March 29, 2024, 12:28:33 AM

Author Topic: Touching base with Keith Look Loy.  (Read 21366 times)

Offline president

• ...Walk and don't look back...
Re: Touching base with Keith Look Loy.
« Reply #60 on: June 10, 2011, 04:47:55 AM »
But now the SSFL is actually struggling to keep its autonomy. This government can forced them to comply with TTFF. Anil and Jack. For instance, last year only 1 round of football was played because of the women's WC. 2 rounds could have been played,  but them SSFL official  bowed to  jack to follow the leader.

One thing about the past CFL. With exception of QRC and Sando Tech, all the school which played in the old colleges league division1 were non government schools. The power was in the hands of Saints, fatima, Belmont, Benedicts, Naps, Pres. I would add QRC in this group even though gov't took it over. But when the league was expanded, the so-called big schools lost their power(both in the administration and on the field of play).

Deeks, you are correct the old Colleges Football League always maintained political distance between itself and the old TTFA, (but the schools' league did participate in the association's inter-league competition and never looked out of place). But a few comments:

- ALL football leagues were affected by the 2010 Women's Under 17 World Cup. I am certain you will agree that domestic football could not proceed with a World Cup being simultaneously played. However, the decision to play one round of post-World Cup football was entirely an SSFL decision. In contrast, the Northern FA and the Tobago FA both played TWO rounds, as is normal in league football. The government and Jack Warner and the TTFF did not force anyone to do anything in this regard.
- I agree that the expansion of schools' football beyond the traditional CFL schools was excellent. (I will also argue that the league now needs to revisit its structure as today we have schools that clearly do not have the minimum quality playing in the zonal Championship divisions. We need a return to one NATIONAL Championship division, which would concentrate the best talent.
- Finally, government did not "take over" QRC. The school was established in 1859 by the British colonial government for the secondary education of local boys. It has been a government school since that time.
- You should be careful with your "facts".
« Last Edit: June 10, 2011, 05:22:03 AM by Flex »

« Reply #61 on: June 10, 2011, 05:12:11 AM »
uuuuuuummmm President, welcome eh, but yuh might want to change yuh avatar.....we goh mistake yuh for Coop's which is a good thing and a bad thing sometimes..... :devil: ;D

Offline president

« Reply #62 on: June 10, 2011, 05:42:11 AM »
Brown sugar, thanks for the greeting. I hear you. Change made...

« Reply #63 on: June 10, 2011, 07:00:05 AM »
I think the SSFL should be restructured. They should have a 10 or 12 team Dv1, a 10 Div2 and then the respective zones. I think all school should play Inter-col, even Junior sec. I remember when Saints got demoted they were allowed to play intercol. What good for the goose should be good for the gander.

Offline president

« Reply #64 on: June 10, 2011, 08:13:56 AM »
Agreed Deeks!

Offline Trevor

« Reply #65 on: June 10, 2011, 08:31:09 AM »
Historically, the college football league or SSFL is where the development of soccer in T&T has taken place.  It was the best time of my football career.  In Europe and the US, soccer development takes place in the club system.  Question – How strong is the youth club system in T&T presently?   

Offline president

« Reply #66 on: June 10, 2011, 08:59:55 AM »
"The Washington Post’s Paul Tenorio did an excellent job reporting on the dilemma in a recent article headlined, “Is it best to play in high school, or on an academy team?”

Tony Lepore, director of scouting for U.S. youth national teams and a technical adviser for the Development Academy, says, “In top footballing nations, school soccer is not where the top players play and develop. That’s how this has evolved and how this shift has continued. ... We’ve given the choice to the clubs. It’s not a mandate yet, but we totally get why they’re choosing that and that’s why we’re supporting it.”

All of the above is a quote from "Soccer America" (27 May 2011). NOBODY who is serious about developing young talent could argue that a schools' league is the place to do it. We fall short in this regard in Trinidad and Tobago and, while it is simple and easy to blame the TTFF, the clubs at every level of the local game must also shoulder responsibility in equal measure. Indeed, more so, as a national association is not responsible for developing talent at grassroots and club levels. The clubs and community football organizations are. The responsibility of the national association is to cream the talent and prepare it for international competition.

To answer your question, a few local clubs are seeking to develop young talent in a proper manner but generally, for all the talk, youth development is seen as a burden by most of the "big" clubs and they readily concede ground to the SSFL. For its part, the TTFF has established regional centres at Under 13, Under 15 and Under 17 level.

Offline Trevor

« Reply #67 on: June 10, 2011, 09:44:39 AM »
Thanks for your response, President.  I felt as much.

I am acquainted with the article written in the Washington Post, and I extremely familiar with the club versus high school soccer issue in the DC metropolitan area.  High school soccer around DC is pathetic.  Without a doubt, soccer development takes place in the club structure in the DC area.  Currently, club soccer is going through major changes.  Regional leagues (e.g., along the east coast) for the elite clubs, instead of the local leagues, are beginning to take precedent.  These regional leagues are providing much better show cases for college scouts.     

« Reply #68 on: June 10, 2011, 04:50:49 PM »
- ALL football leagues were affected by the 2010 Women's Under 17 World Cup. I am certain you will agree that domestic football could not proceed with a World Cup being simultaneously played. However, the decision to play one round of post-World Cup football was entirely an SSFL decision.

I spoke to a former teamate of mine who coaches in SSFL. He said that he did explain to the SSFL admin. at a meeting that could play 2 rounds of football,  but they shot down the idea. Jack has ilfiltrated that organization too. I honestly thinkthat the SSFL is concerned that if the pro clubs get a good youth program going, it could siphone the talented players from schools to the clubs. I think that may well be true but the SSFL will survive with lesser talent. They will have to readjust.

Offline president

« Reply #69 on: June 10, 2011, 05:13:08 PM »
I spoke to a former teamate of mine who coaches in SSFL. He said that he did explain to the SSFL admin. at a meeting that could play 2 rounds of football,  but they shot down the idea. Jack has ilfiltrated that organization too. I honestly thinkthat the SSFL is concerned that if the pro clubs get a good youth program going, it could siphone the talented players from schools to the clubs. I think that may well be true but the SSFL will survive with lesser talent. They will have to readjust.

Deeks, come on man. Jack has infiltrated the SSFL but not the Northern FA or Tobago FA? They played two rounds of football in 2010. I do agree with you, 'though, that the SSFL, and its members, has always been opposed to the creation of serious club youth programmes and a quality national youth league. They believe their interests over-ride the national interest, and they are encouraged in this by the media and the public in general because they supposedly provide the basis for national selection. This is a myth of public perception that even you apparently believe. The fact is the players would not be "siphoned from schools to clubs". Quite the opposite, the schools get their players from clubs! THIS is the reality. If we get going in a serious, professional manner, the SSFL would be for the boys who cannot make a club team.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2011, 06:19:23 PM by Flex »

« Reply #70 on: June 10, 2011, 06:23:31 PM »
"The Washington Post’s Paul Tenorio did an excellent job reporting on the dilemma in a recent article headlined, “Is it best to play in high school, or on an academy team?”

Tony Lepore, director of scouting for U.S. youth national teams and a technical adviser for the Development Academy, says, “In top footballing nations, school soccer is not where the top players play and develop. That’s how this has evolved and how this shift has continued. ... We’ve given the choice to the clubs. It’s not a mandate yet, but we totally get why they’re choosing that and that’s why we’re supporting it.”

All of the above is a quote from "Soccer America" (27 May 2011). NOBODY who is serious about developing young talent could argue that a schools' league is the place to do it. We fall short in this regard in Trinidad and Tobago and, while it is simple and easy to blame the TTFF, the clubs at every level of the local game must also shoulder responsibility in equal measure. Indeed, more so, as a national association is not responsible for developing talent at grassroots and club levels. The clubs and community football organizations are. The responsibility of the national association is to cream the talent and prepare it for international competition.

To answer your question, a few local clubs are seeking to develop young talent in a proper manner but generally, for all the talk, youth development is seen as a burden by most of the "big" clubs and they readily concede ground to the SSFL. For its part, the TTFF has established regional centres at Under 13, Under 15 and Under 17 level.

Not necessarily true. The National associations play a major part in the development of youth players, through various aspects of the developmental process such as, coaching education, options for youth players to have access to national and regional coaches, curriculum guidance (methodology, etc), administarive assistance to clubs, etc. To say that the development of players lies at the feet of clubs and grassroot organizations is partly correct and missing a major piece of the developmental puzzle.

The debates continue in the USA with the Olympic development Program being Challenged by the now Academy Developmental Program and each one being supported by the USYSA and the USSF. Recently Claudio Reyna and a couple other (April Heinrich and Jill Ellis comes to mind) was charged with the development of a comprehensive curriculum that will be handed down to youth organizations as a blue print for how the USSF wants the US player to be developed. This is a main reason as to why the USA beat us in 1990 and has been beating us since, the "hands on" approach that US Youth Soccer and the USSF has taken in assisting club in gaining updated and relevant ideas in player and coach developmental strategies.

If T&T is to progress and regain some semblance of pride in CONCACAF football (forget world football for the mean time), then the TTFF cannot just arbitrarily excuse itself from the responsibility they OWE to youth players in T&T. They would need to commission a National Referendum addressing the past failings, the present Melancholic state of football, and the way forward. It MUST start with the head (TTFF) if T&T is to show its true footballing potential.

Offline president

« Reply #71 on: June 10, 2011, 06:53:57 PM »
To say that the development of players lies at the feet of clubs and grassroot organizations is partly correct and missing a major piece of the developmental puzzle.

We live in a society where people like to look to the authorities for everything. The clubs have daily contact with the mass of players. They have the most critical role to play in youth development. The national association could only provide selected tools to assist them in doing so. What does this mean? That the direct responsibility lies with the clubs.

You evidently live in the USA and you would know the USSF does not and cannot coach club players - despite their massive resources. Obviously, the national association - in our case, the TTFF - must 1) implement a coaching education programme (ongoing in association with the KNVB); 2) select the best youth talent for advanced training (regional training centres applying a standardized training syllabus have been established with the assistance of FIFA); 3) create a national youth league (this has been done, also with the assistance of FIFA, it is now in its third season); 4) establish minimal criteria for the registration of clubs (underway after a FIFA club development course but not moving fast enough).

Any other conceptual framework would be futility.

« Reply #72 on: June 10, 2011, 08:13:49 PM »
president, you try putting them ideas to jack and see where that will get you!!!!!

Offline president

« Reply #73 on: June 11, 2011, 04:06:04 AM »
Deeks, these ideas are ALREADY in motion...

« Reply #74 on: June 11, 2011, 05:42:29 AM »
Deeks, these ideas are ALREADY in motion...

In motion? Slow or morocoy!!!!??????

Offline president

« Reply #75 on: June 11, 2011, 10:04:22 AM »
OK pal. Your mind is made up. Don't confuse yourself with facts. You win...

« Reply #76 on: June 11, 2011, 12:04:01 PM »
OK pal. Your mind is made up. Don't confuse yourself with facts. You win...

Care to point out any one program the TTFF implemented that will effectively assist the youth players of Trinidad and Tobago?

Offline dtool

Howard University soccer 2013
« Reply #77 on: November 10, 2013, 07:00:10 PM »

2013 team : A new low (1-17) Record?

http://hubison.com/schedule.aspx?path=msoc&tab=soccer2

1974 team : (19-0) Record still stands (40 year anniversary this year)

Re: Howard University soccer 2013
« Reply #78 on: November 10, 2013, 08:33:39 PM »
Might be the only clear beneficiary of the government shutdown ... playing Navy could have made it 1-18.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2013, 08:36:18 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #79 on: December 18, 2013, 09:04:20 PM »

2013 team : A new low (1-17) Record?

http://hubison.com/schedule.aspx?path=msoc&tab=soccer2

1974 team : (19-0) Record still stands (40 year anniversary this year)

Just stumbled across this statistic: it's the worst W-L-T record in all of Division I. 198 out of 198 programs. Ironically, last year HU was also 198th, but in 2012 there were 202 teams.

« Reply #80 on: December 19, 2013, 05:36:23 AM »
Asylumseeker like yuh had some prior information.

Howard University dismisses head coach

The 2013 college soccer season was perhaps the most successful ever for the Washington region: nine teams in the NCAA men’s tournament, four top-16 seeds, two College Cup participants, two women’s teams in the national semifinals, Hermann Trophy finalists for men and women.

At Howard University, however, the once-elite men’s program remains in shambles.

And after a 1-17-0 season — the victory came against a team from a small-school independent conference — Michael Lawrence was dismissed as head coach following six losing seasons. News of the move began circulating in the local soccer community this week and Athletic Director Louis Perkins confirmed the decision to the Insider this morning.

Lawrence had replaced Joseph Okoh, who, in early 2008, was caught soliciting a minor online. Okoh was sentenced to 14 years in prison.

Howard, a historically black university in Washington, was a national power in the 1970s under Lincoln Phillips, defeating Saint Louis in both the 1971 and ’74 NCAA championships with a brigade of African and Caribbean players. (The ’71 title was later vacated for using two ineligible players.) In 1972, the Bison lost to the Billikens in the semifinals.

With Shaka Hislop manning the net, the program returned to prominence in the late-1980s. The Bison lost to Indiana in the 1988 final and advanced to the quarterfinals the following year, losing again to the Hoosiers. Since then, they have qualified for the NCAA tournament once (1997) in 24 seasons.

During the 1988 tournament, Hislop converted the winning penalty kick during a nine-round tiebreaker with Philadelphia Textile and the Bison came from two goals down to upset Bruce Arena‘s Virginia in the quarterfinals.

The final four in Bloomington, Ind., featured an extraordinary collection of goalkeeping: Hislop, a freshman, joined Portland freshman Kasey Keller and Indiana sophomore Juergen Sommer. All went on to play in the English Premier League and go to the World Cup (Keller and Sommer for the United States, Hislop for Trinidad & Tobago).

This year the Bison conceded 28 goals in the final five matches and were outscored 59-11 overall. In six home matches, the team averaged 64 spectators.

The women’s program, guided by former George Mason player Brent Leiba, is on much stabler ground: 6-7-2 record this year.

Courtesy
Washingtonpost.com

« Reply #81 on: December 19, 2013, 01:11:00 PM »
When i told Elan about Football in the Va,Baltimore and Washington DC area this is what i'm talking about,Soccer is huge in these States and crowd support is great.

« Reply #82 on: December 19, 2013, 06:45:42 PM »
HU must be the laughing stock of the division.  64 spectators per home game! Wow those are some terrible vibes. 
I'm glad it was much better when I was there. 
As for the win/loss record they can't do much worse, hopefully the program heads can turn things around.

« Reply #83 on: December 21, 2013, 02:50:24 PM »
HU must be the laughing stock of the division.  64 spectators per home game! Wow those are some terrible vibes. 
As for the win/loss record they can't do much worse, hopefully the program heads can turn things around.

Lol. Why yuh lying? I was there when u was there and ah there again. That team never win probably  more than 3-4 games any season and the support was never good.

« Reply #84 on: December 21, 2013, 07:10:07 PM »

Lol. Why yuh lying? I was there when u was there and ah there again. That team never win probably  more than 3-4 games any season and the support was never good.

ROFL.... There was more talent at the intramural level than the varsity level.

« Reply #85 on: December 21, 2013, 10:27:15 PM »

Even in the worst season we had we used to lose some close games.
This side get 9-zip all kinda ting.
Doh be so quick to trash yuh alma mater son.

And you g yeah in intramural we used to carry on, I miss it bad.

« Reply #86 on: December 26, 2013, 08:31:53 PM »
this really saddens me

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #87 on: December 27, 2013, 10:12:59 AM »
HU athletic administration does not support soccer there anymore. Sometimes you can look at the coach, but that is not always the case, men"s D I college soccer is way more difficult to be successful now than in the past. Recruiting and funding has to be on par with the competition just to start with. Look at the roster and you see 2 trinis and a Jmicn...every other player is US based and the top US black players not interested in HU, when they are recruited by Maryland, N Carolina, Akron and top 20 teams. NCAA rules and funding makes it much more difficult to recruit international players at the D I level too. Take a look at USC UPstate a once successful DII program who transitioned to DI and after 7 years still can't see their way at the new level, they have the same coach who used to get big time players from all over the world, they still have the same DII budget and can't get top players anymore so they one step above HU.
HU alum should send a message to the athletic administration to let them know how important a legacy HU soccer is and that it is very necessary to properly fund the program and hire an experienced coach who could work to restore the program to some level of respectability....tall order though!
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

Offline dtool

HU looking for a Men's Soccer coach
« Reply #88 on: January 14, 2014, 07:50:53 AM »

« Reply #89 on: January 14, 2014, 10:26:17 AM »

Even in the worst season we had we used to lose some close games.
This side get 9-zip all kinda ting.
Doh be so quick to trash yuh alma mater son.

And you g yeah in intramural we used to carry on, I miss it bad.

Video of some game highlights is available on YouTube. When yuh view them yuh will have a lil insight into the scenes.