April 28, 2024, 05:08:05 AM

Author Topic: Fatima vs. QRC and other footage  (Read 1863 times)

Fatima vs. QRC and other footage
« on: May 26, 2011, 10:17:55 AM »
This is footage of Fatima vs QRC, I believe you can get clips totalling the whole match on Youtube. I have put the link for Part 1.

Also footage vs CIC.

This was posted on the net by a Fatima player, Tevyn Gill.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ln4NczuE0m8

Mods, if this was posted before, apologies.

Re: Fatima vs. QRC and other footage
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 11:09:17 AM »
what decade is this?

looks somewhat recent

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 11:10:31 AM »
what decade is this?

looks somewhat recent

Sorry,

forgot to say althought it's not stated, I think it's the 2010 season.

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 11:56:23 AM »
From the first 5 mins QRC looking like they have a clue...Fatima looking lost!

What's sad is the lack of vibes that used to exist in Coll. league football...sad.

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2011, 04:42:03 PM »
Nice to see my old school. Jeez it looking so small now. But this game is a far cry from my days at QRC. There were much bigger crowds than what I see now. But times have changed. Hang in there QRC!!!!!!

« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2011, 12:51:09 AM »
Nice to see my old school. Jeez it looking so small now. But this game is a far cry from my days at QRC. There were much bigger crowds than what I see now. But times have changed. Hang in there QRC!!!!!!

Deeks,

just to let you know, a QRC stalwart passed away last month, Gregor Hinkson.

He won three national Intercol titles with QRC back in the 50s.
He was the GK, whilst Lincoln Phillips played outfield back in those days.

Back in the 90s I had a cool Guardian photo of the team but I gave it to his son.

Offline amwood

« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2011, 09:18:25 AM »
I used to take a little "juk" in the college's league back in the day......was role player at best on meh squad, but my question is - how does college's league today go from this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ouzpkQw5WU

to what we seeing in them clips.......Way the support gone???????????? Why is like this today???? And QRC and Fatima is big school!

« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2011, 10:18:08 AM »
i ent know bout north, but from what i see on the college soccer site (cant remember the name)  it still have decent vibes in south, rhythm section and all.   

any number of factors could explain the lack of vibes in football in tnt...crime, other social avenues for kids, lack of interest in sport, over exposure to european leagues (why watch some lil skittong youth when u could watch real, barca, manu etc. every week and sometimes twice a week).

« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2011, 10:28:49 AM »

Deeks,

Back in the 90s I had a cool Guardian photo of the team but I gave it to his son.

VB,
          Yes I heard of his passing(RIP). He and his brother were really cool teachers. The students thought highly of Greg. He was a great Art teacher and he inspired many students at QRC. I remember playing against him in the Masters/Pupils fete matches which were always hilarious. His brother taught me Spanish. Great guy also. Thanks, Bro.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2011, 10:50:13 AM »
I used to take a little "juk" in the college's league back in the day......was role player at best on meh squad, but my question is - how does college's league today go from this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ouzpkQw5WU

to what we seeing in them clips.......Way the support gone???????????? Why is like this today???? And QRC and Fatima is big school!

Altho i agree support has gone down, i think this game in particular was poorly supported because it was a rescheduled intercol game..the game was to be played a day earlier, and I was supposed to go to it, bcuz it could have been qrc's last for the year, but it got cancelled due to rain or something so..and i didn't find out the game play the very next day until i saw the result on news..

« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2011, 11:26:24 AM »

Deeks,

VB,
          Yes I heard of his passing(RIP). He and his brother were really cool teachers. The students thought highly of Greg. He was a great Art teacher and he inspired many students at QRC. I remember playing against him in the Masters/Pupils fete matches which were always hilarious. His brother taught me Spanish. Great guy also. Thanks, Bro.

Deeks,

wrong brohter. The Art teacher is Jackie. Gregor never taught at  QRC.
He also broke the WI pole vault Sr. record at Sports Day  back in the 50s. His older son played for ASL U-16 many years ago.

Offline dervaig

« Reply #11 on: June 03, 2011, 03:34:07 PM »

« Reply #12 on: June 03, 2011, 04:08:11 PM »
Real nice, Dervaig. But man, the background music. I wish all the locals would use local music for their videos. Jeez!!!! But congrats Fatima!!!

« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2011, 04:27:20 PM »
will watch it again later, but the 1st 5 mins, ah find they passing just like our Snr Natl team, except it have more blue, and the game look like is ah lunch time sweat, crowd minds like it on exams..oh well.. :(