March 28, 2024, 02:45:00 PM

Author Topic: Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner charged by FIFA over alleged bribes  (Read 105867 times)

Re: Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner charged by FIFA over alleged bribes
« Reply #780 on: July 20, 2012, 06:15:18 AM »
thank you FS ... and people laughing yes
     How u mean,laugh yes,what u want we to do,where is Lasana he always have the truth(the real storey) stop hiding lets here from u.People just want to victimize Jack and listening to what they want to hear,forget the ifs and buts and deal with the facts.
     I loveing it at home,everything live. 

« Reply #781 on: July 20, 2012, 09:07:29 AM »
this man funny yes

« Reply #782 on: July 20, 2012, 10:17:01 AM »
     How u mean,laugh yes,what u want we to do,where is Lasana he always have the truth(the real storey) stop hiding lets here from u.People just want to victimize Jack and listening to what they want to hear,forget the ifs and buts and deal with the facts.

Wired868 is offline until next week due to site improvements. I imagine Lasana is chomping at the bit.

Also, just to get some perspective on this, while Ian Alleyne happily informed the public on his show that Jack was cleared of all involvement, journalists in the rest of the world are treating this as confirmation that our Minister of National Security was indeed very much implicated.

We are living in a media vacuum where those who rely solely on local press and media reports (a large section of the electorate) are receiving a distorted set of facts to base their decisions upon. Crimewatch is the most watched programme here and Alleyne has become the people's hero. Thus, when he is stating incorrect facts, the people are being misled. Couple this with state TV and radio who are reporting issues with a govt slant and you have a virtual state controlled press and media. It's shocking that only a few weeks ago, hundreds of journalists came here for a conference and never picked up on this.   

« Reply #783 on: July 20, 2012, 10:21:50 AM »

You even read the Reuters article? What did you glean from that... you don't need Lasana to provide any facts. They are right there.

"Victimize jack" yes... now is my turn to laugh

« Reply #784 on: July 20, 2012, 12:00:11 PM »
Like it or not Bin Hammam did what ALL members of FIFA do. That was/is the way FIFA handle business. Jack been operating that way for years because that is the way they ALL do business.

« Reply #785 on: July 20, 2012, 12:02:16 PM »
??? :o Hold on....but doesn't this whole thing hinge on BinHammam bringing money to bribe? Then if he is cleared of that, or at least they can't conclusively prove that he did that, then doesn't the whole so called "bribery" scandal go away?? What ah missing? Yuh can clear the man who supposedly bringing the money to bribe, but still convict the "bribees"?? And now they want him get reinstated, which to be fair......

This is some crazyness.......LOL

Doesn't this mean that Jack could "rise again"?? Look trouble.

No.

The bribery scandal doesn't go away just because Bin Hamman was cleared.  The panel didn't conclude that no bribery took place... just that from the evidence, FIFA can't show with certainty that Bin Hamman was involved.  This means nothing where Jack is concerned... despite his usual crowing.  Anyone else implicated in the scandal have to clear their name by showing either that there was no bribery, or that even if there was bribery, they themselves were not involved.  Jack can't prove either of those... which is why he take front.

« Reply #786 on: July 20, 2012, 12:10:54 PM »
Like it or not Bin Hammam did what ALL members of FIFA do. That was/is the way FIFA handle business. Jack been operating that way for years because that is the way they ALL do business.
      :beermug: :beermug: i have been saying that for years and people never understood what i was trying to say.It's all part of business as usual,who laugh last laugh the best.

« Reply #787 on: July 20, 2012, 12:16:17 PM »
      :beermug: :beermug: i have been saying that for years and people never understood what i was trying to say.It's all part of business as usual,who laugh last laugh the best.

Everybody always understand that... and exactly what you was trying to say. That is not no mystery. If you going to lie down in bed with crooks you better be a crook yourself. eh heh

« Reply #788 on: July 20, 2012, 12:23:52 PM »

Wired868 is offline until next week due to site improvements. I imagine Lasana is chomping at the bit.

Also, just to get some perspective on this, while Ian Alleyne happily informed the public on his show that Jack was cleared of all involvement, journalists in the rest of the world are treating this as confirmation that our Minister of National Security was indeed very much implicated.

We are living in a media vacuum where those who rely solely on local press and media reports (a large section of the electorate) are receiving a distorted set of facts to base their decisions upon. Crimewatch is the most watched programme here and Alleyne has become the people's hero. Thus, when he is stating incorrect facts, the people are being misled. Couple this with state TV and radio who are reporting issues with a govt slant and you have a virtual state controlled press and media. It's shocking that only a few weeks ago, hundreds of journalists came here for a conference and never picked up on this.   

champing at the bit..champing, horses champ not chomp. sorry a per peeve.

I cannot see how anyone with a little bit of a brain stem can read the release by the abritrators and come to the conclusion that Jack or Bin Hammam were cleared???

« Reply #789 on: July 20, 2012, 02:17:15 PM »

champing at the bit..champing, horses champ not chomp. sorry a per peeve.

I cannot see how anyone with a little bit of a brain stem can read the release by the abritrators and come to the conclusion that Jack or Bin Hammam were cleared???

champing at the bit..champing, horses champ not chomp. sorry a per peeve.  :beermug:  Yeah, TT, I looked at that and spell checked it too. So I thought, nah, can't be champing lol. What does champing mean, anyway??

« Reply #790 on: July 20, 2012, 03:07:03 PM »
its when they make a chewing action when they are addled and want to move on...that is why they use it to mean waiting imaptiently.

« Reply #791 on: July 20, 2012, 03:10:25 PM »
its when they make a chewing action when they are addled and want to move on...that is why they use it to mean waiting imaptiently.

Offline tempo

Bin Hammam Case Closed
« Reply #792 on: December 13, 2012, 12:25:35 PM »
Hmmm, this is not a surprise and further confirms the notion that FIFA's action was politically motivated. Money handed out by the man running against the FIFA President is considered a "bribe" while money handed out by the FIFA President is considered "development". Perhaps Jack's main infraction was not recognizing the set up.

http://m.guardiannews.com/football/2012/dec/13/fifa-close-bin-hamman-bribery-case

Re: Bin Hammam Case Closed
« Reply #793 on: December 13, 2012, 04:29:17 PM »
They wanted Jack out from the start

« Reply #794 on: December 14, 2012, 09:46:03 AM »
My take is FIFA not going to allow the inquiry to continue because the deeper investigators dig, the closer they will come to Blatter and everybody associated with FIFA past & present.

« Reply #795 on: September 18, 2015, 08:27:23 AM »
*cough*

And theres the problem I have always had with Jack. He can do so much good, and does do great work, but then theres the sleazy side. Perhaps Jack was mistaken? But how many times can he be wrongly accused. It doesn't make any sense how he can get caught up in so many scandals.

« Reply #796 on: September 21, 2015, 10:22:41 AM »

« Reply #797 on: September 21, 2015, 06:21:23 PM »
From BBC. Jack's extradition proceedings approved by the AG.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-34318353

US extradition proceedings against Jack Warner, a former vice-president of football's world governing body Fifa, are to go ahead after being approved by Trinidad's attorney general.

The US wants to try Mr Warner, 72, a Trinidadian national, on corruption charges. He is accused of accepting millions of dollars in bribes.

He and 13 other current or former Fifa officials were indicted in May.

He denies the charges and is currently fighting the extradition attempt.

Last week, Switzerland approved the extradition of ex-Fifa Vice-President Eugenio Figueredo to the US.

Mr Figueredo, from Uruguay, was arrested in May while in Switzerland for a Fifa congress.

So far, only one arrested official - former Fifa Vice-President Jeffrey Webb, from the Cayman Islands - has agreed to be extradited.

After being extradited from Switzerland to the US, Mr Webb pleaded not guilty to accepting bribes worth millions of dollars in connection with the sale of marketing rights.

He was placed under house arrest on $10m (£6.4m) bail by a New York judge.

The king of Caribbean football

As the head of Caribbean and North and Central American football (Concacaf), Mr Warner was one the most powerful men in world football.

His support was seen as essential for any World Cup host bid. However, he has been dogged by allegations of corruption.

The US alleges that Mr Warner has been involved in corrupt practices for more than two decades.

Mr Warner's case has been adjourned until Friday due to a legal dispute over a technicality.

In June 2015, a BBC investigation found evidence of bribes paid to Mr Warner.

Jack Warner: The US charge sheet
◾Accused of racketeering, wire fraud, money laundering, bribery
◾From the early 1990s, he allegedly "began to leverage his influence and exploit his official positions for personal gain"
◾Allegedly accepted a $10m bribe from South African officials in return for voting to award them the 2010 World Cup
◾Allegedly bribed officials with envelopes each containing $40,000 in cash; when one demurred, he allegedly said: "There are some people here who think they are more pious than thou. If you're pious, open a church, friends. Our business is our business"