April 24, 2024, 11:49:24 PM

Author Topic: ''Ah Tiefing a little tonight'' Karene Asche remix on Uncle Jack.  (Read 6411 times)

''Ah Tiefing a little tonight''
http://www.transparencyinsport.org
Andrew Jennings.

CCTV images of a thief breaking into a store juxtaposed with pictures of Jack Warner and cartoons of him stealing bundles of cash is how Trinidad’s people are hitting back at one their most loathed and corrupt politicians.

Karene Asche’s brilliant prize-winning calypso at February’s Carnival is updated and includes this wonderful cricket metaphor: ‘He get a bouncer from Mr. Blazer, Whose first name just happen to be “Chuck.’

And you can sing-along with the lyrics, here and song.

Warner, sensing that his time at FIFA is over, is desperately trying to convince Trinidad citizens that he is a deeply wonderful man being dragged down by envious foreign liars. Surely the people will trust him, disbelieving the rest of the world and allow him to stay in political power.

(As Minister of Works he gives huge contracts to private companies. He wouldn’t . . . would he?) His front men have purchased full-page newspaper advertisements that ignore all the specific allegations. Enjoy.

Unifying a nation

Re: ''Ah Tiefing a little tonight'' Karene Asche remix on Uncle Jack.
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2011, 07:50:20 PM »
That remix was indeed brilliant!!!

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2011, 08:42:56 PM »
"This man is de bess should have an S on his chest" :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2011, 06:49:19 AM »
Good stuff indeed and very up to date with the latest drama with Jackula. Best that kaiso gets exposure with intelligent and witty commentary like this, instead of poorly penned, fast-food-produced wine and jam.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2011, 08:15:12 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2011, 07:06:39 AM »
Boy at the rate this man does operate, Karene Asche goh have plenty versions of this song to write for quite a few years.....

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2011, 09:09:33 AM »
Boy at the rate this man does operate, Karene Asche goh have plenty versions of this song to write for quite a few years.....

I feel there may be an album coming out soon lol

« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2011, 10:38:36 AM »
For those of you who know Machel tune "tiefing a wine" .........during last carnival he would do a set which included "If yuh see meh in d corner like Jack Warner ah tiefing a little tonight" ...........meh friend say earlier it was he tiefing a wine on Kamla as lyrics

« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2011, 12:31:56 PM »
http://www.transparencyinsport.org/Tiefing_a_little_tonight/Media-Folder/2-Uncle-Jack(part%202).mp3

Oh gosh!! Ah need ah copy of this to feature on my radio show, this week!!

People stay tuned, ah tsunami coming soon!  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: June 12, 2011, 12:41:35 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2011, 04:54:57 PM »
You really need to listen to this one as well "Germany" from Carnival 2006 by Kizzy Ruiz. First time I heard it just now though I been looking for a copy for ever. Prophetic last lines:

I only hope the poor players, don’t end up in a ditch,
With de fat cats getting fatter, and the rich even more rich,
On de road to…
Germany, Germany!

http://www.transparencyinsport.org/Calypso_Queen_Mocks_Warner/Media-Folder/kizzie-ruiz-singing-germany.mov

Full lyrics:

GERMANY
Trini boy, you good,
Trini boy, you reach,
For all who say they were always sure,
When I hear them say that, they preach;
Nine months ago in de stadium,
The place was like a black hole,
Run frantic, looking for patrons,
You couldn’t find a soul;
But as history would have it,
Lawrence’s header find the net,
Now you can’t get a ticket,
But good reason to fete,
And all dem Trinbagonians,
Who didn’t put a cent,
See dem jumping on de bandwagon,
Singing, “ Warner for President”,
Cause we going….
CHORUS
Germany,
Germany,
And all dem Johnny come lately,
See dem wining up on de track,
They can’t tell Dwight Yorke from Stern John,
But they waving red, white and black,
And they chanting…
Germany,
Germany,
See we by Smokey and Bunty,
Yes, drinking Carib and rum,
Nothing on earth could stop we,
Not even a dustbin bomb!
Cause we going…
Germany,
Germany!
This government good,
This government great,
Wait until we journey book,
Before they participate;
Hear de clever sports minister,
In de middle of de campaign,
All you come and check me,
When we beat Bahrain;
Now after the victory,
You talk about bram,
Thick, thick with VIP,
Piarco was jam,
I swear I hear a balisier,
Say to de rising sun,
If you only ramajay,
I will call de next election,
Cause we going…
CHORUS
Germany,
Germany,
Who worried about inflation,
Or if food prices too high,
Is time for celebration,
All man toute bagai!
Cause we going…
Germany,
Germany,
No time to think bout de murder rate,
Or de rising spate of crime,
Matters of State could wait,
Now is time to lime!
Cause we going…
Germany,
Germany!
Jack Warner, you good,
Jack Warner, you smart,
All these years you was taking wood,
Now you capture Trinbago’s heart;
I hear dem say how in ‘89,
You sell out to USA,
From a Good Friday bobolee,
You are a hero today;
And de silver fox Panday,
He ain’t miss a beat,
I thought de UNC Chairman,
Was going to give you his seat;
Shuffling Dookeran and Ramesh,
Jack of Spades, you are a boss,
Some even betting next August,
You will get the Trinity Cross!
Cause we going…
CHORUS
Germany,
Germany,
And de patriot Jack Warner,
Who spend 17 million he say,
Want an open cheque for Benhakker,
But Manning tell him, no way…
Though we going…
Germany,
Germany,
De very same Jack Warner,
Town want for President,
Though they say he playing godfather,
He will make back every cent,
On de road to …
Germany,
Germany,
We playing some warm up matches,
Argentina and then Brazil,
De tickets will sell in batches,
But watch the man by the till,
On de road to …
Germany,
Germany
I only hope the poor players, don’t end up in a ditch,
With de fat cats getting fatter, and the rich even more rich,
On de road to…
Germany, Germany!
« Last Edit: June 12, 2011, 05:04:30 PM by E-man »

« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2011, 05:32:21 PM »
kaiso kaiso ..

« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2011, 05:41:41 PM »
the original soca version lol

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/s5TY2matx8A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/s5TY2matx8A</a>

« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2011, 08:11:05 PM »
Kizzy Ruiz an lumni of San Juan Govt Secondary. Big school does produce Big athletes.

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #12 on: June 14, 2011, 08:04:55 PM »
pretty good  :devil:

« Reply #13 on: June 21, 2011, 12:34:30 PM »
karen dey go keep u busy girl is best u bring out an uncle jack album

« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2011, 05:59:12 AM »
E-man I eh getting the link to open up and play..... :-\

Calypso queen updates Uncle Jack song
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2011, 02:21:24 PM »
Calypso queen updates Uncle Jack song
By Yvonne Web (T&T Guardian)

Trinis have a way of rising to every occasion, taken the best and worst situations and turning them into memorable works of art. Reigning National Calypso Monarch, Karene Ashe and her talented songwriter, Christophe Grant, have done just that. The dynamic duo have breathed new life into Ashe’s 2011 winning selection, Uncle Jack, with an updated version called Uncle Jack 2 - Fifa. This account chronicles the saga of former FIFA jefe and Works Minister Jack Warner and the international bribery scandal.

The prophetic composition, which may very well go down as a classic in the local history books, is now on everyone’s lips as the song has taken the airwaves by storm. In an interview, Ashe was bubbling with excitement. “After that whole bacchanal in London, (referring to allegations of corruption by British Lord Triesman against Warner) Christophe Grant decided to do two verses, but then as it continued, he said he saw some potential there. He said ‘this is going to be big’, encouraged me to try it. I said I was open to it, and he wrote an entire song and said ‘lets do it,’ so we did.

“And it is very successful. People are calling me, saying well done. I am getting a lot of text messages congratulating me,” the Port-of-Spain City Corporation Public Health employee said. When the song was recorded, Warner had not yet resigned as vice president of FIFA and from CONCACAF an CFU. However, hours after this decision was made public, Grant added another verse taking this development into account. Ashe admitted that three weeks ago she did the recording from looking at the lyrics on paper.

“I don’t know it by  heart as yet. I have to learn the words because people are asking for it. I have some cramming to do.”

She said she will be performing at the ABC tent in London on July 10, and hopes to do both versions there. She also has a number of other local and overseas engagements, which are being handled by her manager, so the tune is in demand. Asked about her first few months as the first $2 million National Calypso Monarch, Ashe responded, “very nice, but tiring. I am enjoying every bit of it.”

UNCLE JACK Part 2 (abridged)

It was a year after de election,
As they celebrating their success,
There came de strangest allegation,
T&T name calling in commess;
Yes, CNN describe,
Lacouray and bribe,
Going down in sweet Trinidad;
People say they shame,
For their country’s name
In de bacchanal,
Who name you think they call… eh?

CHORUS
Our own Vice President of FIFA,
(Uncle Jack)
The most popular Works Minister,
(Uncle Jack)
They did raise all kinda talk bout Ethics,
(Uncle Jack)
But Senior Counsel said -   “No Conflict”;
(Uncle Jack);
Well once more football,
Mixed up with bobol,
PNM start to crow,
Hear dem … Didn’t we tell you so …
(Uncle Jack)!

TAG
 So who we talking bout
(Uncle Jack)
Let me hear you shout…
(Uncle Jack)
They want him to swing,
(Uncle Jack)
De Minister of Everything…
(Uncle Jack)!

Now according to England’s Lord Triesman,
FIFA is corrupt as a rule,
When they went down to de Caribbean,
He say Warner ask him – “build a school”;
Jack in his defence,
Ask – Where de evidence,
These allegations are most unfair;
De school came up …but,
When I showed them the spot,
The intent was clear,
I thought they would volunteer …

CHORUS
So how could they accuse him of bribery,
(Uncle Jack)
When he was just looking for Charity,
(Uncle Jack)
He never ask… he didn’t demand it,
(Uncle Jack)
So this bribery talk, he can’t understand it;
Jack prepare to swear,
His conscience is clear,
De man is no saint,
But his good name they out to taint
…(Uncle Jack)!