam, is already suspended and under investigation for allegedly trying to bribe Caribbean voters with up to $1 million in his campaign for the FIFA presidency. (He has denied the charges but did withdraw from the election last Saturday.)

If Bin Hammam is found guilty of bribery, it would raise additional questions about his role in Qatar's World Cup bid. What's more, Blatter announced a "zero tolerance" policy for corruption this week, and one of the best ways to back that up would be to conduct a thorough forensic investigation into every bid for World Cup '22: Qatar, the U.S., Australia, Japan and South Korea. If it turned up wrongdoing on Qatar's part, then there could be a revote. If it didn't, then Qatar could say it was a completely clean vote and keep the World Cup.

There are a few things to keep in mind here from the American perspective. One, Blatter almost certainly voted for the U.S. against Qatar last December. Two, Blatter may feel like he owes a big favor to Chuck Blazer, the U.S. member of the FIFA executive committee who turned in the detailed bribery allegations that led to Bin Hammam's departure from the FIFA presidential race. (Bin Hammam was Blatter's only nominated challenger.)

And three, Blatter announced this week the formation of a new "Solutions" committee that would identify problems in FIFA, including corruption, and have the power to conduct supposedly legitimate investigations. Some of the members of this committee might come from outside FIFA, said Blatter, who mentioned two names in particular. One was Johan Cruyff, the legendary Dutch player, and another was (wait for it) former U.S. Secretary of State Henry Kissinger, a soccer fan and Blatter friend who also happened to be on the U.S.'s World Cup '22 bid committee.

(Side note: It's revealing that Blatter's model for reform is one of the highest-ranking members of the Nixon administration.)

Still, a World Cup '22 investigation and potential revote are by no means guaranteed. Germany's Swanziger may have called for an investigation, but it's also believed that his FIFA ExCo predecessor, Beckenbauer, voted for Qatar instead of the U.S. bid. Questions also remain over what Bin Hammam might have received from Blatter in any backroom deal to get out of the FIFA presidential race. Is it possible that Blatter told him he wouldn't support an investigation into Qatar's World Cup bid? Perhaps.

If the U.S. doesn't get World Cup '22, was it still worthwhile to keep quiet and not join England in taking a public stand against Blatter's FIFA? Here's where it gets tricky. Do I think U.S. Soccer's Gulati would love to call out Blatter and FIFA after December's vote for World Cup '22? Yes, I do. Do I think Gulati realized that wasn't in his interests? Of course.

Some U.S. soccer fans would say the USSF shouldn't have supported Blatter under any circumstances. Others would say engaging in realpolitik would be fine as long as the U.S. get to host World Cup '22, but if that doesn't happen then the U.S. is supporting a dictator without getting anything meaningful in return.

U.S. Soccer would argue, however, that while the U.S. and English FAs are on good terms, the U.S. is in a different situation. The benefit of taking a public stand against Blatter is high for England's FA: It takes the moral high ground, and the message plays well in the English media, which has covered the FIFA controversies with far more scrutiny and column inches than any other country's press corps. Plus, England has lower chances than Antarctica of hosting a future World Cup, considering the way FIFA officials attacked England on Wednesday.

U.S. Soccer, on the other hand, clearly feels that it wasn't in its interests to publicly oppose Blatter if it knew he was going to win. For one thing, there hasn't been nearly as much coverage of the FIFA election in the U.S. as in England, so the benefit of taking a stand wouldn't be as high for the USSF. And U.S. Soccer must feel that it still needs Blatter's FIFA to support (or, at the very least, not oppose) a number of things other than World Cup '22 as the sport continues its development in America.

What could those things be?

World Cup TV rights for 2018 and '22. In 2006, Blatter's FIFA did U.S. Soccer and MLS a favor by agreeing not to accept a $350 million bid for the TV rights for World Cups '10 and '14 from NBC, which had no interest in committing to showing MLS or other international games. Instead FIFA later accepted a $325 million bid from Univisión (Spanish) and a $100 million bid from ESPN (English), which agreed to increase soccer's domestic exposure by doing deals with MLS and U.S. Soccer as well.

The U.S. TV rights for World Cups '18 and '22 will be up for bidding in the not-too-distant future, and U.S. Soccer would prefer that Blatter's FIFA choose a partner (read: ESPN) that also has a commitment to MLS and U.S. Soccer.

Continued FIFA approval of MLS's unique aspects. If it was up to Blatter, MLS would never include more than 20 teams (it currently has 18 and plans to expand beyond 20) and would play a fall-to-spring schedule (instead of a summer slate). Blatter might also have issues with MLS's single-entity structure and lack of promotion and relegation, but FIFA hasn't tried to crack down on those things during the years that U.S. Soccer has supported Blatter. Without that support, things might change.

Keep in mind, too, that Blatter's FIFA did U.S. Soccer and MLS a big favor in 2009 by not intervening in collective-bargaining negotiations between MLS and its players, despite calls to do so from FIFPro, the international players union. If Blatter wanted to make life difficult for U.S. Soccer and MLS, FIFA could change its stance on that also.

Are those reasons enough to justify U.S. Soccer's silence this week and support of Blatter? Not in my book, especially if the U.S. isn't able to host World Cup '22. I also happen to think the U.S. isn't nearly as weak in international circles as U.S. Soccer's actions this week would make you think. After all, more tickets for World Cup 2010 were bought from the U.S. than from any country outside of host South Africa, and the highest World Cup TV rights fees on the planet came from (you guessed it) the United States. Even if U.S. Soccer had called out Blatter's FIFA, he would have been foolish to antagonize such a promising giant market for the sport.

What on earth is going on in CONCACAF? The biggest loser of the week was Jack Warner, the CONCACAF president who's suspended from all soccer activities while FIFA conducts an investigation into allegations that he and Bin Hammam tried to bribe Caribbean FA leaders with up to $1 million in cash in exchange for their FIFA presidential election votes. (Warner denies the charges.)

Here, too, Americans were at the center of the story. The most fascinating personal aspect of the week's events was that Blazer, CONCACAF's general secretary, turned on Warner after they had worked hand-in-hand for 21 years atop the confederation. It was Blazer who asked John Collins, a Chicago-based lawyer, to assemble a dossier of evidence for FIFA.

Warner, long one of the most powerful men in world soccer, now faces the possibility of being banned for life from FIFA pending an investigation. And in Warner's absence things have turned farcical in CONCACAF.

The acting CONCACAF president, Warner ally Lisle Austin of Barbados, announced he had fired Blazer from his confederation post, while the CONCACAF executive committee riposted that Blazer would stay in power since Austin had no authority under CONCACAF rules to do so. By Thursday, both sides were lawyering up, and there remained a possibility that CONCACAF might split between the Caribbean nations (which comprise 25 of the confederation's 35 voting members) and the nations from North and Central America.

This story is a long way from being finished. FIFA's investigation into Warner and Bin Hammam's bribery charges will include the Caribbean soccer officials who accepted the alleged $40,000 cash bribes. One can imagine they may also be offered plea agreements to provide evidence against Warner and Bin Hammam.

Against that backdrop, CONCACAF was planning to host its showpiece event (the Gold Cup) starting this weekend in the United States. Chances are that what happens on the field will be, much like the UEFA Champions League final, a welcome relief from the nonsense we've seen in FIFA over the past week.

Such is life in world fútbol politics, where U.S. Soccer has held its nose (to say nothing of its tongue) and chosen a position not unlike that of Henry Kissinger and the Nixon administration in the 1970s: supporting a thoroughly distasteful strongman (Blatter) whose policies may well turn out to be in the U.S.' interest.

« Reply #365 on: June 03, 2011, 06:54:03 AM »
Check some of the comments below the article....

"Are there any people on the FIFA executive committee from countries which actually play football?

Trinidad & Tobago (world ranking 95)
Sri Lanka (169)
Thailand (120)
Qatar (92)

Sri Lanka are behind Chinese Taipei, Swaziland, Liechtenstein, Cayman Islands and Vanuatu (which I have never even heard of) - why on Earth do they have a representative of the 22-strong FIFA executive committee?"

"..why on Earth do they have a representative of the 22-strong FIFA executive committee?'

Probably because they are corruptible people from countries in which corruption is a way of life therefore backhanders and all-expenses-paid Fifa junkets like the one in Geneva go a long way to making them even more bidable. "

"I bet these countries don't even know the rules of the game..."

That last one reeks of we-still-swing-on-trees-like-monkeys........ ::)

« Reply #366 on: June 03, 2011, 08:59:25 AM »
Anybody have a link to the Daily Telegraph. I was reliably informed that FIFA hired an ex FBI to investigate Jack.

« Reply #367 on: June 03, 2011, 09:08:40 AM »
Check some of the comments below the article....

"Are there any people on the FIFA executive committee from countries which actually play football?

Sri Lanka (169)
Thailand (120)
Qatar (92)

Sri Lanka are behind Chinese Taipei, Swaziland, Liechtenstein, Cayman Islands and Vanuatu (which I have never even heard of) - why on Earth do they have a representative of the 22-strong FIFA executive committee?"

"..why on Earth do they have a representative of the 22-strong FIFA executive committee?'

Probably because they are corruptible people from countries in which corruption is a way of life therefore backhanders and all-expenses-paid Fifa junkets like the one in Geneva go a long way to making them even more bidable. "

"I bet these countries don't even know the rules of the game..."

That last one reeks of we-still-swing-on-trees-like-monkeys........ ::)

or better yet we does still lime on de beach all day and drink coconut water.  :-\

« Reply #370 on: June 03, 2011, 01:28:47 PM »
Brown Sugar, I understand your defensiveness but I also understand why people in so-called 1st world countries ask the question. At least T&T made a WC finals. But if you wanted an organisation to run, say, the motor industry, it makes sense to have the biggest manufacturers. Of course, many decisions would benefit them, but then, they have the most consumers, employees etc.

Sri Lanka (169)
Thailand (120)
Qatar (92)

Qatars entire population is probably less than the number of regular football players in Brazil, USA, Argentina, England, Germany, Italy etc

The devolvement of power is not a bad thing. The problem is, is easy to abuse and manipulate. A German exco member probably wouldn't take a $40,000 bribe coz its too small to risk taking, but to smaller countries like, say, Jamaica, thats enough to buy half a decent house or a nice new Hilux.

« Reply #371 on: June 03, 2011, 02:29:03 PM »
Published On:Tuesday, May 31, 2011

By AVA TURNQUEST

Tribune Staff Reporter

aturnquest@tribunemedia.net

http://www.tribune242.com/06012011_at-BFAfifa_news_pg1

According to the affidavit, Mr Sealey texted: "I'm disappointed but not surprised. It is important that [we] maintain our integrity when the story is told. That money will not make or break our association. You can leave with your head high."

In that meeting, Mr Warner reportedly explained that he had "instructed Mr Bin Hammam to bring the cash equivalent of any gift he had intended to bring" for representatives and that the money was free to use "for any purpose."

"Those are some telling  remarks If it is true"
« Last Edit: June 03, 2011, 02:39:20 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #372 on: June 03, 2011, 04:33:40 PM »
Brown Sugar, I understand your defensiveness but I also understand why people in so-called 1st world countries ask the question. At least T&T made a WC finals. But if you wanted an organisation to run, say, the motor industry, it makes sense to have the biggest manufacturers. Of course, many decisions would benefit them, but then, they have the most consumers, employees etc.

Sri Lanka (169)
Thailand (120)
Qatar (92)

Qatars entire population is probably less than the number of regular football players in Brazil, USA, Argentina, England, Germany, Italy etc

The devolvement of power is not a bad thing. The problem is, is easy to abuse and manipulate. A German exco member probably wouldn't take a $40,000 bribe coz its too small to risk taking, but to smaller countries like, say, Jamaica, thats enough to buy half a decent house or a nice new Hilux.

What does size and on-field football acumen have to do with ability to run an organization?  Do you want the largest car manufacturers running the motor industry or do you want the best people?

« Reply #373 on: June 03, 2011, 05:31:01 PM »
Anybody have a link to the Daily Telegraph. I was reliably informed that FIFA hired an ex FBI to investigate Jack.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/8553478/Fifas-investigation-into-bribery-allegations-against-Mohamed-Bin-Hammam-and-Jack-Warner-takes-new-twist.html

Fifa's investigation into bribery allegations against Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner takes new twist
Fifa's FBI-led investigation into bribery allegations against Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner has been contacted by new witnesses who claim they can support the accusations, Telegraph Sport can disclose.

..The independent investigation is being led by the former director of the FBI Louis Freeh, who was appointed last week and is working under the direction of the Fifa ethics committee.....

Since Freeh opened the investigation last week a number of national associations present at a meeting in Trinidad, at which $1 million (Ł600,000) in bribes are alleged to have been offered, have made contact.

Excellent that the FBI is on to Jackula and his current disciples of convenience

« Reply #374 on: June 03, 2011, 07:17:15 PM »

Excellent that the FBI is on to Jackula and his current disciples of convenience

Doh get too excited... the FBI not involved in this case.

« Reply #375 on: June 04, 2011, 07:20:41 AM »
The latest blog entry from Bill Archer at BigSoccer:

Stick a Fork in Jack Warner

Because if Blatter is to cling to any kind of legitimacy, it will be because he makes enough noise and smoke about "reform" and "corruption", a position which looks insincere if not ludicrous as long as he has Jack Warner sitting next to him.

Long before the election campaign, it was widely thought that Warner was Blatters' biggest problem and the speculation was that the Old Swiss Codger would dearly love to rid himself of the constant embarrassment if only he could.

Well now he can.

« Reply #376 on: June 04, 2011, 09:56:58 AM »

Because if Blatter is to cling to any kind of legitimacy, it will be because he makes enough noise and smoke about "reform" and "corruption", a position which looks insincere if not ludicrous as long as he has Jack Warner sitting next to him.

Long before the election campaign, it was widely thought that Warner was Blatters' biggest problem and the speculation was that the Old Swiss Codger would dearly love to rid himself of the constant embarrassment if only he could.

Well now he can.

Exactly, I have said it here before, Blatter wants to be rid of Jack...not like some feel dey are frens or such...Blatter just had to wait and make sure he is firmly entrenched without Jacko's help..and he did so this time

« Reply #377 on: June 04, 2011, 10:01:07 AM »

Well now he can.

Yeah, if this is the last term that Blatter cares about he is free to burn all the bridges he wants. And I think that is clearly happening here with Warner.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #378 on: June 04, 2011, 10:23:59 AM »
The saga continues, Lisle Austin has now been suspended.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/dcunited/concacaf-suspends-acting-president-lisle-austin-for-allegedly-violation-rules/2011/06/04/AGDNznIH_story.html?wprss=rss_dcunited

CONCACAF suspends acting president Lisle Austin for alleged rules violations

By Associated Press, Updated: Saturday, June 4, 11:17 AM

NEW YORK — Acting CONCACAF president Lisle Austin has been suspended by the continental federation for allegedly violating rules.

The provisional ban applies to Austin’s activities with CONCACAF and in his native Barbados. CONCACAF, which represents North and Central America and the Carribean, is also asking FIFA to extend Austin’s suspension to soccer duties worldwide until his full hearing July 13.

CONCACAF vice president Alfredo Hawit of Honduras is now the acting president.

CONCACAF did not say what Austin did to merit the suspension, which took effect Thursday. But he tried to remove Chuck Blazer as secretary general in retaliation for Blazer’s bribery allegations against longtime CONCACAF leader Jack Warner and fellow FIFA executive committee member Mohamed bin Hammam. CONCACAF’s executive committee quickly rebuffed Austin’s move, saying he lacked the power to remove Blazer.

Warner and bin Hammam were suspended by FIFA after Blazer accused them of offering Caribbean officials $40,000 each in exchange for their votes in last Wednesday’s presidential election. Bin Hammam had been the only challenger to Sepp Blatter, who was elected unopposed to a fourth term.

Austin also tried to sever CONCACAF’s relationship with John P. Collins, a former federal prosecutor who investigated Blazer’s allegations and prepared the report for FIFA. Collins represents CONCACAF, and also sits on FIFA’s legal committee.

Collins’ signature is on the notice of Austin’s suspension.

The announcement comes one day before the start of the Gold Cup, CONCACAF’s premier event. The tournament is being played in 13 cities across the United States, and the winner will earn a spot in the 2013 Confederations Cup, the all-important World Cup tune-up.

http://www.football365.co.uk/story/0,17033,8652_6965902,00.html

LISLE AUSTIN SUSPENDED BY CONCACAF

Posted 04/06/11 14:30
EmailPrintSave

The power struggle at CONCACAF continued on Saturday after acting president Lisle Austin was provisionally banned for an alleged rule violation.

The Barbados official has been acting as president of the North, Central American and Caribbean governing body in Jack Warner's absence.

FIFA's ethics committee suspended Warner from all football-related activity pending the outcome of a full inquiry into bribery accusations made by fellow executive committee member Chuck Blazer.

Austin was drafted in as CONCACAF chief but, according to a statement on www.concacaf.com, he has now been suspended, with Honduran official Alfredo Hawit appointed in his place.

The statement read: "Lisle Austin has been provisionally banned from all football activities within CONCACAF and at the national level by a majority of the CONCACAF Executive Committee members for apparent infringement of the CONCACAF Statutes.

"This suspension took effect on Thursday, June 2, 2011. Notice of this suspension is being sent to FIFA to be extended worldwide.

"As the senior most Vice President of CONCACAF, Alfredo Hawit, assumes the role of acting President under the CONCACAF Statutes."

Austin and Blazer have been at loggerheads this week as the former attempted to sack the FIFA whistle-blower.

However, CONCACAF general secretary Blazer slapped down the threat and a statement on the body's website said the move was an "unauthorised declaration".

Austin will face a hearing on July 13 and has until June 13 to appeal the provisional ban. The Notice of Provisional Measure did not specify the case details.

« Last Edit: June 04, 2011, 10:53:29 AM by soccerrama »

« Reply #379 on: June 04, 2011, 10:32:18 AM »
I thought dey have soaps on d weekend now Austin suspended lawd fadder.

« Reply #380 on: June 04, 2011, 11:01:27 AM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: dis is rel comedy

« Reply #381 on: June 04, 2011, 11:03:10 AM »
 :heehee:

« Reply #382 on: June 04, 2011, 11:30:49 AM »
According to the great Anil Roberts....

WWWHHHHAAAAATTTTT?? ?!!!!!   :o ::)

Nah dem fellas good boy.....mih popcorn stocks cyar keep up!!!

« Reply #383 on: June 04, 2011, 12:06:57 PM »

Well now he can.

Exactly, I have said it here before, Blatter wants to be rid of Jack...not like some feel dey are frens or such...Blatter just had to wait and make sure he is firmly entrenched without Jacko's help..and he did so this time

I think what really piss off Blatter is that Jack was going to support Bin Hamman. Blatter was lucky the US was pissed that Jack blank them for Qatar. Sepp and Chuck make a behind de scenes play. Bin Hamman get blank, Wanrer get suspended. JW try to come crawling back to Massah Sepp, but it eh work. Worse yet he ally, Austi juss get blank. JW really in a corner. The only thing he had going for him is that he knew where skeletons were buried. But strangely nobody talking about the 1 million Sepp alleedly gave to CONCACAF.

If Jack get out of dis one, he is truly Lazarus.

I only waiting for him to say is because he black.

« Reply #384 on: June 04, 2011, 12:31:42 PM »
:rotfl: :rotfl: dis is rel comedy

It's really not that funny when you stop and analyze the situation... it appears very clear to me that Blazer is trying to coalesce power within his grip.  Blazer in my book is an even greater threat than Jack Warner and in many ways, none of which has to do with his nationality.

« Reply #385 on: June 04, 2011, 07:38:20 PM »
Read more International Soccer - Wire Posted on Sat, Jun. 04, 2011
Blazer is witty, gregarious and a whistleblower
By NANCY ARMOUR
AP National Writer

Chuck Blazer is a dead ringer for Santa Claus, has a pet parrot that squawks in the background during phone calls, and blogs about his travels and those of his friends - including Russian Prime Minister Vladimir Putin. Accompanied by Putin's own photos, no less.

He is gregarious, witty and, with a list of confidantes and contacts spanning the globe, seems an unlikely choice to spark the worst crisis in FIFA's 107-year history, accusing two officials of offering Caribbean soccer leaders $40,000 each in exchange for votes in the presidential election. But the only American on FIFA's powerful executive committee has spent 30 years promoting soccer and has shown before that he will step in when he feels the game is being shortchanged.

"He's been a tireless advocate for soccer, not only in America but in this hemisphere," said John Skipper, the executive vice president of content for ESPN, which has broadcast the last five World Cups and has the rights to the 2014 event in Brazil.

Blazer accused FIFA vice president Jack Warner and fellow executive committee member Mohamed bin Hammam of bribery in connection with last Wednesday's election. Bin Hammam had been the lone challenger to Sepp Blatter, who was elected unopposed to a fourth term after Warner and bin Hammam were suspended pending a full investigation.

Accusations of shadiness are nothing new for FIFA. Blazer himself was described by a federal judge as giving testimony that was "generally without credibility based on his attitude and demeanor and on his evasive answers on cross-examination" when MasterCard sued FIFA, alleging its sponsorship rights were illegally terminated. Executive committee members travel the world in high style, staying in five-star hotels and eating in the finest restaurants.

(The photo on the front page of Blazer's blog shows him in a private jet with Nelson Mandela, and he mentions eating at New York's tony Eleven Madison Park after a meeting last year.)

"There are resources and there are folks who could benefit from them who are not getting them," said Mel Brennan, who worked at CONCACAF, which represents North and Central America and the Caribbean, from February 2001 to September 2003. "The use of money for political ends is the mode and modus of world football governing bodies. There's nobody in a position of power, influence, authority and leverage to say, 'Hey, all these assets, they don't belong to you,' and can we come up with another set of metrics to disperse them."

But this latest scandal carried a different weight because the allegations came from Blazer, one of FIFA's own. Making them all the more stunning was that the 66-year-old New Yorker had turned on Warner, with whom he was so closely allied after 20 years together atop CONCACAF they were referred to as one person - "ChuckandJack" or "JackandChuck" - in soccer circles.

"I was surprised in the sense that, obviously, he and Jack Warner had been so closely attached from 1990 until that happened," said Alan Rothenberg, president of the U.S. Soccer Federation from 1990-98.

On Saturday, CONCACAF suspended acting president Lisle Austin, who tried to remove Blazer as secretary general in retaliation for his whistleblowing.

Blazer has refused to discuss the allegations against Warner and bin Hammam, which were compiled by former federal prosecutor John P. Collins and are being investigated by former FBI Director Louis Freeh's firm. Blazer did tell The Associated Press this week that "much more evidence" would emerge from Caribbean officials, who were advised in Zurich to hand over the money to FIFA and assist in the inquiry, or face their own investigation.

"Soccer is going to do just fine," Rothenberg said. "Does (FIFA) have to look inside in terms of governance and how it operates? The answer is yes. And I'm sure they will. I don't want to say it's much ado about nothing, it's serious. But as far as the sport is concerned, the sport is going to be just fine."

Soccer in the United States had little structure when Blazer first got involved in the 1970s. He began coaching his son's club in New Rochelle, N.Y., and was soon sitting on the boards of local and regional soccer organizations, positions that would become his entree to the national scene. He was the USSF's executive vice president from 1984-86, then became chair of the national teams committee. In 1988, he and Clive Toye, who had brought Pele to the United States as the general manager of the New York Cosmos, formed the American Soccer League.

Blazer may not have had a long history with soccer, but the NYU business graduate and entrepreneur recognized its potential, particularly in the United States.

"By the mid-80s, there was already an inexorable roll going toward the sport. The NASL had really laid a foundation," said Jim Trecker, the longtime public relations executive who served as the main spokesman for the 1994 World Cup organizing committee. "I think Chuck was the accelerant to it from a business standpoint because he brought real marketing and business savvy to the game."

It was Blazer who urged Warner to run for president of CONCACAF in 1990. When the Trinidadian won, he made Blazer the general secretary, the equivalent of a CEO. Blazer immediately began modernizing the low-budget confederation, starting with moving its headquarters from Guatemala City to New York - CONCACAF is now located in the posh Trump Tower. (Blazer lives in an apartment in the high-priced building's residential section, where neighbors have included composer Andrew Lloyd Webber.)

Seeing how popular - and lucrative - Europe's quadrennial continental championship had become, Blazer created a similar tournament for CONCACAF, called the Gold Cup. Played every two years since 1991, not only does it give national teams more games - critical for still-developing programs - it's become a massive moneymaker, with packed stadiums across the United States and lucrative contracts for broadcast rights.

This year's Gold Cup kicks off Sunday, with the champion earning a spot in the Confederations Cup, the all-important World Cup warm-up tournament.

In January 1997, Blazer beat out Rothenberg for North America's spot on FIFA's 24-man executive committee, world soccer's highest-ranking body. He is one of the few executive committee members who is not a current or former head of a national or continental federation.

CONCACAF doesn't have the same power within FIFA as the European or South American federations. But Blazer's personality and accessibility make him one of FIFA's more popular members. He is frequently described as "larger than life," with the charisma to match his big belly. (It was Blazer who said, "I don't see how you can air-condition an entire country," when Qatar said it would air condition all of its stadiums.)

His business background and technological savvy gives him significant influence, too - power that can only increase now that he's chairman of FIFA's marketing and television advisory board, a position that will give him a large say in who gets those massive World Cup TV contracts.

When NBC submitted a $350 million bid for the English- and Spanish-language U.S. rights to the 2010 and 2014 World Cups in 2005, Blazer convinced the executive committee to turn it down. The network only wanted the World Cups, and Blazer felt it was imperative that FIFA's American broadcast partner have more of a stake in the game.

"He said, 'You'd need to be committed to the sport in the United States,'" said ESPN's Skipper. "So we put together a bid not only for the World Cup, but for the national team and for Major League Soccer."

FIFA eventually split the U.S. contract between ESPN and Univision, with ESPN paying $100 million for the English-language rights and Univision $325 million for the Spanish-language rights.

Several of FIFA's biggest sponsors have expressed concern about the latest scandal, worried they will be wind up being dragged along through the muck. Blatter has promised reform, but it is far too soon to say whether the insulated group will actually give up its cozy system or whether it is simply paying lip-service until the spotlight shifts.

While Blazer is keeping quiet now, he expressed pride in FIFA and its accomplishments in a November interview with The Associated Press.

"No system is perfect. And as you get down to many different levels, there are people who make mistakes, there are people who do things wrong," he said then. "But by and large, if you look at the accomplishments of FIFA, I'm very satisfied when I look back at the 16 years that I've been there, and the 20 years here at the confederation, that our accomplishments have been very positive.

"Does it mean it's not subject to criticism? Of course it is, and you live with that. And in the end you try to learn from those criticisms and do better."

Follow Nancy Armour at http://twitter.com/nrarmour

Posted on Sat, Jun. 04, 2011 09:58 AM

« Reply #386 on: June 04, 2011, 07:51:28 PM »
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #387 on: June 04, 2011, 08:20:58 PM »
CONCACAF war takes legal twist
Saturday 4th June, 2011

Members of the Executive Committee at CONCACAF have been put on notice for engaging in alleged illegal action and for not having the best interest of the organisation at heart.

Acting President of CONCACAF, Lisle Austin in an email today says claims being made by Executive Committee members, that they have provisionally suspended him are illegal and he intends to address their continued illegal action at all levels.

To date, he says he is unaware of the grounds for which he has been illegally suspended and believes this conduct demonstrates the lawless activities of certain individuals.

According to Mr Austin, the action by members of the Executive Committee contravenes several articles of the CONCACAF statutes.

Mr. Austin says it is enlightening for the football world to know that the Executive Committee, in its flawed interpretation of Article 28, not only has failed to engage in due process which is required in any disciplinary matter, but has flouted the very statutory requirements articulated in the CONCACAF statutes necessary to move in such a direction.

He says some members of the Committee are clearly engaging in illegal actions at the prodding of forces which do not have the best interest of CONCACAF at heart.

He says he rejects the press statement claiming Alfredo Hawitt is Acting President of CONCACAF and wishes to advise member associations and staff members that anyone acting upon the instructions of Mr Hawitt will be implicating themselves into illegal activities.

The Acting President says he is saddened that the response from the CONCACAF media department is the fruit of illegal actions on the part of those who do not possess the Constitutionally granted powers to utilize the Confederation's equipment and resources.

He says he is both shocked and disheartened that the online publications of the Confederation are being employed to wage a war against the office of the Acting President, a war in which, he says, only the Confederation and its members will continue to suffer.

« Reply #388 on: June 04, 2011, 08:32:39 PM »
It is indeed instructive to note that CONCACAF has provided neither the basis of the authority on which Austin was suspended, nor provided the reason for his suspension.  The hand of Chuck Blazer is behind the scenes manipulating the situation to maximize his personal interest and he seemingly is doing so without regard for statutory authority.  From what I can tell "Secretary General" is an appointed, rather than an elected position, so it's baffling to me why he thinks he cannot be removed from office, and baffling how he thinks he can remove an elected member.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #389 on: June 04, 2011, 09:18:16 PM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,141677.html

WARNER'S STILL A SIMPAUL DIRECTOR
By Andre Bagoo Sunday, June 5 2011

FORMER FIFA presidential candidate Mohamed bin Hammam, in defence of proceedings brought against him by FIFA’s Ethics Committee last Sunday, said he transferred $2.3 million to the Jack Warner-led Caribbean Football Union (CFU) to cover the “travelling and accommodation expenses” of delegates and “the overall costs” of a two-day CFU meeting held at the four-star Hyatt Regency hotel in Port-of-Spain last month.

The travelling expenses and bookings for the meeting were done via Simpaul Travel Services Limited, a company which, to date, still lists Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner as a director.

Companies Registry documents obtained yesterday by Sunday Newsday revealed that while Warner is no longer a shareholder in the travel agency he set up with his wife, Maureen, in 1997, he is still listed as a director of the firm. An annual return filed on January 14, listed Warner, whose first name is Austin, as a director alongside his wife and sons Darryl and Daryan, of 69 Cynthia Drive, Howell Settlement, Five Rivers, Arouca. The current shareholders of the firm are listed as Princess Rose Campbell and housewife Margaret Fletcher, both of 177 Kitchener Avenue, Barataria. Both are former directors of Simpaul Travel. Their shares were transferred to them from Jack and Maureen Warner in March 2006.

Warner and his family had stepped down as directors in March 2006, the year of the World Cup in Germany. By August 2009, however, Warner and his family returned as directors.

Simpaul Travel was previously investigated by FIFA after it was revealed that tickets for the 2006 World Cup were channelled through the company. Warner, however, was subsequently cleared by the Ethics Committee.

Warner was last year allowed to maintain his ministerial portfolio simultaneously with his FIFA vice-presidency amidst great controversy, given the fact that ministers are by convention made to give up private business when entering Cabinet office.

It was not known then that Warner also, to date, maintains a post as a director at Simpaul, as indicated by the public registry documents. Contacted yesterday, an aide who answered Warner’s mobile phone said he was unavailable as he was in a constituency meeting.

In a four-page statement of defence, submitted to the Petrus Damaseb-chaired committee at Zurich, Switzerland, last Sunday, bin Hammam said he, “found it correct and insisted to pay” the money because the meeting, held from May 10-11, was an “extraordinary one”.

“Since this was an extraordinary meeting of the CFU, Mr bin Hammam found it correct and insisted to pay the travelling and accommodation expenses of the delegates, as well as the overall costs of the conference,” the statement, prepared by an attorney representing bin Hammam, read.

“For this purpose, Mr bin Hammam transferred the estimated costs of USD$360,000 (TT$2.3 million) to the CFU prior to the meeting in Trinidad.”

At the time, bin Hammam was a candidate in the FIFA election and was seeking the support of the CFU delegates in the race against incumbent Sepp Blatter.

Bin Hammam said the meeting came about due to a choice he made not to attend a CONCACAF meeting from May 1-3 in Miami.

“Mr bin Hammam initially intended to attend the CONCACAF-Congress which was held on 1 to 3 May 2011 in Miami, USA,” the statement said.

“That is why he applied for a visa at the beginning of April 2011. On 30 April and 1 May 2011, Mr bin Hammam attended the CONMEBOL Congress in Asuncion, Paraguay. At this time, the visa for entering the USA had still not arrived. (It was) only on 1 May 2011 in the afternoon, he received a phone call from the US embassy in Paraguay offering help in the visa matter. However, at that time, Mr bin Hammam had already changed his plans and decided not to change them again but to see the delegates of the CFU at an extraordinary meeting. No inferences which are disadvantageous for Mr Bin Hammam may be drawn from this choice.”

It was previously reported that bin Hammam could not attend the CONCACAF meeting due to an administrate error with his visa. Bin Hammam left Trinidad on May 10 while the two-day meeting was still taking place. He denied any knowledge that cash bribes were offered while he was there or after.

Warner is the president of the CFU, the organisation which hosted the Hyatt meeting.

Warner, who was issued a suspension this week by FIFA after its ethics committee found a case of bribery to answer against him, is also the CONCACAF president. The CFU offices are located at the CONCACAF building at Edward Street, Port-of-Spain. Simpaul Travel, the company that did the travel bookings for the meeting, also has a branch in the same building as CONCACAF and CFU. A separate affidavit sent to FIFA’s ethics committee reportedly said the travel and hotel accommodation was arranged through Simpaul Travel.

In a television interview last week, Warner reportedly indicated that the amount transferred was $100,000 less than that stated by bin Hammam and that it was wired.

“Mr bin Hammam never gave any money to the countries of the Caribbean. bin Hammam wired $260,000 to pay for accommodation and airfares. This is the norm,” Warner was quoted as saying in an internet report.

Warner has been alleged to have offered CFU officials bribes of $252,000 (US$40,000) at the Hyatt meeting. However, to date, the full facts on which the allegations are based, which have been strongly denied by Warner, remain unclear.

The allegations have been made by Chuck Blazer, the CONCACAF general secretary and one- time Warner ally whose credibility has been questioned by both bin Hammam and Warner.

In his defence, bin Hammam gave a glimpse of Blazer’s allegations against Warner. Referring to a statement by Blazer, bin Hammam said Blazer claimed that Warner had said that Warner had informed FIFA and Blatter, the FIFA president, of cash payments to the CFU delegates.

“In Mr Blazer’s submission…Mr Blazer refers to statements of Mr Jack Warner according to which the alleged cash payments were notified to the FIFA and Mr Blatter in particular and that they ‘had no issue with it’,” bin Hammam said.

It is unclear why, if any payments offered at the May meetings were bribes for supporting bin Hammam, Warner would inform bin Hammam’s competitor in the election, Blatter, of this.

Warner, bin Hammam and Blatter were all last Sunday referred to the FIFA Ethics Committee on the eve of last week’s FIFA presidential elections.

The committee, chaired by Namibian judge Damaseb, made a controversial ruling which cleared Blatter, but not the others, paving the way for Blatter to go up for a fourth term uncontested last week (bin Hammam withdrew hours before the ethics committee hearing last Sunday).

In relation to the allegation against Blatter, Damaseb noted the FIFA president was accused of failing to report the alleged intention to make unsanctioned payments to Caribbean associations. Warner has claimed Blatter was aware of the facts in question and has promised to read from an email he sent to Blatter after the May event. Blatter has claimed Warner told him about an intention to make certain payments at a future date.

Warner has denied all allegations. Last week, he declined requests from this newspaper to disclose statements submitted in his defence to the Ethics Committee.

Warner was last week cleared of a separate set of bribery allegations made by Lord Triesman, who has accused him of seeking to benefit financially in return for supporting England’s World Cup bid. Warner also last week declined to disclose a report that cleared him in that instance.

This week’s events, which came mere days after the PP Government celebrated its first anniversary, have shaken local politics. Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has said she will stand by Warner pending a full FIFA report and under the principle that an accused person is innocent until proven guilty. COP deputy political leader Prakash Ramadhar, however, has called for Warner to step aside temporarily.

CONCACAF has also been sent into a crisis with Warner’s suspension. This week, the acting president, Lisle Austin, attempted to fire Blazer, who has reported Warner as violating his suspension. Austin was himself this week subject to a ban from CONCACAF by a majority of the CONCACAF executive committee. Up to yesterday, CONCACAF lawyers were still wrangling over this issue.